April 17, 2024, 09:44:31 PM

Author Topic: The Jehue "Flash" Gordon Thread  (Read 21399 times)

Re: The Jehue Gordon Thread
« Reply #30 on: August 16, 2013, 02:39:23 AM »
Jehue wins World Championships gold
By Donstan Bonn (T&T Express)
Story Created: Aug 15, 2013 at 3:58 PM ECT

JEHUE Gordon won Trinidad and Tobago's first medal at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Russia when he captured gold in the men's 400 metres hurdles.

Gordon ran a patience race over the first 200 metres before changing gears to prevail after a prolonged stretch duel with America's Michael Tinsley, in a world leading time of 47.69 seconds.

The American bagged silver in 47.70, a new personal best, while Serbia's Emir Bekric copped bronze in 48.05, a new national record.

Gordon had a few distinguished hurdlers behind him, notably reigning Olympic champion and two-time world champion Felix Sanchez of the Dominican Republic (5th) and the USA's double world champion Kerron Clement (8th)

His performance can be viewed as him delivering on the potential he displayed when finishing fourth at the 2009 World Championships in Berlin, Germany, as a 17-year-old junior athlete.

Full report in tomorrow's Express

Results

1 Jehue GORDON TRI 47.69

2 Michael TINSLEY USA 47.70
3 Emir BEKRIC SRB 48.05

4 Omar CISNEROS CUB 48.12
5 Felix SÁNCHEZ DOM 48.22
6 Javier CULSON PUR 48.38
7 Mamadou Kasse HANNE SEN 48.68
8 Kerron CLEMENT USA 49.08

Jehue Gordon wins the mens 400 metres hurdles (2013 World Athletic Championships)
2013 IAAF World Championships men 400m hurdles FINAL: What a finish!
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/WEhx081B5lo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/WEhx081B5lo</a>

Jehue Gordon wants Trinbagonians to believe in themselves
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TPaAZRro4VQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TPaAZRro4VQ</a>
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 01:14:28 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #31 on: August 16, 2013, 02:53:45 AM »
Dip your head, son
Jehue’s mom: I prayed for his success...
By Kim Boodram (T&T Express)
Story Created: Aug 15, 2013 at 9:59 PM ECT

ELATED but not surprised.

That’s how Debra “Marcella” Woods, mother of Trini­dad and Tobago’s newest gold medallist, Jehue Gordon, reacted yesterday to news of her son’s gold medal win at the 14th IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia.

A soft-spoken Woods said yesterday she was sad to have missed the actual 400-metre hurdles race that netted gold for Gor­don as she was at work, but she was looking forward to seeing the replays on the evening news.

Woods spoke with the Express during a visit to the family’s home in Pa­pia Village, Morne Coco Road, Maraval, yesterday afternoon.

She said her 21-year-old athlete son spends his time either studying or training, and she knew he was headed to increased success.

Asked her initial reaction to the news of his feat in Moscow, she said, “I gave thanks to God, first. I thanked Him for making this miracle possible for Jehue.”

Sporting the names of her two sons—Jehue and Zaid—tattooed on her neck, Woods said she knew he would bring home gold this week.

During a trip to the beach on the weekend, she said she went into the sea and prayed for Gordon’s success.

“I saw something gold­en next to me appear while I was praying and then it disappeared. That is when I knew that he would bring gold for Tri­nidad and Tobago,” Woods said.

The mother and son spoke around 2 a.m. on Wed­nesday and also prayed together.

She said she remin­ded him to “dip his head” at the finish line.

“Yes, I did tell him that,” she said, laughing.

Describing theirs as a “happy family”, Woods said Gordon has kept his life “simple” and is strict about how he uses his time.

“My son doesn’t waste time,” she said.

Asked whether any celebrations were in the works for his return, Woods said while the fa­mily will enjoy the time together when Gordon is back at home, he likes to keep it quiet.

“If there is a celebration, he will appreciate it, but if there is not, that would not be a big deal to him,” she said.

In an alcove of the porch of the family’s hillside home, dozens of me­d­als and trophies are on display behind a locked glass door.

There are more to come, Woods believes, including an Olympic med­al.

“He will mash them up at the next Olympics in Brazil in 2016,” Woods said.

« Reply #32 on: August 16, 2013, 03:03:19 AM »
Praises from NAAA president, manager
By Kwame Laurence (T&T Express) in Moscow
Story Created: Aug 15, 2013 at 9:59 PM ECT

World champion Jehue Gordon has been described as “an exemplar” by National Association of Athletics Administrations (NAAA) president Ephraim Serrette.

“I’m very happy for Jehue,” Serrette told the Express, following the athlete’s victory in the IAAF World Championship men’s 400 metres hurdles final, at the Luzhniki Stadium, here in Moscow, Russia, yesterday.

“He’s one of the athletes,” the president continued, “our athletes need to look at. He’s an exemplar, always thanking the people who have been there for him. The other athletes need to take a page.”

The T&T team manager here in Moscow, Dexter Voisin, was thrilled with Gordon’s golden run.

“Based on what I saw leading up to the final, I expected great things, and he delivered tonight. He went with his race-plan. It was nail-biting.

“So much is in the air right now with track and field back home,” Voisin continued, “especially negative vibes. This will bring positive vibes. This augurs well for us. I’m sure the other athletes will be motivated.”

Serrette said that Gordon’s success is a big boost for T&T track and field, especially since he is based at home.

“His victory augurs well for the sport, more so coming out of Trinidad and Tobago—training at home with a local coach (Dr Ian Hypolite).”

« Reply #33 on: August 16, 2013, 03:08:05 AM »
Roberts: Jehue an inspiration to T&T
By Kern De Freitas (T&T Express)
Story Created: Aug 15, 2013 at 10:01 PM ECT

Flawless. Absolutely brilliant. Immaculate. Intelligent.

These were the words used by Minister of Sport Anil Roberts to describe Jehue Gordon’s victory run in yesterday’s 400-metre hurdles final at the World Championships in Russia, which gave Trinidad and Tobago its first “Worlds” gold medal in 16 years.

It was not quite the 36-year wait for Olympic gold that T&T endured, broken by javelin thrower Keshorn Walcott in London only last year. Walcott became the second gold medallist for T&T at that Games, after Hasely Crawford’s 100-metre dash in Canada in 1976.

Ato Boldon brought home T&T’s first World Championships title from the 1997 “Worlds” in Athens, Greece,  and now, in 2013, Roberts is elated to see Gordon fulfill his potential.

“Flawless. An absolutely brilliant race run by young Jehue Gordon. He had promised us to bring bronze and silver to T&T when he finished fourth (at the 2009 Worlds). Today he made citizens here on our twin island and abroad extremely proud.

“He has brought golden sunlight through the dark clouds that were surrounding T&T athletics,” Roberts said.

Roberts also threw in words like “class” and “courage” to describe Gordon’s fight to the finish, as he dipped on the line to edge out US quarter-miler Michael Tinsley in a personal best 47.69 seconds. Tinsley clocked 47.70.

“It was an immaculate run, a run that showed character, class, an intelligent run. (It was) a run that inspires each and every one of us to do better. Congratulations to Jehue, his coach his manager, his family.

“(We must) look at it and understand what it took for a young man to get up after disappointment in the past to reach the pinnacle...and stand up on to top of the world and plant the red, white and black flag,” Roberts added.

Roberts also said that Jehue’s showing can do a lot to lift T&T after the disappointments of this week, when Kelly-Ann Baptiste and Semoy Hackett returned home early from the Championships due to doping issues.

“(Jehue’s achievement) makes us know that we are alive, and Trinidad and Tobago is alive and well and will never be kept down. He ran with class and our hearts are overflowing with love and pride. Well done, well done, well done,” Roberts said.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 03:09:37 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #34 on: August 16, 2013, 03:17:18 AM »
Ato and Hasely: Jehue’s success is no surprise
By Ian Prescott and Roger Seepersad (T&T Express)
Story Created: Aug 15, 2013 at 10:03 PM ECT

Ato Boldon, Trinidad and Tobago’s first gold medallist at the “Worlds”, in the men’s 200m event in 1997, “wasn’t surprised at all” at Jehue Gordon’s 400-metres victory in Moscow yesterday.

And,  former Olympic men’s 100-metre champion Hasely Crawford is sending all the kudos Jehue Gordon’s way .

Both Boldon and Crawford were overjoyed at yesterday’s 400-metre hurdles triumph by Gordon, who clocked 47.69 seconds to win ahead of American Michael Tinsley (47.70) and Serbia’s Emir Bekric (48.05), at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia.

“It was all over my Facebook and Twitter that I thought Jehue would have won,” Boldon told CCN TV6 via Skype yesterday. “I went back and looked at the semi-finals (on tape) and thought he had the best finish, and anybody who has the best finish coming off of hurdle ten had a very good chance.

“I did not think Tinsley would have been as close obviously, but I always felt that I was going to have to make some room in the club, that we were going to have another world champion.”

According to Boldon, Worlds gold should have come again sooner to T&T.

“We do not have anybody else besides myself that have multiple medals in individual events, and I think that Jehue is going to break that trend. He is the youngest medallist ever in this event, and I think he understands that this is an event that usually favours people with experience.”

Considered one of T&T’s best-ever sprinters, Boldon said athletes training at home should not be a hindrance to world class performances.

Asked about the distraction of Kelly-Ann Baptiste and Semoy Hackett returning home under drug clouds, Boldon felt it did not affect the team too much.

“One (thing) non-athletes don’t realise, especially non-Olympic athletes, is that no matter what happens in that camp, the athletes there have worked for a long time to get to this point and nothing distracts them.

“To the outside world it is like ‘Oh my gosh, everybody is so devastated because this one went home or that one went home’, but the reality is, they have sympathy for what happened to their country women, but it is not going to deter, and it is not going to distract them.”

Crawford too feels proud that Gordon and Olympic javelin champ Keshorn Walcott are home grown.

Trinidad and Tobago’s 1976 Montreal Olympic 100-metre gold medallist described Gordon as a wonderful person, and deserving of the reward he has earned for the hard work put in.

“When I saw the semi-final where he slowed down at the end and still clocked 48.10 seconds, I was convinced that gold could be his in the final. But I knew he would have to want it and be willing to fight for it,” Crawford said. “I also feel that the 4x100m team also have a good chance of winning a medal as well, but they too have to want it badly, and be willing to dig deep also.”

Crawford credits 21-year-old Gordon for working extremely hard to regain the form he showed as a 17-year-old, when he finished fourth in his pet event at his first World Championships in Berlin, Germany. Crawford remembers Gordon struggling as a teenager, and credited local coaches Ian Hypolite and Edwin Skinner, UWI, and even TSTT for investing in Gordon as a teenager by sending him to China for preparation.

Further, Crawford said 20-year-old former junior world champion Walcott is going through his growing phase, and like Gordon has many productive years before him. He feels Walcott needs time to adjust to his first year in senior competition after shocking the field as an outsider at the London Olympics.

“I went through it too,” Crawford said. “I could also remember that Jehue was also struggling last year, and look what has happened this year.”

« Reply #35 on: August 16, 2013, 03:50:49 AM »
GOLDEN GORDON
T&T Guardian Reports

Jehue Gordon won a dramatic 400 metres hurdles final at the World Championships in Moscow yesterday, and then dedicated his gold medal to his mother Marcella. Gordon, 21, erased all memories of his fourth place finish four years ago to join Ato Boldon as the only T&T athlete to win individual gold at the World Championships. Boldon won the 200 metres title in 1997. In front of a crowd of more than 50,000 people, Gordon stumbled across the finish line to hold off American Michael Tinsley after bursting down the final stretch to finish in a world-leading time of 47.69 seconds. Emir Bekric, of Serbia, was third and two-time Olympic champion Felix Sanchez wound up fifth. Shortly after crossing the finish line, Gordon fell to the track. Three lanes over, Tinsley, the 2012 Olympic silver medalist, toppled over, too. They each then stared at the scoreboard, waiting for a winner to be announced. After a few moments, Gordon’s name finally flashed on the board, much to the delight of the small contingent of Trinis here in Moscow.

Gordon, racing in lane six, got off to a smooth start out of the blocks with Javier Culson and surprise packet Bekric also getting off quickly. At the halfway stage, however, Tinsley took the lead with Omar Cisneros and Sanchez moving into contention. All the while, Gordon was focused on his lane and executing some perfect steps to and over the hurdles. With three hurdles to go and turning towards the home straight, Tinsley made a run for the title but Gordon covered the move. Gordon had marginally grabbed the lead by the penultimate hurdle as the two athletes touched down almost together. Going over the last hurdle, Gordon had a slim lead, but with ten metres to run, Tinsley fought back gamely and the two went for the line together. Tinsley’s time was 47.70, while Bekric was third in 48.05.

Speaking afterwards, Gordon said he was proud that he was able to keep his focus throughout the race, adding this may have given him the edge in the final strides. “I saw Tinsely in my peripheral vision but I just kept myself focused. I executed what I wanted and when he came at me in the end, I was just going. This was my race to win and I did so.” A delighted Gordon thanked his parents for their support over the years and dedicated the gold medal to his mother. “My parents have done a fantastic job, supporting me and giving me blessings, my mom Marcella, Zayee, Vincent, Darlene, Grace, aunty Michelle, Britney, Avion. I am so happy. I came out here to have fun and that is what I accomplished.”

He paid tribute to his coaches, especially Dr Ian Hypolite. “I believe in my coach, Dr Hypolite, who has been with me since I was 12 years old. He and my mother have stayed with me through thick and thin. This victory proves you can train at home and be successful, with the right support and encouragement.” Gordon, who still has a year remaining at the University of the West Indies, is hoping his success will inspire the rest of the team, especially the relays teams who will be starting their campaign today. As far as his future in concerned, he said he wanted to finish his final year at UWI before completely focusing on his athletic career and becoming the best 400 metres hurdler in the world. In tweets last evening, Gordon thanked all his fans who had supported him over the years. He also pointed out that he only returned to his training camp hours after the race, having undergone hours of drug tests immediately following the race. He said he needed to get his rest as he was now gearing up fgor the 4x400 metres relay events.

« Reply #36 on: August 16, 2013, 03:57:55 AM »
King cautions govt about Gordon’s success
T&T Guardian Reports

Jehue Gordon's former coach Albert King has cautioned the government against overworking the newly crowned 400m hurdles world champion with public relations duties following his latest win in Moscow.

King, who introduced Gordon to hurdling as a Form One student at Belmont Boys Intermediate, pointed out that such chores had a negative impact on Keshorn Walcott, whom he felt had been overwhelmed following his win in the javelin at the London Olympics last year.

“I am honestly hoping that Jehue’s parents will prevent him from the sort of stupidness that went on with Keshorn Walcott,” he said. “Because of political stupidness, they had Keshorn moving around the country up and down almost everyday and he was overworked. I believe that was one of the things that has him underperforming.”

King, a Level Four middle and long distance specialist who also coaches at Airborn Sonics, said that Gordon’s talent had been apparent from an early age.

“He came in Form One as an 800m primary school champ but when I saw him running over benches, I encouraged him to pursue hurdles,” he said, adding. “He was also good in cricket. If he had decided to follow it he could have been the equivalent of Dwayne Bravo right now.”

Gordon spent five years at Belmont before moving to QRC for Form Six and is currently attending the University of the West Indies in St Augustine. King said they had maintained their relationship throughout and still kept in regular contact.

“He still discusses things with me,” he said. “He talks with athletes at the club and gives them mentorship. He's a very focused young man and whatever he chooses to do, I know he will be successful because of his mental attitude.”

King also hoped Gordon's win would encourage the government to invest more into track and field's development.

“In my opinion, we have some real quality athletes but no national develop programme. Everything that occurs is because of individual coaches.”

« Reply #37 on: August 16, 2013, 04:03:25 AM »
Jehue’s dad gets result on phone
T&T Guardian Reports

Vincent Gordon, father of T&T’s latest world champion Jehue Gordon, did not get a chance to see his son take the 400 metres title on television because of a blackout of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Championships in Moscow yesterday. In an interview with the T&T Guardian at his modest home at Mt Cocoa Road, Papier Village, Maraval, yesterday, Gordon said it was a friend who had called him and told him his son had won the race.

As he looked at the race for the first time on a mobile phone provided by the visiting T&T Guardian news team, Gordon said he felt great. “I was expecting that,” he said, proudly holding up a front-page newspaper picture of his son. “He (Jehue) is a guy who works very hard in whatever he’s doing, so that wasn’t any big surprise to know that he won. “I’m still shaky from the news, but I wasn’t surprised because from small, Jehue was always determined. If he wants something, he going towards it—no ifs and buts.” Gordon won gold in the 400 metres hurdles in a personal best time of 47.69 seconds.   

The senior Gordon said he had told his 21-year-old son before he left for the games,“Go up there and give them hell!” When he was only three-years-old, Gordon recalled, Jehue showed athletic potential as the top gymnast in his class at Maraval RC Preparatory School. He also excelled in the 400 metres and 800 metres flats, he added. His favourite “Jehue” race—which Gordon ranks above Jehue’s Olympic performance and even his golden race at the IAAF championship—was at the Under-13 Zonal Athletics Competition at the Hasely Crawford Stadium about nine years ago.
 “It was an 800 metres, and with 200 metres to go, Jehue was in last place and he just start moving, moving, moving and he became the Under-13 800 metres champion.”

Gordon, a father of two, said he had enrolled his sons at the Harvard Cricket Club, but Jehue, 13 at the time, told his father he wanted to run. A cricket fanatic, Gordon said he had Jehue playing “bat and ball” in his crib, but once Jehue told him he liked running, he didn’t force him.  “He got the form for Memphis Pioneers, filled it out himself and I signed it. After that, history,” he said.
 “At Belmont, his sports teacher Mr King told him to try hurdles because there weren’t many people doing hurdles in T&T at that time. Mr King was very influential in his life.” Jehue took his teacher’s advice and started training in hurdles with the Memphis Pioneers Athletic Club. Gordon said: “Sometimes he would train in the morning and sometimes in the evening. He would do the full works because hurdles is no easy race. I think you have to put out three times extra than a usual race to jump those things.”

He said he believed Jehue’s coaches—Dr Ian Hypolite and Edwin Skinner—were the most influential in his son’s life. Jehue eventually transferred to Queen’s Royal College and won a scholarship to attend the University of the West Indies, where he is pursuing a degree in sports management. Asked how his son balanced being a university student and a professional athlete, he said, “By the grace of God!” As he laughed happily, Gordon added: “It wasn’t easy because when he finished UWI he would go to the stadium, or run up Lady Chancellor with the Memphis Club.”
 Describing Jehue as cool and quiet, Gordon said his son also enjoyed playing football on Xbox and eating curry food. As Jehue moved up on the world stage, Gordon said he would always remind him: “Reach for the stars but keep your feet on the ground, because when you fall, you will fall hard.”

« Reply #38 on: August 16, 2013, 04:07:38 AM »
Gordon — the perfect athlete says coach
T&T Guardian Reports

An elated Dr Ian Hypolite, described Jehue Gordon’s gold medal success in the 400 metres at the World Championships here in Moscow as a red letter day for T&T coaches.

“I am so elated, I am here with my partner in coach, Edwin Skinner, from the Memphis Pioneers club, and we are particularly happy that we could do all of this based in Trinidad and Tobago. This is a big day for local coaches and shows the value of staying at home. Jehue is the perfect athlete to work with.”

Gordon defeated a top class field to become only the second T&T athlete to win a World Championship gold medal with a 47.69 run yesterday. The other is Ato Boldon who won the 200 metres in 1997.

Hypolite described Gordon as a wonderful person with whom to work. “He listens and follows advice, he is just the perfect athlete in his whole presence and behaviour, and today he showed all the faith we have in him,” Hypolite said.

Hypolite revealed that a fair amount of discussion went into planning the race. “He stuck to the game plan. He was patient. He was attacked by Omar Cisneros, Javier Culson and Felix Sanchez, but he never panicked and was patient all the way. He executed just as we discussed.”

Hypolite noted that Gordon’s confidence has returned. “After we had some good sessions at home and in Finland, we could sense that this was a different Jehue. He was doing things differently and was very relaxed at the end of his races. This was a great sign of maturity. We told him, that after 300 metres, there would be others challenging and he should stay calm and he executed perfectly.”

Gordon is part of the Memphis Pionners Club since age 12. “In Memphis Pioneers, both Edwin Skinner and myself have a belief that we can assist the athlete and encourage and give you the best training. But we need full support and Jehue has given that.”

How They Finished

1 Jehue Gordon TT 47.69
2 Michael Tinsley USA 47.70
3 Emir Bekric SRB 48.05
4 Omar Cisneros CUB 48.12
5 Felix Sánchez DOM 48.22
6 Javier Culson PUR 48.38
7 Mamadou Kasse Hanne SEN 48.68
8 Kerron Clement USA 49.08
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 11:31:08 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #39 on: August 16, 2013, 05:48:25 AM »
“He will mash them up at the next Olympics in Brazil in 2016,” Woods said.

Yuh hadda like dis! Congratulations!
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 05:50:50 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #40 on: August 16, 2013, 11:57:13 PM »
JEHUE GETS GOLD MEDAL
By MIRANDA LA ROSE and JONATHAN RAMNANANSINGH (T&T Newsday)
Saturday, August 17 2013

National hurdler, Jehue Gordon became the second Trinidad and Tobago track athlete to penetrate the air of a World Championships arena with the melodious steelpan sounds of this country’s Pat Castagne-written national anthem.

Yesterday, at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia, the 21-year-old athlete mounted the highest segment of the podium and proudly received his first-ever 400 metres hurdles World Championships gold medal.

Gordon also powered into several local and international sporting history books when he produced his victorious showing in 47.69 seconds, on Thursday. This accomplishment saw Gordon become the first male TT hurdler to ever medal at the Championships and the youngest athlete to have ever won gold in this event.

The last time the twin-island republic achieved such a feat was back in 1997, when sprinter Ato Boldon powered to victory in the men’s 200 metres final in a golden time of 20.04 seconds.

As Gordon stood on the podium yesterday, flanked by silver medallist Michael Tinsley (47.70s) of the USA and bronze receiver Emir Bekric (48.05s) of Serbia, he flashed a broad smile.

Before having his medal placed around his neck by an IAAF official, Gordon struck a jubliant pose which mimicked that of Jamaican star sprinter Usain Bolt’s world renowned victor posture. As the medal was draped around the youngster’s neck, Gordon’s eyes seemed to forcibly hold back the tears, beaming with national pride that seemed to overflow throughout the Russian arena.

Seconds later, the TT national anthem echoed through the Luzhniki Stadium as a smiling Gordon patriotically sang along, word for word.

Not long after the medal ceremony, the Maraval athlete contested the third-leg of the men’s 4x400 metres relay final with compatriots Renny Quow, Lalonde Gordon and Jarrin Solomon, and the team placed sixth in 3:01.74, unable to match their bronze medal finish of the 2012 London Olympics. Gordon (Jehue) was not a member of that Olympic relay team.

However, the team’s placing yesterday did not diminish the joy over Gordon’s success, as it emerged that one of the young hurdler’s unique characteristics is his loyalty to his country.

Throughout Gordon’s years of athletic prowess, he had received many opportunities to advance his education and athletics in foreign countries. However, the home-grown athlete always turned down these once-in-a-lifetime offers and opted to pursue his academics at the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine.

Witnessing his patriotism on several occasions was Dr Iva Gloudon, Director of Sport and Physical Education at the St Augustine campus. Presently on special leave, Gloudon admitted she tried to dissuade Gordon from joining the regional university campus as a student-athlete.

“I tried to talk him out of it because while we in sport were prepared, I did not think that the wider campus of the University of the West Indies, St Augustine, understood how or was sufficiently prepared to embrace an elite student-athlete,” Gloudon, Trinidad and Tobago’s High Commissioner to Jamaica yesterday told Newsday in a telephone interview from Kingston, Jamaica.

Paying homage to Gordon and his coach Dr Ian Hypolite, Gloudon said, “to his coach I sing all praises. They are the ones that should receive all of the kudos.”

Gloudon, who set the groundwork for Gordon’s academic and training programme at UWI, said, “I always knew it was going to happen. I thought it was going to be at the last Olympics, but it was just a matter of time. He has the talent. He has the belief in himself. He has the discipline and tenacity to achieve. He has a relationship with the Holy Spirit, and he is extremely intelligent.”

As SPEC director, Gloudon said through Hypolite and her efforts they were successful in getting several offers of scholarships for Gordon at a number of North American universities.

“Then this young man,” she said, “came to my office one day and said that he really wanted to stay at home and train with his local coach.”

She tried to talk him out of it because she was aware that structures were not in place to cater at the optimum level for an elite student-athlete.

“Jehue was steadfast. I understood then that he was a very directed, purpose-driven young man. His decision was clear.”

As a teacher and a servant of students, she said, “once a student is that directed, I go with that direction.”

Additionally, Albert King, former coach of Gordon, also lauded the humility and the maturity of his former charge at Belmont Boys Intermediate. During an interview on Thursday afternoon, King commented, “his strength is his mental ability. Even as a schoolboy, he was very mature. He was above his age.”

He added, “A lot of people were criticising him for not taking up an American scholarship instead of staying in Trinidad,” said King. “He decided that he would stay in Trinidad and still train. It is bearing fruit. I want to hear those negative people now what they will say. He’s very much attached to his family. I am wishing him the best and everything comes with time,” King added. “Even though he’s not in my club, I am a coach in Air Bon Sonics but he shows me that respect. He will always come and check me.”

Also sending congratulatory remarks for Gordon yesterday was President Anthony Carmona. The President issued a release in the afternoon heaping praises on the youngster for his gutsy performance and timely execution in Gordon’s biggest race of his career thus far. The President commended Gordon’s commitment to training and educating himself in TT.

He stated, “Whereas, most of us need another person to push us to excellence, Jehue Gordon, in the main, was always competing against himself on local soil. As much as we are prepared to celebrate his success, however, we need to also celebrate the road to his success. His parental support was certainly pivotal. This victory was also made sweeter by the fact that this gold medal was 100% locally produced. In Jehue Gordon, we have a homegrown, ‘home-coached’ champion.”

Carmona added, “I have spoken often with Jehue Gordon’s coach, Dr Hypolite and I recall one conversation with him during a period when Jehue was not doing as well as was hoped. I shared with him the idea of sending him abroad to train but Dr Hypolite said, “No, we are going to train right here and Trinidad and Tobago is going to produce a homegrown world champion.

“I was wrong and his statement was prophetic. I congratulate Dr Hypolite, Mr Skinner and the other Memphis Pioneers coaches on their vision and perseverance.

“My sincere congratulations to you, World Champion Jehue, on this golden achievement. You have made everyone in this Republic exceedingly proud.”
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 11:58:47 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #41 on: August 17, 2013, 12:47:39 AM »

PP STAY AWAY FROM THIS YOUNG MAN.

LOOK AT WHAT ALLYUH DO TO KESHORN.

KAMLA FOCUS ON LOCAL ELECTIONS AND CRIME AND LEAVE THE BOY ALONE  :pissedoff: :pissedoff:

« Reply #42 on: August 17, 2013, 01:05:51 AM »

KAMLA FOCUS ON LOCAL ELECTIONS AND CRIME AND LEAVE THE BOY ALONE  :pissedoff: :pissedoff:
But using Jehue the popular sportsman of the moment to hand out PP mugs and stuff like that can entice the T&T public to love the PP a bit more and win them more votes come election time! Don't you know that?! Why allyuh so naive man?!
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 01:53:24 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #43 on: August 17, 2013, 02:38:17 AM »

But using Jehue the popular sportsman of the moment to hand out PP mugs and stuff like that can entice the T&T public to love the PP a bit more and win them more votes come election time! Don't you know that?! Why allyuh so naive man?!

Why yuh feel ah post it ?
Anyhow it seems Jehue's people brighter than Keshorn's the Albert King already warn them to stay away.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 01:52:50 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #44 on: August 17, 2013, 01:36:29 PM »

« Reply #45 on: August 17, 2013, 01:56:34 PM »

Looks like the use of Jehue's name and achievement for electioneering has started!  :worried:
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 09:14:49 PM by Socapro »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #46 on: August 19, 2013, 03:19:35 PM »
politics and sports go hand in hand especially in a small country like T&T it does not matter what party it is they will milk this to the end.

« Reply #47 on: August 19, 2013, 04:59:57 PM »
I was out of town this weekend and did not see the race. I asked my cousin to check the web on she phone for the results and was totally elated. I just watch this race and I must say Jehue has "belly and guts". This is watch we TT athletes and sortmen and women should have. That was so close. Usually is the other way around. Our girl or guy getting 2nd, 3rd or 4th. This time it was the GRAND PRIZE. One day the entire sports fraternity body will get it right and we will have multiple medals. Anil, UNC, PNM stay away!!!!

Jehue can dominate, says Coach Hypolite
« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2013, 11:26:49 PM »
Jehue can dominate, says Coach Hypolite
By Kwame Laurence (T&T Express) in Moscow
Story Created: Aug 18, 2013 at 11:29 PM ECT

World champion Jehue Gordon has the potential to dominate the men’s 400 metres hurdles.

This is the view of Dr Ian Hypolite, the man who has coached the Trinidad and Tobago athlete from the age of 12, steering him to Carifta triumphs, the world junior title, and now, IAAF World Championship gold.

On Thursday, at the Luzhniki Stadium here in Moscow, Russia, 21-year-old Gordon emerged victorious in the World Championship final in a fast 47.69 seconds, the clocking earning him top spot on the 2013 world performance list and 22nd spot all-time.

“Progress,” Hypolite told the Express, “is not always mathematical. Jehue’s ahead of his time, and is still maturing physically. Provided we can keep him healthy and continue to rectify some of his weaknesses, we feel he will go on to dominate the sport. That is the goal.”

The coach described Gordon as the quintessential professional.

“His approach to training and to life in general is very meticulous.

“He’s a tremendous student of the game. I have learnt from Jehue because his analytical skills are excellent. He’s able to convey his experiences. That is the hallmark of a champion.

“Jehue Gordon,” Hypolite continued, “will not miss a training session unless something really, really serious takes place. He never complains. All of these things contribute to making him the type of person he is, and a champion.”

Hypolite said he was beside himself with excitement when Gordon dived across the finish line to secure gold in the one-lap hurdles championship race.

“I was overjoyed…the reality of such a dream coming true. So many things could have gone wrong—had he not dived over the line, he would not have won. A lot of hard work and precise planning had finally borne fruit. I simply shouted to Ed Skinner that we did it.”

Hypolite and Edwin Skinner are coaches at the Memphis Pioneers Athletic Club. Both men are also among the coaches here in Moscow with the T&T World Championship team.

Hypolite said Gordon’s triumph was not a big surprise, explaining that there were “so many signs that something special was about to happen”.

“All his sessions were documented for several years, and over time we have been comparing. Jehue started doing things at the start of the season that he never did before, but we never planned to show our hand too early in a championship year.

“The 48 in Monaco (on July 19) was very well timed, and the (pre-Worlds) camp in Finland was particularly beneficial. Then he started to do things he had never done before. In Russia, he had a workout that was absolutely amazing.

“The night before (the first round),” the coach continued, “he came into the room and spoke about a strange calm he was experiencing. I suggested to him that was confidence and that he start believing in himself. Then, he executed the prelims almost effortlessly. And in the semis, he shut off and ran a fast time (48.10).”

There was criticism from some quarters when Gordon decided to stay in T&T, attend University of the West Indies (UWI) and continue training under the guidance of Hypolite, rather than campaign on the American collegiate circuit.

“There have always been detractors. We live in a society that is always like that. The detractors have inspired me and brought out the best in myself. When you undertake to coach someone like Jehue Gordon, who has shown such potential as a youngster, the responsibility means developing yourself to help him fulfill it.

“I always felt confident I could do it, and Jehue also felt confident in me. That’s why he chose to stay. I felt obligated to match his commitment.”

Hypolite said he expects that more T&T athletes will opt to train at home, leading to the development of a group similar to Usain Bolt’s Racers Track Club and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce’s MVP Track Club, in Jamaica.

“I think it is going to happen. I imagine Jehue’s success would be a catalyst.”

Gold Medal Presentation for Jehue Gordon at World Champs Moscow 2013 (Day 7)
« Reply #49 on: August 20, 2013, 10:55:33 PM »
Gold Medal Presentation for Jehue Gordon at World Champs Moscow 2013 (Day 7 Evening)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cx8iM3JCcuI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cx8iM3JCcuI</a>
Go to 0:11:50 for Men's 400m Hurdles Final Medal Presentation Ceremony featuring Jehue Gordon receiving his gold medal and to see the T&T national flag being hoisted and to hear our national anthem.

It will be useful if someone can create a YouTube video compilation of the Men's 400m Hurdles Final followed by Jehue's medal ceremony featured in the above video just in case the above video is deleted in the near future.  It can then be posted to this thread for easy reference!!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 03:12:21 PM by Socapro »

Imbert hails Gordon as ‘rising star’
« Reply #50 on: September 07, 2013, 02:41:30 AM »
Imbert hails Gordon as ‘rising star’
T&T Newsday Reports
Saturday, September 7 2013

In the Parliament yesterday, Diego Martin North/East MP Colm Imbert interrupted his contribution to announce that Gordon had won.

Gordon lives in Imbert’s constituency. “He won again?” asked Imbert when Port-of-Spain North/West MP Patricia McIntosh showed him a message she received on his phone. “He is a rising star. Make him an alderman,” Imbert said.

He added that if Gordon ran this time at the Olympics, he could win a silver medal and Sports Minister Anil Roberts agreed.

Earlier in the debate, Imbert criticised former Local Government Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan for failing to respond to a request made by him to have a retaining wall near Gordon’s home repaired. “The boy came and won a gold (medal). Nothing happened. I checked this morning. Nothing happened. You should be ashamed of yourselves,” Imbert said.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 02:47:40 AM by Socapro »

The man who took Jehue to the top of the world!
« Reply #51 on: July 03, 2014, 06:10:08 PM »

Hail the King Jehue pays tribute to former school coach
« Reply #52 on: July 04, 2014, 02:00:16 AM »
Hail the King
Jehue pays tribute to former school coach

By Kwame Laurence (T&T Express)
Story Created: Jun 5, 2014 at 10:04 PM ECT

Albert King is an unsung hero in the Jehue Gordon success story.

A teacher at Belmont Boys’ Secondary, it was King who first introduced Gordon to hurdling. As they say, the rest is history.

In 2010, Gordon was crowned world junior (Under-20) champion in the 400 metres hurdles. And three years later, at the age of 21, he grabbed gold in the event at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia.

But though he has climbed to the top, the young man from Maraval has not forgotten who gave him his start.

“For my first race over the 110 hurdles, I was telling Mr King I’m too slow. I was probably running about 11-high, 12-point over the flat hundred, and there were 100-metre sprinters who were running 10.8 at that time. I was first-year Under-17. When I started the 110 hurdles, I was running 15-point.

“I was confused. Why Mr King wants to put me in the 110 hurdles, and these dudes running 14-low, and 10-point over the hundred? I was like, ‘Mr King is definitely crazy’. But his craziness actually unfolded to be greatness.”

Grateful Gordon jumps at the opportunity to acknowledge King’s role in his athletics career. The retired teacher is equally enthusiastic to speak about a particular championship quality his former charge possesses.

“His forte is mental strength,” says King. “Coming to school here, he experienced serious, serious domestic problems with his parents and with his home—heavy rainfall (a landslide) damaged his home. He encountered all that in his five years here.”

Former teacher and former pupil meet at the Belmont Circular Road school. They are hosts to a group of journalists from Europe and the Caribbean who have travelled to Trinidad and Tobago as part of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) 2014 Caribbean Day in the Life project.

The King is holding court, and the visiting journalists—keen to learn more about Jehue “Young Prince” Gordon, and his introduction to hurdling—are paying close attention.

“I normally call it the running high jump,” says King, “because the kids run to it and jump over. Jehue was actually running over the hurdles, so I pulled him aside and said: ‘Boy, yuh know you could make it in the hurdles’.”

King is a resourceful coach. With no playing field at Belmont Boys’ Secondary, many training sessions were conducted indoors. And the coach did not have actual hurdles to work with, so he used a bench to help the athletes develop their skills.

King and Gordon proudly display the makeshift hurdle.

“Here is where it all started,” Gordon recalls. “You could see how old the bench is—wood lice eating out the bench. I guess if we had a field, it would have been better to get hurdles, but it’s all concrete in the school.”

The pupils would sometimes get the opportunity to train on a grass track at the nearby Queen’s Park Savannah. On those occasions, they would use PVC hurdles.

“This is the plastic hurdle we used,” says Gordon. “We upgraded from the old stool to this.”

The world champion gives a demonstration.

“I remember those days as if it was yesterday—trying to get those knees up. Knees up, parallel, pull.

“When it comes to actually jumping over the hurdle, that was the scary part. You needed a little loose screw. Most people were thinking, ‘boy, next thing I hit my johnny (private part)’. There were some who just went over it crazy, some who took their time. And there was me, who thought about it a lot before I went over: ‘How should I approach this thing?’ I went over smoothly. Then Mr King watch meh: ‘Yuh have de ting natural; yeah man, yuh could do de ting; yuh have it in yuh.’

“Compared to the other fellas who were trying so hard, it was kind of effortless for me to just step over the hurdle.

“Hurdles chose me. I didn’t choose hurdles.”

As fate would have it, the paths of Albert King and Jehue Gordon crossed, the Belmont Boys’ Secondary teacher and Air Bon Sonics coach ensuring the right choice was made by the talented pupil.

All hail the King.

kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com

EDITOR’S NOTE:
Express writer Kwame Laurence is among a select group of sports journalists chosen to be part of the latest IAAF Day in the Life series, a project featuring some of the Caribbean’s best athletes as well as other major players in the sport of track and field. Next Friday, Doc and the Olympian.

DOC AND THE OLYMPIAN: Jehue thrives with total local Dream Team
« Reply #53 on: July 04, 2014, 02:01:04 AM »
DOC AND THE OLYMPIAN
Jehue thrives with total local Dream Team

Story Created: Jun 12, 2014 at 8:43 PM ECT

Jehue Gordon’s triumph in the men’s 400 metres hurdles at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia, last year, was only the fourth senior global athletics title for Trinidad and Tobago.

Just 21 at the time, Gordon followed in the footsteps of 1976 Olympic 100m champion Hasely Crawford, 1997 200m world champion Ato Boldon, and 2012 Olympic gold medallist Keshorn Walcott.

Crawford and Boldon were beneficiaries of the American collegiate system. Walcott was not.

Like the reigning Olympic men’s javelin champion, Gordon is a home-grown talent. But while Walcott was guided to the top by Cuban coach Ishmael Lopez Mastrapa, Gordon’s support team is total local.

Dr Ian Hypolite and Edwin Skinner are the senior coaches at Memphis Pioneers—a successful Port of Spain-based athletics club with close to 150 members.

It’s Good Friday, traditionally a lazy day in T&T. But for a group of committed Memphis athletes, the public holiday is not a day of rest, but rather, an opportunity for an earlier than normal week-day training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Some of these focused athletes are as young as seven, and are new to the concept of organised training. At the other end of the spectrum is the club’s first world champion.

Memphis is a family, and Gordon is at home as he and his teammates go through their daily grind at the Crawford Stadium and then at the club’s gym, a stone’s throw away.

It is Hypolite who coaches Gordon, and the medical doctor was rewarded for the athlete’s golden run in Moscow with the North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletics Association (NACAC) 2013 Coach of the Year award.

Skinner serves as Gordon’s local manager, but he is a top-quality coach in his own right.

That’s not all. The fit as a fiddle 73-year-old brings even more to the table, for he was a world-class athlete in his day, earning Olympic bronze in 1964 as part of the T&T 4x400m relay team.

“Mr Skinner,” says Gordon, “is a living legend—1964 Tokyo Olympics; he was one of the founders of Memphis Pioneers; he stayed there, he gave back to the club, he gave back to track and field. Mr Skinner has his own business now, so he was successful on the track and he is successful off the track. He is definitely somebody I tend to follow in the footsteps of.”

Skinner says Gordon is a rare gem.

“Every so often he would come and talk to me, especially before a major race. He sees me, I guess, as a mentor and he shows me a lot of respect. It’s very rewarding.

“I consider myself fortunate to have Jehue. He is blessed with talent, and has all those qualities that the coaches love. He is disciplined, and does not suffer from the fear of failure because he has experienced it in his life.”

Gordon speaks in glowing terms of Dr Hypolite.

“He’s very versed in everything. When it comes to dressing, when it comes to women, when it comes to intellectual capacity, he is the guy to go to. He knows a good bit of everything. He’s definitely somebody I look up to. He has done so much for himself, for his country, for his family most importantly, and for me. I guess I could say he’s my second dad.”

Like all good fathers, Hypolite has a vision for his “son” and is willing to run with him every stride of the way en route to the goal.

“There is a lot of scope for the development of his speed, particularly his flat quartermiling speed. When you look at the history of the event, guys really hit their peak round about 26 to 28. Jehue is 22, so to me there is still some scope for strength development. I’m hoping that once he remains injury-free, once there’s no major injury, then we can pull that altogether.”

Already a senior world champion at 22, there’s a strong sense that Moscow won’t be the last golden moment for Gordon and his total local Dream Team.

EDITOR’S NOTE:
Express writer Kwame Laurence is among a select group of sports journalists chosen to be part of the latest IAAF Day in the Life series, a project featuring some of the Caribbean’s best athletes as well as other major players in the sport of track and field. Next Friday, Striving for normalcy.

Striving for normalcy: Jehue copes with pro athlete/student demands
« Reply #54 on: July 04, 2014, 02:01:53 AM »
Striving for normalcy
Jehue copes with pro athlete/student demands

Story Created: Jun 20, 2014 at 1:52 AM ECT

Jehue Gordon was on top of the world in August last year, his 47.69 seconds run at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia earning him the 400 metres hurdles world title.

But with every success—at the local, regional, and indeed international level—celebrations come to an end. Then, it’s back to the grind, oftentimes working even harder than before. Staying at the top can be a more onerous task than the initial rise.

For Gordon, the task was doubly difficult. In addition to his labour on the track and in the gym, the Trinidad and Tobago athlete had to resume his studies at the University of the West Indies (UWI), where he is pursuing an undergraduate degree in Sports Management.

Gordon’s schedule is very demanding. Well, that’s actually an understatement, for there simply aren’t enough hours in the day for a full-time professional athlete and a full-time university student to comfortably co-exist in one human body.

“It’s very difficult,” says Gordon, “because the Caribbean system is a lot different to the American system. The school has been trying their best to accommodate me as much as possible, especially when it comes to exams.

“I don’t get enough rest,” he continues. “It’s challenging to catch up with the notes especially when you start school two or three weeks late coming in from the Diamond League. My friends pull me out a lot when it comes to taking notes in class, getting tips, studying in groups.

My friends play a crucial role.”

The pattern of Gordon’s performances is a reflection of his challenges.

The Maraval hurdler opened his 2012 campaign during UWI’s second semester, clocking 51.13 seconds on March 31. On August 4 — during the school holidays – he ran a then personal best 47.96 in the semifinal round at the London Olympics.

And in 2013, Gordon’s 49.65 seconds opener on March 23 was almost two seconds slower than the 47.69 national record run that earned him the world title on August 15.

Dr Ian Hypolite is Gordon’s coach, and understands what his 22-year-old charge has to cope with.

“He is very, very ambitions as a student. He’s not the type to sit back and rely on gratuities, he’s not the type who is searching for an easy way out. He is as competitive in the classroom as he is on the track, and that makes it difficult because you then have to contend with late hours. He doesn’t complain, though, when he gets the workout.

“Fortunately,” Hypolite continues, “when you look at the record, he always runs his fastest down at the end of the season, or at a major competition when it really really matters. So, it has worked out, but it has been a major challenge nonetheless.”

What has also been challenging for Gordon is the additional attention since his golden Moscow effort.

“When I go to the malls, if I go shopping, if I do anything outside of my normal environment, people recognise me a lot more. They want autographs, pictures, they want me to give their kids advice. I guess now people expect a lot more of Jehue Gordon, compared to before.”

Following his success at the 2013 World Championships, Gordon was showered with gifts, including a house. Yet, when visited by a group of international journalists in April, he was living at Milner Hall—a hall of residence at the St Augustine Campus of UWI.

Like all the students on hall, Gordon does his own laundry. After putting a load of clothes to wash, he explains why he has chosen this simple lifestyle.

“I like to come back into a grounded situation. When you’re out there too much in the public light, you tend to position yourself to be who they expect you to be. And I don’t like anybody shaping my character. That’s why I came back into the school setting, trying to be a normal student, fitting in as a normal person…just being Jehue Gordon.”

With laundry out of the way, Gordon plays a game of table tennis with one of his hallmates. His choice of brain-cooler is no different from the average university student’s. And that’s the way the world champion likes it as he continues to strive for normalcy.

EDITOR’S NOTE:
Express writer Kwame Laurence is among a select group of sports journalists chosen to be part of the latest IAAF Day in the Life series, a project featuring some of the Caribbean’s best athletes as well as other major players in the sport of track and field.
Next Friday, a maternal vibe.

MATERNAL VIBE: Mother’s advice proves golden for Jehue
« Reply #55 on: July 04, 2014, 02:02:50 AM »
MATERNAL VIBE
Mother’s advice proves golden for Jehue

Story Created: Jun 26, 2014 at 10:33 PM ECT

“Jehue, push yuh head.”

Marcella Woods is not a track and field coach. Her advice, though, was crucial as her son, Jehue Gordon, battled to the line in the men’s 400 metres hurdles final, at the 2013 IAAF World Championships, in Moscow, Russia.

Like a good son, Jehue pushed his head. His body followed, and he tumbled to the track. The result was gold, Gordon clocking 47.69 seconds to finish just ahead of American Michael Tinsley, the silver medallist in 47.70.

For technical advice, Gordon relies on his coach Dr Ian Hypolite and his local manager, 1964 Olympic 4x400 metres bronze medallist Edwin Skinner. But the 22-year-old athlete does not take for granted his mother’s role in his track career.

“A lot of people say when they see my mom, they see me—when they see me, they see my mom. Anytime I’m overseas, my mom connects with me spiritually. She has a feeling, especially when I’m about to do well, and she kind of relates that message to me. And I use her as my backbone, because sometimes I go overseas and don’t perform as I’m supposed to. Last year at the Jamaica Invitational, I was going good up until the last 10/15 metres; then, two guys came and took it from me on the line. At the Guadeloupe Grand Prix last year, I was leading the race with three metres to go, and Omar Cisneros dipped me on the line.

“Ever since, she always pressured me: ‘Jehue, push yuh head, push yuh head’, so I just went in with that thought. Little things like that could make an impact at the end of the day, because if I didn’t push my head at the World Championships last year, I was definitely not going to win. I’m not saying I could win all the time, but she has a vibe, and her vibe complements my vibe, and we work with each other.”

And, of course, there’s no cooking like mummy’s cooking. So, on Thursday evenings, after he trains at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, Gordon takes the 10-kilometre drive to his family home in Papyia, Morne Coco Road, Maraval, where he has dinner. But mummy prepares more than one meal, ensuring that her son is properly fed for the next four days, at his temporary home—Milner Hall, University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine.

As a professional athlete, Gordon travels quite often, missing out on the food he loves best. So, when he returns home, he makes a beeline for a particular kitchen in Maraval.

“It’s not to say I would go to any restaurant. My mom, she does a lot of different stuff, she takes care of everything. She could make ‘buss-up shut’, and that’s one of the favourite things I like to eat once I come back home; crab and dumpling, but I haven’t had that in a while; some nice ribs with some cole slaw does the trick.

“But I definitely want to get some buss-up shut. That’s curry,” Gordon explains to a group of international journalists. “Roti skin and everything—mango, pumpkin, spinach, the full works. Maybe some curry goat or curry duck...yeah.”

Gordon’s decision to turn down scholarship offers from American universities, and attend UWI, has borne fruit. He is now world champion and, as a bonus, gets to eat Marcella’s cooking on a regular basis.

But being a Trinidad and Tobago-based world-beater has been challenging.

“Most people already limit themselves when they’re thinking about staying at home and training. They think we don’t have enough infrastructure, we don’t have enough facilities, enough resources at our disposal. The thing is we actually have those resources, but the people who disburse these resources and make them available for the entire athletic fraternity, that’s the difficult part. Around Carnival time, they close off the stadium from us, and that’s probably one of the biggest challenges I have to face.

“As much as Trinidadians love the Carnival season,” Gordon continues, “I personally hate Carnival season. It takes away so much time from being able to put in some solid hurdling work, time to be specific and technical at that time of the year when you’re starting to get ready to compete, for March, for April, and then to fly off to the Caribbean and European circuits after.”

Judging from the evidence of his global success in Moscow last year, what Jehue has lost in terms of training time at the Hasely Crawford Stadium has been outweighed by the comfort of living at home. Undoubtedly, mummy’s cooking is high up on that list of comforts.

SPORTS EDITOR’S NOTE: Express writer Kwame Laurence is among a select group of sports journalists chosen to be part of the latest IAAF Day in the Life series, a project featuring some of the Caribbean’s best athletes as well as other major players in the sport of track and field. Next Friday, a Royal tradition.

Royal tradition: Jehue keeps QRC flag flying
« Reply #56 on: July 04, 2014, 02:06:02 AM »
Royal tradition
Jehue keeps QRC flag flying

Story Created: Jul 3, 2014 at 8:34 PM ECT

Jehue Gordon is part of a tradition of athletic excellence—a Royal tradition.

Way back in the 1930s, McDonald Bailey attended Queen’s Royal College. He went on to become an Olympic medallist, earning men’s 100 metres bronze for Great Britain at the 1952 Games in Helsinki, Finland.

Wendell Mottley and Edwin Skinner were students at QRC a couple decades after Bailey. They too went on to climb an Olympic podium. Mottley seized men’s 400m silver at the 1964 Games in Tokyo, Japan. And in the 4x400m, Mottley and Skinner were part of the Trinidad and Tobago quartet that earned bronze, teaming up with Kent Bernard and Edwin Roberts.

Skinner, who finished eighth in the Tokyo Games 400m final, is now part of the Jehue Gordon team. Skinner is Gordon’s local manager, and has played a key role in the young athlete’s rise to stardom.

Following his elementary schooling at Maraval RC, Gordon attended Belmont Boys’ Secondary for five years.
He then moved on to QRC.

“Jehue as an individual,” Skinner explains, “considers education extremely important. He’s one of the few professional athletes that’s still full-time at university and training to be a world-class athlete. He places importance on both of them. That is why he came to QRC. He had that opportunity to do his A Levels, and also the tradition in track and field. While at QRC, he ran at the Penn Relays.”

Gordon was in fine form at the 2010 Penn Relays in Pennsylvania, USA. Just 18 at the time, he produced a 46.03 seconds split to anchor QRC to fourth spot in the High School Boys’ 4x400m Championship of America.

Three months later, Gordon struck gold in the men’s 400m hurdles at the World Junior Championships in Moncton, Canada.

“Attending QRC,” says Skinner, “was like the finishing school for Jehue. It really gave him that experience in track and field and education-wise. And this is why he had that good foundation to move on to be a world-class athlete.”

A visit to the QRC hall for an interview with a group of international journalists brings back many memories for Skinner.

“Track and field has always been a major part of the Queen’s Royal tradition. Years ago when we had our athletic meet, it was a big social event which would be held on weekends. Guys would be dressed up in their best Sunday outfit, and the girls the same way.

“QRC,” Skinner continues, “was also one of the few schools that participated in all the track and field meets in the country, be it Southern Games, Eastern Games...That’s part of the reason we produced a number of world-class athletes.

“Even before our time, we had McDonald Bailey. He ran for England, but we consider him one of our first medallists at the Olympics. He was co-holder of the (100m) world record, and had the world record for most individual British championships, so QRC goes back a long, long way in producing world-class champions.”

Skinner says being part of the QRC Olympic tradition is very special.

“Wendell Mottley, my schoolmate, we were both there at the Olympics, in the finals, so it was a very proud moment for Trinidad and Tobago and for QRC.”

The tradition continued at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China, where Richard “Torpedo” Thompson claimed silver in the men’s 100m, and then teamed up with fellow-Royalian Marc Burns—as well as Keston Bledman and Emmanuel Callender—for silver in the 4x100m relay.

Four years later, at the London Games, there was more precious metal for QRC, Thompson and Burns combining with Bledman and Callender for sprint relay bronze. And in the men’s 4x400m relay, Royalian Deon Lendore anchored T&T to bronze.

At the 1964 Games, T&T just missed out on 4x400m silver, Great Britain snatching the runner-up spot from Skinner and company.

Forty-eight years later, at the London Games, Skinner was one of Team T&T’s coaches.

“When I went up to England for the Olympics, I told them I came for my revenge after all those years. And lo and behold, if you remember the race, we were running third, and there was Britain bearing down on us. I said ‘oh no, it’s not going to happen again’. But Deon Lendore held him out and we won the bronze medal. It was a very satisfying moment for me.”

The fact that Lendore is a QRC old boy made revenge doubly sweet for Skinner.

And there was more satisfaction to come, Jehue Gordon becoming QRC’s first senior global athletics gold medallist when he won the 400m hurdles final at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia.
The Royal tradition continues.

SPORTS EDITOR’S NOTE: Express writer Kwame Laurence is among a select group of sports journalists chosen to be part of the latest IAAF Day in the Life series, a project featuring some of the Caribbean’s best athletes as well as other major players in the sport of track and field. Next Friday, Athletics Rising.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2014, 02:12:26 AM by Socapro »

Jehue Gordon latest NGC ambassador
« Reply #57 on: January 23, 2015, 08:45:11 PM »

World champ Gordon latest NGC ambassador

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/World-champ-Gordon-latest-NGC-ambassador-289644441.html

Jehue Gordon, the 2013 World 400 metres Hurdles champion, is the latest athlete to be named a NGC (National Gas Company) CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) brand ambassador. NGC CNG is developing a CNG brand ambassador promotional strategy that seeks the endorsement of CNG usage from key icons in our society.

Last year, cricketers Denesh Ramdin, Darren Bravo and Anisa Mohammed signed on as brand ambassadors. This year, Gordon, who was contracted earlier this month, becomes the newest addition.
According to a media release, “NGC CNG is very proud and delighted to have this elite group as its team of brand ambassadors.”

NGC has planned a 2015 calendar of activities for the ambassadors including NGC CNG, as a key sponsor of the T&T International Marathon carded for January 25, having Gordon and Mohammed assist the organisers in the distribution of CNG-themed prizes at the end of the marathon.   

On hand will be key members of the NGC Group Curtis Mohammed, president of NGC CNG, and Mrs. Cassandra Patrovani Sylvester, NGC’s Vice President of Human and Corporate Relations, who will be participating in the marathon which starts at St. Mary’s Junction in Freeport and ends at Whitehall, Queen’s Park Savannah West, in Port of Spain.

NGC CNG president, Mohammed said the company is very pleased to have this brand ambassador team on board.

“We are proud to include one of the accomplished sons of the soil into our sport ambassador fold. We want to be there to accompany Jehue on his journey to further excellence, and hope that our partnership with him and all our ambassadors will assist them while they continue to hone their skills in their respective sporting disciplines,”

Mohammed added that NGC CNG Company Limited is privileged to be part sponsor of T&T’s signature international marathon and will do its part to support the even

WHY NO AWARD? Hypolite’s fellow-coach calls on PM to answer
« Reply #58 on: March 11, 2015, 06:05:07 PM »
WHY NO AWARD?
Hypolite’s fellow-coach calls on PM to answer

By Kwame Laurence kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 10, 2015 at 9:02 PM ECT (T&T Express)

DENIED CHACONIA SILVER: Dr Ian Hypolite

“Why did Cabinet rescind the decision to give Dr Ian Hypolite a national award?” This question is being asked by Dr Hypolite’s fellow-coach Gunness Persad. “I’m calling on Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar,” Persad told the Express, “to tell the country why.”

Dr Hypolite guided Jehue Gordon to men’s 400 metres hurdles gold at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia. Following the triumph, it was announced by then Minister of Sport Anil Roberts that Gordon would be given the Chaconia Gold Medal, and Hypolite would be the recipient of Chaconia Silver. However, in August 2014, Hypolite received a letter from the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sport, informing him that the Cabinet decision to award him Chaconia Silver had been rescinded.

In an Express story headlined “Silver Snatched”, published on Independence Day last year, Dr Hypolite said he was embarrassed by the move. And in a letter to the Editor, published in the Express in September, the track and field coach expressed his displeasure. Yesterday, Hypolite told the Express he had nothing to add. “I have said all that I wanted to say in my letter to the Express before. I still don’t have a clear reason and idea why it was done.”

Persad, though, is not prepared to let the issue die, and is demanding answers from the head of Cabinet, Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar. Persad is also enquiring about the long delay in presenting Chaconia Gold to Gordon. “Why, up to today, Jehue Gordon has not been given his national award?”

Gordon became T&T’s second senior world track and field champion—following in the footsteps of Ato Boldon—when he finished first in the 400m hurdles final on August 15, 2013. Almost 19 months have passed, and the 23-year-old track star is preparing to defend his title at the August 22-30 IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China. Yet, he has not yet been presented with his Chaconia Gold Medal by President Anthony Carmona.

WORLD 400m hurdles champ, Jehue Gordon, left, collects his trophy for Senior Male Track Athlete of 2013 from his coach Dr Ian Hypolite at the NAAA Annual Awards ceremony held on Saturday 6th January 2014 at Capital Plaza, Port of Spain.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 07:01:11 PM by Socapro »

Forde disagrees with Persad: There is a process for national awards
« Reply #59 on: March 20, 2015, 08:03:41 AM »
Forde disagrees with Persad:
There is a process for national awards

By Andrew Gioannetti (T&T Guardian)
Published: Friday, March 20, 2015

Dr Ian Hypolite (Jehue Gordon's coach)

Retired national athletics team manager and administrator Clyde Forde says there are procedures to follow before one can earn a national award and that “no one can tell a citizen that he or she is going to get a national award”.

Forde was responding to a recent Express article in which athletics coach Gunness Persad, asked for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to tell the country why World Champion Jehue Gordon’s T&T coach, Dr Ian Hypolite, was turned down the national award that former Minister of Sport Anil Roberts said he (Hypolite) would be recommended for.

Following Gordon’s success at the 2013 World Championships, where he won gold in the men’s 400m final, Roberts called a press conference where he said: “His (Gordon’s) local coach, Dr Ian Hypolite, has been recommended in next year’s (2014) award ceremony for the Chaconia Silver Medal and shall receive $200,000 this year for his contribution to coaching Jehue.”

Roberts was also quoted as saying that Gordon will receive the Chaconia Gold Medal as a reward, $800,000 and a mid-sized house from the Housing Development Corporation, to be approved by the Minister of Housing, among other gifts paid for by the state.

Gordon was announced as a Chaconia Gold Medal winner that same year. However, he has not yet received the medal. Meanwhile, a year after being told he was recommended for the award, Hypolite received a letter last August by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sport advising that the award had been without, but without reason. Hypolite, however, received the monetary reward. Both Hypolite and more recently Persad have repeatedly asked for an explanation why the award was scrapped.

In a letter Forde wrote to the Guardian earlier this week, he said: “A national award is not given just like that. T&T is a democratic country and has to abide by the rules and laws laid down by law.

“No one can tell a citizen that he or she is going to get a national award. A person who is desirous of getting a national award first has to apply to the secretary for a national award form. You then have to get two or three prominent persons to fill out those forms and it is not an easy job.”

Forde, who received the Public Service Medal of Merit (silver) last year, then listed the requirements for an application, which indicates that the recommender “state specifically what achievements in your view qualify the nominee for a national award.”

According to Forde among the other requirements for a nomination to be considered, which were verified by a copy of a nomination form, the recommender must also state “for what length of time has the nominee been involved in the sphere of activity; How does the nominee’s achievements stand out from others in the field. To what extent has the nominee been influential in the sphere of activity.”

A nomination also requires a list of names of individuals who can attent to the contributions/achievements of the nominee, if applicable.

“Mr Persad, a committee considers the recommendations of hundreds of applicants, and then forwards its recommendations to the Prime Minister... If these guidelines are not followed, it means that every Minister can recommend an award to anyone he/she feels should get an award. Then you have no use for a national award committee,” Forde continued.

“Do you know if the president of the organization to which the person belongs got an (sic) recommendation?” Mr Persad, I believe you should have obtained all the necessary information before blaming the Hon Prime Minister and misleading the press and public. Remember, I am a member of the general council of the NAAA, the governing body for track and field in T&T.”

Forde chided Persad saying, “The Prime Minister does not owe you an explanation. You owe her an apology.”
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 10:34:31 AM by Socapro »