April 19, 2024, 04:19:22 PM

Author Topic: George Bovell: London 2012 Olympics Swimming competition schedule & results  (Read 30013 times)

Never had a chance once the start was bad. Troughout the rounds he was dying at the end, relative to those around him. Great job still. It ehn easy moving from 200IM to 50 free and then finalling at the Olympics in both of them 8 years apart! Legend!

we need more pools in Trinidad

Never had a chance once the start was bad. Troughout the rounds he was dying at the end, relative to those around him. Great job still. It ehn easy moving from 200IM to 50 free and then finalling at the Olympics in both of them 8 years apart! Legend!

Agreed.. It was always ever going to be about the start for Bovell and when they came above water and i realize he was behind the field it was an uphill battle..

Disappointed, and tempted to say he might as well had try his hand in the 100m free, but great effort nonetheless.

i am sure bovell is disappointed but congrats still.  making an olympic final is a big achievement.

Congrats to Bovell for reaching de Olympic finals but I disappointed he didn't medal.

Fans shocked at Bovell’s finish
« Reply #64 on: August 04, 2012, 12:51:26 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,164316.html

Fans shocked at Bovell’s finish
By LAUREL WILLIAMS Saturday, August 4 2012

AT ATHERLY’S By the Park restaurant and bar on Cipero Street, San Fernando, there were few patrons who eagerly awaited the start of the race.

Owner of the business place and former San Fernando Mayor Ian Atherly, speaking to Newsday following the results noted this country has always supported athletes. Atherly admitted he was still happy for Bovell.

“George was able to go out there and produced one of his better times in the earlier rounds. He had fun and that is important for athletes.

“When a country and government treat athletes with scant courtesy, it really difficult to comprehend. The sports men and women have gotten all the support from the country,” Atherly said.

He noted Bovell and other athletes have been able to bring the country together which is something politicians have failed to do.

“Yet still we do not see the importance of sport men and recognise the role that sport plays in the lives of people.

“I am happy for George despite the fact that he came 7th . As you can see people came out and were interested in what TT have to produce and we will continue doing that,” the former mayor said.

He was hopeful the athletes are having a good time during the Olympics.

Another patron at the restaurant and bar, Dawad Phillip who is the special advisor to Community Development Minister Winston “Gypsy” Peters, said, “We may have lost a battle but the war is still ahead. We sent 30 athletes so it is not as if we sent one.

“We continue to put hope and support in the remaining athletes and events.”

Although Phillip admitted he would have like a Bovell to win a medal, he added the fact that he (Bovell) made it to London in England was an achievement in itself.

Meanwhile fans in the southland were shocked and somewhat disappointed after Bovell produced a somewhat shoddy seventh place performance in the Olympic Men’s 50m freestyle finals at the Aquatic Centre in London, England, yesterday.

Bovell was previously billed one of Trinidad and Tobago’s best medal hopes at the Games.

However, all hopes sank yesterday when the three-time Olympian failed to finish among the top-three and touched the wall in a distant 21.82 seconds.

Bovell’s time in the heats and semi-finals on Thursday were faster than his final swim. In the earlier stages, he clocked 21.77s in both events.

Speaking to Newsday at the new liming spot in south, The Rig, many patrons were very disappointed with Bovell’s performance. “It wasn’t what I expected,” said one patron who gave her name as Aleema.

“I thought he would have been among the top three finishers. But honestly, I’m still proud of him and he did his best.”

Other patrons at the popular bar and restaurant shared similar sentiments as the local swimmer’s performance sent shockwaves throughout the twin island republic.

Workers at the establishment also thought Bovell III would have had a better performance and also displayed saddened signs.

“Wey, I loss my money. I bet on George to come first and he make me loss my $200. What you go do, he try,” said one employee who wished to remain anonymous.

However, the fan-support at surrounding bars seemed to be a bit dismal.

While many locals were well aware that Bovell was going to be swimming in the final today, some may have opted to stay at home and witness his seventh place finish.

Now, Trinibagonians will now turn their attention to the nation’s most promising sporting discipline, Athletics.

Tears for Bovell but T&T's Olympic swimmer takes 7th place in stride
« Reply #65 on: August 04, 2012, 02:45:33 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SORRY_NO_MEDAL-164972666.html

SORRY NO MEDAL
Tears for Bovell but T&T's Olympic swimmer takes 7th place in stride

By Kwame Laurence in London
Story Created: Aug 3, 2012 at 11:04 PM ECT

"Sport is a platform to learn valuable life lessons. And let's face the facts, failure is a big part of life. It's about learning how to address it, handling it and moving on."

These were the words of George Bovell yesterday as he took his defeat in stride, at the Aquatics Centre, here in London, England, yesterday. The 29-year-old Trinidad and Tobago swimmer finished seventh in the Olympic Games men's 50 metres freestyle final, touching the wall in 21.82 seconds.

Florent Manaudou struck gold, the Frenchman stopping the clock at 21.34 seconds,the fastest time ever recorded in a textile suit. American Cullen Jones seized silver in 21.54, forcing the 2008 Olympic champion, Brazilian Cesar Cielo (21.59) to settle for bronze.

"It happened so quickly," said Bovell, "I don't know what mistakes I made."

Unable to gain an early advantage, the four-time Olympian was up against it. Halfway through the race, he trailed the top three, and was unable to challenge for a podium finish.

On Thursday, Bovell clocked 21.77 seconds to lead all qualifiers into the semis. He returned to the pool in the second session, repeating his 21.77 swim to finish second in heat two and fifth overall in the semifinal round.

Bovell told the Express he drew on the positives from the first two rounds, in an attempt to swim the perfect race.

"The first half of the first race was great. And the night time, the last part of that race was perfect. I tried to put both of them together."

It didn't work, and Bovell had to settle for seventh spot in his second Olympic final. At the 2004 Athens Games, he had bagged bronze in the 200m individual medley.

In 2013, T&T's best ever swimmer will bid for precious metal at the World Championships, in Barcelona, Spain. That meet, he said, could well be his last.

"I plan to swim for another year, and then I think I'll retire," he said.

But Bovell is not certain he'll hang up his goggles after the 2013 Worlds. Asked if he was giving any thought to the possibility of competing at the 2016 Olympic Games, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, the freestyle specialist said: "Rio is far away. Not yet."

Being an Olympic medallist in the past, Bovell explained, helped him deal with the disappointment of missing out on a podium finish in the London 2012, 50 free final.

"I came into this Olympics with a little less pressure than some of the other people, because I'm fortunate enough that I can be in a position right now that I can say, 'yeah, been there, done that'."

Bovell said he is grateful to those who supported him on his fourth Olympic journey.

"I just want to thank them for all. I really appreciate it, and it helped carry me. Sorry we didn't get a medal today."

You try your best man, thanks Bovell.

Nex time.

George,watch meh ... hold yuh head high high! You accomplished a lot that will sink in over time.

One lament fuh me is that between 2004 and now, other swimmers have not emerged to accompany you on the big platform. Buh dahis a different conversation.

« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 12:56:48 PM by asylumseeker »