April 18, 2024, 03:35:51 AM

Author Topic: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results  (Read 43056 times)

Re: Mens 100m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
« Reply #60 on: August 05, 2012, 03:27:41 PM »
Am I the only one questioning Asafa injury?
maybe he pulled up seeing how the race was going?

that was a legit injury.

if so, then it opens up the 4 x 100. 
Jamaica doesn't need Asafa to win the 4x100m, in fact they may do better without him on the squad because Asafa missed a lot of relay practise while they were at the Pre-Olympic Camp.

I think if everything goes smoothly and none of the top teams foul up with baton passing etc that T&T is good for a bronze in the 4x100m relay behind JA and the USA.  :beermug:

« Reply #61 on: August 05, 2012, 03:28:04 PM »

that was a legit injury.

Looks so , because he said he is not sure if he can run the 4x100m i highly doubt he will run it , after a groin injury like that.

« Reply #62 on: August 05, 2012, 03:30:49 PM »

that was a legit injury.

Jamaica doesn't need Asafa to win the 4x100m, in fact they may do better without him on the squad because Asafa missed a lot of relay practise while they were at the Pre-Olympic Camp.

I think if everything goes smoothly and none of the top teams foul up with baton passing etc that T&T is good for a bronze in the 4x100m relay behind JA and the USA.  :beermug:

USA dropping batton again, so you can scratch them out

« Reply #63 on: August 05, 2012, 03:34:41 PM »

that was a legit injury.

I highly doubt that this time round.
We need to stop relying on others not doing their best if we really think we deserve to medal anyway!

I want T&T to win a medal with all the top teams in the race and performing at their best!
That way no one can grouse us of our medal.  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 03:36:49 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #64 on: August 05, 2012, 03:37:35 PM »
In need of a link ... PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!
http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/134021/6/watch-olympic:-athletics---finals.html

Thanks! Ah still eh see the race doh ... initially it was sticking and then ah click on download and things froze up fuh a while. By the time they ketch up, I heard Bolt celebrating.  :(

« Reply #65 on: August 05, 2012, 03:40:40 PM »

that was a legit injury.

We need to stop relying on others not doing their best if we really think we deserve to medal anyway!

I want T&T to win a medal with all the top teams in the race and performing at their best!

When last d USA in d relay finals? It always have some drama with them.

« Reply #66 on: August 05, 2012, 03:43:10 PM »

that was a legit injury.

agreed,

however US screwing themselves at last Worlds also end up screwing us out of a medal...

« Reply #67 on: August 05, 2012, 03:46:40 PM »

that was a legit injury.

I feel they bad luck will run out this time and they will be in the 4x100m relay final and would medal once they make the final.

Hopefully T&T will medal as well!

All thinks going smoothly if all the top three relay teams perform to their potential then I see T&T coming home with at least a bronze medal in the Men's 4x100m relay!  :beermug:

« Reply #68 on: August 05, 2012, 03:51:13 PM »
Meh boy say if JAM rest Blake and Bolt, then JAM might struggle to make 4x100 final... I laugh......

I thought about what he was saying. And he might have a point. If JAM goes with Frater, Carter, Bailey-Cole and Weir, they might have to work to get into the finals. Although, this team has the raw speed, they havent faced strong competition... most of all they havent run together as yet. Could be interesting.

« Reply #69 on: August 05, 2012, 03:52:54 PM »

that was a legit injury.

I feel they bad luck will run out this time and they will be in the 4x100m relay final and would medal once they make the final.

All thinks going smoothly if all the top three relay teams perform to their potential then I see T&T coming home with at least a bronze medal in the Men's 4x100m relay!  :beermug:

Medals coming tomorrow for TT

« Reply #70 on: August 05, 2012, 03:59:23 PM »

that was a legit injury.

Medals coming tomorrow for TT
Yeah, lets all say an overnight prayer for the two Gordon's to do what the pundits never predicted!  :beermug:

« Reply #71 on: August 05, 2012, 04:00:24 PM »
Also we could get a 3rd medal on the cycle track?!  :beermug:

« Reply #72 on: August 05, 2012, 05:49:20 PM »
Thompson needs to run 200m more

« Reply #73 on: August 05, 2012, 05:55:40 PM »
All our 100m sprinters need to run more 200metres, i.e. KAB, Ayhe, Bledman, Burns and Thompson!

I think if Rondell was more sensible he would have given up his spot to Burns in the 100m and concentrate on running the 200m and being a member of the 4x100m relay team.
Rondell is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter and never stood a chance of even making the 100m final but Burns based on recent form stood a decent chance.

Rondell could be a world class 1st tier 200m sprinter with some work and after putting on some more muscle. He is lacking in sprinting power but can still make the 200m final if he performs at his very best.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 06:01:28 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #74 on: August 05, 2012, 06:53:44 PM »
All our 100m sprinters need to run more 200metres, i.e. KAB, Ayhe, Bledman, Burns and Thompson!

I think if Rondell was more sensible he would have given up his spot to Burns in the 100m and concentrate on running the 200m and being a member of the 4x100m relay team.
Rondell is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter and never stood a chance of even making the 100m final but Burns based on recent form stood a decent chance.

Rondell could be a world class 1st tier 200m sprinter with some work and after putting on some more muscle. He is lacking in sprinting power but can still make the 200m final if he performs at his very best.

Cosign

« Reply #75 on: August 05, 2012, 07:22:52 PM »
That final look like the fastest ever on paper , waiting to see the results of that

Boy, men making sub-10 and cruising to the finish line.   Ah want dem Jakans cut Justin Gatlin arse good and proper.  Make me fall in love with he cute face in 2004 only to find out he on drugs......steups!!  Broke my heart.... :'(

Try this   

« Reply #76 on: August 05, 2012, 10:09:42 PM »
Anyone was the bottle that was tossed out on the track from the stands when the runners were in their blocks just before the start gun went off? I noticed before the race and I saw it in the replay, I heard the guy got arrested though....they should jail his arse :cursing:

« Reply #77 on: August 06, 2012, 06:00:36 AM »
That final look like the fastest ever on paper , waiting to see the results of that

Boy, men making sub-10 and cruising to the finish line.   Ah want dem Jakans cut Justin Gatlin arse good and proper.  Make me fall in love with he cute face in 2004 only to find out he on drugs......steups!!  Broke my heart.... :'(

Try this   

Oh gorm Truetrini......he was a good looking fella back in 2004.......didn't mind seeing him on my TV screen all de time...... :) :)

« Reply #78 on: August 06, 2012, 09:19:18 AM »
Anyone was the bottle that was tossed out on the track from the stands when the runners were in their blocks just before the start gun went off? I noticed before the race and I saw it in the replay, I heard the guy got arrested though....they should jail his arse :cursing:

They should send him on a trip to Jamaica......

« Reply #79 on: August 06, 2012, 12:28:51 PM »
Was down at the stadium last night to see the flashbulbs poppin and watch the real beast retain his crown. My video of the champ before the race...the big man for the big occasion :beermug:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XM4irwtWn4w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XM4irwtWn4w</a>

« Reply #80 on: August 06, 2012, 12:35:24 PM »
Was down at the stadium last night to see the flashbulbs poppin and watch the real beast retain his crown. My video of the champ before the race...the big man for the big occasion :beermug:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XM4irwtWn4w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XM4irwtWn4w</a>

nice...!

« Reply #81 on: August 06, 2012, 06:19:10 PM »

« Reply #82 on: August 06, 2012, 06:52:53 PM »
anything with Lalonde? This 400 is a Carbbean clean sweep. Gre, DR, TT?

« Reply #83 on: August 06, 2012, 06:55:10 PM »
anything with Lalonde? This 400 is a Carbbean clean sweep. Gre, DR, TT?

Yes in that order.

Re: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
« Reply #84 on: August 07, 2012, 05:01:31 AM »
Wtf Sorrillo, Lord

« Reply #85 on: August 07, 2012, 07:49:33 AM »
Wtf Sorrillo, Lord
200 Metres - M HEATS
Qual. rule: first 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 3 fastest times (q) qualified.
Morning session

Heat 2 - 07 August 2012 - 11:58
Wind: -0.1 m/s
Position   Lane   Bib   Athlete   Country   Mark   .    React

1   7   1759   Christophe Lemaitre  FRA 20.34 Q   .    0.161
2   5   2783   Anaso Jobodwana  RSA 20.46 Q   .    0.174
3   8   1283   Aaron Brown  CAN 20.55 Q   (=PB)   0.166
4   3   1987   Likoúrgos-Stéfanos Tsákonas  GRE 20.56 q   .    0.153
5   4   3049   Rondel Sorrillo  TRI 20.76    .    0.147
6   2   1560   Carlos Jorge  DOM   21.02    .    0.168
7   9   1336   Cristián Reyes   CHI 21.29    .    0.164
8   6   2927   Ibrahim Turay  SLE 21.90    (PB)   0.182

I am not surprised by Sorrillo's sub-standard performance in the 200m Heats.
What was I telling you guys about Sorrillo needing to concentrate on keeping his energy up for the 200m rounds and letting Burns who is in much better 100m form than Sorrillo himself, run the 100m rounds.
I believe Burns even stood a decent chance of making the 100m final unlike Sorrillo.

Our NAAA should have been wise and professional enough to make the decision for Sorrillo if Sorrillo wasn't mature enough to see what would be the better strategy to help him at least make one final for this Olympics.
Sorrillo tried to bite off more than he could chew in tackling both the 100m and 200m at the Olympics as he is not a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt and he needs to recognise that.
A painfull lesson he has now learnt a little too late!   :(
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 07:58:18 AM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

« Reply #86 on: August 07, 2012, 08:34:59 AM »
TRUE

« Reply #87 on: August 07, 2012, 08:54:46 AM »
So we have nobody left in the 200m.  I see our 110m hurdles rep got into the semis.  Davis, I not even goin to pretend I know him.  Anyone have any background?

« Reply #88 on: August 07, 2012, 10:01:41 AM »
Why should Sorillo have given up his place in the 100m to Marc?

We had trials, Marc had his time, he has run in several Olympics.  Sorillo beat him and EARNED his place.  How is Marc in better 100m form?

The Olympics come every 4 years and athletes live and die for this moment.

Sorillo did his part, he should not even consider such action as giving up his place EXCEPT in the case of injury.

The Olympics is about competing right?

Sorillo competed and did his best, I say well done, if Marc wanted to run in the 100m he should have beaten Sorillo in the nationals..easy as that!

I hope that the lesson learned is that if you want to compete in the Olympics bring your A game when it matters the most or sit in the stands and cheer those who do!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:34:03 AM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #89 on: August 07, 2012, 10:29:23 AM »
Trini, I could not agree with you more on the Sorillo/Burns issue. What!!!! like you reading the Bible now since we win the Bronze. All praise to Allah and Jesus.  ;D