April 27, 2024, 12:17:05 AM

Author Topic: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results  (Read 43331 times)

Re: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
« Reply #90 on: August 07, 2012, 10:35:14 AM »
Trini, I could not agree with you more on the Sorillo/Burns issue. What!!!! like you reading the Bible now since we win the Bronze. All praise to Allah and Jesus.  ;D

Amen!

Yuh know some people here so homophobic me eh undestand when they praying how dey could bring deyself to say a-MEN

« Reply #91 on: August 07, 2012, 10:37:38 AM »
Why should Sorillo have given up his place in the 100m to Marc?

We had trials, Marc had his time, Sorillo beat him and EARNED his place.  How is Marc in better 100m form?

The Olympics come every 4 years adn athletes live and die for this moment.

Sorillo did his part, he should not even consider such action as giing up his place EXCEPT in the case of injury.

The Olympics is about competing right?

Sorillo competed and did his best, I say well done, if Marc wanted to run in the 100m he should have beaten Sorillo in the nationals..easy as that!

I hope that the lesson learned is that if you want to compete in the Olympics bring your A game when it matters the most or sit in the stands and cheer those who do!
For the same reason that Christophe Lemaitre gave up his 100m place on the advice of his French coach to concentrate on the 200m where he stands a realistic chance of medalling.

Sorrillo stood absolutely zero chance of making the 100m semis much less making the 100m final as he is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter. Why was he deluding himself like that?

Marc Burns based on recent form of running a 10 flat in the 100m in Europe and beating Sorrillo convincingly in the process just before Olympics was the way better option for T&T in the 100m at this Olympics.

It would also have benefitted Sorrillo to save his energy like Lemaitre did and concentrate on the 200m and we can see the result of that big strategic error by Sorrillo and his coach/management team where he could not even progress from the Heats.

The proof is in the pudding! Making the clever decisions can make all the difference between progressing and doing well at Olympics and underperforming when it matters most.

Sorrillo and his coach/management team errored by having him split his energy between both the 100m and 200m as he is not a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt. Sorry to say it but it is the truth.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:41:33 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #92 on: August 07, 2012, 10:51:14 AM »
Sorrillo stood absolutely zero chance of making the 100m semis
but...

« Reply #93 on: August 07, 2012, 10:57:13 AM »
but...
But he stood a decent chance of progressing in the 200m if he had managed his energy more cleverly!

Too late too late shall be the cry, bad decisions not based on what is logical to help your athlete based on his ability to progress to a particular final.

« Reply #94 on: August 07, 2012, 11:04:27 AM »
Christophe Lemaitre coach is an ass.   He made his man drop out the race becasue he ranked 10th in the world....what was Richard Thompson's rank in the 100 m 2008 prior to the Olympics?

What was Lalonde Gordon's rank this year in the 2400m prior to the Olympics?

Christophe Lemaitre's coach stated that his runner is ranked 4th in the 200m and based on that he feels he has a better chance in that race rather than the 100m...maybe he will live to regret that, maybe not.  But this is the Olympics and as I said it comes once every 4 years, based on National trials Sorillo won the RIGHT to compete.  Saying that Marc ran a better race in Europe beating Sorillo is not evidence that he would have run better than Sorillo at the Olympics for obvious reasons.  And Marc's time  10.08 had a whopping 3. something wind behind his back too! he then ran a pedestrian 10.27 for a second behind Kim Collins, even Callender beat him up this year..nah..he eh deserve to run over Sorrillo.

Let us see if Christophe Lemaitre win a medal, and even if he does it still does not justify dropping Sorillo..not an iota.

« Reply #95 on: August 07, 2012, 11:05:53 AM »
Sorillo had no chance of making the finals..steups.

« Reply #96 on: August 07, 2012, 11:09:24 AM »
but...
But he stood a decent chance of progressing in the 200m if he had managed his energy more cleverly!

No, you said he had zero chance of even making the semis. I'm saying, but... he did.

« Reply #97 on: August 07, 2012, 11:12:06 AM »
Poor decision by Sorrillo and TTOC. Sorrillo should have focused on the 200. Marc would have made finals over Richard or even Asafa and Churandy.

« Reply #98 on: August 07, 2012, 11:17:43 AM »
Poor decision by Sorrillo and TTOC. Sorrillo should have focused on the 200. Marc would have made finals over Richard or even Asafa and Churandy.

Madness....Based on what?

Madness or some little demon in your backside?

MArc was not progressing out the first rounds

« Reply #99 on: August 07, 2012, 11:21:26 AM »
Christophe Lemaitre coach is an ass.   He made his man drop out the race becasue he ranked 10th in the world....what was Richard Thompson's rank in the 100 m 2008 prior to the Olympics?

What was Lalonde Gordon's rank this year in the 2400m prior to the Olympics?

Christophe Lemaitre's coach stated that his runner is ranked 4th in the 200m and based on that he feels he has a better chance in that race rather than the 100m...maybe he will live to regret that, maybe not.  But this is the Olympics and as I said it comes once every 4 years, based on National trials Sorillo won the RIGHT to compete.  Saying that Marc ran a better race in Europe beating Sorillo is not evidence that he would have run better than Sorillo at the Olympics for obvious reasons.  And Marc's time  10.08 had a whopping 3. something wind behind his back too! he then ran a pedestrian 10.27 for a second behind Kim Collins, even Callender beat him up this year..nah..he eh deserve to run over Sorrillo.

Let us see if Christophe Lemaitre win a medal, and even if he does it still does not justify dropping Sorillo..not an iota.

What are you talking about TC?
Marc ran in a race which included Sorrillo after that windy race you are referring to.
Marc ran a 10 flat in legal wind conditions and tied with one of the top Jamaican sprinters for 3rd in the race while Sorrillo looked dreadful and ran almost last!
I think the video is posted on this very forum in one of the threads; I’ll try to find it!

When I make my statements its based upon what is in the best interest of our athletes and not based on stroking an athlete's ego and leaving them to embarass themself.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 11:55:04 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #100 on: August 07, 2012, 11:24:37 AM »
ok so yuh mean the Lucerne race?  ok so what?   I maintain that Athletes train for a spot in the Olympics and if Burns wanted a spot execute when it matters...simple really
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 11:27:05 AM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #101 on: August 07, 2012, 11:26:29 AM »
but...

No, you said he had zero chance of even making the semis. I'm saying, but... he did.
Ok cool I forget that he did get to the 100m semis by the skin of his teeth but ask yuhself what good did that do him after seeing his 200m performance in the Heats and he is supposed to be our T&T 200m champion? Was that not an embarassing 200m performance by Sorrillo?

« Reply #102 on: August 07, 2012, 11:28:24 AM »
but...

Ok cool I forget that he did get to the 100m semis by the skin of his teeth but ask yuhself what good did that do him after seeing his 200m performance in the Heats and he is supposed to be our T&T 200m champion? Was that not an embarassing 200m performance by Sorrillo?

What was embarassing?  He did his best.  What was his time in the 100m?   What were his best times in the 200 this year?  par for the course fren.

« Reply #103 on: August 07, 2012, 11:32:27 AM »
ANd Pro, yuh done know I like Marc Burns as a sprinter eh.  experience etc..always seems to find a way to make it, but rules is rules, and while I always want the best....the selection criteria is what it is, man have a chance to run in Olympics and allyuh want him to give up he palce..dais madness.

Is de Olympics.

« Reply #104 on: August 07, 2012, 11:35:59 AM »
Bolt winning that 200m in a world record time I feel  nah...allyuh see the way he run that opening round 200m by Bolt?  nah..nah nah

« Reply #105 on: August 07, 2012, 11:41:48 AM »
but...

What was embarassing?  He did his best.  What was his time in the 100m?   What were his best times in the 200 this year?  par for the course fren.
You are missing my point!

Sorrillo's best 200m time this year SB is 20.40 and his PB is 20.16 that he ran at the T&T Champs last year.

If Sorrillo had concentrated on the 200m and had ran nearer to his SB in the 200m Heats then he would have easily progressed to the 200m Semis and may have even had the potential to make 200m final if he was able to run near to his PB in the Semis.

200 Metres - M HEATS
Qual. rule: first 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 3 fastest times (q) qualified.
Morning session

Heat 2 - 07 August 2012 - 11:58
Wind: -0.1 m/s
Position   Lane   Bib   Athlete   Country   Mark   .    React

1   7   1759   Christophe Lemaitre  FRA 20.34 Q   .    0.161
2   5   2783   Anaso Jobodwana  RSA 20.46 Q   .    0.174
3   8   1283   Aaron Brown  CAN 20.55 Q   (=PB)   0.166
4   3   1987   Likoúrgos-Stéfanos Tsákonas  GRE 20.56 q   .    0.153
5   4   3049   Rondel Sorrillo  TRI 20.76    .    0.147
6   2   1560   Carlos Jorge  DOM   21.02    .    0.168
7   9   1336   Cristián Reyes   CHI 21.29    .    0.164
8   6   2927   Ibrahim Turay  SLE 21.90    (PB)   0.182

Sorrillo running near to his season best earlier today would have seen him easily in the top 3 in his 200m Heat but he was unfortunately spent after trying his hand at the 100m and scrapping thru to the 100m semis after which he stood zero chance of progressing as he is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter.

Bad management decisions by TTOC and our NAAA once again. What ah waste!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 11:51:53 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #106 on: August 07, 2012, 12:15:05 PM »
If Bledman ahd run anything close to his personal best he was in the finals too...it jes doh work so breds.

« Reply #107 on: August 07, 2012, 01:00:35 PM »
If Bledman ahd run anything close to his personal best he was in the finals too...it jes doh work so breds.
Bledman has been coming back from a recent injury he had to get treatment for hence why he did not run in the 4x100m relay at Crystal Palace in London after aggravating/sustaining the injury in the 100m.

I am dealing with what was most likely based on our athlete’s most recent form minus injury!

Based on most recent form Burns had just as good a chance of making the 100m final as RT had if not better while Sorrillo did not. Lets be realistic here nah man?!

Here is video of the 100m final on 17th July in Lucerne with both Burns and Sorrillo.

Meeting Luzern- M100m Yohan Blake Wins in 9.85s
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/mYz14hltt_A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/mYz14hltt_A</a>
100m Men - A-Final
 Date: 17/07/2012 Time: 19:39
 Wind: +1.6
 Rk   StNr   Name   Jg   Nat.   Association   Performance

First   35   Yohan Blake   1989   JAM   Jamaica   9.85   1st / I
 Second     38   Michael Frater   1982   JAM   Jamaica   10:00   2 / I
 Third   99   Marc Burns   1983   TRI   Trinidad and Tobago   10:00   3 / I

4th   36   Lerone Clarke   1981   JAM   Jamaica   10:12   4 / I 
 5   A   Daniel Bailey   1986   ANT   Antigua and Barbados   10:12   5 / I 
 6th   19   James Dasaolu   1987   GBR   Great Britain   10:19   6 / I 
7th   100   Rondel Sorrillo   1986   TRI   Trinidad and Tobago   10:23   7 / I 
 8th   67   Fongue Rolf Malcolm   1987   SUI   GG Bern   10:53   8 /

The message was written for me in plain black and white since I saw this race last month featuring both Burns and Sorrillo that Burns was the far safer candidate to get to the 100m final at the Olympics in London than Sorrillo was.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 01:12:28 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #108 on: August 07, 2012, 02:56:07 PM »
If Marc should have run the 100 instead of Sorillo, then why have the national trials. Just select men on their tour performance.

« Reply #109 on: August 07, 2012, 03:10:51 PM »
If Marc should have run the 100 instead of Sorillo, then why have the national trials. Just select men on their tour performance.
Our National Trials served its purpose but use you intelligence nah man and read what I said properly!

Sorrillo running the 100m worked against him in performing at his best in his pet event the 200m. He was spent after attempting the 100m and wasting his time as he stood no chance of making the 100m final! Burns on the other hand stood a much better chance of making the 100m final, as good a chance as RT had based on his most recent performances.

T&T is now passed the stage of countries like the Solomon Islands of just taking part in the Olympics to make up numbers.

We now expect all our best athletes to at least make the finals in their pet event and to hopefully be medal contenders once they make the final.

We need to have the mindset of a 1st world athletics nations like the USA and Jamaica and to get rid of the underachieving mindset of 3rd world athletics nations.

This is why I am disappointed with Sorrillo running the 100m when we have someone else with the A standard 100m qualification time who was clearly a better candidate to make the 100m final.

The bigger picture is that Sorrillo should have given Burns the 100m spot for T&T's as well as his own benefit! He would now be looked upon as an honourable hero athlete of T&T especially if Burns had made the 100m final and Sorrillo himself had progressed onto the 200m semis as he was well capable of doing after saving his energy for the event in which he stood a realistic chance of making the final in.

Too many of us are thinking in a selfish manner and not looking at the bigger picture that is the problem. :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 03:31:53 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #110 on: August 07, 2012, 06:31:00 PM »
Pro, you make sense and I think most agree.  I think the real question then becomes (for the future), what procedure to employ to make such "last min" changes.  After national trials perhaps have a meeting immediately preceding the games/WC to re-finalize the team in light of any recent developments?  No expert in these regards, but I don't think you are wrong, the qu is how to execute in a manner equitable to all and of benefit to team TT

« Reply #111 on: August 07, 2012, 06:42:08 PM »
Nonsense!  Again the question is why have National Championships then?

The selection criteria is clear, in the USA, in Canada, in Germany, In Jmaica and in Trinidad and Tobago.

To run finish in the top three or yuh is an alternate.

Simple and no brainer.

I trian all year and win my place on the team and you telling me nah yuh he running, the man yuh beat getting yuh spot?

WTF?

You could beat e all year and as soon as Championships come that is when yuh need to do it to cement yuh spot on the team.

This is the facking Olympics and as I stated before atheletes all dream of running ot competing there...steups.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 06:44:03 PM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #112 on: August 07, 2012, 08:16:17 PM »
Nonsense!  Again the question is why have National Championships then?

The selection criteria is clear, in the USA, in Canada, in Germany, In Jmaica and in Trinidad and Tobago.

To run finish in the top three or yuh is an alternate.

Simple and no brainer.

I trian all year and win my place on the team and you telling me nah yuh he running, the man yuh beat getting yuh spot?

WTF?

You could beat e all year and as soon as Championships come that is when yuh need to do it to cement yuh spot on the team.

This is the facking Olympics and as I stated before atheletes all dream of running ot competing there...steups.
What you are arguing there TC would make sense if Sorrillo was a 100m specialist and was a hot contender to make the 100m final and did not already have a spot secured in the 200m in which he has specialised.

The truth is Sorrillo is a 200m specialist and stood a realist chance of making the 200m final but blew his chance by trying to bit off more than he could chew.

If you had any concern about what would have been more beneficial for Sorrillo in the long term you won't even be trying to argue with me about my point which has been proven by Sorrillo’s sub-par performance earlier today in the 200m. His tank was empty from wasting his time in the 100m.

Maybe you love to see our athletes just making up numbers and underachieving but I don't.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 08:23:15 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #113 on: August 07, 2012, 09:01:52 PM »
What you fail to realize is that if I entered the race and won I would be at the Olympics...so the non specialist beat the specialist and yuh still vex???

« Reply #114 on: August 07, 2012, 09:10:16 PM »
What you fail to realize is that if I entered the race and won I would be at the Olympics...so the non specialist beat the specialist and yuh still vex???

Didnt Kai beat Michelle in the trials?

« Reply #115 on: August 07, 2012, 09:16:25 PM »
Yes Kai did beat Michele at the trials in the 100m... Michelle still ran the 100m at the Olympics.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=57347.60

Plain and simple...Marc should have replaced Sorrillo. They did it for the women.

« Reply #116 on: August 07, 2012, 09:18:40 PM »

Didnt Kai beat Michelle in the trials?

Yes I think so, and your point is?

They did it or did she make a decision to only run one race?  And based on what criterion should Marc have replaced Sorillo (the same Sorillo that did not receive funding from the T&T Government)?   Allyuh forgetting that the team was already chosen when Marc buss his best time for three years?  Steups..No way should he have been chosen ahead of Sorillo..NO FACKING WAY!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 09:20:38 PM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #117 on: August 07, 2012, 09:24:30 PM »
Why allyuh eh say choose him infront of Bledman?  the same Bledman who struggled to make any times of consequence after Trials?  TYRIALS...see the name  ???

« Reply #118 on: August 07, 2012, 09:35:53 PM »
Why allyuh eh say choose him infront of Bledman?  the same Bledman who struggled to make any times of consequence after Trials?  TYRIALS...see the name  ???
Why yuh like to behave so dotish sometimes TT?
Yuh very well know that Bledman got injured at the Crystal Palace meet in London that took place last month (after our National Trials) and has been recovering from his injury ever since. Hence why he did not perform like he has done for most of this year at meets outside of T&T as well as at our National Trials.

Sorrillo screwed himself by trying to behave like he is a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt. He should have saved his energy for the 200m rounds and he would have been into the semis and still be in the reckoning all now.

At least Kai had a little more sense than Sorrillo by allowing Michelle the 100m specialist with the A standard to run and decided to concentrate on the 200m which she is better at and I must commend her for having a lot of common sense unlike Sorrillo and his management team.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 09:38:58 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #119 on: August 07, 2012, 09:42:45 PM »
So why not replace the injured man, not at his best..not doing so is dotish not me....The Olympics is not about fren and team in individual events breds...WHy must a man train all year to make a team and then give it up?   Running and making it out the rounds can make cash...the man already did not get financial support from the government as the others did...now allyuh want him to give up all his hard work and sacrifice for what again?

And how de hell you or anyone else can guess that he did not perform to his peak in the 200 because he ran the 100?  That is shit talk...in fact it is dotish talk.

His times in the 200 are consistent with what he has run all year, is not like he was doing anything close to his PB all his races...steups.

Again Marc did not earn his spot, this is not some fan popularity competition is National CHAMPIONSHIPS And he earned his spot!

Talk done
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 09:50:02 PM by truetrini SC »