April 24, 2024, 10:58:48 AM

Author Topic: watch yourself  (Read 1338 times)

watch yourself
« on: August 27, 2012, 09:38:11 AM »
yuh know every tom dick and harry is a Javelin man in TnT now.

beware accidents happen

BERLIN (AP) -A sports official in Germany has died after being struck in the throat by a javelin, police said Monday.

The 74-year-old man was adjudicating at a youth athletics event in the western city of Duesseldorf when the incident happened late Sunday, said police spokesman Andre Hartwig.

He was immediately taken to hospital but died of injuries early Monday, Hartwig said.

The local athletics association for Duesseldorf and Neuss identified the man as Dieter Strack.

"The popular and experienced sports judge was the victim of a tragic accident while carrying out his duties on Aug. 26," the association said on its website. "All of us who were there are horrified and in shock."

Hartwig said that the 15-year-old athlete who threw the javelin was receiving psychological counseling.

Police have opened an investigation into the official's death but initial indications were that it had been an accident, he added.

The competition in the Rath district of Duesseldorf was called off after the incident.

Re: watch yourself
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 11:49:18 AM »
It happened in a recent olympic or WC meet.  A man ketch it somewhere in his torso but I think he lived.

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 11:55:46 AM »
I remember someone getting it in their thigh some time ago.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ESk92IaVUpw&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ESk92IaVUpw&amp;</a>
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 12:01:29 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2012, 12:28:17 PM »
nah, man I feel we go have a better chance at pistol shooting, next one

ooopps..wrong forum

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2012, 05:34:38 PM »
nah, man I feel we go have a better chance at pistol shooting, next one

ooopps..wrong forum

Man doh encourage dem.  The last thing we need is for the gunmen to improve their aim.