March 28, 2024, 03:59:53 AM

Author Topic: Before Brendan Nash  (Read 5459 times)

Before Brendan Nash
« on: August 30, 2012, 03:14:36 AM »
Who was the last white player to be selected for the WI (sr. level) before Brendan Nash?
No, not the A team, the Sr. team.

NOT TALL MAN.

Re: Before Brendan Nash
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 06:17:16 AM »
 :rotfl: that depends on what you call white!

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 11:00:39 AM »
:rotfl: that depends on what you call white!

You have a point.  ;D

Let's just say he would pass for white in the US  ;D

And please doh tell meh Larry Gomes.  :laugh:

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 11:33:42 AM »
Who was the last white player to be selected for the WI (sr. level) before Brendan Nash?

NOT TALL MAN.

Geoff Greenidge, 1973. From Barbados I believe.

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 11:43:08 AM »

NOT TALL MAN.

Geoff Greenidge, 1973. From Barbados I believe.

That is the common mistake. ;-)

This is a slightly trick question.

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 04:10:20 PM »
Can't give too many hints or this would be too easy.

He was selected to go on tour not to play at home.

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2012, 11:01:36 PM »

Did he actually play for the WI?

« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2012, 03:22:22 AM »

Did he actually play for the WI?

He toured with them and played.

« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2012, 05:43:53 PM »
Last hint. He toured with the WI. He played only FC matches no Tests.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2012, 07:53:52 PM »
I give up man...who it is??

« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2012, 09:03:53 PM »

Richard Smith

« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2012, 01:54:04 AM »

« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2012, 07:28:02 PM »
Who?.....Gareth Breese?
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2012, 02:12:16 AM »

« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2012, 03:47:14 PM »
Some additional info:

years ago, I saw him listed as having played for the WI. I thought this was an error.

If you go to his name in espncricinfo, there is no mention of him having been selected for the WI.
However, I was looking at the performance of another cricketer and was shocked to see this fellow in the line up.

I checked and saw that he played in almost every FC match on that tour.

« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2012, 06:46:22 AM »
TM go ahead.

« Reply #16 on: September 28, 2012, 08:29:10 AM »
Tall Man buss.

One final hint. He's from Trinidad and Tobago.

« Reply #17 on: October 26, 2012, 12:04:34 PM »
Answer:

Randall Lyon, the wicketkeeper for TT toured India with the WI in 1978/79 during the Packer crisis.

He was the backup to David Murray.

Here's his top score vs. South Zone.

http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1970S/1978-79/WI_IN_IND/WI_SOUTH_09-11DEC1978.html

« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2013, 10:43:14 PM »
Answer:

Randall Lyon, the wicketkeeper for TT toured India with the WI in 1978/79 during the Packer crisis.

http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1970S/1978-79/WI_IN_IND/WI_SOUTH_09-11DEC1978.html

shouldn't that be Derrick Murray?? IMO the best wicketkeeper EVER!!

« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2013, 11:03:49 PM »
Answer:

shouldn't that be Derrick Murray?? IMO the best wicketkeeper EVER!!

No boss, David Murray was a very good batsman-wicketkeeper from Barbados. Son of Everton Weekes and father of Rickey Hoyte.