April 19, 2024, 05:39:37 PM

Author Topic: Caledonia wants to defy Concacaf Champions’ League odds  (Read 3288 times)

Caledonia wants to defy Concacaf Champions’ League odds
« on: August 28, 2012, 05:59:15 PM »
Caledonia wants to defy Concacaf Champions’ League odds
ttproleague.com

“It’s a question now that we’ve got to be more determined than worry,” explained Caledonia AIA Technical Director Jamaal Shabazz following last Wednesday’s 0-0 draw against visiting CD Marathón at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Concacaf Champions’ League.

Despite earning just one point against the Hondurans, Shabazz said his team proved that Trinidad and Tobago clubs aren't much distance away from the top Concacaf clubs.

He added, “With a little more belief, fitness and a lot more organization, I think we are still in with a chance.”

Caledonia seated with just one point after two games in Group 4 definitely needs a lot of belief and maximum points from its remaining two matches to keep alive a mathematical chance at this stage, as only the group leader advances into the quarter-final round of the Concacaf Champions’ League.

Caledonia, which suffered a 3-1 defeat in Washington on August 2 against United States Major League Soccer club Seattle Sounders, hosts the Americans from 8pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Thursday 30 August and then away to Marathón on Wednesday 26 September.

The MLS club with three matches in hand boasts 3 points, while Caledonia with two matches to go and Marathón with three matches remaining are with one point each.

“We would be confident,” assured Caledonia central defender Radanfah Abu Bakr going up against the likes of Sammy Ochoa, Fredy Montero and Andy Rose who all scored in Sounders 3-1 home win.

“We had a look at them before and we certainly believe we can match them and battle them playing at home. We want to make amends for the first leg,” added the defender.

“We are going to continue to prepare,” said Shabazz. “We are going to continue to try and increase the belief system in the team. I think we really want this one against Seattle.”

From a motivational standpoint, the Caledonia Technical Director added, “The good thing about it …is that Seattle by their fan base is the most popular team in the MLS and this is a game that the entire Concacaf would be focused on, at least from a television standpoint. It is the type of game that you can go out and make a name for yourself. So we are really looking forward.”

Looking further ahead, Shabazz shared total optimism.

He continued, “We live in interesting times. For us going into Honduras, we look forward to it. We are very naïve and sometimes it’s good to be naïve and not have the fear that you should have. We only want to play. We only want to prove to them that we can maybe be better than ‘Cinderella’ in Concacaf. It hasn’t been a great start for us but how well it would be for us to go away and pull away a point or three points in Honduras.”
« Last Edit: August 28, 2012, 07:50:31 PM by Tallman »

Re: Caledonia wants to defy Concacaf Champions’ League odds
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 06:43:49 PM »
You can tell Shabazz is nervous. He repeated the whole interview  :rotfl: :rotfl:

I really hope Cally can get a win, just to boost the T&T reputation. And I'm hoping the stadium will be packed. This really is a big game and I hope the T&T public respond.

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 05:04:27 AM »
Shabazz cannot coach at any level above the Caribbean, even if Cali win a game, they not going anywhere.

And then you will hear all de excuses in the world.

Theobald to feature against Seattle
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 06:26:59 AM »
Theobald to feature against Seattle
T&T Newsday

FORMER TRINIDAD and Tobago football team captain Densill Theobald is expected to make his return to the Caledonia AIA team today when they face Seattle Sounders in their CONCACAF Champions League Group Four encounter at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva from 8 pm.

Theobald, who returned to Caledonia as a free agent, after a year-long stint with Dempo SC in India, is expected to replace fellow midfielder Keyon Edwards who will miss the game due to suspension.

Thus far, in Group Four, Seattle are atop the three-team group with three points from their lone game — a 3-1 result against AIA on August 2 at the CenturyLink Field while Caledonia, at the bottom of the standings, gained their lone point following a goalless draw against Marathon of Honduras on August 22. Only the winner of this group will advance to the quarter final phase.

In the August 2 meeting, Seattle got first-half goals from striker Sammy Ochoa (19th minute), Colombian striker Fredy Montero (30th) and midfielder Andy Rose (43rd), with Kareem Joseph pulling one back with a penalty in the 50th. Caledonia coach Jamaal Shabazz, in a recent interview, noted, “it’s always a pleasure to work with Densill, he so much of a role model and good example to the team and the youths of Morvant/Laventille.

“His work ethic is second to none and he’s already made a positive impact on the squad, especially with the younger players,” added Shabazz.

“We cannot coach experience and he brings lots of experience and enthusiasm at a most critical time for us in this campaign,” stated Shabazz.

But the Caledonia tactician is not fazed by the pressure of meeting the top MLS club, which was only established in November 2007.

“Certainly we have got to dig deep and pull out a performance that will give us the result we need against Seattle. Actually we relish the challenge not only for ourselves but for Trinidad and Tobago as well,” stated Shabazz.

“Going into this game we want our will to win to be greater than any fear of losing,” he ended.

Seattle, will be featuring Trinidad and Tobago Under-23 striker Cordell Cato, as well as midfielder Brad Evans, forward Eddie Johnson, and captain and midfielder and captain Mauro Rosales (from Argentina).

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 12:09:55 PM »
A POS team playing its home games in South.

I can only imagine how jokey we look to the Lations. SMH. ???

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 12:12:42 PM »

And they last game was in de Ato Boldon Stadium, they is a real Trinbago team...   ;D

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2012, 01:21:30 PM »

And they last game was in de Ato Boldon Stadium, they is a real Trinbago team...   ;D

How dem Laventill/Morvant ppl making dat boy.

Flex what's the reason for no game in the HC?

« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2012, 01:43:04 PM »
How dem Laventill/Morvant ppl making dat boy.

Flex what's the reason for no game in the HC?

Nicki Minaj concert....

« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2012, 03:25:48 PM »

vb, Ato stadium is in Central.  But what is the issue with Larry Gomes? Why can't they play there?

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2012, 03:41:24 PM »

vb, Ato stadium is in Central.  But what is the issue with Larry Gomes? Why can't they play there?

Well for a tong man like me is Southish.  ;D

But LG or AB stadium, what's the real difference.

If money was an issue, they coulda just rent out the covered section of the HC.

Offline loyalist

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2012, 05:17:15 PM »
fox soccer channel showing the game alsoat 8pm EST.

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2012, 06:41:25 PM »
AH SHAME watching dat empty stadium.

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2012, 06:48:25 PM »
Glenroy Samuel looks horrible

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2012, 06:54:18 PM »
Seattle scores just before half time.

Cali looking ordinary. Defense shaky.

« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2012, 07:14:24 PM »
The Seattle fans making more noise than the locals.  ::)

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2012, 07:21:32 PM »
As bad as Cale has been theyve had the better chances this half, seattle is a very good team but they also look average tonight.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2012, 07:23:30 PM »
Soon as i finish type that its 2-0

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2012, 07:29:17 PM »
2-1

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2012, 07:31:27 PM »
3-1

« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2012, 07:31:33 PM »
3-1

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2012, 07:33:45 PM »
3-1

Offline madness1969

« Reply #22 on: August 30, 2012, 07:50:15 PM »
no love, no love,  all dem trinis team plays the same way... WC and AIA setups

« Reply #23 on: August 30, 2012, 09:00:43 PM »
target practice for a seattle "b" side?

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/hiHSSiGsyTE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/hiHSSiGsyTE</a>

« Reply #24 on: August 30, 2012, 10:13:26 PM »
Caledonia scored and the crowd went...........tepid!

« Reply #25 on: August 30, 2012, 11:52:30 PM »
What will convey the message onto these clueless, small minded buffoons that in order to compete well on the regional and international level, it comes down soley to two things, we need academies and a better football program!!!!!!!!! :cursing:

we cannot continue to rely on the secondary school league for players, it is a recipe for failure, why is it that not one solitary person with a say on that island can't come to this conclusion?? it's so easy even ah monkey could see it! :frustrated:

these boy need to be in an environment of proper football tutoring as early as 9 yrs old. they lack ball handling skills real bad. if you look @ any of these games, these boy lack the very fundamental skills that makes footballer more confident, ball handling being the biggest one of them all.

they need to learn from a young age how to master that ball @ their feet, and maintain a cool vibe when traveling with that ball. doh get tied up with ball mastery! it's ah big plus in any sport, and if these boys learn it from a young age, then i believe we could put out some of the best footballers in the world.

it hurts my heart to see how we throw our sons out their to be embarrassed by these spanish and yankees, IMO the guys have the talent, but they are let down by their country, their minister and their coaches!

what more can i say that hasn't already been said.   :banginghead:

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2012, 04:22:03 AM »
What will convey the message onto these clueless, small minded buffoons that in order to compete well on the regional and international level, it comes down soley to two things, we need academies and a better football program!!!!!!!!! :cursing:

we cannot continue to rely on the secondary school league for players, it is a recipe for failure, why is it that not one solitary person with a say on that island can't come to this conclusion?? it's so easy even ah monkey could see it! :frustrated:

these boy need to be in an environment of proper football tutoring as early as 9 yrs old. they lack ball handling skills real bad. if you look @ any of these games, these boy lack the very fundamental skills that makes footballer more confident, ball handling being the biggest one of them all.

they need to learn from a young age how to master that ball @ their feet, and maintain a cool vibe when traveling with that ball. doh get tied up with ball mastery! it's ah big plus in any sport, and if these boys learn it from a young age, then i believe we could put out some of the best footballers in the world.

it hurts my heart to see how we throw our sons out their to be embarrassed by these spanish and yankees, IMO the guys have the talent, but they are let down by their country, their minister and their coaches!

I honestly think it's a waste of time discussing it anymore.  You should save yourself the headache......trust me, it works, because, quite frankly, the problem starts with our own attitude as a people.  The problem starts long before we are betrayed by our ministers and coaches.   I watched a W-Connection U-18 game not too long ago....a Brian Williams-coached U-18 team.....against their Caledonia counterparts...players not listening to the coach's instructions, doin' they own thing on the field and even at the half, when Brian is supposed to have the full attention of the team, you can see there is a disconnect between he and the team....there lacks a certain level of respect, a certain separation that clearly establishes his authority above these players and Brian didn't seem to be able to command it as needed, either.   Just on his dedication and service alone to Trinidad football, he is a man supposed to have youths following his every word like he's the pied piper.....But Connection just need to win the league and everybody happy. 

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2012, 04:47:34 AM »
It had a game yesterday? Stueps

« Reply #28 on: September 01, 2012, 01:50:28 PM »
Imagine Theoblad did play a game in months since he left India and could still walk onto this team.

His fitness was a factor against Seattle, it slowed down alot in the second half.

I wonder why he left India ?

« Reply #29 on: September 01, 2012, 04:58:53 PM »

The conclusion has been made and delivered. I stated this at Anil Roberts football consultation. Intercol makes stars of young men who have not developed a professional mental football education. By the time they leave Intercol, they need 6 months of coaching to even get them ready for overseas professional football. But, at 18 or 19, European clubs want players who have been inside professional clubs for 3 or 4 years. The next problem is that they are used to playing against schoolboys. When they play against seasoned professionals, they cannot find space to play their game and look lost.

The problem is that Intercol coaches have so much power and support that when clubs try to take players at age 14, they often lose and have to let the players play Intercol. Until the mentality changes and coaching for youths improves, Intercol will keep the best talent even as it drags T&T further backwards.