April 25, 2024, 07:04:13 PM

Author Topic: Bateau signs one year deal with Belgium's Mechelen.  (Read 6562 times)

Bateau signs one year deal with Belgium's Mechelen.
« on: September 13, 2012, 03:13:47 PM »
Bateau signs one year deal with Belgium's Mechelen.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago National Under 23 captain Sheldon Bateau signed a one-year contract with Belgium Jupiler League club KV Mechelen on Thursday to become this country’s second player to currently be playing in that country.

Bateau underwent a medical examination on Thursday morning before signing on the dotted line. His contract runs for one year with the option of an additional two years.

The former National Under 20 captain had been training at the club for the past three days after spending the previous three weeks in Holland.

Mechelen needed cover for injured  Bosnian international defender Boris Pandza  and found Bateau to be the ideal replacement.

The ex-Olympic team captain will join countryman Khaleem Hyland in Belgium with the midfielder currently a fixture in the Racing Genk start team. Both teams are in the same League, the top tier of Belgium club football.

“I signed the contract earlier today and I am very relieved to have finally landed a deal in Europe. This is a dream becoming a reality for me,” the 21-year-old Bateau told TTFF Media on Thursday.

“I’m just very anxious to begin a full professional career in Europe now. I played for Jabloteh in the local Pro League but this now is the real deal,” added Bateau hails from Charford Court, East Dry River but also calls St Ann’s a second home.

“The past few days have been stressful for me. I’ve had sleepless nights not knowing what the situation would turn out to be. I did well at FC Twente but then the deal there was cancelled at the last minute. Then I came to Mechelen.

Up to a few days ago, Twente officials kept in touch and wanted to work something out for January but I’ve signed with Mechelen and I believe that this is what God wanted for me. I’m very happy to have signed my first overseas contract and now just looking to get down to the business of representing the club and fulfilling my dreams,” Bateau added.

“I’m just thankful to God and everyone who  stood by and supported me. My past coaches and teammates have been part of this journey so far.”

Bateau also represented T&T at the 2007 FIFA Under 17 and 2009 Under 20 World Cups and has been with the national set up since the under 15 level. His accomplishment was hailed by TTFF

TTFF Technical Director Anton Corneal who coached the youngster since his days at the National Under 15 level.

“All credit to Sheldon. He is a fine example of what hard work, determination and belief can result in. He has been in our system from a very young age and he has come through the ranks.

We’d like to wish him the very best in his endeavors in Europe and of course we are really looking forward to seeing him represent the Red,White and Black well in the future,” Corneal said.

Mechelen is based in the Antwerp Province and  have won four Belgian championships and one Belgian Cups, as well as the 1987-88 European Cup Winners' Cup.

« Last Edit: September 14, 2012, 05:36:52 AM by Flex »

Re: Bateau signs one year deal with Belgium's Mechelen
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2012, 04:07:11 PM »
Congratulations!

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2012, 04:28:48 PM »
Belgian football going through a renaissance at the moment. Good move!!

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2012, 04:45:17 PM »
Great stuff, congrats

« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2012, 04:48:00 PM »
Nice!
By the time we get our house in order, these youths will be 33 and ready to roll!
« Last Edit: September 14, 2012, 05:46:50 AM by Dinner Mints »

« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2012, 05:38:03 PM »
House in order? Somehow I can't see that soon :(

« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2012, 08:28:15 PM »
No pun intended my yute, now that you there, stay there and learn how to defend and learn how to make smarter decisions bc i saw you against mexico and yuh made some thoughtless decisions. now if yuh learn yuh craft and learn to think quick on your feet i could see you reaching very far, as far as champions league, but yuh must learn to think quick and play smart, God knows we need defenders for the national team.

next is mr danial cyrus, this fella needs to leave that slow league and play in europe as well. how come england doh like none of our players no mo?

« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2012, 04:01:23 AM »
Good news like that gives you reason to feel optimistic about our football,take it with both hands my yute. :beermug:

Re: Bateau signs one year deal with Belgium's Mechelen.
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2012, 05:39:07 AM »
Good news for him. Good league to learn to be a professional, gain experience and develop in general.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2012, 08:27:38 AM »
Hyland started out at an unfashionable team in belgium as well then progressed quickly enough to move to the then champions. So hopefully Sheldon does well enough in his first year at Mechelen to earn an extension. Good luck fella  ;D

« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2012, 10:53:51 AM »
Very happy for Bateau. Yuh deserve it. Mash dem up.

« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2012, 11:03:31 AM »
enjoy de fitball...well done

« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2012, 12:09:35 PM »
Very happy for Bateau. Yuh deserve it. Mash dem up.

CO-SIGNNNNN

« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2012, 04:15:22 PM »
Nice!
By the time we get our house in order, these youths will be 33 and ready to roll!

We must have a house first !

Offline lil damo

« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2012, 11:57:47 AM »
good move for him, hope he stays healthy, gets playign time and does well. Will be tuning in to watch his games to see how he does.

« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2012, 05:59:21 PM »
congrats to de youth

Offline sd

« Reply #16 on: September 19, 2012, 03:59:15 AM »
Kevin molino on trial with zulte waregem on the same path that hyland walked

« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2012, 09:26:17 AM »
Kevin molino on trial with zulte waregem on the same path that hyland walked

Excellent news!!!

Offline lil damo

« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2012, 08:04:40 PM »
I really really reallyyyyy hope Molino moves to Europe. That youth have real game but lacks the proper exposure to maxamize his talent. I hope he signs for Zulte bec that club in particular is good at developing young players.

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2012, 08:54:14 PM »
watched a match weekend past with Zulte and Hazard was a beast in midfield. Would love to see what he a Molino could do in tamdem. Would be a joy to behold if Molino can settle fast

« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2012, 12:00:54 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RfoC_9JQUmg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RfoC_9JQUmg</a>

« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2012, 04:28:23 PM »
No pun intended my yute, now that you there, stay there and learn how to defend and learn how to make smarter decisions bc i saw you against mexico and yuh made some thoughtless decisions. now if yuh learn yuh craft and learn to think quick on your feet i could see you reaching very far, as far as champions league, but yuh must learn to think quick and play smart, God knows we need defenders for the national team.

next is mr danial cyrus, this fella needs to leave that slow league and play in europe as well. how come england doh like none of our players no mo?

Advice that he may have had from his coaches in TT but not having to play against better quality players its not needed,he would do well to heed your sensible input.

« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2012, 11:41:59 AM »

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2012, 09:55:30 AM »

Now time to get in the team, hopefully this weekend he will @ least be on the benhc. Congrats

« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2012, 08:42:49 AM »
did he get International clearance yet ???.up to last week he did not....

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2012, 08:12:52 AM »
did he get International clearance yet ???.up to last week he did not....
Yes he did came on as a sub on Saturday in the 30th minute. Lost 2-0

« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2013, 01:50:32 PM »
His contract runs for one year with the option of an additional two years.

The additional 2-year option has been taken. His contract now runs till 2015.
http://www.kvmechelen.be/site/artikel.php?id=4518

« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2013, 05:24:12 AM »
Bateau gets new 2-year deal, Gay off on 3-week trial at Mechelen.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago defender Sheldon Bateau has agreed to a new two-year extension to his contract with Belgium top division club KV Mechelen.

Bateau agreed to the offer last week and is delighted to be staying at the club until the end of 2014 at least. Now he’s hoping to have Trinidadian teammate Jamal Gay join him as the big striker heads to Mechelen for a three-week trial beginning this Monday.

Bateau was not expecting the new offer until March but had no issues with the early approach.Like him, Gay was also not expecting the three-week trial offer and hopefully he will be able to do sufficiently well to secure a deal.

Read More.

« Reply #28 on: January 20, 2013, 06:28:30 AM »
Tek yuh chance my yute,all de best.

« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2013, 06:42:21 PM »
Seeing that Bateau played for SJJ, I hope the club got some money out of it.