April 25, 2024, 04:40:25 PM

Author Topic: Women's Football Discussion Thread  (Read 17434 times)

Re: Women's Football Discussion Thread
« Reply #30 on: October 24, 2012, 07:45:05 PM »
French football team interviews ah dont understand a thing but my eyes seeing  :)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6Od5Z4Cx8jo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6Od5Z4Cx8jo</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YgzEieCcy-Q&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YgzEieCcy-Q&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Mcks1yzgn8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9Mcks1yzgn8</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5E4cL6PI5pE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5E4cL6PI5pE</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XskfLdv-cnI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XskfLdv-cnI</a>

« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2012, 09:10:35 PM »

« Reply #32 on: November 14, 2012, 12:02:41 PM »
A lot of the game on the women's side lacks:

1. Guile
2. Anticipation
3. Aerial domination of the ball
4. Patience
5. Use of the carpet
6. Possession

Re: Re: Women's Football Discussion Thread
« Reply #33 on: November 14, 2012, 12:14:15 PM »

1. Guile
2. Anticipation
4. Patience
5. Use of the carpet
6. Possession

When you get chance try finding the Japan vs Germany semi from the last WC. If you want to see that, one of the finest display of football I ever see.

Depends on the team you watch too. To me, i accept women's football for what it is, it's improving fast (except Trinidad). I'm amazed at how the game has improved from the shit it was 15 years ago.

If you go into it expecting it to be on the same level as men, you will be disappointed.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 12:18:08 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #34 on: November 14, 2012, 01:23:16 PM »

1. Guile
2. Anticipation
4. Patience
5. Use of the carpet
6. Possession

Do you think that #3 is the #1 deficiency technically in the women's game?

I think 4, 5 & 6 may have to do with an attempt to please fans by attempting to "speed up" the game. also in the women's game a bigger, faster or stronger player will quicker dominate a smaller slower player than in the men's game, therefore such a strategy is usually emphasized in the women's side of the game. Which comes back to #1 & #2. An increase in sophistication in the game may lead to nutralizing much of the strength and pure speed.

Japan and France is taking the lead to bring the game closer to the men's game.

« Reply #35 on: November 14, 2012, 02:04:11 PM »

1. Guile
2. Anticipation
4. Patience
5. Use of the carpet
6. Possession

When you get chance try finding the Japan vs Germany semi from the last WC. If you want to see that, one of the finest display of football I ever see.

Depends on the team you watch too. To me, i accept women's football for what it is, it's improving fast (except Trinidad). I'm amazed at how the game has improved from the shit it was 15 years ago.

If you go into it expecting it to be on the same level as men, you will be disappointed.

Fully agree. I would add also that we should never expect women playing the game to one day equate with men playing the game. As it is, the dynamics of the game on each side are so fundamentally different, and the goal for advocates of the women's game isn't to play the game "like men", but to play the game well ... as it should be played at its pinnacle ... as women.

I haven't seen that game in its entirety. I'll have a look.

« Reply #36 on: November 14, 2012, 02:31:12 PM »

1. Guile
2. Anticipation
4. Patience
5. Use of the carpet
6. Possession

I think 4, 5 & 6 may have to do with an attempt to please fans by attempting to "speed up" the game. also in the women's game a bigger, faster or stronger player will quicker dominate a smaller slower player than in the men's game, therefore such a strategy is usually emphasized in the women's side of the game. Which comes back to #1 & #2. An increase in sophistication in the game may lead to nutralizing much of the strength and pure speed.

#3 is huge ... a lot of balls played in the air end up being addressed by keeping them aloft - even when there's time and space to address the ball differently. (I'm not referring to elite national teams). #3 is frustrating, but I don't know if I consider it the biggest technical issue. Maybe other posters will weigh in on this.

I'm not too sold on the "speed up the game" contention. I think it's a product of overwhelmingly repetitive, direct, unimaginative play ... at least in part. #5 becomes glaringly obvious when there is the exceptional player who is willing to keep the ball, protect it and look for penetration ... it's hard to find 2 on the same field.

I think the psychology is different ... and it doesn't have to be.

This past weekend I watched a HUGELY talented "Mexican" squad do all the things that men would have done in the situations they were placed in, but lose to a team with three linchpin players who were all-business and well-oiled tactically. The "Mexicans" came off in tears! Inconsolable. In the end, the difference was the other team recognized the moments in the game better than they did and neutralized the Mexican team's Pele (skillful too bad!!!, but she got caught up in unnecessary 1 v. 1 battles instead of consistently passing the ball into dangerous areas). That "Mexican" team appeared to be a team of destiny ... but then I realized they didn't know how to deal with adversity. As individual players, it is arguable that men would have addressed the entire context differently ... but, they had a male coach who mystifyingly did not make the adjustments that seemed to be needed ... so me eh know.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 02:34:29 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #37 on: November 14, 2012, 03:45:17 PM »
I can only find highlights, it was amazing to see how the japanese adapted to the Germans strength and size. The possession game from Japan was amazing to watch, never see passing like that except watching a Barcelona game.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/7ePK6l664UM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/7ePK6l664UM</a>
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 03:47:29 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #38 on: November 14, 2012, 04:01:12 PM »
Who is de ref in that game?

« Reply #39 on: November 14, 2012, 04:08:53 PM »
Who is de ref in that game?

Quetzalli Alvarado , Mexico.

Sawa get kick in she pum pum that game.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TeIDbS-dawM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TeIDbS-dawM</a>

« Reply #40 on: November 14, 2012, 08:00:59 PM »

1. Guile
2. Anticipation
4. Patience
5. Use of the carpet
6. Possession

#3 is huge ... a lot of balls played in the air end up being addressed by keeping them aloft - even when there's time and space to address the ball differently. (I'm not referring to elite national teams). #3 is frustrating, but I don't know if I consider it the biggest technical issue. Maybe other posters will weigh in on this.

I'm not too sold on the "speed up the game" contention. I think it's a product of overwhelmingly repetitive, direct, unimaginative play ... at least in part. #5 becomes glaringly obvious when there is the exceptional player who is willing to keep the ball, protect it and look for penetration ... it's hard to find 2 on the same field.

I think the psychology is different ... and it doesn't have to be.

This past weekend I watched a HUGELY talented "Mexican" squad do all the things that men would have done in the situations they were placed in, but lose to a team with three linchpin players who were all-business and well-oiled tactically. The "Mexicans" came off in tears! Inconsolable. In the end, the difference was the other team recognized the moments in the game better than they did and neutralized the Mexican team's Pele (skillful too bad!!!, but she got caught up in unnecessary 1 v. 1 battles instead of consistently passing the ball into dangerous areas). That "Mexican" team appeared to be a team of destiny ... but then I realized they didn't know how to deal with adversity. As individual players, it is arguable that men would have addressed the entire context differently ... but, they had a male coach who mystifyingly did not make the adjustments that seemed to be needed ... so me eh know.

Was reading and article recently about the I, Me and We. I think in this aspect, men recognize and separate these 3 much easier than do women, whether for the better or not.

These three mental states need to be trained in young female players in distinguishing the difference and how to harness each one at various stages in the game.

« Reply #41 on: November 16, 2012, 01:11:51 PM »
Sources: US Soccer set to announce details of new women’s pro league
Posted on November 15, 2012
By Charles Boehm

More than three months after several ownership groups announced their intention to take part in a new professional women’s soccer league starting next spring, the U.S. Soccer Federation and its partners are finally set to announce further details about the still-unnamed league.

Multiple sources have confirmed to Soccer Wire that an email containing important information about the new enterprise has been sent out to members of the U.S. Women’s National Team pool this week.

The email explains the involvement of the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Western New York Flash and Sky Blue FC (N.J.), all former members of the defunct Women’s Pro Soccer league, as well as four clubs in Kansas City, Portland, Ore., Seattle and Washington, D.C.

Despite a rapidly shrinking time window within which to prepare, a spring 2013 launch is still planned.

This octet of teams is the product of months of maneuvering and negotiations by their ownership groups, U.S. Soccer and other women’s soccer stakeholders. The latter group includes the national team players themselves, whose contracts are being structured to include both international and league duty – a unique arrangement which has apparently contributed to the delays in the new league’s rollout.

Other political issues and legal hurdles, such as those rumored to be swirling around regarding the United Soccer Leagues’ W-League and former WPS owner Dan Borislow, seem to have been resolved. It remains to be seen if and how USWNT players – who are expected be paid at least in part by the federation – will be allocated around the new league.

U.S. Soccer’s Board of Directors usually holds a fall meeting based on or around MLS Cup. This year that championship match will be played on Dec. 1 in the home stadium of the higher-seeded team, which this season will be either Seattle, Los Angeles or Washington, D.C.

An official announcement of further details about the new league is expected at or before that meeting, though it could be released as early as this week.

« Reply #42 on: November 16, 2012, 02:59:08 PM »
Good

strange how USA can never keep their the pro league up and running for an extended time.

« Reply #43 on: November 29, 2012, 11:24:27 AM »
So ... I had the opportunity to watch a couple US U-18 players in action recently. I'm convinced we could produce calibre junior players consistently. Not a shred of doubt. I think we could produce more dynamic players.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #44 on: December 01, 2012, 11:51:40 AM »
So ... I had the opportunity to watch a couple US U-18 players in action recently. I'm convinced we could produce calibre junior players consistently. Not a shred of doubt. I think we could produce more dynamic players.

I agree , I think we need to take things to the next level as there is no doubt the consistent high level training has improved all age groups with-in the program. The girls are in need of more tactical sessions (watching the EPL will help) and having the games & systems broken down system by system so all players understand their roles with-in each system will then improve the players tactical knowledge. The program also needs to add a sports psychologist to ensure every player understands how to become mentally prepared for the bigger international matches. IMHO.

« Reply #45 on: December 10, 2012, 04:05:13 PM »
TRYOUTS FOR W-League, U23, U20, U19 TEAMS!

Sunday 12/23/12 at 1pm at Manahassett Creek Park at 535 Long Branch Ave, Long Branch, NJ!

West Long Branch, N.J. (Wednesday, November 21st, 2012) – The New Jersey Wildcats of the USL W-League will be having tryouts Sunday, December 23rd, 1pm at Manahassett Creek Park located at 535 Long Branch Avenue, Long Branch, NJ for those interested in joining the team for the 2013 season, set to begin in May.  The Wildcats are looking to strengthen their roster through the player auditions.

"We are looking for top level players that are willing to commit to the team / program give 110% all year long and take our team to the next level for the 2013 season.  We have had three great years in 2010, 2011, and 2012 making the playoffs two out of the three,” Wildcats head coach Kevin McDermott commented.  “We are looking to add high level committed players that are willing to work hard day in and day out to achieve our goals of making the playoffs and winning the W-League championship."

Tryouts for the 2013 season will be on Sunday, December 23rd at 1pm at Manahassett Creek Park located at 535 Long Branch Avenue, Long Branch, NJ.

Player auditions cost $40 per player.

Players interested in attending NJ Wildcats tryouts should:

A) email NJwildcats1996@aol.com 1. your contact info, and 2. confirm you will be attending

B) mail a $40 check payable to NJ Wildcats LLC to NJWC, 16 Doreen Drive, Oceanport, NJ 07757

* if you meet BOTH of these requirements you do not have to pay A) you are out of college and B) you were on the team and rostered to a game last season.  if you are both A and B you do not have to pay.  all other players must pay the $40 player registration for tryouts.

TRYOUT SCHEDULE:

Sunday, December 23rd, 2012 (1PM) @ Manahassett Creek Park located at 535 Long Branch Avenue, Long Branch, NJ.

TRYOUT LOCATION:

Manahassett Creek Park located at 535 Long Branch Avenue, Long Branch, NJ.

With the season edging closer, McDermott (14-7-4 (.785) career USL W-League) commented on the aspirations of the Wildcats for 2013.

“We’re looking to make the playoffs and win the W-League championship,” he remarked.

The New Jersey Wildcats played their debut season in the W-League in 1996 and have competed every season since. Under the guidance of then-head coach Charlie Naimo, the Wildcats compiled a 41-1 regular season record from 2004-06, winning regular season titles in 2004 and 2006 while taking the W-League championship in 2005. Following the 2005 season, the Wildcats were named the USL Franchise of the Year, and Naimo won the W-League Coach of the Year award in 2006.

The USL W-League played its inaugural season in 1995, and it is recognized as the premiere development league for female players in North America.  The schedule is set to open next May and commence in August.

« Reply #46 on: December 24, 2012, 07:10:02 PM »
Female Zidane from France

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/DdOWgMgQny8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/DdOWgMgQny8</a>

« Reply #47 on: December 24, 2012, 07:48:28 PM »
She's poison with both feet.

« Reply #48 on: December 24, 2012, 08:13:23 PM »
USA vs Scotland in Nashville on February 13th 2013

« Reply #49 on: July 18, 2013, 10:18:28 AM »
Euro women's Quarter Finals Sun morning on ESPN.

France vs England today.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jul/17/kelly-smith-england-women-euro-2013

Group stage not on TV at least on ESPN.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2013, 10:20:14 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #50 on: July 21, 2013, 06:47:42 AM »
Iceland vs Sweden . on ESPN now

« Reply #51 on: December 09, 2013, 02:37:16 PM »
NCAA D-I final: UCLA 1 Florida State 0. The assisting pass that set up the goal is well worth a look. Quality ball.

This win marks only the second time that a woman has coached a team to the championship. It's been 19 years since the first.

Not sure how many championship matches have involved a women's coach or even whether there have been any involving women coaches exclusively. Certainly, several issues surround this subject.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2013, 02:40:48 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #53 on: December 09, 2013, 03:19:58 PM »
Who is the present Coach of UCLA?

« Reply #54 on: December 09, 2013, 05:04:06 PM »

Amanda Cromwell. She has Virginia connections. Maybe allyuh crossed paths.

http://www.uclabruins.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=30500&ATCLID=207914619

« Reply #55 on: December 09, 2013, 05:55:25 PM »

The reason i asked that is because i used to follow UCLA when Jill Ellis was the Coach,she is also from Virginia,we both worked for a Company called Soccer Academy which her father owned,her father was at one time the assist Coach of the US women's national team,she eventually went on to coach the US under 23 and is now the director of US Women's Youth development Programs. 

« Reply #56 on: December 10, 2013, 02:32:48 AM »

The reason i asked that is because i used to follow UCLA when Jill Ellis was the Coach,she is also from Virginia,we both worked for a Company called Soccer Academy which her father owned,her father was at one time the assist Coach of the US women's national team,she eventually went on to coach the US under 23 and is now the director of US Women's Youth development Programs. 

Ellis departed UCLA at the end of the 2010 season. Her long-time assistant B.J. Snow became head coach, then he in turn left to take charge of the US U-17 squad that recently took part in the CONCACAF/World Cup U-17 qualifiers. Cromwell replaced Snow.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #57 on: December 11, 2013, 01:30:10 PM »
Canada versus Scotland in Brazil on Thursday Dec 12th at (14:30 EST) in the Sao Paulo tournament.

If any finds a stream please post it.

Cheers

« Last Edit: December 11, 2013, 02:18:02 PM by Soccer 19 »

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #58 on: December 12, 2013, 11:47:16 AM »
Torneio International de Brasilia Futebol Feminino 2013

Dec 12 @ 16:30 Canada vs Scotland
Dec 15 @ 15:00 Canada vs Chile
Dec 18 @ 18:50 Canada vs Brazil