April 25, 2024, 04:38:22 PM

Author Topic: Six women in top 10 for Independence Calypso final 2012  (Read 3673 times)

Six women in top 10 for Independence Calypso final 2012
« on: August 14, 2012, 09:59:33 PM »
From The Trinidad Guardian

http://www.guardian.co.tt/entertainment/2012-08-13/six-women-top-10-independence-calypso-final

Six women are among the ten calypsonians chosen to compete in the final of the Lord Brynner National Independence Calypso Competition to be staged at the Grand Stand, Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain on August 25 from 8 pm. Singing Sandra (Sandra Des Vignes-Millington), Michelle Henry, Kizzy Ruiz, Karene Asche, Karen Eccles-Thomas and Heather McIntosh qualified from the semifinal round of competition staged at Palm’s Club, San Fernando, on Saturday night.

The male qualifiers are Chucky (Roderick Gordon), King Luta (Morel Peters), Duane O’Connor and Brian London. Produced by the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (Tuco) in collaboration with the Ministry of The Arts and Multiculturalism, the event received solid public support, as a full house of patrons came out to listen to contributions from the 25 singers who had advanced from the two preliminary rounds of competition held at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) in Port-of-Spain on July 14 and 15.

The fashionably-clad female finalists delivered outstanding performances of their work which, in general, contained strong lyrics married to beautiful melodies. Sandra sang about the Red White and Black, Michelle Henry took a look at Our National Watchwords, Kizzy Ruiz vowed T&T Forever, Karene Asche liked Cascadoo. Karen Eckles-Thomas promised I Will Reciprocate, and Heather McIntosh offered The Reason.

The men, also fashionably attired, were not to be outdone, however, as Chucky’s Bear With Me was well received, as was Luta’s Fifty Fifty. Reigning calypso monarch Duane O’Connor’s contention was there Unity In Independence, and Brian London affirmed This Is My Land.

The good news emerging from the Olympics in London earlier in the day was capitalised on as several contestants updated verses in their songs to record the medal achievements of the Trinidad and Tobago athletes at the Games. In addition, many on the playbill made use of elaborate props in presenting their work.

Popular bards who did not make the cut were former national calypso monarchs Kurt Allen (50 Not Out) and Sugar Aloes (Michael Osouna) (Team T&T), as well as The Original DeFosto Himself (Winston Scarborough) (An Oath To Her), Devon Seale (Snap Shots) and Black Sage (Phillip Murray) (Red White And Black).

Winner of the competition will take home a cash prize of $500,000. Second place is worth $250,000 and third $150,000. Fourth to tenth placings will receive $50,000 each. Musical accompaniment was provided by Errol Ince and the Melody Makers, while Damien Melville performed the duties of show host. Making a guest appearance was Lady Adana (Marsha Charles).
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 10:01:26 PM by davyjenny1 »

Re: Six women in top 10 for Independence Calypso final 2012
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 11:27:29 PM »
I would have put in Kurt Allen and Mistah Shak.

I thought most of the renditions by the women were predictable, or overdone. Karene Asche was boring. Heather McIntosh overdid her song, as did Karen Eccles-Thomas. No need to shout or over-act the song. Just sing it.

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 12:36:47 PM »
How come they eh choose Cro-Cro..aint he is de defending champion?

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2012, 07:39:10 PM »
Friday, August 17, 2012

News  From:Trinizagada

http://www.trinizagada.com/2012/08/brian-london-disqualified-from.html

Brian London Disqualified from Independence Competition!
Thursday, August 16, 2012 Posted by Santiwah
Labels: Calypso
Breaking News!

It was announced today that Brian London has been disqualified from the Independence Calypso Competition after qualifying for the finals.  On Tuesday night during the TUCO hour on Wack Radio 901 Fm  a caller complained that Brian sang a song that was done in the tent two years ago. This caused a major problem in the studio and the audio had to be turned off... however, the video feed showed a very disturbing situation! It was a case of bacchanal and kankalang in the studio.... a very sorry time for TUCO!

Today we got the news that Brian London was disqualified! It now appears that the person who called in and complained about the song was correct. The news is that the song was indeed sung by a female singer about two years ago. This information came from a 'knowledgeable source' and was reported by WACK radio.  TUCO now needs to come forward and do some explaining regarding this situation. Stay tuned because we have not received the official announcement from TUCO outlining the reason(s) for the disqualification.

The name of the song that has created this problem is titled, "This Is My Land". I will post the song for your listening pleasure when and if it becomes available to the general public.

The disqualification of Brian London now opens the door for the reserve singer Michael Anthony Osuana whose sobriquet is "Sugar Aloes". Here comes the bitter sweet Sugar Aloes with his song titled "Team T & T" - keep an eye on him; he is a very shrewd competitor!

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2012, 07:10:23 AM »
Aloes and Brian London sing essentially the same song. Brian London's was much better. I don't see how Aloes is the alternate, i would have put him much lower. The song boring and predictable.

« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2012, 07:34:09 AM »
1962 Winner: Lord Brynner — "Independence"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/K_ItBb6GqNI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/K_ItBb6GqNI</a>
« Last Edit: August 21, 2012, 07:40:26 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2012, 07:40:03 AM »
1962 Runner up: Mighty Sparrow —"Our Model Nation"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/_VL3p_9e4QY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/_VL3p_9e4QY</a>

« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2012, 07:40:27 AM »

Lord Bryner topped 1962 Independence Calypso King show

Published:

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Nasser Khan

Kade “Lord Bryner” Simon

Kade Simon, born in Erin, aka Lord Bryner, was a popular calypsonian from the late 1950’s to the 1970’s who, like the famous American screen actor, Yul Brynner, performed with his head shaved. He moved to Jamaica to join the West Indies Regiment until the early 1960s during the time of the West Indies Federation. He performed in Jamaica for a while before returning to Trinidad after the collapse of the Federation.

In August 1962, at the age of 25, he won the special calypso competition that was held to celebrate the Independence of T&T, beating the “big boys” the Mighty Sparrow, Nap Hepburn and the Mighty Bomber into 2nd, third and fourth places respectively. His winning calypso was entitled Trinidad and Tobago Independence, for which he received the first prize of $1,000.

The other eight finalists were Lord Pretender, The Hawk, Mighty Power, Mighty Dougla, Lord Cristo, Chang Kai Chek, Mighty Striker and Lazy Harrow, chosen from a field of 35 who had auditioned at the Radio Trinidad Studio on August 9th, 1962.

Following are some of the words which you can listen to at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_ItBb6GqNI:

People only talking but they really don’t know

What’s the proper meaning for Trinidad and Tobago

Cipriani start the ball rolling

Now the Doctor doing the bowling

So we have Uncle Eric to perform a real hat-trick.

Because this is your land, just as well as my land

This is your place and also it is my place

So let us put our heads together

And live like one happy family

Democratically, educationally,

We’ll be independently.

31st of August, Independence

1962, Independence

Will go down in history for everyone of you

Forget racialism and nationalism too

Let discipline, production, and

Tolerance guide us through Independence

Conscientiously, Independence

And constitutionally, Independence

Forget all this lousy rumor about racial equality

If you are an East Indian and you want to be an African

Just shave your head like me

Then they can’t prove your nationality

Bryner recorded an amazing 50 seven-inch records (usually two songs) and 13 LPs (the equivalent of today’s CD). On at least one of his calypsos, Bob Marley was a back up chorus singer.

He died at a relatively young age, destitute and lonely.

more info

Some of his calypsos:

• 1959—Juvenile Delinquency; We Want Back Chaguaramas

• 1960—Rich Man, Poor Man; Riot at the Oval; Why Sparrow Lost the Crown; Martiniquian Woman; Calypso Story; See Me Mama; Congo; Hula Hoop Girls; Leave the Yankees Alone; The Old Ladies; The Airport; The Doctor and the Newspaper; Vendor Woman; The Princess Wedding; South African Riot

• 1961—The Budget; Happy Birthday; The Airport; Old Ladies; The End of the World; Girls from A to Z

• 1962—Anita; The Twist Calypso; Carrera; Infidelity; Wedding in November; Michael; My Doolahin; Come With Me; Vagabonds; Publicity for So; Gang War; Nightclub Brawl; Trinidad & Tobago Independence;

• 1963—Ivy; The Nation Calypso; Help Yourself; Vile Doctrine; Blood Transfusion; Crapaud & Lizard; Bossa Nova Love; Camalata; Sir Winston Churchill; Soldier; Come Back to Papa; The Devil and Man; UN Baby; Night Club Brawl; Margarita; Jamaica Why You Run; Trinidad Personalities; Custom Officers; Brynner’s Calypso Tour; Trinidad Pullout the Federation

• 1964—The Groom in the Bathroom; Pan in Church; Judieline; Call Me B’Wana

• 1965—Tiger in Your Tank

• 1966—TV Bacchanal; Lock and Key; Pull the Devil Tail; Never Trouble the Devil; Don’t Share Your Love in Four; Naught from Naught; Teach Me to Ska; The Shack is Back; Congo War

• Other—Devaluation of the Pound; Jacqueline; Bajan Bachelors; Shame and Scandal; Wrecker Poom Poom; I Shall Be Released; The Games People Play; I Will Never Turn My Back on You; Proud Mary; Skull Duggery; Little Willy; Pen in Hand; Who Put Pepper in the Vaseline; Misery Woman; Roslyn Pussy; Republic Yes, Republic No; Vietnam Moratorium; Hang Them High; Doo Doo Darling; Hindu Girl Pamela; Martin Luther King Message; Caribbean Paradise; Mr Crab.

« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2012, 08:39:22 AM »
From The Guardian:Calypsonians compete for $.5m Independence crown

http://www.guardian.co.tt/entertainment/2012-08-23/calypsonians-compete-5m-independence-crown

Fifty years ago the late Lord Brynner (Kade Simon) created history by winning the first Independence Calypso Monarch title, appropriately singing Trinidad & Tobago Independence. The bald-pated bard defeated pre-final favourite Mighty Sparrow, followed by Nap Hepburn, and Mighty Bomber, respectively. Lesser placings were filled by Lord Pretender, The Hawk, Mighty Power, Mighty Dougla, Lord Cristo, Chang Kai Chek, Mighty Striker and Lazy Harrow. The second Independence Calypso Monarch final was held in 1987, to mark the nation’s 25th anniversary of Independence. That title was copped by dimunitive calypsonian Cro Cro (Weston Rawlins). A third of these finals–the Lord Brynner 50th Independence Anniversary National Calypso Monarch Final–is scheduled for tomorrow, at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port-of-Spain, this time to mark T&T’s 50th Independence anniversary.

One of the things which makes this final remarkable is that five of its participants are former national calypso monarchs, including reigning title-holder Duane O’Connor. Previous monarchs also in the fray are Singing Sandra (Sandra Des Vignes-Millington); King Luta (Morel Peters); Sugar Aloes (Michael Osouna); and Karene Asche. Other finalists are former Calypso Queens Kizzie Ruiz and Karen Eccles-Thomas; 2012 International Groovy Soca Monarch finalist Chucky (Roderick Gordon); former national calypso monarch finalist Heather Mac Intosh; and Michelle Henry.
Another unique element in the final is that women outnumber the men, said to be the first time this has ever happened in a calypso monarch final at national level.

Staged by Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation (TUCO) and the Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism, this Golden Jubilee competition has had its fair share of controversy, the latest occuring this week when finalist Brian London was booted out of the contest for allegedly plagiarising a calypso previously performed by Euncie Peters. His place was taken by previous first reserve finalist Sugar Aloes. When Brynner won the Independence title 50 years ago he took home the grand first prize of $1,000. Tomorrow night’s winner is assured of a first-prize purse of half-million dollars.

Lord Brynner 50th Independence Anniversary National Calypso Monarch Final—Finalists and selections

• Sandra “Singing Sandra” Des Vignes-Millington: Red, White and Black
• Roderick “Chucky” Gordon: Bear With Me
• Morel “King Luta” Peters: Fifty Fifty
Duane O’Connor: Unity in Independence
• Kizzie Ruiz: T&T Forever [/b]
• Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna: Team T&T
• Karene Asche: Cascadu
• Michelle Henry: Our National
  Watchwords
• Heather MacIntosh: The Reason
• Karen Eccles-Thomas: Give— I Will Reciprocate
• Reserve:
   Devon Seale

« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2012, 08:02:56 PM »
From Newsday: Lyrics, showmanship from Chucky

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,165393.html

The exuberance of youth proved too much for several calypso stalwarts on Saturday night as a second year university student sang his way to cop the Lord Brynner National Independence Calypso Monarch title and prize money of $500,000.

Roderick Gordon (calypso sobriquet Chucky), with a stunning display of showmanship and lyrical articulation, put down a performance that belied the title of his song, “Bear with Me”. It was more like, listen to me. The composition was done jointly by himself and Larry Harewood.

Chucky, now working his way to a Masters’ degree in Human Resource Management at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine, singing in position number two, won the hearts of the crowd and the judges and there was no difficulty with the result.

In second position and claiming prize money of $250,000 was Michelle Henry with her rendition of a Christophe Grant composition titled “Our National Watchwords”. There might be a bit of irony here since Michelle is an accomplished musician who, up until last week was a member of the Divine Echoes orchestra. She has also been connected with the Icons Calypso Tent since 2005, when it was first launched.

Third position went to former national Calypso Queen Karen Eccles-Thomas, with another creative piece of work from Larry Harewood titled “Give - I will reciprocate”. Her prize money is $150,000. She has been to the Dimanche Gras Calypso finals on close to ten times and has also won the Trinidad leg of the Caribbean Song Festival.

It is interesting to note that positions six through ten all went to former national Calypso Monarchs, including reigning Monarch Duane O’Connor. They, as well as the fourth and fifth place winners, will each receive $50,000.

In addition to the calypso competition itself, in which all the contestants were accompanied by Errol Ince and the Music Makers, the fairly large audience was also entertained by guest artistes The Malick Performing Company, the Juenes Agape Choir and the Shiv Shakti Dancers as well as singer Mavis John and calypsonians Mighty Trini (Robert Elias), Super Blue (Austin Lyons) and Skhi (Dwayne Arthur). Brian London, who was disqualified on the way to the finals, also appeared as a guest artiste.

The Final Results:

1.) Chucky (Roderick Gordon) - Bear with Me.

2.)Michelle Henry - Our National Watchwords.

3.) Karen Eccles-Thomas - Give- I will reciprocate

4. ) Heather Macintosh -The Reason

5) Kizzie Ruiz - T&T Forever

6) KareneAsche- Cascadu

7) Sugar Aloes (Michael Osouna) - Team T&T

8. Singing Sandra (Sandra DesVignes-Millington) -Red, White and Black

9) Duane O’Connor - Unity in Independence

10) King Luta (Morel Peters) - Fify-Fifty.
spacer
« Last Edit: August 29, 2012, 11:53:12 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2012, 08:23:20 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LJJCfqHBkMY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/LJJCfqHBkMY</a>

I thought Luta should have been higher, but you can't complain about the winner.
It's a song worthy of the title.