April 19, 2024, 08:14:08 PM

Author Topic: Racism in football Thread.  (Read 205314 times)

Re: Racist Monkey Chants Reach CONCACAF
« Reply #390 on: August 22, 2006, 10:45:49 AM »
scheups.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=reu-mexicoracism&prov=reuters&type=lgns

Mexican club Santos fined over racist insults   

MEXICO CITY, Aug 22 (Reuters) - Mexican first division club Santos Laguna have been fined and given a warning after their fans aimed racist insults at a black player.

The Torreon-based club were fined the equivalent of $25,265 after Monterrey's Panamanian international defender Felipe Baloy was greeted with monkey chants when he touched the ball during the match on Aug 6.

Baloy scored Monterrey's first goal in a 2-2 draw.

The Mexico Football Federation (FMF) said that Santos Laguna had been warned of a possible home ban in case of a repetition.

The club was also ordered to install closed-circuit television in its stadium by the end of the year to help identify possible offenders.

Dat eh now reach hoss.  There was a reason Mexico league never had very few black players until recently.  Now it have a handful but back in de day....visiting black players from CONCACAF had it very tough in Mexico.  On de field of play...it was worse.  I remember watchin Jerren Nixon in de Velodrome givin a Mexican national squad pressha...not from football so much...but jes hangin around and givin dem talk.  Dem fellas in de backline went ballistic and is so Jerren was harassin dem.  Dey call he every slur in de book (ah understand lil spanish).  He sure gave as good as he got that night.

« Reply #391 on: August 22, 2006, 10:58:51 AM »
they shudda jus ban the crowd from goin to the next match . den they will know they cant do it no more.
That the best thing you ever post :beermug:
That hits the fans and the clubs revenue.

« Reply #392 on: August 22, 2006, 11:09:37 AM »
i always find it ironic these places hurling the racist insults are places where the majority experience racism themselves from countries like the usa, or in spain's case, have a deep history with racial mixing.

« Reply #393 on: August 22, 2006, 11:59:03 AM »
oh jesus christ... well ah eh surprised with the spanish speaking peoples... especially mexicans... those who are descriminated against will turn and point there fingers at the next man...

« Reply #394 on: August 22, 2006, 12:10:05 PM »
whey.....this ting spreading like a virus....

« Reply #395 on: August 22, 2006, 12:26:25 PM »
scheups.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=reu-mexicoracism&prov=reuters&type=lgns

Mexican club Santos fined over racist insults   

Dat eh now reach hoss.  There was a reason Mexico league never had very few black players until recently.  Now it have a handful but back in de day....visiting black players from CONCACAF had it very tough in Mexico.  On de field of play...it was worse.  I remember watchin Jerren Nixon in de Velodrome givin a Mexican national squad pressha...not from football so much...but jes hangin around and givin dem talk.  Dem fellas in de backline went ballistic and is so Jerren was harassin dem.  Dey call he every slur in de book (ah understand lil spanish).  He sure gave as good as he got that night.

Run dat again?

Nixon stand up givin dem talks in spanish?? to the point where they frothin at de mouth??

De man real boss in trute

Croatia warned on fans' behaviour no racial abuse will be tolerated.
« Reply #396 on: October 10, 2006, 08:29:51 AM »
Croatia warned on fans' behaviour 

Croatia face sanctions if fans racially abuse England's players
Uefa has warned Croatia they could be kicked out of Euro 2008 if fans direct any racism towards England's players.
Fifa charged the Croatian Football Federation with bringing the game into disrepute after fans formed a human swastika during a friendly in Italy.

Ahead of Wednesday's Euro 2008 qualifier in Zagreb, Uefa spokesman William Gaillard said: "We can impose heavier sanctions if it happens again.

"That ultimately could be exclusion from the competition."

England's black players have been subjected to racist abuse in the past, with Ashley Cole being targeted by Spain fans in a friendly in Madrid.

Uefa has contacted the Croatian government to spell out their warning, while their football federation has also implemented measures to ensure there are no problems against England.

Croatia are keen the match goes ahead without incident because they are making a joint bid with Hungary to host the 2012 European Championship.

The disrepute charge from Fifa followed the swastika incident, which involved 200 supporters at a friendly against Italy in Livorno in August.

Croatia were fined during Euro 2004 over racist banners flown at a game against France.

Gaillard added: "There are new rules, which can lead to exclusion from a competition and docking points in extreme cases. We will monitor events closely.

"Ourselves and Fifa have imposed sanctions and the sanctions will be heavier in the future."

Rovers praise UEFA action after racist abuse
« Reply #397 on: October 26, 2006, 05:26:29 PM »
Rovers praise UEFA action after racist abuse

UEFA have been applauded by Blackburn and football's anti-racism group Kick It Out for imposing a five-match European ban on Nikola Mijailovic.

Wisla Krakow's 24-year-old Serbian defender was punished for taunting striker Benni McCarthy during the UEFA Cup group game in Poland last week.

Blackburn manager Mark Hughes called for strong action to be taken and got his wish.

In a statement, the club said: 'UEFA's decision sends out a clear message that racism will not - and should not - be tolerated in the game.

'We appreciate UEFA's speed in dealing with this important issue.'

South Africa striker McCarthy, 28, squared up to Mijailovic at the end of Blackburn's 2-1 victory and then complained about the treatment he had received.

Kick it Out spokesman Piara Powar said: 'A ban for five matches is strong stuff and very welcome.

'It is the sort of sanction that people across Europe will think, 'There is a message to be learned here'.

'The concern in the past has been that many incidents have gone unpunished.

'It is time we were able to demonstrate that racism is being challenged in European football.

'UEFA are doing a lot of work in this field and this guy (Mijailovic) has been nailed in the right way.

'It seems that Blackburn and other officials were able to produce eye-witness evidence, allowing action to be taken.'

A statement on UEFA's website confirmed: 'Wisla Krakow defender Nikola Mijailovic has been banned by UEFA for five UEFA club competition matches for racial abuse of Blackburn Rovers FC striker Benni McCarthy.'

Mijailovic is now facing missing the rest of the group games and has until Monday to appeal against the ban.

Re: Rovers praise UEFA action after racist abuse
« Reply #398 on: October 26, 2006, 08:33:39 PM »
Fine them some money to and give it to some poor youth club.

Re: New UEFA rules regarding racism, diving etc...
« Reply #399 on: February 07, 2007, 11:54:59 AM »
Aragones cleared of racist conduct

Aragones successfully appealled against the charge that he had been racist.

MADRID, Spain -- Spain coach Luis Aragones has been cleared of racist conduct by a Spanish court after his derogatory remarks about France striker Thierry Henry in October 2004.

"The court found that the Spanish Committee for Sporting Discipline (CEDD) had incorrectly evaluated the evidence," said the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF).

"We now hope that all measures will be taken to clear the good name of the national coach and the RFEF disciplinary committees."

Aragones caused controversy in October 2004 when he was heard during training making a remark about Henry to his then Arsenal team-mate Jose Antonio Reyes.

The 68-year-old Aragones was originally fined 3,000 euros for behavior "contrary to the good order of the sport" by the RFEF.

The offence was upgraded to "conduct which could be considered to be racist" by the government-run CEDD and both Aragones and the RFEF successfully appealed against that decision to the Spanish court.

The RFEF were unable to say, however, whether Aragones would still have to pay the fine for the original charge.

"I went to court because it was a stain on my reputation and because the offense did not exist as some judges believed," said Aragones.

Aragones initially apologised after widespread criticism of his behavior, saying he had not meant to offend anyone and that his conscience was clear.

He stirred further controversy, however, by mounting an energetic defense of his comments before a friendly against England in November 2004.

That match in Madrid was marred by racist abuse of England's black players by sections of the crowd.

Spain play England in a friendly at Old Trafford on Wednesday.

Scotland: Best reply to racism.
« Reply #400 on: March 01, 2007, 08:16:24 AM »
Scotland: Best reply to racism.
TEAMtalk.com.

St Johnstone hitman Jason Scotland felt he had responded in the best possible way to the "awful" racist abuse he received from Motherwell fans.
About a dozen supporters in Fir Park's main stand twice indulged in abuse when Scotland had possession in the opening stages of the Perth side's 2-1 Tennent's Scottish Cup quarter-final victory on Wednesday.
They were reprimanded by the vast majority of Well fans around them and did not repeat the abuse after police and stewards were alerted.
Scotland then made them suffer with the second goal in the First Division side's thoroughly-deserved victory.
The Trinidad & Tobago international was elevated to national celebrity status last summer as he was the closest Scotland came to the World Cup.
He even had a song written about him that reached the UK Top 40 as his country prepared to take on England.
But he admitted he had been upset by his experience, saying: "That's the first time it has happened to me.
"Obviously I am disappointed because when I played in the World Cup I carried Scotland on my back. And to play in Scotland and get that kind of abuse is just awful.
"To be fair I really didn't take it on, I was just playing my normal game.
"I was just delighted to score the goal that put us in the semi-final.
"I probably heard it but I didn't really pay any attention. The best way to react is with that goal and let my football do the talking."
The former Dundee United striker, who had to leave Tannadice when his work permit application was rejected, feels Saints have a chance of making the final.
With victories over Rangers, Dundee United and Falkirk also under their belts this season, Scotland does not fear Celtic, Hibernian or Dunfermline.
The 28-year-old said: "We played against top teams in the past and we have done well so we fancy our chances against anyone.
"We are delighted to play in the semi-final and play in a big occasion and hopefully put in a big performance.
"People can say all kind of stuff about St Johnstone, that they will batter us, but this was a good result and at St Johnstone we let our football do the talking."
Motherwell boss Maurice Malpas hit out at his side's attitude and performance.
Peter MacDonald gave the visitors a deserved 20th-minute lead and the First Division side had countless chances after Scotland's 72nd-minute header.
Ross McCormack pulled one back with five minutes left and David Clarkson then had a decent penalty shout that referee Mike McCurry appeared to think twice about.
But Well were not worthy of a replay as they struggled to create chances and nullify the Saints attack all night.
Malpas said: "We never did enough to win the game. St Johnstone deserved to go through and it hurts me to say that.
"I wasn't happy with our performance and the manner we went about our business was wrong."
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 12:15:19 PM by Flex »

Re: Scotland: Best reply to racism
« Reply #401 on: March 01, 2007, 08:47:53 AM »
The more things change the more they stay the same....Keep your head up Jason and respond w/your cleats!

Offline fivers

« Reply #402 on: March 01, 2007, 11:18:05 AM »

« Reply #403 on: March 01, 2007, 11:22:49 AM »
Here is the goal. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yXuQt6nX2Q

Great run by his teammate to find him on the cross

Well Beaten now Well Ashamed
« Reply #404 on: March 01, 2007, 11:27:25 AM »
Well Beaten now Well Ashamed
By Firparkcorner

1 Mar 2007

The news that Jason Scotland seemed to be a target for racial abuse during the game against St Johnstone puts the defeat into perspective. The result of a football match becomes irrelevant if accusations of monkey chanting at Fir Park are found to be upheld.

A selection of Thursday's press reports seem to leave no doubt that a number of idiots in the Main Stand behaved in a manner which fills every football fan with disgust and anger. Thankfully, the reports also note that supporters in the vicinity were quick to point out the offenders to the police and our thanks are due to them for reflecting the views of the vast majority.

The police and stewards should now provide an explanation if no one was thrown out of the ground. It is understood that there was no mention of the incident when those charged with crowd safety reported to the club after the match. A club spokesman said on Thursday morning, "The club will be investigating these reports and if it can identify any culprits it will take the strongest possible measures against them. Disgusting behaviour of this type has no place in Fir Park or anywhere else."

Motherwell fans, while despondent, depressed and disappointed in the team's showing, recognise that we were beaten by a better team on the night and wish St Johnstone further success in the competition and hope that Jason Scotland recognises that the racist bigots who have brought shame on our club are not in any way typical of Motherwell fans in general.

A selection from Thursday's press….

The Herald

Sadly, the opening stages were marred by disgraceful racist chanting directed at Jason Scotland, the black St Johnstone striker, from a small section of the main stand.

Monkey noises accompanied his first two touches though the Motherwell fans, to their credit, were quick to alert the police to the matter and it soon ceased. But the perpetrators were not ejected and the club may not have heard the last of the matter.

Dundee Courier

In scenes harking back to the bad old days, the man who helped front the Show Racism the Red Card campaign and was backed by this country when with Trinidad and Tobago in last summer's World Cup, was taunted by monkey chants during what was otherwise a fantastic occasion at Fir Park.

Referring to the treatment he received, the front man said, "I am disappointed because I have carried the name of Scotland on my back and to get abuse here is awful.

Daily Record

Scotland also looked menacing whenever he touched the ball and the Trinidad and Tobago international was also the subject of monkey chants from a small knot of fans in the main stand.

Motherwell fans within earshot summoned stewards and demanded offenders be watched and rooted out. It was a fine example of self-policing from the home fans.

Daily Mail

However, the evening was soured by the home fans' chants at the beginning of the game and the SFA are sure to investigate following the ugly scenes.

Around a dozen home 'supporters' began making monkey noises towards the Trinidad and Tobago international within minutes of the start of the quarter-final tie.

The incident sparked ugly scenes within the main stand as outraged fellow Motherwell fans rounded on the racists.

The angry supporters quickly reported the small group to stewards and although they were not ejected from the ground, there was no more abuse directed at the player.

The Guardian

Jason Scotland enjoyed the last word towards a moronic element of the Motherwell support, the St Johnstone striker scoring the decisive goal here after racist chanting was directed towards him in the early stages of the game.

The opening stages were conspicuous for two things: St Johnstone's willingness to take the game to their opponents and the sickening abuse directed towards Scotland from a section of the main-stand crowd. Monkey noises were clearly audible and, while no police action appeared forthcoming, the fans in question were shouted down by those around them.

« Reply #405 on: March 01, 2007, 11:42:57 AM »
Motherwell apologise for racism

Motherwell have issued an apology to St Johnstone's Jason Scotland, following racist taunts directed at the player during Wednesday's Scottish Cup tie.

Scotland was subjected to abuse from a section of Motherwell fans during Saints' 2-1 victory at Fir Park.

Nearby supporters reported the offending fans and police intervened.

In a statement, Motherwell owner John Boyle said: "These people should never show their faces at Fir Park again and they have no place in football."

Boyle added: "We are utterly appalled by this behaviour by a small group of people who have tarnished the name of our club.

"We are writing to Jason Scotland and St Johnstone today to apologise for this disgusting behaviour which is totally alien to all of us at Motherwell.

We are utterly appalled by this behaviour by a small group of people who have tarnished the name of our club
Motherwell owner John Boyle

"We pride ourselves in being a family club which welcomes everyone to Fir Park.

"The police and stewards took what action they thought appropriate at the time.

"I was told there had been some kind of incident and it had been dealt with quickly but was unaware of the details and the seriousness of it.

"We are making further inquiries today to see if we can identify those involved in order to take action against them.

"We are appealing to our own supporters to help identify the culprits.

"I would be stunned if they are season ticket holders as there has been no evidence of this kind of behaviour in the past.

"We were disappointed to lose the match but we wish Jason Scotland and his team all the best in the Cup.

"They deserved their win and we are sorry if it was soured by the actions of a few idiots."

Martin Rose, chairman of the Motherwell Supporters Trust added: "We are united with the Club in condemning this repugnant behaviour in the strongest possible terms.

"I was in the main stand and raised the matter immediately with the match commander.

"Thankfully, it was nipped in the bud quickly by decent Motherwell fans, stewards and the police."

Story from BBC SPORT:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/motherwell/6407937.stm

Published: 2007/03/01 11:58:50 GMT

« Reply #406 on: March 01, 2007, 11:44:29 AM »
http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/newsscript.pl?record=820

MOTHERWELL FC ANTI RACISM DEMONSTRATION AT FIR PARK

1st March 2007

Prior to kick-off at Monday’s SPL match against Hearts, Motherwell will make an official announcement to all fans at Fir Park that racist behaviour will not be tolerated with additional scoreboard statements underpinning this message.

During the warm up session, players from both teams will wear t-shirts with the slogan “Give Racism the Red Card” emblazoned on the front and players will hold up anti-racism cards to all spectators.

John Boyle, director of Motherwell FC said: “We endeavour to continue to offer a very friendly and family atmosphere at Fir Park and I believe that this was an isolated incident. Motherwell has no history of racist behaviour prior to Wednesday’s match. I hope that our anti-racism demonstration on Monday night outlines our commitment against such dreadful behaviour.”

« Reply #407 on: March 01, 2007, 05:45:30 PM »
wow, dais an impressive turn of events

Respect to the true scottish football fans for smothering  the mouthbreathers

« Reply #408 on: March 01, 2007, 08:07:47 PM »
http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/newsscript.pl?record=820

MOTHERWELL FC ANTI RACISM DEMONSTRATION AT FIR PARK

1st March 2007

Prior to kick-off at Monday’s SPL match against Hearts, Motherwell will make an official announcement to all fans at Fir Park that racist behaviour will not be tolerated with additional scoreboard statements underpinning this message.
During the warm up session, players from both teams will wear t-shirts with the slogan “Give Racism the Red Card” emblazoned on the front and players will hold up anti-racism cards to all spectators.

John Boyle, director of Motherwell FC said: “We endeavour to continue to offer a very friendly and family atmosphere at Fir Park and I believe that this was an isolated incident. Motherwell has no history of racist behaviour prior to Wednesday’s match. I hope that our anti-racism demonstration on Monday night outlines our commitment against such dreadful behaviour.”
:applause: :applause:  here ! here! :beermug:

« Reply #409 on: March 01, 2007, 08:20:08 PM »
Let de boots continue to do de talking bredda!  ;)

Warriors have your back!  :beermug:

Offline legal alien

« Reply #410 on: March 01, 2007, 08:44:10 PM »
i didnt think that scottish football fans could exhibit open  racism......

Offline legal alien

« Reply #411 on: March 01, 2007, 08:50:14 PM »
 i dint read the article properly before posting. it was only a minority . i tip my  off to  the motherwell club and its  fans who did not condone it and went as far as apologising to jason scotland .

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #412 on: March 01, 2007, 09:22:41 PM »
never know racsim big so in scotland

well done to to motherwell fans :applause:

f**k de racist dem >:(
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #413 on: March 02, 2007, 12:42:53 AM »

My brother you better know that!!!!!!  not only in scotland but the whole of europe north america and in my estimation any white man land, and i will go as far to say trinidad as well.the only reason they don't come out dey face in T&T is because they are the vast minority, but if they were the majority in trinidad, it would've been a horse of a differant colour. i lived in europe and i'am presently residing in the U.S. plus i've traveled extensivly troughout the world. trust me youth no body doh like black no body !!!  that is real!!... and i don't take back chat.           positive.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 12:55:00 AM by just cool »

« Reply #414 on: March 02, 2007, 12:52:28 AM »

My brother you better know that!!!!!!  not only in scotland but the whole of europe north america and in my estimation any white man land, and i will go as far to say trinidad as well.the only reason they don't come out dey face in T&T is because they are the vast minority, but if they were the majority in trinidad, it would've been a horse of a differant colour. i lived in europe and i'am presently residing in the U.S. plus i've traveled extensivly troughout the world. trust me youth no body doh like black no body !!!  that is real!!... and i don't take back chat.           positive.

if yuh was ah military man yuh wouldnt say that. anywhere we go de women like black. ireland, mexico, australia, italy, spain(yes spain) bulgaria, romania. woman does line up just to dance with ah brother in ah club. in australia when ah carrier pull-up it does have women on de pier with signs up asking fuh brothers.

that is one ah de main reasons the MEN doh like we but to say nobody doh like black is ah semi-kakaholish statement. plus they love meh here in de motherland too.

« Reply #415 on: March 02, 2007, 12:53:37 AM »
CONGRATS SCOTTY

GO MALICK[/b]

« Reply #416 on: March 02, 2007, 01:19:54 AM »
Wrong my brother . i served for one three year enlistment in the 1st armour division stationed at fort benning G.A. and baum holder west germany also fort hood texas it was the most depressing time of my life. yeh i banged alot of white chicks but that didn't mean racism  did not exist in europe or in the U.S. and if you were a soldier you would know for sure what i mean . not because women want's to sex you don't necessarily mean they like you or ther'e not racist. if  you're still not convinced then look at thomas jefferson.

My brother you better know that!!!!!!  not only in scotland but the whole of europe north america and in my estimation any white man land, and i will go as far to say trinidad as well.the only reason they don't come out dey face in T&T is because they are the vast minority, but if they were the majority in trinidad, it would've been a horse of a differant colour. i lived in europe and i'am presently residing in the U.S. plus i've traveled extensivly troughout the world. trust me youth no body doh like black no body !!! that is real!!... and i don't take back chat.           positive.

if yuh was ah military man yuh wouldnt say that. anywhere we go de women like black. ireland, mexico, australia, italy, spain(yes spain) bulgaria, romania. woman does line up just to dance with ah brother in ah club. in australia when ah carrier pull-up it does have women on de pier with signs up asking fuh brothers.

that is one ah de main reasons the MEN doh like we but to say nobody doh like black is ah semi-kakaholish statement. plus they love meh here in de motherland too.

« Reply #417 on: March 02, 2007, 02:18:53 AM »
Wrong my brother . i served for one three year enlistment in the 1st armour division stationed at fort benning G.A. and baum holder west germany also fort hood texas it was the most depressing time of my life. yeh i banged alot of white chicks but that didn't mean racism  did not exist in europe or in the U.S. and if you were a soldier you would know for sure what i mean . not because women want's to sex you don't necessarily mean they like you or ther'e not racist. if  you're still not convinced then look at thomas jefferson.

My brother you better know that!!!!!!  not only in scotland but the whole of europe north america and in my estimation any white man land, and i will go as far to say trinidad as well.the only reason they don't come out dey face in T&T is because they are the vast minority, but if they were the majority in trinidad, it would've been a horse of a differant colour. i lived in europe and i'am presently residing in the U.S. plus i've traveled extensivly troughout the world. trust me youth no body doh like black no body !!! that is real!!... and i don't take back chat.           positive.

so that was ah racist wethead ah get in greece :-[

it all making sense now. she was into it too much :'(

Offline rastafari

« Reply #418 on: March 02, 2007, 05:52:28 AM »
I remember the first time i witness racist monkey chants in Europe, this was in Berlin, Germany.
Hertha Berlin vs Cologne at the olympiastadion 1997, the home fans were making monkey chants at their own black players everytime they touched the ball, quite bizarre indeed but still racism.

Morvant doh get tie up with that one, not because somebody has sex with you it means that they like you.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #419 on: March 02, 2007, 06:14:43 AM »
I remember the first time i witness racist monkey chants in Europe, this was in Berlin, Germany.
Hertha Berlin vs Cologne at the olympiastadion 1997, the home fans were making monkey chants at their own black players everytime they touched the ball, quite bizarre indeed but still racism.

Morvant doh get tie up with that one, not because somebody has sex with you it means that they like you.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Well said my brother,we should not allowed our fragile egos to cloud our judgement,It may not even be that they like brothers,but in love with the idea of being with ah brother.

White women a black mans weakness,especially those in uniform.