March 28, 2024, 07:07:23 AM

Author Topic: Racism in football Thread.  (Read 201463 times)

Re: 2013/14 UEFA Champions League Thread
« Reply #1200 on: April 30, 2014, 02:44:24 PM »
Medical release. He was suffering from a severe case of s***snakeism

Harsh man... Carroll is a decent player, just limited.  He's good at what he does... collecting outlet passes, holding up play and being dominant in the air.  Plus nobody could cuff ah goalkeeper like de Andy Man.

Yuh know yuh watching West Ham when Mills Lane is the ref.

« Reply #1201 on: April 30, 2014, 02:45:08 PM »
Toppa ah hope yuh have words after Lisbon.  :P

Either way I'll be happy. If Atletico wins it'll be like being proud of a younger sibling.

« Reply #1202 on: April 30, 2014, 02:46:26 PM »
Refereeing made the difference. Ghost Pk and allowing Lopez to do a hatchet job on Hazard all night. Not good.

Elan, you being beyond ridiculous. Eto'o fouled the man and hazard was asleep whole match.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2014, 02:52:50 PM by Toppa »

« Reply #1203 on: April 30, 2014, 02:48:50 PM »
In other words, you guys aren't as good as Atletico...  ::)

Atletico are a CL team... we lucky we qualify fuh next year.  How much dem bus going for?

Who knew that plucky group of stock boys and day labourers could make it all the way to the top of the EPL?
It's not like this team could afford to spend Ł35 million quid on Andy Carroll...

We only get good after we hired Rodgers....that is why he sent Carroll packing.  Like it or not, we are pleasing to watch.  Now yuh sounding like ah dunce.

Why did he dispatch Carroll?

Cause he doh fit Rodgers playing philosophy.

Correct!

I heard Rodgers comment on this ... and he was explicit in expressing that Carroll's departure did not rest on a lack of quality. In fact, he was very precise on this point.

« Reply #1204 on: April 30, 2014, 02:53:57 PM »
AM doing de dog in celebrating at Stamford Bridge. Nothing like winning an emotional game away and nothing like seeing dejected English faces ... and good prep for the WC where more of the same should be on display. :)

FS, wha going on?

« Reply #1205 on: April 30, 2014, 02:57:45 PM »
Toppa ah hope yuh have words after Lisbon.  :P

Either way I'll be happy. If Atletico wins it'll be like being proud of a younger sibling.

Fair enough.

« Reply #1206 on: April 30, 2014, 02:59:40 PM »
I guess this is Mourinho at his most graceful.

21.46 Here's the Chelsea manager: "The game until a certain minute was very, very equal. The first half was more ours than them. In the second half, one minute decided everything, is the penalty that kills the game. I don't know whether it was a penalty or not. Was it a penalty? Good. After that, 2-1 against Atletico is almost impossible. One team with morale high, and the last period of the game was really difficult for us."

21.48 "We had injuries, we had suspensions, we had players that cannot play in the Champions League, but we knew that. We had unhappy moments in the Premier League too. I'm proud of the players. It's disappointing to lose a second-leg semi-final at home. But I prefer to say that we did everything that was possible for us."

21.49 "Until the penalty, they were not the best team. We had the game, we had more possesion, we had more chances. We knew that in set pieces, we would have a chance."

21.50 Geoff Shreeves asks him about the final. "No, not my problem. I hope it's a good final. It looks for me that this seaosn, everything went normal. Real beat Bayern deservedly, Atletico today after 30 minutes deserved it too. Next season we will be better."

« Reply #1207 on: April 30, 2014, 03:05:46 PM »
His rhetoric with respect to the Premier League will change ... some observers think Mou had most of his chips invested in the CL and fortuitously/incidentally reaped rewards in the PL having found himself doing better this year than he might have expected. With the CL gone, let's see how he engages what's left of the domestic season.

« Reply #1208 on: April 30, 2014, 03:09:17 PM »
Yuh know yuh watching West Ham when Mills Lane is the ref.

Man pull out ah Judge Mills Lane reference yes.  Ah trying tuh remember de red man who used to ref in Trinidad name.

Atlético recover to set up final against Real Madrid
« Reply #1209 on: April 30, 2014, 03:38:09 PM »
José Mourinho, Chelsea manager: They are a real team who know how to behave on the pitch. Real Madrid beat Bayern because Madrid were better and Atlético beat Chelsea because they were better after a determining moment. They are through. I hope both teams enjoy it and that there will be a great champion.

Tiago, Atlético captain: It's a dream for us. We have great spirit, great determination and we work together. Chelsea are a great team and so will Real Madrid be in the final. Diego Simeone has made us a great team so we will see what we can do against Madrid. Maybe the dream can come true.

Atlético recover to set up final against Real Madrid
Published: Wednesday 30 April 2014, 22.48CET
Chelsea FC 1-3 Club Atlético de Madrid (agg: 1-3)

The 2014 final will be an all-Madrid affair after Diego Simeone's side stormed back from 1-0 down to book a date with Real Madrid CF.
by Trevor Haylett from Stamford Bridge

Club Atlético de Madrid are through to their first UEFA Champions League final after a stunning victory at Chelsea FC set up an enticing showdown with city rivals Real Madrid CF in Lisbon on 24 May.

Having gone behind as their former pin-up boy Fernando Torres struck first, Diego Simeone's side fought back immediately with a crucial away goal from Adrián López and then put the tie out of reach in the second half. Diego Costa's penalty and Arda Turan's strike gave José Mourinho his fourth successive failure at this stage and Chelsea a fifth defeat in seven semi-finals since 2004.

Deprived of Frank Lampard and John Obi Mikel through suspension, Mourinho selected three full-backs and deployed César Azpilicueta in an unfamiliar midfield role ahead of Branislav Ivanović down the right. If that encouraged a greater sense of adventure in Atlético they almost found instant reward for their enterprise.

Koke's corner was headed back out to him and a first-time ball off the side of his boot sailed over Mark Schwarzer and cannoned off the bar, the post and Gary Cahill before looping over. Chelsea tried to inject some composure into their play though the Spanish team were hustling them at every opportunity. Diego Costa twice muscled through and it required great powers of recovery from first Ashley Cole and then Cahill to deny him.

There was a smoothness to Atlético's combinations that augured well for the visitors though Chelsea are nothing if not spirited and Torres was looking particularly sprightly and motivated. It was the former Atlético No9 who broke the deadlock after Willian's wizardry set him free from two markers, enabling Azpilicueta to sweep the ball across. Torres declined to celebrate but was no doubt delighted with the deflection off Mario Suárez which put the ball out of the reach of Thibaut Courtois, the goalkeeper on loan from Chelsea.

It was the first goal the visitors had conceded in seven games and they trailed for only six minutes. Former Chelsea player Tiago played a diagonal pass to the far post which Juanfran kept alive. Both John Terry and Cole were unable to clear and Adrián took full advantage.

The value of the away goal was underlined as Atlético displayed renewed belief after the restart, Schwarzer palming away Arda's strong effort. The visitors fancied their chances of a second and it arrived from the penalty spot after Samuel Eto'o, on the field for just six minutes, fouled Costa. The forward took some time attending to the penalty spot – and was booked for his trouble – before smashing the ball high into the net.

David Luiz sent a header against the upright at the other end but when Juanfran reprised his earlier assist, Arda first headed against the bar before tucking away the rebound. Game, set and match as Atlético celebrated a first European Champion Clubs' Cup final for 40 years.

« Reply #1210 on: April 30, 2014, 04:04:45 PM »
Refereeing made the difference. Ghost Pk and allowing Lopez to do a hatchet job on Hazard all night. Not good.

Elan, you being beyond ridiculous. Eto'o fouled the man and hazard was asleep whole match.
How about those Madrid teams, eh:D :D :D

I think I can bet a million US dollars that the team from Madrid will win the Champions League title

::)  ;D

« Reply #1211 on: April 30, 2014, 04:18:20 PM »
I guess this is Mourinho at his most graceful.

21.46 Here's the Chelsea manager: "The game until a certain minute was very, very equal. The first half was more ours than them. In the second half, one minute decided everything, is the penalty that kills the game. I don't know whether it was a penalty or not. Was it a penalty? Good. After that, 2-1 against Atletico is almost impossible. One team with morale high, and the last period of the game was really difficult for us."

21.48 "We had injuries, we had suspensions, we had players that cannot play in the Champions League, but we knew that. We had unhappy moments in the Premier League too. I'm proud of the players. It's disappointing to lose a second-leg semi-final at home. But I prefer to say that we did everything that was possible for us."

21.49 "Until the penalty, they were not the best team. We had the game, we had more possesion, we had more chances. We knew that in set pieces, we would have a chance."

21.50 Geoff Shreeves asks him about the final. "No, not my problem. I hope it's a good final. It looks for me that this seaosn, everything went normal. Real beat Bayern deservedly, Atletico today after 30 minutes deserved it too. Next season we will be better."

Jose not admitting that he was wring in not trying for the away goal.

« Reply #1212 on: May 01, 2014, 09:26:34 AM »

Eto played the ball.

« Reply #1213 on: May 01, 2014, 11:52:46 AM »

Eto played the ball.

Show the video replay of it.

« Reply #1214 on: May 01, 2014, 01:35:20 PM »
Anti-football, Pro-football or Pragmatic-Football?

Jose Mourinho is the king of anti-football. Wherever he goes, King Jose is known as the coach who plays defensive football first. His own players complain about his tactics, phrases like “winning ugly”, abound, and neutrals, opposition managers, and fans often complain about his team “parking the bus”. Yet, Chelsea lead the Premier League in shots per game with 17.8. Mourinho’s Real Madrid led la Liga in shots per game every season he was there and were second in possession stats behind Barcelona. And let’s not forget that Mourinho’s Chelsea won the Premier League scoring a record 103 goals in a season. So, which is it? Is he anti-football? Is he pro-football? Does he just play football?

The answer is rather simple, he’s a pragmatician. In games against small teams his teams look to dominate offensively and in big games, according to his biography The Special One, he has the following 7 point philosophy:

The game is won by the team who commits fewer errors.
Football favors whoever provokes more errors in the opposition.
Away from home, instead of trying to be superior to the opposition, it’s better to encourage their mistakes.
Whoever has the ball is more likely to make a mistake.
Whoever renounces possession reduces the possibility of making a mistake.
Whoever has the ball has fear.
Whoever does not have it is therefore stronger.

This philosophy has worked especially well this season in the Premier League. Chelsea, against the top four clubs, have only conceded 2 goals and have won all but one match, a 0-0 draw with Arsenal.

And if we extend that analysis out to the top seven clubs, Chelsea are still the best of the group, conceding just 5 goals, keeping 7 clean sheets, and losing just once (1-0 to Everton).

He has done that without a 20 goal a season forward. His best player is Eden Hazard, an attacking midfielder with 14 goals. His best forward this season has been Samuel Eto’o a 33 year old with 12 goals in all competitions. His second best forward has been Fernando Torres, 10 goals in 45 appearances.

Jose Mourinho is a defense first manager and always has been. No one is arguing that. When he managed Real Madrid, Los Blancos were one of the best counter-attacking teams in Europe. In his first season in La Liga, Real Madrid scored 24 goals (of 102) on counter attacks. He led la Liga in that category every season he was there.

Read More....
« Last Edit: May 01, 2014, 01:36:51 PM by elan »

« Reply #1215 on: May 01, 2014, 02:47:51 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hhr0ssq0nYU&list=UUQU-RyGvH1RcBmpJ-Je_vRg

@ 2:49 Guus calls Mourinho "the high priest of utilitarian football". Mourinho responds: "Good comeback".  :rotfl:

« Reply #1216 on: May 01, 2014, 08:25:51 PM »

Eto played the ball.

Show the video replay of it.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/2nn7qp5shic" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/2nn7qp5shic</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mgv6oA2ZSLc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mgv6oA2ZSLc</a>

« Reply #1217 on: May 01, 2014, 08:54:41 PM »
Clear kick to the inside of Costa's right knee... only thing possibly debateable is whether the contact was sufficient enough to bring him down.

« Reply #1218 on: May 01, 2014, 09:21:31 PM »
Clear kick to the inside of Costa's right knee... only thing possibly debateable is whether the contact was sufficient enough to bring him down.

So the ball mysteriously changed direction.

« Reply #1219 on: May 02, 2014, 08:38:23 AM »

You must be wearing these.

« Reply #1220 on: May 02, 2014, 10:24:57 AM »

No, not mysteriously... Costa trapped/controlled the ball just as Eto'o fouled him.  Come better than that man elan... even you can't be that blinkered.

« Reply #1221 on: May 02, 2014, 10:44:40 AM »

No, not mysteriously... Costa trapped/controlled the ball just as Eto'o fouled him.  Come better than that man elan... even you can't be that blinkered.

You have to be joking, Costa made absolutely no contact with the ball. His leg did not even come forward. Eto played the ball on the bounce. Get real.

« Reply #1222 on: May 02, 2014, 11:20:21 AM »

You have to be joking, Costa made absolutely no contact with the ball. His leg did not even come forward. Eto played the ball on the bounce. Get real.

You can't be serious... Costa is the only one who made any contact with the ball, 00:21.  Eto'o didn't even protest.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/D0hOxEJHGRM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/D0hOxEJHGRM</a>

« Reply #1223 on: May 02, 2014, 12:13:52 PM »
Eto'o made contact with the ball. Point for elan. However, it's not the contact with the ball that was decisive. Subtract point from elan.  :devil: It was his contact with Costa (prior to contacting the ball) that earned the penalty.

No point for Bakes for reaching the correct conclusion on erroneous reasoning, although creditable in noting Eto'o's lack of protest. As a forward, Eto'o fully understood what occurred.

Actually, I'm being harsh on Bakes. He did note the contact by Eto'o on Costa in prior posts. But, I haven't seen a compelling angle to confirm Costa's contact with the ball ... although, it's not improbable, it's irrelevant.

(Nonetheless, in the 10 second video posted by elan ... I see the possible Costa contact with the ball). However, elan also be attentive to the referee's position in the other video.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 12:30:31 PM by asylumseeker »

Re: Dani Alves: Barcelona defender eats banana after it lands on pitch
« Reply #1224 on: May 02, 2014, 01:18:55 PM »
Protestors defend Villarreal fan

A campaign has been launched in support of the Villarreal supporter who threw a banana at Dani Alves last weekend, with one of his relatives saying he has been "lynched" by the media.

Barcelona and Brazil right-back Alves peeled and ate the banana thrown at him during a La Liga game at Villarreal on April 27. Neymar, his colleague for club and country, then immediately set in motion a pre-planned "banana-themed" social media anti-racism campaign, which received support from a number of high-profile players, including Sergio Aguero, Luis Suarez and Mario Balotelli. Leading global political figures such as Brazil president Dilma Rousseff and UN secretary general Ban-Ki Moon also offered support.

David Campayo, 26, was swiftly identified as the culprit and banned by Villarreal before being arrested by the local police and charged with provoking a racist incident.

However, the media reaction, which has included the widespread publication of Campayo's photo, has angered the youth's family and friends. A protest against this coverage was called for Vila-real's Plaza Mayor on Thursday evening, with the organisers using the slogan "We are all David" -- an apparent play on the "#weareallmonkeys" hashtag Neymar used when launching the social media campaign.

An unnamed family member told the EFE news agency: "One thing is the error he has made, which he will pay for; another is the lynching, which has been disproportionate."

Marca, meanwhile, quotes another anonymous supporter as saying: "Some journalists and media outlets have been very eager to do damage to our colleague, David.

"A protest has been organised against all the press and their negative actions -- they have done nothing more than dirty the name of our town and its inhabitants. He is no racist nor a violent person. He threw the fruit purely because he was angry in the moment. His action does not deserve this continuous lynching."

According to AS, about 1,000 people attended the protest, displaying placards that read: "Turn off the TV, open your mind" and "Stop journalism, stop misinformation." AS also reported that there were "moments of tension" between the protesters and reporters sent to cover the event.

The incident, and especially the reaction from Alves and Neymar, has brought extra focus on the issue of racism in Spanish sport. El Pais published a feature that examined the many incidents that have occurred over the last decade, accusing clubs and government authorities of failing to take action amid talk of "isolated incidents" and people getting carried away in the heat of the moment.

"The attitude of the [Spanish government's] Commission Against Violence and Racism is lazy and laissez-faire," campaigner Esteban Ibarra told El Pais. "All that happens here is that we cover up racism and violence."

« Reply #1225 on: May 02, 2014, 01:22:23 PM »
I think the ref had a position to see that Costa was going down with any idea of a challenge.

« Reply #1226 on: May 02, 2014, 02:11:18 PM »
Let me take the discussion in a slightly different direction by asking a question: can we attribute part of Mourinho's tactical liability to having a forward making the key defensive intervention on the opponent's target offensive threat?

That sort of tackle made by Eto'o is the sort of indelicate movement typified of attackers. It's generally innocuous up the pitch but typically lacks the considered approach employed by seasoned defenders in their defensive third.

Discuss.

Re: Dani Alves: Barcelona defender eats banana after it lands on pitch
« Reply #1227 on: May 02, 2014, 02:15:06 PM »
Credit to Neymar et al. Let the soul-searching begin on all fronts. Spanish society needs a gut check.

EDIT: The coordination for this effort comes from a Brazilian marketing firm named Loducca Publicidade. 
« Last Edit: May 03, 2014, 07:16:01 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1228 on: May 02, 2014, 02:38:26 PM »
Eto'o made contact with the ball. Point for elan. However, it's not the contact with the ball that was decisive. Subtract point from elan.  :devil: It was his contact with Costa (prior to contacting the ball) that earned the penalty.

No point for Bakes for reaching the correct conclusion on erroneous reasoning, although creditable in noting Eto'o's lack of protest. As a forward, Eto'o fully understood what occurred.

Actually, I'm being harsh on Bakes. He did note the contact by Eto'o on Costa in prior posts. But, I haven't seen a compelling angle to confirm Costa's contact with the ball ... although, it's not improbable, it's irrelevant.

(Nonetheless, in the 10 second video posted by elan ... I see the possible Costa contact with the ball). However, elan also be attentive to the referee's position in the other video.

How is my reasoning "erroneous" if I started by pointing out the clear kick to the inside of Costa's right knee?  The kick happened simultaenous to him controlling the ball, look at the back spin on the ball after he traps it off the turf.  Eto'o's follow through may have made contact with the ball, but that does not seem likely from the frontal look in the video I provided.  But whether Eto'o made contact with the ball or not is immaterial as you state, and I never suggested otherwise, that was just to illustrate to elan the absurdity of his position that it was not a foul and that the ref cost Chelsea the game.

To your latter post, Mourinho had a forward defending and the forward conceded a penalty... it's no different from how he played vs. Liverpool at Stamford Bridge, and noteworthy that in that contest Eto'o also committed a foul on Suarez in the box, but that went unpunished.  Seems like the football gods chose a more fitting occasion to balance the scales.

« Reply #1229 on: May 02, 2014, 06:20:42 PM »

I was joking but like you really blind.

Tell me what is happening in this pic.