March 28, 2024, 11:35:15 AM

Author Topic: Ah man going and throw he frame from the edge of space....  (Read 6964 times)

Re: Ah man going and throw he frame from the edge of space....
« Reply #30 on: October 15, 2012, 03:20:36 PM »
Wide angle lens makes it look curved.

Ent? lol

In all seriousness though, I just loved this mission.  Space travel has become so routine that the magic of it all (despite the Challenger and Columbia (?) disasters in 1986 and 2003) seems to have been lost a bit.  This wasn't space travel of course, but still quite a daring feat into the unknown, ala the earlier space explorations.  Kudos too to Red Bull for stepping up and financing this... buying themselves a huge amount of publicity (and who knows what else) in the process.  They continue to prove themselves to be one of the more fun-oriented corporations around (think of the Pflugtag events)... or just a company who knows not to take themselves too seriously when there's a good time to be had. 

Here's a 4-minute recap of the mission yesterday, enjoy:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dOoHArAzdug&amp;list=PLnuf8iyXggLF2b7bYQU5s2FqW1sLE1ywh&amp;index=1&amp;feature=plcp" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dOoHArAzdug&amp;list=PLnuf8iyXggLF2b7bYQU5s2FqW1sLE1ywh&amp;index=1&amp;feature=plcp</a>

« Reply #31 on: October 15, 2012, 03:28:40 PM »
That was an amazing feat...but that old man who held the record before him must have de biggest balls on de planet.

Re: Re: Ah man going and throw he frame from the edge of space....
« Reply #32 on: October 15, 2012, 03:55:01 PM »
That was an amazing feat...but that old man who held the record before him must have de biggest balls on de planet.

Chuck Yeager? The man is a legend. All the data from his test help the space programme and future near space flights. His head swelled up big I recall from one of his missions like a water Mellon. Them fellas is real pioneers, brave too.

« Reply #33 on: October 15, 2012, 04:03:43 PM »

Chuck Yeager? The man is a legend. All the data from his test help the space programme and future near space flights. His head swelled up big I recall from one of his missions like a water Mellon. Them fellas is real pioneers, brave too.

I meant d fella who was speaking to him yesterday, Kittinger. To do what Felix did back in the 50s....wow

« Reply #34 on: October 15, 2012, 04:06:48 PM »
Without all that tech. Crazy eh.

« Reply #35 on: October 16, 2012, 04:53:43 AM »
Some people have balls to share oui. I did 12,000 ft last yr and the rush was unbelievable.. could only imagine.

Jumbie, that was solo or tandem?
I jumped at the parachute school in Arthur in 2008..the highest they would let us go solo was 6000ft.
I wanted to go higher but me eh want no man winin on mih backside in ah death spiral

first jump was tandem at 10k, 2nd jump was 12k. Nice sport, but friggin expensive. couldn't believe how cold it was up there for a hot summer's day. Check the guys at Swoop, they real nice an professional. http://www.skydiveswoop.com/welcome.shtml

I did the tandem jump from 10K ft about 2 - 3 years ago.....ah still cyar find the emotion to describe the feeling.....I did it at a place in Miami.....will pull the link later.....not too expensive I find.....cost me about US $500 I think.....

And if/when I do it again I'm only doing tandem jump......when that plane door open and I saw how high up I was.....the only reason I eh tell them doh bother is because it had a man strapped to mih back and I had no choice......I eh doing that on my own dread.....fright and cold feet would stop mih when that door open......

« Reply #36 on: October 16, 2012, 01:49:57 PM »
anyone try edgewalk yet?

i think i will have to do this before i venture into skydiving... did the bungee jumping thing, that was fun..

check out the edge walk, standing on the edge of the cn tower

http://www.youtube.com/user/TourCNTower

« Reply #37 on: October 16, 2012, 02:34:08 PM »
anyone try edgewalk yet?

i think i will have to do this before i venture into skydiving... did the bungee jumping thing, that was fun..

I ent even click the link. Just reading that sentence, meh palms sweaty arready
« Last Edit: October 16, 2012, 02:37:30 PM by FF »

« Reply #38 on: October 16, 2012, 04:15:35 PM »
anyone try edgewalk yet?

I ent even click the link. Just reading that sentence, meh palms sweaty arready

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #39 on: October 16, 2012, 09:46:44 PM »
i did CN in July, you have to book in advance to do it, was real ball shrinkin for the first few minutes  :beermug:

my wife & her sister in the swiss alps

« Last Edit: October 16, 2012, 09:50:55 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #40 on: October 18, 2012, 11:45:47 PM »
CN SKW