April 29, 2024, 12:18:57 AM

Author Topic: Go for the Title - SWO previews Caribbean Cup.  (Read 5318 times)

Go for the Title - SWO previews Caribbean Cup.
« on: October 27, 2012, 05:58:43 PM »
Go for the Title.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Trinidad and Tobago men’s national team will go into the second round of the CFU Caribbean Cup qualifiers with a staggering 15 goal record from its first round exploits. The Soca Warriors defied all odds and shone a bright light on T&T football after a steady decline following its participation at the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.

It’s no secret that T&T football is in shambles at the moment, but I believe that winning the 2012 Caribbean Cup tournament could usher in the dawn of brighter days ahead for T&T football. In order for this to come to fruition though, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) must put aside all self serving agendas and settle with the “2006 World Cup 13”, have a well publicized and fair election, aim to become a self sustaining organization with less reliance on government funding; and most of all rewrite the TTFF constitution to prevent any internal or external entity from taking control as Jack Warner has done for so many years.

The Soca Warriors meanwhile will play host to Cuba, Suriname and St. Vincent & the Grenadines from November 14-18, only 3 days after the TTFF presidential election, and it is rumoured that the venue will be Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago. The top two teams will then advance to the eight-nation Caribbean Cup final in Antigua & Barbuda during the month of December. From this tournament four teams will advance to next year’s CONCACAF Gold Cup.

One must ponder though on whether or not this second round tournament will actually come off? Based on the constant rift between the TTFF and the Ministry of Sports (MoS) Anil Roberts and his mouth piece deputy and Permanent Secretary Ashwin Creed, it’s hard not to envision the possibility of this predicament. Questions like who is going to pay for the stadium usage must be asked? Maybe a call to Nicki Minaj might provide the answers.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand, Trinidad and Tobago went into the first round of the CFU Caribbean Cup qualifying literally unprepared with only one game played against Canada in August. Had it not been for the Canadian Soccer Association’s (CSA) added effort, T&T would probably have not played a friendly match as the Federation is strapped for cash.

Furthermore, the team has been inactive since February and despite not having a permanent coach T&T still managed to breeze through the first round unscathed, scoring 15 goals and conceding only one goal in the process.

Former Strike Squad midfielder Hutson Charles is currently the team's caretaker with 6 games under his belt and a coaching record of four wins and two losses. The four wins came against Caribbean opposition while the two losses were against Finland and Canada respectively. This by all means is not a poor coaching record, but it certainly does not warrant him being promoted to the hot seat.

I would like to see our team play with discipline, purpose, organization and structure and not play like individuals going through the motions on a field. Is Charles the man who can instill these qualities and successfully coach the Warriors? Only time and sterner opponents will answer this question?

In the meantime, Coach Charles seems to have his mind set on a 4-5-1 formation approach with inform striker Jamal Gay leading the attack. Talented left-footer Keon Daniel, the midfield trickster Hughtun Hector, pacey winger Kevon Carter, newly promoted midfielder Joevin Jones, and the smooth passing midfielder Densill Theobald all played the supporting casts.

Defenders Carlyle Mitchell, Daneil Cyrus, Seon Power and Robert Primus anchored the defence, while Jan “The Man” Michael Williams was preferred between the sticks to Marvin Phillip. The two lads have been competing for the number one spot since the Under 17 level. This time however, Williams got the nod.

Jamal Gay justified his pick by finishing the first round group stage as leading goal scorer with 5 goals, Keon Daniel amassed 4 and Willis Plaza grabbed 3.

The core of the team was mainly a locally based unit and although the opponents they faced were mediocre at best, T&T still managed to fly this country's flag high and definitely gave the Warrior fans something to cheer about.  In spite of this success though, it’s hard to forget the adversity the team faced at the hands of the Ministry of Sports who always seems to be lurking over T&T football like the grim reaper.

Now as we look to the second round, in my humble opinion, I feel that T&T has nothing but the Caribbean Cup to play for and the TTFF needs to take this tournament seriously and channel all its resources and available players to give the Team the best chance of winning the Caribbean title.

Will it be easy? Certainly not, as underestimating our Caribbean neighbors in the past few years has lead to embarrassing eliminations from the Gold Cup and World Cup Qualifiers.

Not that these so called smaller teams are not improving to a competitive standard, but T&T football has been at a standstill and is played on a sub-par level.  Our team lacks fluidity and organization especially in defence and the players seem to also lack desire and determination to play for the national team.  If the TTFF does not lead by example and get its house in order, T&T football could reach a level where it would be literally impossible to revive.

What we need at this juncture is to confidently put our best foot forward in the Caribbean Cup and select the best foreign based players available. Here are some of the foreign based players that I believe can help us bring the title back to T&T for a ninth time:

Worthy of a call up

Andre Boucaud – Lately Boucaud has been in terrific form for his on-loan club Notts County (League One) and it’s puzzling that he hasn't really gotten a chance to prove his worth for the national team. A call up for the second round could quell all doubts on whether he can help enhance the team’s chances to make it to the finals. Andre is no stranger to T&T football and his never die attitude is always a welcomed bonus for the Warriors. He also stated to me recently that he is always ready and eager to represent T&T and would be delighted to receive a call up for the semi-final and/or final round of the Caribbean Cup.

Cordell Cato - Based on the games he has played for the Seattle Sounders it is easy to see that his speed on the right wing, ability to take on defenders and his crossing can be a major asset to T&T. As a starter or a super sub he has the potential to be one of the danger men for the Warriors. The MLS season is almost over and Cato will more than likely be available if selected.

Christopher Birchall - It’s no secret that this Warrior veteran provides the steel in the Warriors’ midfield (a much needed element missing in T&T teams) and it’s baffling that he was not included in the T&T squad that topped its Caribbean Cup quarterfinal group. As we face tougher opponents in the second round though, a well organize midfield with Chris as the anchor is crucial. 

Foreign born who are eligible to play for T&T

Kamani Hill - This California native is eligible to play for T&T through his father and though he has been capped twice by the US in friendly matches, the Colorado Rapids midfielder can still represent T&T if he decides to don the Red, White and Black.

Nick DeLeon - The son of a T&T football legend, Nick has all the ingredients to be as good as or even better than his father Leroy. Whether or not he decides to make the switch in T&T colors, well that’s another story. Let's make the call and find out though.

Sheanon Williams - If reports are to be believed, the Philadelphia Union defender has expressed interest in representing T&T.  We should at least aim to cap him before the US comes calling. At 22 Sheanon is a young and talented right-back who loves to overlap. He has good recovery speed and can cross the ball accurately.

The backbone

Then we have our core foreign based players to beef up the Soca Warriors team. These players have a lot to offer based on club form, potential, experience and/or exemplary service to T&T and include;  Carlos Edwards, Jlloyd Samuel, Lester Peltier, Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino, Kenwyne Jones, Darryl Roberts, Julius James and Kendall Jagdeosingh.

Notable mention should also be made of some of the foreign based fringe players T&T has at its disposal. They include but are not limited to: Mekeil Williams, Jake Thomson, Sean De Silva, Leston Paul, and Justin Fojo.

I believe this combination of experience and youth players would make a solid platform for the future of T&T football. All of these players cannot be selected, but the best from this crop can certainly give us a competitive edge going into the second round of the Caribbean Cup.

Getting it right.

Just asked yourself, why was T&T knocked out off the Caribbean Cup twice in succession by Grenada and eliminated from the 2014 World Cup by CONCACAF minnows Guyana? It seems like every other Caribbean country is taking their football seriously. Isn't it time T&T does the same?

It’s now up to the TTFF to make the right decisions regarding the path our football should take. In the face of incessant failures and adversity, now more than ever is the time to get it right and put T&T football back in its place of prominence.  The Caribbean Cup title can be ours again and as a Warrior fan…I believe it!

« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 06:02:15 AM by Flex »

Re: Go for the Title
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2012, 07:11:39 PM »
I hope so too, it's high time now that someone did something.     positive article.

Re: Go for the Title - SWO previews Caribbean Cup.
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 06:33:13 AM »
At least something worth reading compare to the other garbage news we have been getting from T&T football and things that surrounds it.

Central F.C progress and Flex Mohammed articles are reviving.

Good work Flex and excellent read.

:applause:

Offline Thomo

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2012, 01:06:04 AM »
Brilliant article. Dunno if H.Charles is the right man for the job just yet but he has impressed me by sticking to a 4-5-1 formation, which is best for us!!

Offline Debbie

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2012, 08:23:00 AM »
All the best Soca Warriors.

Would like to see Anthony Noreiga get a call up.

Good read Flex.

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2012, 06:52:12 AM »
Once Anton Corneal is in power Flex this will never happen, he will not invest money on what you want here Flex because he wants a bigger piece of the pie and if Corneal not getting, no one else will be, the extra money they get from the government will go into Corneal and Harford pockets.

Anton not taking any money to bring any foreign based players, I bet you this.

Only man who put his money where his mouth was were Jack Warner, admit it guys!!.

Sooner or later Hutson Charles will face the axe, this is just a Corneal curse and then Charles will tell you guys the truth.

Anton Corneal made sure and put Murray there to run for president so he could stay in the game, they are personal friends.

You guys think Jack was a dictactor, wait for Anton.

Flex, you wasting your talent, you do a better job than any other sport writers in T&T at the moment.

Jack will rise again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Last Edit: October 31, 2012, 09:13:20 AM by Jack Horner »
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2012, 07:29:52 PM »
Ah like this team here.

Jan Williams
Sheanon-Mitchell-James-Jones
Edwards-Birchall-Boucaud-Daniel
          Jamal-Hector

Offline madness1969

« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2012, 09:16:58 PM »
                   Gay/Jorsling(ST)

Leon/Daniel(LW)         Moline/Hector(CF)   deleon/Peltier(RW)

Hyland (LMD)          Carter/birchall(RMD)

Mitchell/Power(LB)      Cyrus(CB)        James(CB)                   Carlos(capt)(RB)

Phillps/Williams(GK)

« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2012, 04:17:11 AM »
                   Gay/Jorsling(ST)

Leon/Daniel(LW)         Moline/Hector(CF)   deleon/Peltier(RW)

Hyland (LMD)          Carter/birchall(RMD)

Mitchell/Power(LB)      Cyrus(CB)        James(CB)                   Carlos(capt)(RB)

Phillps/Williams(GK)
Thank God yuhs not the coach!!! :whew:

imagine, you pick julius james who's injured and recovering from surgery over robert primus our best available defender, carlos edwards is also in relegation and coach trouble, he will never make this game if he have any brain cells left in his noggin.

nick deloen has showed no interest in playing for us, devon jorslin is ah straight up bum! jamal gay only performs under weaker opponents, but if he ever comes up against formidable opponents he chokes..

Clyde leon is a turtle, no way he could play on flanks, lester peltier says to count him out from international football for a while, probably his coaches was livid bc he got injured in ft lauderdale in august. kevon carter is not a center mid, he plays on the flank or in a striking position.

you left out fellas who's willing and able to rep us, who have  nuff potentia, man like.

kendell jagdoesing (who's in great form)
cordel cato (he's on his off season and just played in the play off round of MLS)
roberts primus (another great if not our best defender on the off season of his league)
willis plaza (this kid is also on his off season and is a good forward, IMO he's way better than jorslin)
darryl roberts (proven goal scorer who actually love to perform under pressure)
cornell glenn (it's time to reintroduce him to the fold)

all these fellas are willing and able, why exclude them?

« Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 04:20:28 AM by just cool »

Offline StarKid

« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2012, 03:04:18 PM »
You does have nothing positive to say.
Devon jorlings is not a bum.
Jamal Gay compared to alot of trini forwards has ability to go far whether u like his style or not.
Whats important that he is getting the job done at 23 years.
For under 23s he scored against all big teams, Mexico, Finland senior team, Cuba, Guyana. etc.
He scored against CD Marthon OF HONDURAS! that is a shit team.?
He scoring for cale in all top competitions and for national senior team .
If de yuth didnt score a beaver then he doesnt perform but he scored a beaver which no other player did for a long time for trini. now he only performs against shit teams cant please allyuh.
No other team scored 10 in tournament against Anguilla, the yuth scored 4 which no ther player did.N

Did u not read what Flex wrote Jamal gay
justified his pick by finishing the first round group stage as leading goal scorer with 5 goals.
Allyuh so does come and just fight down. Talk sum sense nah please.
Yuh have ur own opinion but still talk sense

Offline StarKid

« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2012, 03:08:51 PM »
Large part of last year the youth performed and thus far this year.
HE plays the lone striker well holds up the ball and can finish.
if in big games the youth midfield shuts down which happen in america what can he do as lone striker with no service.if u no the game a lone striker most times atre out of a game once the team he is playing for not playing well. so its not about choking. Say the team choked not one particular player.

« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2012, 09:49:36 PM »
You does have nothing positive to say.
Devon jorlings is not a bum.
Jamal Gay compared to alot of trini forwards has ability to go far whether u like his style or not.
Whats important that he is getting the job done at 23 years.
For under 23s he scored against all big teams, Mexico, Finland senior team, Cuba, Guyana. etc.
He scored against CD Marthon OF HONDURAS! that is a shit team.?
He scoring for cale in all top competitions and for national senior team .
If de yuth didnt score a beaver then he doesnt perform but he scored a beaver which no other player did for a long time for trini. now he only performs against shit teams cant please allyuh.
No other team scored 10 in tournament against Anguilla, the yuth scored 4 which no ther player did.N

Did u not read what Flex wrote Jamal gay
justified his pick by finishing the first round group stage as leading goal scorer with 5 goals.
Allyuh so does come and just fight down. Talk sum sense nah please.
Yuh have ur own opinion but still talk sense
You call stating the facts negative talk?? that is why we have bummed over the past 10 yrs, that's bc ppl like you does encourage the fackry!! you tellin me that jamal gay deserve to play over jaggy, roberts and toussant, even kerry baptiste??

boy, you now start watching football or what, will if you just start, is long time i watching this game. i see football all over the world and in every corner of trinidad, and i tellin you that jamal eh ready yet!  not saying that the young man ehn have potential, but his potential needs to be refined.

maybe one day when he gets an opportunity to play in an established league he will become a very good forward, but for now, he needs a lot of work.

man was fighting me down for saying the same thing about scotty, and when he got ah shot in the prem, all he came up with was one single goal for his time in the prem, and it's the same thing with gay, the bredder not speedy, he's not the consummate dribbler, or a defenders worst nightmare nor an excellent finisher, so what's all the hype about!

i've seen the kid in the CCL and he was shut out for the most part, he could easily be marked out a game, just like scotty. so much for your wonder kid.

« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 02:16:11 PM by just cool »

« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2012, 10:46:55 PM »
this is the work he needs Just Cool

« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2012, 06:05:22 AM »
this is the work he needs Just Cool
Magician, i not fightin the yute like this fella here suggest, but it's time for us to start letting players earn their picks. man like jorslin who have to be in the goal mouth to score can't continue to be selected over man who know how tuh score like cornell glenn and jaggy.

this yute gay have potential, but right now fellas with potential have to move away from the pro league and learn to turn that potential into a refined product.

it's the same thing with corn curls, before the man had loads of potential but didn't know how to finish even though he played in several champions league with jablo, now after spending two yrs in slovakia the bredder is all of a sudden a proper goal scorer, and all it took was a move away.

at this present time with our footbal in shambles we can not afford to be bleeding players on a senior international level, this is what under17, U20, U23 and club football is for, right now fellas who put on the senior team shirt should already be polished and ready.

remember this is the reason why we missed out on two gold cups in a row, we tried to bleed youngsters and obliged old has beens like dwarika and we payed dearly for it, right now we should only be looking to players in tiptop form with plenty experience to be selected on the senior team, not no upstarts with potential. 

gay not ready yet for that level, ah warning allyuh.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 02:18:17 PM by just cool »

Offline StarKid

« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2012, 08:28:25 AM »
lets be real Gay do more for national team @ every level more than them players u call.
You say jaggy more ready but thiland is a shit league.
what has he done for trinidad football?
cHECK GOALS GAY SCORE FOR UNDER2O, UNDER23 AND SENIOR AT JUST 23 YEARS OR AGE.
yOU POINTS ARE INVAILD!
.not that jaggy isnt a good player but Jamal Gay is not slow for a 6.4 height, 93 kgs, can hold up the ball. The guy told some that i know that he stop dribbling because he wants to be known as a goal scorer. Which is very smart of him.
but like what u all did hyland and pletier u all say they not ready and as they reach europe allyuh rating them so no different. I know when u youth sign for his new club in january u all go say we no he cud do it. I waiting for allyuh. Dont want to let eggs hatch before its ti me but u go say i told u so

« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2012, 08:54:33 AM »
lets be real Gay do more for national team @ every level more than them players u call.
You say jaggy more ready but thiland is a shit league.
what has he done for trinidad football?
cHECK GOALS GAY SCORE FOR UNDER2O, UNDER23 AND SENIOR AT JUST 23 YEARS OR AGE.
yOU POINTS ARE INVAILD!
.not that jaggy isnt a good player but Jamal Gay is not slow for a 6.4 height, 93 kgs, can hold up the ball. The guy told some that i know that he stop dribbling because he wants to be known as a goal scorer. Which is very smart of him.
but like what u all did hyland and pletier u all say they not ready and as they reach europe allyuh rating them so no different. I know when u youth sign for his new club in january u all go say we no he cud do it. I waiting for allyuh. Dont want to let eggs hatch before its ti me but u go say i told u so
My friend, you sounding like you have an axe to grind. how could you compare a youth who never played for any length of time in a solid pro league compared to a player who played in three consecutive concacaf champions league scoring tons of goals on the likes of chivas , seatle, toluca ect ect?

like you forgot before jaggy went to thailand he played for PR islanders and went as far as CCL finals and lost. yeh jaggy may not have played for the yute team, but he certainly made up for it. if yuh don't believe me, then believe the german coach who said that "kendell could play for any team in europe", now that may not mean anything to you bc it's likely that yuh don't rate pfister just like many locals didn't.

if your argument and gauge for players is to be taken seriously, then what have you to say bout ah fella name aurtis whitley? he was not recognized until beenhakker came on the scene. whitely replaced big players the likes of angus eve, arnold dwarika, and and brent rahim who not only played for the national team on every level, but also put numbers on the board, yet a relative unknown bumped them off with relative ease.

wim risbergen went as far as to say that if whitley was born in brazil he would be just as renown as ronaldinho. so it matters not how much goals you score on a yute level, but how you develop on a senior level, if that thinking was valid then errol mcfarlene should be playing in the EPL over kenwyne jones, ah forkin defender turned forward @ that.

like i said , jamal needs to get in ah big league and learn his craft well, bc he definitely has potential, but he's ain't ready for this arena just yet, put him back in the oven for a spell, he still raw inside.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 12:15:44 PM by just cool »

Offline StarKid

« Reply #16 on: November 10, 2012, 09:18:23 AM »
phister is a goat.
benhacker is a boss.
Jaggy decent player.
USL is not that good league, better than trini but not good league cause its not even best league in america. Molino was best player there and still have to go on trial.
You forget jamal sign for a german team but got three injuries included 2 hamstring
 as well as after playing one game against sttugart and he destroyed them they wanted to sign him from german team but his german club said no.last  year while playing for under23s new england coach saw him play and sent a contract to his agent immediatly. Cali down down the offer.
Fc Zurich wanted him but visa problems. A finland scout came to trini last week to see him play after hearing about jamal. He flew from finland a matter of fact he called Shabazz when costa rica was playing guyana to get in touch with jamal gay and flew to trini the next week. Was in game Caledonia vs Defence force. So you point about these other guys not valid. since strikers Stern,Kenwyne, jamal has wat it takes to go on. Flex, tallman let just cool no nah cause i dont no what football he watching. but i like jaggy work rate. Jamal is the in form striker right now.

Offline StarKid

« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2012, 09:20:44 AM »

Offline StarKid

« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2012, 09:22:17 AM »

« Reply #19 on: November 10, 2012, 09:58:04 AM »
Jamal Gay is a good striker and is inform right now, but if he don't get out of T&T quick he could end up an ordinary striker.

He should have never left Germany, even for a pay cut he shoulda stay.

I like the heart he shows and once you have passion you will always do good, never die attitude.

He is not mobile but he does get into good positions sometimes.

He need to score more for the national team though and against better teams more consistently.

He has good height and,,,,,, positioning at times and he needs to know when to shoot and when not, he rely to much on service from the wing which he will not get from T&T and Cali.

He needs to create and shoot, make his own plays (like Jerren Noxon) because T&T sucks when it comes to service, but I will pick him over Kenwyne anyday.

If I had his size and height I would be molesting defenders and banging in them goals like Onandi Lowe or Stern John in the MLS in his early years, de man use to shot from anywhere and anytime, he had an eye for goal and use to just blast them, either is score or it rebound for another man to poke in, but it does create goals.

« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 10:01:27 AM by Sam »

« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2012, 11:47:24 AM »
phister is a goat.
benhacker is a boss.
Jaggy decent player.
USL is not that good league, better than trini but not good league cause its not even best league in america. Molino was best player there and still have to go on trial.
You forget jamal sign for a german team but got three injuries included 2 hamstring
 as well as after playing one game against sttugart and he destroyed them they wanted to sign him from german team but his german club said no.last  year while playing for under23s new england coach saw him play and sent a contract to his agent immediatly. Cali down down the offer.
Fc Zurich wanted him but visa problems. A finland scout came to trini last week to see him play after hearing about jamal. He flew from finland a matter of fact he called Shabazz when costa rica was playing guyana to get in touch with jamal gay and flew to trini the next week. Was in game Caledonia vs Defence force. So you point about these other guys not valid. since strikers Stern,Kenwyne, jamal has wat it takes to go on. Flex, tallman let just cool no nah cause i dont no what football he watching. but i like jaggy work rate. Jamal is the in form striker right now.
Bredder, you sounding like ah fan, but that's about it, no real points to make me rethink.

i've seen jamal plenty times and he's nothing to write home about sorry, he has to show me more. he scores against minimally competitive teams but has a hard time when the bar is lifted.

i saw him against seattle and the central american team in CCL and he was unimpressive, getting shut out the game for 90+, not my idea of a prolific forward.  :thinking: IMO if a forward doesn't get on the scoreboard, he at least have to torture defenders and cause them to make mistakes in their defensive third.

i've also seen jamal played under maturana and latapy in that last degicel cup and he was a nonentity, he has no real speed to out run defenders, he can't dribble, and he can't finish, and there's no way he could replace any of the forwards i mentioned who all performed on a higher level, peltier, glenn, roberts, even toussant and kerry baptiste.

but good luck with jamal gay, i wish him and you all the best.       positive.

PS: why is pfister a goat?? just bc he didn't take us out the preliminary round?

you need to understand football. a coach could have the best players @ his disposal, but don't have the right preparation or proper chemistry with the players and team will fail, just ask scholari and maradonna.

remember pfister had one preparation game against one of the worst teams in football, and he was still getting to know his players when he was tossed cold turkey into a life and death no mistakes allowed tournament, what you think, is just so teams and coaches does achieve success?
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 12:06:47 PM by just cool »

Offline StarKid

« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2012, 08:04:34 PM »
Sam a like you points you made alot of sense about the Gay.
How can just say jamal gay cant finish.
He was top scorer for under20 top scorer for under23s under angus and top scorer for cale last season and has 3 for them this season.
He is not slow, he can dribble but he follows his coach instruction which is to hold up the ball.
Dont say he cant finish if is one thing jamal can score goals.
Stop talk bout mediorce teams. all teams is team sum just better than others.
You say he got mark out against settle but he was cause all trouble till he won a pk.
He score a hammer against Marthon in hondurus. Just you want blood.
This is my end of discussion with u your point are shit.
If is one thing
JaMAL IS A GOAL SCORER END OF DISCUSSION. GOals is goals any way any time.
Messi ronaldo score 72 and 68 respectively and all werent scored against top opposition.
It still count as goals regardless of who score against.
I WILL HAVE DISCUSSION ON THIS SITE WITH FOLKS WHO HAVE SENSE OF THE GAME AND WHO ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME AT ONE POINT IN TIME.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2012, 08:57:08 PM »
He was top scorer for under20 top scorer for under23s under angus and top scorer for cale last season and has 3 for them this season.
He is not slow, he can dribble but he follows his coach instruction which is to hold up the ball.

You say he got mark out against settle but he was cause all trouble till he won a pk.
If is one thing
Messi ronaldo score 72 and 68 respectively and all werent scored against top opposition.
I WILL HAVE DISCUSSION ON THIS SITE WITH FOLKS WHO HAVE SENSE OF THE GAME AND WHO ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME AT ONE POINT IN TIME.

SK i agree with you to a certain degree but your quote about goals being goals no matter who its scored on isnt really true. First let me say I live in the US so i dont get to see proleague games but i do watch CCL and the U-20s and Olympic Qualifiers WCQualifiers etc.. when i can. I do think that Gay is a quality player who could make it in Europe and i believe that he deserves to be on the team. However i dont believe he would be the starter on our full team. Also Jorsling is one who has feasted on weak pro league defenses and scored plenty of goals vs weak teams without doing anything vs quality teams. And if that wasnt good enough he went to the USL a league you described as "not very good" and didnt even get minutes. He really isnt up to par and doesnt need to be on the team at this point. Roberts is really just better than him its really not much of a debate,he tore up the USL in half a season and scored more goals in his 3 months in that league than Jorsling did in a whole season. If he played the same amount of games (vs the weak teams) Jorsling and Baptiste did he would have triple the goals. However he hasnt and always has to play on the wings because of our lack of left sided players.

Heres my team with those available for the carib cup.

Jan Williams
              Mitchell-Cyrus-Primus
    Sheanon                          J Jones
                 Birchall-Hector
                      Daniel
                   Gay-Peltier

Subs: Molino, M. Williams, Plaza

Jones,Roberts,Hyland, Boucard, James, Carlos,Kenwyne & Jlloyd arent available which is why they arent listed.

« Reply #23 on: November 11, 2012, 06:58:33 AM »
If is one thing

You just do that little boy, and leave big ppl alone with yuh emotional responses.   BTW, ask me if i gave a single f#@k!    :violin:

« Reply #24 on: November 11, 2012, 07:08:50 AM »
just cool, ah surprise, yuh eat breakfast dis morning...?

Normally, I is de one who does be acting bad here.

:D

« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2012, 07:50:47 AM »

If is one thing

SK i agree with you to a certain degree but your quote about goals being goals no matter who its scored on isnt really true. First let me say I live in the US so i dont get to see proleague games but i do watch CCL and the U-20s and Olympic Qualifiers WCQualifiers etc.. when i can. I do think that Gay is a quality player who could make it in Europe and i believe that he deserves to be on the team. However i dont believe he would be the starter on our full team. Also Jorsling is one who has feasted on weak pro league defenses and scored plenty of goals vs weak teams without doing anything vs quality teams. And if that wasnt good enough he went to the USL a league you described as "not very good" and didnt even get minutes. He really isnt up to par and doesnt need to be on the team at this point. Roberts is really just better than him its really not much of a debate,he tore up the USL in half a season and scored more goals in his 3 months in that league than Jorsling did in a whole season. If he played the same amount of games (vs the weak teams) Jorsling and Baptiste did he would have triple the goals. However he hasnt and always has to play on the wings because of our lack of left sided players.

Heres my team with those available for the carib cup.

Jan Williams
              Mitchell-Cyrus-Primus
    Sheanon                          J Jones
                 Birchall-Hector
                      Daniel
                   Gay-Peltier

Subs: Molino, M. Williams, Plaza

Jones,Roberts,Hyland, Boucard, James, Carlos,Kenwyne & Jlloyd arent available which is why they arent listed.

Breds,  i've been telling ppl that forever and bc of that ppl got the impression that i was a fan, in fact, i don't know the boy from nowhere, but i watch him play a few games @ liberty and the national team, and from there i came to the realization that the kid was a steal, especially when he's played in his position. the man is ah top striker.

as for jamal, the bredder has potential, but it would never be realized until he moves away from the PFL. as you said about devon, same should be said about jamal. when you excel against weaker opponents, is never a good gauge for proficiency.

i saw jamal in CCL and in the U23 games and he looked quite ordinary. he didn't even trouble the mexican or honduran defense, in reality, he was a non entity.

in the preliminary round of the olympic qualifiers he blew out weaker opponents, but came time for mex. hon even seattle and the other teams in their CCL group, he was relatively quiet with very little impact on the game, now that is not my idea of a great striker.

i saw no running @ the defense, no taking on defenders one on one, no aerial threat ability, no pace, just holding up the ball waiting for service, real predictable.

i said the same thing about jason scotland, and i made a lot of enemies on here bc of my criticism of him, about two yrs later ppl started dogging scotland, mind you, the same ppl who were cussing me stink telling me that i don't know shyte about football.

they came to that realization when we were on the brink of losing out on a place in south africa in the last few games of the hex, but i saw it plain, miles away, especially when we played bermuda @ the marvin lee stadium where they beat us 2-1 in a WC preliminary round game.

the man was totally shut out the game by some slow fat defenders. the central defender and the full back on the left side had scotty in their back pockets and kept pushing him to the flanks causing him to pass back instead of going forward, you should have seen the frustration on stern's face when he realize that he had no help breaking down that defense.

mind you, no penetration, no speed to out run defenders, it was ah sweet deal for bermuda. a slow front line afford the opposing team the opportunity to organize their defense every time their opponents launch an attack, and bermuda was playing a very low line (backs and forwards if you may) the defense didn't go past the 18 yrd box, in other words real deep defense.

the end result, scotty collect the ball in the final third and waited for help instead of disrupting the defense by going straight for six yard box. i knew right there that we were never going to get that equalizer.

in the return game the coach went with two more mobile pacey forwards, darryl roberts and errol mc farlene, from the whistle they were disrupting bermuda's defense, roberts constantly running @ the six yard box and mafarlene drawing the defense out wide, alternating with roberts to make room in the box for either forward, end result, the defense were worn down and lost concentration causing daniel to square a pass for darryl who quickly turned and shot to the roof of the net.

had scotty started with stern we would have lost again, that's bc he was no threat to the defense, and jamal kind of reminds me of scotty, and i will go as far as to say, if he don't learn how to run @ defenders and penetrate with power and pace, he will never make it as a renown striker.

check these men game who made an impact on the sport as feared renown attackers. rooney, henry, crespo, donovan, altidor, yorke, ronaldo phenomeno, sheringham, micheal owen, eto, deigo meltio, goerge wea, JJ ococha, jason robert and carlos tevez.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2012, 08:10:28 AM by just cool »

« Reply #26 on: November 11, 2012, 07:52:04 AM »
just cool, ah surprise, yuh eat breakfast dis morning...?

Normally, I is de one who does be acting bad here.

:D
Today iz meh earth day so i up from ah night out, i eh sleepin today, so ah behaving miserable.  ;D

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2012, 09:18:27 AM »
JC i remember watching Jamal a couple of times during this last CCL where it was painfully obvious that his role was to stand up strong and knock the ball to one of the wings. Now im not saying that he had great games or bad games but he did his job and that is to be admired. Its really hard to judge somebody in that situation. Hes young and has real talent, maybe a foreign team or coach help light the fire under him. I remember watching an out of shape hyland at one point so hopefully when he goes oversees he'll realize that potential.

I have another question for those in the know, is Winchester ready for a call up yet? Everytime i see him he has the best touch on the team (hes one of the only players that dont give up the ball when hes crowded by 2 or 3 latin players) (CCL, Olympic Qualifiers, Pan American) and he scores goals. It seems like hes even tearing up the pro league, and in the little ive seen of him he seems like the most gifted player on the youth team, better than Bataeu, Molino or Gay. But he hasnt gotten an overseas contract or a callup in a while. Can somebody tell me whether theres a flaw in his game or bad attitude or something else that is holding him back.

Offline StarKid

« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2012, 06:13:50 PM »
 Dynamite Warrior i like you post about Gay you made sense and in one of your post you said you admired Gay for doing his job.
 Just cool have you seen Gay against mexico in pan american game or against Finland senior team where he scored.?
If in America when under 23 get 7 and gay  played up front by him self and mexico dominating the game how do expect to see him at his best. TnT midfield was out played. Any body with knowledge of the game knows if you midfield shuts down any u playing any system esp 4-5-1 the striker will be out the game.
That doesnt mean he not good player.
Every body have his or her opinion and i respect yours so respect mines .

« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2012, 06:28:23 PM »
Dynamite Warrior i like you post about Gay you made sense and in one of your post you said you admired Gay for doing his job.
 Just cool have you seen Gay against mexico in pan american game or against Finland senior team where he scored.?
If in America when under 23 get 7 and gay  played up front by him self and mexico dominating the game how do expect to see him at his best. TnT midfield was out played. Any body with knowledge of the game knows if you midfield shuts down any u playing any system esp 4-5-1 the striker will be out the game.
That doesnt mean he not good player.
Every body have his or her opinion and i respect yours so respect mines .

Ahright kid, take win.  :beermug: