April 16, 2024, 08:28:40 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2012 Caribbean Cup Finals.  (Read 40083 times)

Thread for the 2012 Caribbean Cup Finals.
« on: November 20, 2012, 08:22:43 PM »
Caribbean Cup finals set for December 7 start.

Two-time defending champion Jamaica will begin its quest for a sixth overall Caribbean Cup title against French Guyana on December 8, a day after the tournament finals start with a doubleheader featuring Haiti vs. Trinidad, and host Antigua vs. the Dominican Republic.

The complete schedule for finals of the 17th biennial championship, to be played December 7-16, was released Tuesday by the Caribbean Football Union and features a match on the final day of group play between five-time champion Jamaica and Cuba, which has reached the semifinals in each of the last six tries.

Besides crowning the regional champion, the tournament decides the Caribbean's four berths in next year's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

This year's finals includes all four teams that have won the Caribbean crown, eight-time champion Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, 1993 winner Martinique and 2007 champion Haiti.

Six of the eight participants have finished in the top four except the Dominican Republic and French Guyana, which is making its first appearance in the finals since 1995.

Antigua, the Dominican Republic, Haiti and Trinidad will contest Group A at the Antigua Recreation Ground in St. John's, while Group B with Cuba, French Guyana, Jamaica and Martinique will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound.

The top two teams in each group will advance to the semifinals and qualify for the Gold Cup.

FIRST ROUND

Group A - At St. John's, Antigua

Friday, December 7

Haiti vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 5 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Dominican Republic, 7 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Sunday, December 9

Dominican Republic vs. Haiti, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Tuesday, December 11

Trinidad & Tobago vs. Dominican Republic, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Haiti, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Group B - At North Sound, Antigua

Saturday, December 8

Martinique vs. Cuba, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. French Guyana, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Monday, December 10

Cuba vs. French Guyana, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Martinique, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Wednesday, December 11

French Guyana vs. Martinique, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Cuba, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

SEMIFINALS* - At St. John's, Antigua

Friday, December 14

Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

FINALS - At North Sound, Antigua

Sunday, December 16

Third Place
Semifinal losers, 4 p.m. (5 p.m.)

Championship
Semifinal winners, 6 p.m. (7 p.m.)

*Order of matches subject to change

Caribbean Cup Finals (All times U.S. Eastern; local times in parentheses).

SOURCE - CONCACAF.COM

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
Re: Thread for the 2012 Caribbean Cup Finals.
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2012, 11:15:20 AM »
Boyz pitted against Cuba in Carib Cup.

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz have been drawn in Group A of the Caribbean Football Union's (CFU) Caribbean Cup, along with French Guiana, Cuba and the Dominica Republic and a strong 30-man squad will be named on Friday, assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.
Jamaica, the two-time defending champions, will not have the players from England available and the squad will be selected from those plying their trade in the US Major League, players from the Scandinavian countries and from the local premier league.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Boyz-pitted-against-Cuba-in-Carib-Cup_13045942#ixzz2CtDYXTVN

First mission: qualify for the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Final mission: Jamaica's Reggae Boyz lift the Digicel Caribbean Cup for the SIXTH time. ;D :wavetowel: :cheers:
jjbrown

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2012, 05:56:05 PM »

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz have been drawn in Group A of the Caribbean Football Union's (CFU) Caribbean Cup, along with French Guiana, Cuba and the Dominica Republic and a strong 30-man squad will be named on Friday, assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.
Jamaica, the two-time defending champions, will not have the players from England available and the squad will be selected from those plying their trade in the US Major League, players from the Scandinavian countries and from the local premier league.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Boyz-pitted-against-Cuba-in-Carib-Cup_13045942#ixzz2CtDYXTVN

Final mission: Jamaica's Reggae Boyz lift the Digicel Caribbean Cup for the SIXTH time. ;D :wavetowel: :cheers:
Not this fackin time fella!! this time around the road will be much harder.

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2012, 07:29:16 PM »
TV   TV   TV

« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2012, 08:06:31 PM »
How much teams will qualify for the Gold Cup? For some reason I am thinking that its the semi finalists from the Caribbean Cup.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2012, 08:47:26 PM »

I'm sure qualifying for the Gold Cup will be that much harder for T&T.... again! But exactly which team in our group will stop the Reggae Boyz? :duel: :busshead:

And it certainly won't be T&T who will stop Jamaica's Reggae Boyz from lifting the Caribbean Cup for a SIXTH time. :shameonyou: :challenge:     
jjbrown

« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2012, 03:47:26 AM »
@ just cool,that just about told jamaica 2099 the difference between facts and fiction. ;D

« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2012, 10:52:46 AM »
Looks like T&T have a chance now that Grenada have been eliminated  :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2012, 01:33:20 PM »
Looks like T&T have a chance now that Grenada have been eliminated  :rotfl:

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2012, 08:19:09 PM »

I'm sure qualifying for the Gold Cup will be that much harder for T&T.... again! But exactly which team in our group will stop the Reggae Boyz? :duel: :busshead:

And it certainly won't be T&T who will stop Jamaica's Reggae Boyz from lifting the Caribbean Cup for a SIXTH time. :shameonyou: :challenge:     
First order of business, if you want to banter with me you must have sensible "MATURE GROWN" interaction, non of this kiddie, "my team is better than your team" horse shit! i not in dat impsey discussion, so that you know, the minute you go in that direction i'll be fackin out!!! 

now for some facts. T&T missed two gold cups, not bc we could not field ah team that was able to get us there, but bc we had two stubborn asreholes runnin we football who was banning players and not spending money on practice matches.

the first gold cup we missed after the world cup appearance was in 2008 degicel cup when maturana decided that he doesn't need MLS or eruopean based players, so he went with an all local squad and ah few old has beens like dwarika, and kenyo thomas with ah couple of rookies who had very little international experience so we ate licks, fine we deserved to lose.

latapy came after and did the very same thing, only he went with a 70% local squad,and chose ah bunch of rookies for the challenge and ignored ah few players who was available for the tourney who was on break from their league, plus the federation gave the boys very little practice games as always. so ah totally clueless latapy and ah bunch of rookie equals, licks again.

now all this time we was eatin licks, jamaica was fielding ah bomb squad as always, MLSers and scandinavian based for the most part, so did grenada, so did guadelope and antigua barbuda, but is pure locals we went with and one or two MLSers for two degicel cups.

now baba says he will strengthen the squad, and he will. expect man like hyland, and molino off ah great season, peltier another player off a great season. roberts who might be 50 50 to appear, we could also see jones and carlos edwards, expect to also see cornell glenn and cordell cato, we will also have daniel cyrus and robert primus. trust meh, dem men (the coach and the federation president) don't want to miss another gold cup, and we wont!

as for who will stop jamaica, don't just look @ us alone, antigua barbuda is no push overs @ home and you should know that better than anyone else. so is french guyana with all them french boys in their team, martinique also has ah french contingent this time around, so it's no more paved way to victory, in this tourney jamaica will have to earn their cup.
Know what! You got me.
The fact is T&T have 8 Caribbean Cup trophies while Jamaica are back to back Champions with five Caribbean Cup trophies in their cabinet.
I know that the facts have not changed about other Caribbean teams wanting to beat Jamaica. So the Reggae Boyz will know what to expect.
How about T&T. How is the fear showing from the other Caribbean teams like Grenada, Guyana etc.. :)
jjbrown

« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2012, 10:03:11 AM »

First order of business, if you want to banter with me you must have sensible "MATURE GROWN" interaction, non of this kiddie, "my team is better than your team" horse shit! i not in dat impsey discussion, so that you know, the minute you go in that direction i'll be fackin out!!! 

now for some facts. T&T missed two gold cups, not bc we could not field ah team that was able to get us there, but bc we had two stubborn asreholes runnin we football who was banning players and not spending money on practice matches.

the first gold cup we missed after the world cup appearance was in 2008 degicel cup when maturana decided that he doesn't need MLS or eruopean based players, so he went with an all local squad and ah few old has beens like dwarika, and kenyo thomas with ah couple of rookies who had very little international experience so we ate licks, fine we deserved to lose.

latapy came after and did the very same thing, only he went with a 70% local squad,and chose ah bunch of rookies for the challenge and ignored ah few players who was available for the tourney who was on break from their league, plus the federation gave the boys very little practice games as always. so ah totally clueless latapy and ah bunch of rookie equals, licks again.

now all this time we was eatin licks, jamaica was fielding ah bomb squad as always, MLSers and scandinavian based for the most part, so did grenada, so did guadelope and antigua barbuda, but is pure locals we went with and one or two MLSers for two degicel cups.

now baba says he will strengthen the squad, and he will. expect man like hyland, and molino off ah great season, peltier another player off a great season. roberts who might be 50 50 to appear, we could also see jones and carlos edwards, expect to also see cornell glenn and cordell cato, we will also have daniel cyrus and robert primus. trust meh, dem men (the coach and the federation president) don't want to miss another gold cup, and we wont!

as for who will stop jamaica, don't just look @ us alone, antigua barbuda is no push overs @ home and you should know that better than anyone else. so is french guyana with all them french boys in their team, martinique also has ah french contingent this time around, so it's no more paved way to victory, in this tourney jamaica will have to earn their cup.
Know what! You got me.
The fact is T&T have 8 Caribbean Cup trophies while Jamaica are back to back Champions with five Caribbean Cup trophies in their cabinet.
I know that the facts have not changed about other Caribbean teams wanting to beat Jamaica. So the Reggae Boyz will know what to expect.
How about T&T. How is the fear showing from the other Caribbean teams like Grenada, Guyana etc.. :)

bottom line what jus cool is stating is that we are the caribbean champions, when ja holds more titles, then you can talk, we have our fed to thank for dismantling our football over the last decade and a half, now its time to rebuild

« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2012, 10:13:47 AM »

Know what! You got me.

bottom line what jus cool is stating is that we are the caribbean champions, when ja holds more titles, then you can talk, we have our fed to thank for dismantling our football over the last decade and a half, now its time to rebuild

JA on a high note right now, men will boil down like bhaji pretty soon, and the team that will smoke JA will be TNT...right now, TNT hungry, we ha remind men who is de caribbean champs once again. In all honesty JA only shining cuz TNT was dismantled not by our players, but becuase of an administration, once that house in order, JA will always be known as second best. Finals Tnt vs JA

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2012, 02:07:44 PM »
Jack Warner was still in charge when T&T did not qualify for the last two Gold Cups. So that's the main reason for T&T's football on a high and not TTFF administration's fault. Jack was T&T's football Sugar Daddy. ;D
Fortunately, for Jamaica we have football elections where at one stage Captain Burrell was voted out and replaced by Jamaica's worst football President Creston Boxhill. Under his tenure Jamaica's ranking plummeted to an all time low of #116 even Jack turned him down to play a friendly. :D But I doubt a 70th rank T&T would have beaten the Reggae Boyz. 

Boyz look to Carib Cup as WCQ warm-up.

THE CFU Caribbean Cup slated for Antigua and Barbuda next month maybe the only practice exercise the Reggae Boyz will get ahead of the six-nation CONCACAF World Cup qualifying series set to start on February 6 next year.
With the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) failing to secure a warm-up match on the last FIFA date of November 14, and with the prospects of landing one looking bleak before the final-six phase of qualifying begins, the regional tournament has taken on added significance.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sports/Boyz-look-to-Carib-Cup-as-WCQ-warm-up_13066700#ixzz2D5Z16A00

jjbrown

« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2012, 02:50:12 PM »
let d boots do d talkin people, banter goh come after.........I prefer to wait and see.........remember how good Angus Eve looked a while ago..........and this team still have noticeable deficiencies  to work on........confidence is good but leh cool it lil bit nah.....not to long ago man was worryin bout meetin j'ca in d group stages....one game at a time doh jinx it..........or provide troll bate for dat matter

« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2012, 06:34:26 PM »
Lefty is right allyuh, right now in all honesty, i can't see us beating JA, and if we do we will have to field our best players , and i do mean best players! like in KJ , hyland, roberts, carlos, hector james, peltier and primus. right now lets not get beside our selves.

reality check folks, jamaica is ah better "team" than us, while we are just trying to assemble a team so take time folks, and jamaica also has the best defense in concacaf, like it or not which would make them extremely hard to beat.

i believe that jamaica will have a harder time trying to win the cup this time around, but the reality iz, for now they are the best team in CFU, love it or leave it.

teams that step up their game is martinique, dominican rep, haiti and french guyana. we just have to try and make it to the gold cup by getting out the group stage and then try to win the thing, but for me, just getting out the group will be satisfying and enough cause to celebrate.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2012, 06:39:38 PM by just cool »

« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2012, 07:03:51 PM »
we could beat them......but with a calm disciplined approach.....similar to how we handle cuba.....show respect not fear and play smart ball ...........stay compact and not get isolated in our zones..attack together defend together...which from the little I've seen is being worked on...when last we had center-backs creating scorin opportunities in open play......dat was almost unheard of not to long ago. I optimistic but ah realistic too. 

« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2012, 06:36:35 AM »
13 overseas players in Jamaica CFU camp
T&T Guardian Reports.

KINGSTON, Jamaica - The Jamaica Football Federation announced on Thursday that 24 players have been selected for training in advance of the 17th Caribbean Football Union Cup finals, which will be played in Antigua & Barbuda from December 7-16.

Demar Phillips highlights a roster that includes 13 foreign-based performers. The midfielder, 29, plays for Aalesund in Norway and has netted 11 goals in 53 international appearances. His last strike came in a 2-1 World Cup qualifying win over Guatemala last June.

Toronto FC forward Ryan Johnson, who has six career Concacaf Champions League goals to his credit, is expected to lead the offensive charge. The 27-year-old has 25 caps and scored eight international goals.

An intriguing addition to squad came in the form of 18-year-old Alvas Powell. The Portmore United defender is considered by many to be a rising star and played in two of Jamaica's three games at the 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup.

Jamaica has won five Caribbean titles, including the last two and will begin its title defense on December 8 against French Guiana, before concluding Group B play with games against Martinique on December 10, and Cuba, two days later.
The top four teams in the Caribbean Cup qualify for next year’s Concacaf Gold Cup.

Training camp roster:

GOALKEEPERS: Jacomeno Barrett (Montego Bay United), Dwayne Kerr (unattached), Dwayne Miller (Syrianska/Sweden)

DEFENDERS: Lovel Palmer (Portland Timbers/United States), Alvas Powell (Portmore United), Jermaine Taylor (Houston Dynamo/United States), Shavar Thomas (Montreal Impact/Canada), Xavian Virgo (Boys Town), Dicoy Williams (Toronto FC/Canada)

MIDFIELDERS: Andrae Campbell (Notodden/Norway), Ewan Grandison (Portmore United), Jermaine Hue (Harbour View), Andre Lewis (Portmore United), Jason Morrison (Aalesund/Norway), Lamar Nelson (Arnett Gardens), Demar Phillips (Aalesund/Norway), Rohan Reid (Arnett Gardens), Joel Senior (Harbour View), Tramaine Stewart (Aalesund/Norway), Je-Vaughn Watson (Houston Dynamo/United States)

FORWARDS: Jermaine Anderson (Waterhouse), Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids/United States), Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada), Ryan Johnson (Toronto FC/Canada)

« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2012, 07:30:47 AM »
When will our line up be announced?

« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2012, 01:24:57 PM »
F#CK DEM...we winning the CUP

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2012, 04:23:37 PM »
Why wouldn't CONCACAF stream the games on their website, or at least the finals?

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #20 on: November 29, 2012, 10:17:22 AM »
'Bibi' is back! Gardner recalled to Boyz set-up for Caribbean Cup

IN a surprising move, 34-year-old Ricardo 'Bibi' Gardner has been recalled to the Reggae Boyz squad for the upcoming Caribbean Cup tournament after a three-year absence.
Gardner, along with fellow England-based Keammar Daley and the USA-based duo of Ryan Johnson and Omar Cummings, is expected to join the Jamaican camp, assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday at a training session at the JFF Technical Centre as the team finetunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sports/-Bibi--is-back-_13110781#ixzz2Ddmv09G5

jjbrown

« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2012, 07:40:45 AM »
So what will be considered a successful tournament for T&T ? ..Making semifinals? or do we still hold the mindset of anything short of winning it all = failure?

« Reply #22 on: December 04, 2012, 07:44:18 AM »
So what will be considered a successful tournament for T&T ? ..Making semifinals? or do we still hold the mindset of anything short of winning it all = failure?

I will take d semi final as that would guarantee GC. Especially since d last coach 2 take we there was d fella who had a luv 4 coconut trees.

« Reply #23 on: December 04, 2012, 07:47:09 AM »

De immediate goal should be qualifying for the Gold Cup. Once dat is achieved, den we concentrate on winning de whole ting.

« Reply #24 on: December 04, 2012, 08:08:26 AM »
i hope concacaf tv stream this tournament.

they do the central american championship last year.

« Reply #25 on: December 04, 2012, 08:36:51 AM »

Know what! You got me.

Fella, for real, how old are you? I'm inclined to think that you are just trolling to get ah reaction. Otherwise, your level of interaction, as just cool said, takes me back to Form 1 in secondary school.

This will be my only response to you on this topic.

Carry on with whatever it is you are trying to do.

Offline madness1969

« Reply #26 on: December 04, 2012, 08:44:02 AM »
just need to c what will happen... it's true ja is playing good football now.... but i think trinidad will rise again.... but we just need to c the games and to judge what will happen with the trinidad team.... i wish i can c there training sessions...

« Reply #27 on: December 04, 2012, 09:43:21 PM »
Bring home the cup boys

"ITS COMING HOME...ITS COMING HOME"

« Reply #28 on: December 05, 2012, 07:34:45 PM »
Courtesy Shaun Fuentes on Facebook

Engineer at Antigua Recreation Ground tries to chase T&T senior footballers off the ground by driving his vehicle and parking where the session was taking place, forcing players to back off and remove their gears and equipment... his claim was no one was supposed to be using the facility while he and his workmen completed the installation of lights at the venue. The T&T team trained for 45 mins today.

« Reply #29 on: December 05, 2012, 08:39:50 PM »
Wtf?