March 28, 2024, 05:41:39 PM

Author Topic: LeBron  (Read 3625 times)

LeBron
« on: December 04, 2012, 08:04:56 PM »
Little surprised that LeBron is the SI Athlete of the Year. I really thought that honour would have been given to Bolt.

Re: LeBron
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2012, 08:20:23 PM »
American Propaganda.

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2012, 08:23:43 PM »
strange that he beat out Phelps and Ryan Lochte as well, the way the media liked them during the Olympics.

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2012, 09:14:27 PM »
Man barely win ah half season title stueps

« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2012, 10:10:52 PM »
Allyuh is something else yes:

-NBA MVP
-NBA Finals MVP
-NBA Champion
-Olympic Gold Medalist

...allyuh really think that Phelps and Bolt were that much more accomplished than LeBron this year? 

Aside from all that, Sports Illustrated come up with they own award, based on their own criteria and allyuh grumbling about "American propaganda"?  Is not like they call it "International Sportsman of the Year".  Why allyuh doh complain about PFL players getting shut out ah de Ballon D'Or competition? 

steups

« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2012, 10:18:19 PM »
3 gold and a Wr beating that anyday.

« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2012, 06:58:22 AM »

If Track and Field was an American thing ..maybe.

« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2012, 07:03:08 AM »

or if an american had won it

« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2012, 07:06:45 AM »

-NBA MVP
-NBA Finals MVP
-NBA Champion
-Olympic Gold Medalist

...allyuh really think that Phelps and Bolt were that much more accomplished than LeBron this year? 

As de yankee and dem is inclined to exclaim.... DUH?!? HELLS YEAHH!!!

Fly yuh stars and stripes breds,, wave it proud.

« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2012, 07:20:40 AM »

or if an american had won it

« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2012, 07:21:18 AM »

The drugs yeh  ;)

« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2012, 07:48:41 AM »
Look at this list.

The first time they announced the sportsman of the year, he was a Brit in Track and Field.

Track and Field listed 8 times

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sportsman_of_the_Year

1954    United Kingdom Roger Bannister    Track and field    First sub-four-minute mile
1955    United States Johnny Podres    Baseball    World Series MVP
1956    United States Bobby Morrow    Track and field    Triple Olympic gold medalist
1957    United States Stan Musial    Baseball    National League batting champion
1958    United States Rafer Johnson    Track and field    Decathlon world record
1959    Sweden Ingemar Johansson    Boxing    World heavyweight champion
1960    United States Arnold Palmer    Golf    PGA Player of the Year
1961    United States Jerry Lucas    College basketball    Final Four MVP
1962    United States Terry Baker    College football    Heisman Trophy winner
1963    United States Pete Rozelle    Professional football    NFL expansion
1964    United States Ken Venturi    Golf    U.S. Open Champion
1965    United States Sandy Koufax    Baseball    Cy Young Award, Strikeout record
1966    United States Jim Ryun    Track and field    Mile world record
1967    United States Carl Yastrzemski    Baseball    Triple Crown winner
1968    United States Bill Russell    Professional basketball    NBA champion player-coach
1969    United States Tom Seaver    Baseball    Cy Young Award
1970    Canada Bobby Orr    Hockey    NHL MVP, Art Ross, Conn Smythe, Norris
1971    United States Lee Trevino    Golf    PGA Player of the Year
1972    United States Billie Jean King    Tennis    Three major titles
United States John Wooden    College basketball    NCAA champion coach
1973    United Kingdom Jackie Stewart    Auto racing    Formula One World Champion
1974    United States Muhammad Ali    Boxing    World heavyweight champion
1975    United States Pete Rose    Baseball    World Series MVP
1976    United States Chris Evert    Tennis    Two major titles
1977    United States Steve Cauthen    Horse racing    Eclipse Award for Outstanding Jockey
1978    United States Jack Nicklaus    Golf    British Open champion
1979    United States Terry Bradshaw    Professional football    Super Bowl MVP
United States Willie Stargell    Baseball    World Series MVP
1980    United States U.S. Olympic Hockey Team    Hockey    Olympic gold medalists
1981    United States Sugar Ray Leonard    Boxing    World welterweight champion
1982    Canada Wayne Gretzky    Hockey    NHL MVP, Art Ross
1983    United States Mary Decker    Track and field    Double world champion
1984    United States Edwin Moses    Track and field    Olympic gold medalist
United States Mary Lou Retton    Gymnastics    Olympic gold medalist
1985    United States Kareem Abdul-Jabbar    Professional basketball    Playoff MVP
1986    United States Joe Paterno    College football    NCAA champion coach
1987    "Athletes Who Care"
Canada Bob Bourne    Hockey    Helped handicapped children's school
United States Judi Brown King    Track and field    Helped abused children
Kenya Kip Keino    Track and field    Cared for orphaned children
United States Dale Murphy    Baseball    Charity spokesman
United States Chip Rives    College football    Helped needy children
United States Patty Sheehan    Golf    Helped abused girls
United States Rory Sparrow    Professional basketball    Helped school children
United States Reggie Williams    Professional football    Helped high school students
1988    United States Orel Hershiser    Baseball    Cy Young Award, World Series MVP
1989    United States Greg LeMond    Cycling    Tour de France winner
1990    United States Joe Montana    Professional football    Three-time Super Bowl MVP
1991    United States Michael Jordan    Professional basketball    NBA MVP, NBA Finals MVP, NBA Champion
1992    United States Arthur Ashe    Tennis    Supported humanitarian causes
1993    United States Don Shula    Professional football    Winningest NFL coach
1994    United States Bonnie Blair    Speed skating    Double Olympic gold medalist
Norway Johann Olav Koss    Speed skating    Triple Olympic gold medalist
1995    United States Cal Ripken, Jr.    Baseball    Consecutive games record
1996    United States Tiger Woods    Golf    U.S. Amateur, NCAA champion
1997    United States Dean Smith    College basketball    Winningest college coach at the time of publication
1998    United States Mark McGwire    Baseball    Single-season home run record holder at the time of publication
Dominican Republic Sammy Sosa    Baseball    National League MVP
1999    United States U.S. Women's Soccer Team    Soccer    World Cup champions
2000    United States Tiger Woods    Golf    Three major championships
2001    United States Curt Schilling    Baseball    World Series Co-MVP
United States Randy Johnson    Baseball    World Series Co-MVP, Cy Young Award
2002    United States Lance Armstrong    Cycling    Four-time Tour de France winner
2003    United States David Robinson    Professional basketball    Two-time NBA champion
United States Tim Duncan    Professional basketball    NBA MVP, Playoff MVP
2004    United States Boston Red Sox    Professional baseball team    2004 World Series champions
2005    United States Tom Brady    Professional football    Two-time Super Bowl MVP, Three-time Super Bowl champion
2006    United States Dwyane Wade    Professional basketball    NBA Champion, NBA Finals MVP
2007    United States Brett Favre    Professional football    "for his perseverance and his passion"
2008    United States Michael Phelps    Swimming    Eight Gold Medals in 2008 Summer Olympics
2009    United States Derek Jeter    Baseball    Five-time World Series Champion
2010    United States Drew Brees    Professional football    Super Bowl MVP and charitable work toward the reconstruction of New Orleans
2011    United States Mike Krzyzewski    College basketball coach    Most wins in NCAA Division I history
United States Pat Summitt    College basketball coach    All-time winningest coach in NCAA basketball
2012    United States LeBron James    Professional basketball    NBA MVP, NBA Finals MVP, NBA Champion, Olympic Gold Medalist

« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2012, 09:42:44 AM »

-NBA MVP
-NBA Finals MVP
-NBA Champion
-Olympic Gold Medalist

Me eh have no flag to wave so save that shit talk fuh people de people on your level who caught up in American this and American that.  Bolt ent do nutten that he himself hasn't already done.  LeBron had a singularly spectacular year within his sport, accomplishing what many greats before him haven't.  Many of the greatest in the sport have never won Olympic Gold, or have never won the NBA championship.  He accomplished both in the same calendar year. 

What Bolt has done is indeed spectacular, but it is always easier to achieve success in individual sports than it is in team sports when you have to rely on, and in some cases lead/inspire others.  Here not only was he champion in a team sport, but selected as the best player on the team that won the championship.  Undoubtedly some ah allyuh will insist that "3 gold and a Wr beating that anyday"... but even if one was to concede that Bolt's achievement was more impressive, it is pure nonsense to try and act like what he achieved over a two-week period was head and shoulders better than LeBron's achievements over a longer span.

« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2012, 09:46:55 AM »
Look at this list.

The first time they announced the sportsman of the year, he was a Brit in Track and Field.

... and a non-American winner listed 9 times.  As I said, nobody does complain when FIFA restricting Ballon D'Or finalists to just European players, so why complain when an American magazine (which rarely ever focuses on international sports) focuses on American sports in selecting their winners?

« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2012, 09:58:06 AM »
Look at this list.

... and a non-American winner listed 9 times.  As I said, nobody does complain when FIFA restricting Ballon D'Or finalists to just European players, so why complain when an American magazine (which rarely ever focuses on international sports) focuses on American sports in selecting their winners?

European players, or players playing in Europe?

« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2012, 10:47:12 AM »
Look at this list.

European players, or players playing in Europe?

Players playing in Europe.

« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2012, 02:34:53 PM »

-NBA MVP
-NBA Finals MVP
-NBA Champion
-Olympic Gold Medalist

Me eh have no flag to wave so save that shit talk fuh people de people on your level who caught up in American this and American that.  Bolt ent do nutten that he himself hasn't already done.  LeBron had a singularly spectacular year within his sport, accomplishing what many greats before him haven't.  Many of the greatest in the sport have never won Olympic Gold, or have never won the NBA championship.  He accomplished both in the same calendar year. 

What Bolt has done is indeed spectacular, but it is always easier to achieve success in individual sports than it is in team sports when you have to rely on, and in some cases lead/inspire others.  Here not only was he champion in a team sport, but selected as the best player on the team that won the championship.  Undoubtedly some ah allyuh will insist that "3 gold and a Wr beating that anyday"... but even if one was to concede that Bolt's achievement was more impressive, it is pure nonsense to try and act like what he achieved over a two-week period was head and shoulders better than LeBron's achievements over a longer span.

my level?  :D pardner if I wanted to lower my " level" to yours ah woulda start to tellin yuh yuh takin "ah pack of ass" and den yuh "talkin shit"...and den descend into some form 3 mudder talk
simply because yuh adopt a more 'sam the stoic eagle' style in yuh posts doh mean yuh "level" eh raise

Nevertheless, what Le Bron accomplished done been done.... simply because it hadnt been previously achieved in the same calender year is irrelevant...blame time

What bolt do..never been done
Talk done

« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2012, 04:45:16 PM »

my level?  :D pardner if I wanted to lower my " level" to yours ah woulda start to tellin yuh yuh takin "ah pack of ass" and den yuh "talkin shit"...and den descend into some form 3 mudder talk
simply because yuh adopt a more 'sam the stoic eagle' style in yuh posts doh mean yuh "level" eh raise

Nevertheless, what Le Bron accomplished done been done.... simply because it hadnt been previously achieved in the same calender year is irrelevant...blame time

What bolt do..never been done
Talk done

Substance over style... apparently you assume some desperate failed campaign to be the court jester somehow means that you above anybody level, despite de "level" 'pack ah ass' yuh does be talking. That you could say that whatever LeBron achieve in the same "calender" year is irrelevant only betrays the inherent irrationality to your stance, when the award itself is predicated on achievement within the past calendar year.  "Irrelevant" is whatever your opinion is, to SI and its readership.  Now talk could done.

« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2012, 08:12:21 PM »
Court Jester?
Padnah, ah think your big brain in alternate reality oui...leh mih clue you in sherlock

This is ah trini board, like ah local rum shop...de motto is talk yuh talk..and in true cultural trini tradition, I like trini shit talk., dais wuh we does do

Trini boards doh have psudo ivory towr intellectuals who spend their days poring over the minutiae of online typos....we doh over analyse nonsense posts that everybody go forget 2 days from now overt analysis is for the overly anal

Your attempt at re-branding yuhself has some noble statesman has some merit..but everybody know yuh is ah online wahjang since yuh fuss log on..ah gutter snipe,,no amount of cuss free posts go erase dat.
Jus because yuh put ah hog in ah tight mini skirt doh mean it go get pick for penthouse...is still ah hog

Reality dictates that an American magazine will undoubtedly lean toward one of their own to sell more magazines...nobody eh vex, dais how is does go. The fact that you with yuh muscular cranium actually writing long essays to prove their objectivity proves how much you flapping yuh flag...so flap breddah flap yuh gums yuh fingers or yuh flag...is all just flatulence

Look ah leave some typos on screen dey  tuh bun yuh eye...pull out yuh red pen and have at it.

« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2012, 09:32:30 PM »
Look like yuh borrow de hog tight mini skirt... and like it squeezing yuh balls too, de amount ah shit yuh typing in yet another foundering effort to be funny.  I writing essay but you just write ah whole book to say what... that trying to prove Sports Illustrated when I did nothing of the sort.  Whey I ever say the was objective?  I going back up in mih ivory tower... when yuh find de two pieces ah commonsense yuh loss throw it up at mih window.

« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2012, 06:40:53 AM »
Lebron won League Most Valuable Player, NBA Championship and Olympic Gold medal all in the same year...so I am not surprised

« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2012, 07:53:55 AM »
Court Jester?
Padnah, ah think your big brain in alternate reality oui...leh mih clue you in sherlock

This is ah trini board, like ah local rum shop...de motto is talk yuh talk..and in true cultural trini tradition, I like trini shit talk., dais wuh we does do

Trini boards doh have psudo ivory towr intellectuals who spend their days poring over the minutiae of online typos....we doh over analyse nonsense posts that everybody go forget 2 days from now overt analysis is for the overly anal

Your attempt at re-branding yuhself has some noble statesman has some merit..but everybody know yuh is ah online wahjang since yuh fuss log on..ah gutter snipe,,no amount of cuss free posts go erase dat.
Jus because yuh put ah hog in ah tight mini skirt doh mean it go get pick for penthouse...is still ah hog

Reality dictates that an American magazine will undoubtedly lean toward one of their own to sell more magazines...nobody eh vex, dais how is does go. The fact that you with yuh muscular cranium actually writing long essays to prove their objectivity proves how much you flapping yuh flag...so flap breddah flap yuh gums yuh fingers or yuh flag...is all just flatulence

Look ah leave some typos on screen dey  tuh bun yuh eye...pull out yuh red pen and have at it.

whey boy Dutty

I think this is about one of the longest (if not the longest) posts yuh ever make - not counting cut and paste links or stories. Your fingers musbe tired with all de typing (unless you using Dragon).

I think this ought to go into "Quote of the Day" post (if I could find it).

« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2012, 09:46:39 AM »
Court Jester?

whey boy Dutty

I think this is about one of the longest (if not the longest) posts yuh ever make - not counting cut and paste links or stories. Your fingers musbe tired with all de typing (unless you using Dragon).

I think this ought to go into "Quote of the Day" post (if I could find it).

ah think dutty was referring to  something like this  :D :D

« Reply #23 on: December 06, 2012, 10:16:29 AM »
Court Jester?

Lard look blade pass  :whip:

« Reply #24 on: December 07, 2012, 12:08:56 AM »
Yuh could tell dat Dutty is a man did grow up on a farm.  He know how to properly tie a jackass in de yard......and keep it quiet.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2012, 12:33:02 AM by Mango Chow! »