April 28, 2024, 04:52:33 PM

Author Topic: Shabazz wants smaller national training squads  (Read 1248 times)

Offline SWF Reporter

Shabazz wants smaller national training squads
« on: December 05, 2012, 10:20:47 AM »
Shabazz suggests painless future squad selections
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

New Trinidad and Tobago national football team co-head coach Jamaal Shabazz will never be accused of a shortage of ideas.

Less than two weeks into his post, Shabazz has already raised concerns about the perceived lack of transparency in the selection of national players. Now, the former Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA and Guyana coach wants smaller training squads on the eve of match days.

Twenty-seven players were summoned to try out for the “Soca Warriors” on Saturday before a final 20-man team was selected, four days later, for the 2012 Caribbean Cup finals, which starts on Friday in Antigua.

“If we have five days to prepare a team, I thing we should have already decided on our 20 players before we start training,” Shabazz told Wired868. “Then, you don’t take a player away from his club unnecessarily and won’t have to hear the club complaining that you took their player away for three days and didn’t pick him.

“Also, you don’t want guys battling for a pick with the game right there… In cases when you need enough players for 11 v 11 sessions, you can always invite some national under-20 or under-17 players.”

Previous Trinidad and Tobago coaches have routinely called large training squads and former coach Russell Latapy kept a national team in training throughout the year. Ten years ago, Hannibal Najjar created history for himself when he selected 91 players for a national session.

Shabazz suggested that the technical staff can avoid such inflated squads by doing more legwork such as observing prospective players more regularly at Pro League games and even at their club sessions. He also recommended better interaction with foreign clubs so that the national coaches know the condition of their overseas-based players before sending out invitations.

“I think selecting smaller squads challenges us as coaches to be more clinical in our observation of the players with their training squads and on match days,” said Shabazz. “We will also have to develop a relationship with the overseas clubs and their physios and managers so that we have a better guarantee of what we are going to get from those players.”

Shabazz is excited to get going as joint national coach with Trinidad and Tobago seeking to qualify for its first 2013 CONCACAF Gold in six years.

He said the relationship with fellow head coach Hutson “Barber” Charles and assistant Derek King has been excellent so far and he has enjoyed the sessions. He was particularly enthused about Orlando City midfielder Kevin Molino who has spent much of the last two months on trial with various clubs in Europe.

“I like his openness to allow you to use him how you want tactically,” said Shabazz. “He is a good student of the game with a remarkable touch. I am really excited about working with him.”

Shabazz also praised the influence of the team’s experienced players like 28-year-old captain Williams, 30-year-old World Cup 2006 midfielder Densill Theobald and 28-year-old Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling.

“Jan-Michael, Densill and Devorn bring a lot of stability to the team,” he said. “They will talk to the players and reinforce coaching points. Devorn isn’t in the starting team in training but he is still very, very helpful.

“You can’t coach experience, so you need players with experience to do what the three of them are doing and be a voice of reinstatement and caution.”

The final squad for the 2012 Caribbean Cup finals is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Jan-Michael Williams (W Connection), Marvin Phillip (Central FC)

Defenders: Kareem Moses, Seon Power (both North East Stars), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps—Canada), Daneil Cyrus (Song Lam Nghe—Vietnam), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA),

Midfielders: Joevin Jones (both W Connection), Densill Theobald, Keyon Edwards, Ataullah Guerra (all Caledonia AIA), Kevin Molino (Orlando—US), Hughtun Hector (Song Lam Nghe—Vietnam), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava—Slovakia), Kevon Carter (Defence Force),

Forwards: Devorn Jorsling, Richard Roy (both Defence Force), Jamal Gay (Caledonia AIA), Willis Plaza (Song Lam Nghe—Vietnam).

Technical Staff: Hutson Charles (co-head coach), Jamaal Shabazz (co-head coach), Derek King (assistant coach), Jefferson George (goalkeeper coach), William Wallace (manager), Dave Isaac (physiotherapist), Terence Babwah (doctor), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Shaun Fuentes (press officer).

« Last Edit: December 07, 2012, 04:52:35 AM by Flex »

Re: Shabazz wants smaller national training squads
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2012, 11:10:51 AM »
We don't have top notch players to do that we have to look at as much people as possible

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2012, 11:33:33 AM »
Just last week he was crying in Guyana, now he running up he mouth like a tuntun..

Hutson Charles have no balls.

Shabaaz come and shooting up de place with he barra belly.

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2012, 11:58:49 AM »
Sorry, but I think what Shabazz is saying is sensible. If you don't know you're final 20 5 days before a tournament, you shouldn't have the job. Yes, there may be last minute injuries, but that's when you call up your stand bys.

His approach so far has been to placate the club coaches, which is essential for a national coach, as he needs their support, input and advice.

I've sat back and watched the criticism of Shabazz, but his coaching record over the last two or three years has been solid.

I say give the man a chance.....you'll have plenty of time to cuss him later. And for God's sake, don't shout him down when he comes with new ideas or opinions. Lets try to get a bit positive here coz whatever you say, he's gonna be in this job for a while. 

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2012, 12:23:23 PM »
Shabazz is d coach of this team now, not Hutson Charles(assistant coach)... Look in the interview, Hutson said that Cato was in the team(not directly but he did) but when the final team was named Shabazz left him out in favor of ALL Caledonia players. Hutson had "interim" tagged all d while now ''co-coach"... really?? He hadda get he head out of d clouds if he thinks he is anything more than second fiddle to Shabazz. Shabazz has idea, so lets see how it goes. Too many, too soon?? Lets wait and see

« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2012, 01:47:42 PM »
He eat parrot bottom all of a sudden Shabazz say.  It eh Simon say it will be Shabazz say assuming them cdren does still play dem game.

« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2012, 03:24:39 PM »
what shabazz saying make sense...he eh wuh waste ppl time...but foooooarrrrrkkkkk him..he stink duttty mudder so and so...he should move back to guyana!

« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2012, 04:07:32 PM »
Just last week he was crying in Guyana, now he running up he mouth like a tuntun..

Hutson Charles have no balls.

Shabaaz come and shooting up de place with he barra belly.

Hahahahahhahaha Sam you is ah rel ass yes:)

« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2012, 04:17:40 PM »
Shabazz like to talk to damn much, plain and simple!! Just coach yuh coach and hush yuh cat nah!!!!

Can someone say how much men on de team miss action for dey clubs this time around? Know what never mind, this is just constant jokiness yes.

Offline Coach

« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2012, 10:13:40 PM »
Well the other co-coach eh saying much and by him talking makes him look like the better co-coach. "Smartman thing"

Everyone who know a litte ball can talk like they know everthing about ball, but after all is said you will be judge by your wins / losses record and so far Hutson record is much better.