April 20, 2024, 02:27:21 AM

Author Topic: T&T, Rock the Both  (Read 1096 times)

Offline boss

• Hero Warrior
  • When I grow up I want to be Dennis Lawrence
    • View Profile
T&T, Rock the Both
« on: December 03, 2012, 07:08:26 PM »
Ay ay, look who!  :beermug:
http://www.bcraw.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1443:t-t-rock-the-both&catid=22&Itemid=22

Photograph by Nigel Crane. Image manipulation by Kai.

My name is Gary Hector and my rock 'n' roll band, jointpop, has just released it's sixth album, The Pot Hounds.

I’m not a musician. I’m a rock ‘n’ roller! I wouldn’t want to play rhythm guitar for Machel Montano. The boy’s doing fine on his own. I wouldn’t mind having his budget, though.

I used to ask the people who criticised me for playing “white music” if they liked Brian Lara, Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy. And when

they said, “Of course", I would say, "Well, they play white sports".

In my band, we don’t think about where we “come from”. We are just telling our stories. The good the bad and the ugly of TnT.  We are not interested in any formulas for anyone.

It would be the easy thing to say that the name jointpop is about ganja, but its really about various pop music styles joined together. A bit of old school British Invasion , classic rock, blues, country,rockabilly, punk and indie. Hey: it’s only rock n roll.

I grew up in one of those two-bedroom duplex-type government houses, opposite the plannings in Mon Repos. We did not have much, but all we needed was a football. Our playground was the San Fernando Hills, not the half hill they have now.