March 28, 2024, 06:38:36 AM

Author Topic: 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Thread.  (Read 83041 times)

Re: Gold Cup 2013 Preparations and Meet up
« Reply #90 on: March 13, 2013, 07:45:08 AM »
Groups and venues out

http://www.goldcup.org/page/Splash

Haiti, Honduras, el Salvador

Jersey, Miami and Houston

« Reply #91 on: March 13, 2013, 07:48:39 AM »
Groups and venues out

http://www.goldcup.org/page/Splash

Haiti, Honduras, el Salvador

Jersey, Miami and Houston

Not a bad group.

Trinidad v Haiti in Miami... Stadium supposed to be RAM

« Reply #92 on: March 13, 2013, 08:01:43 AM »
Tri-State area crew... we large in Red Bull Stadium. Let we talk bout sections.

Also I feel I taking a long weekend and try to go both Miami and Houston. Maybe just one though.

« Reply #93 on: March 13, 2013, 08:28:17 AM »
Tri-State area crew... we large in Red Bull Stadium. Let we talk bout sections.

Also I feel I taking a long weekend and try to go both Miami and Houston. Maybe just one though.

NJ and Miami for me.

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #94 on: March 13, 2013, 08:39:17 AM »
nice group we have a chance to make it out the group

« Reply #95 on: March 13, 2013, 09:46:27 AM »
July 12th in Miami!  Hope to see some of the crew there.

« Reply #96 on: March 13, 2013, 10:27:56 AM »
Final is being played here which probably isn't a good thing  :frustrated:  Let's hope one of the Caribbean sides can make it that far...other than the final though not any games even remotely close to the midwest.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 10:30:32 AM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #97 on: March 13, 2013, 10:54:40 AM »
Final is being played here which probably isn't a good thing  :frustrated:  Let's hope one of the Caribbean sides can make it that far...other than the final though not any games even remotely close to the midwest.

so yuh not going to check out yuh National team :devil: how unpatriotic :shameonyou: ...say it with me now U S A......U S A......U S A...... ;D
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 11:36:18 AM by lefty »

« Reply #98 on: March 13, 2013, 10:55:37 AM »
Lol.

« Reply #99 on: March 13, 2013, 11:22:11 AM »

hhhhmmm all yuh tempting me...... :thinking:

« Reply #100 on: March 13, 2013, 11:32:40 AM »

LOL the lime go 4 d lime if I could I would have.

« Reply #102 on: March 13, 2013, 12:33:24 PM »

so yuh not going to check out yuh National team :devil: how unpatriotic :shameonyou: ...say it with me now U S A......U S A......U S A...... ;D
Don't get me started.  I nearly got in a couple of fights after the T&T match at Bridgeview in '08...I really can't stand to be around those idiots.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 12:37:12 PM by theworm2345 »

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #103 on: March 13, 2013, 01:13:23 PM »
Quarterfinals here in ATL. We can make Quarterfinals right?  RIGHT?!  :-\

Well if we do, y'all can know that there will be at least 1 SocaWarrior Tailgate Party at the Dome!  :beermug:

« Reply #104 on: March 13, 2013, 01:26:46 PM »
Hopefully we make it to the quarterfinals so I could come and support.

« Reply #105 on: March 13, 2013, 01:56:56 PM »

That's my main motivation girl cuz de football sure eh doing it..... ::) ::)

« Reply #106 on: March 14, 2013, 05:12:54 AM »

:yawning: :yawning:

« Reply #107 on: March 14, 2013, 05:18:23 AM »

Photo (Back Row, l-r): Luis Fernando Suarez (head coach, Honduras); Carlos Slusher (head coach, Belize); Tony Fonseca (technical director, Canada); Sam Stark (Executive Director, Chicago Sports Commission); Michael Kelly (Gen. Superintendent and CEO of Chicago Park District); Jorge Luis Pinto (head coach, Costa Rica); Agustin Castillo (head coach, El Salvador); Jurgen Klinsmann (head coach, USA) ... (Front Row, l-r) Patrick Cavelan (head coach, Martinique); Jose Manuel De La Torre (head coach, Mexico); CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb; CONCACAF General Secretary, Enrique Sanz; Rolando Gonzalez (General Manager, Panama), Hutson Charles (co-head coach, Trinidad & Tobago)

WAIT A MINUTE... WHERE JAMAAL?  :devil:

« Reply #108 on: March 14, 2013, 12:35:16 PM »
 Sergeant Charles ..leader ..patriot..coach..gentleman..a man who can inspire the troops. Best of luck. I have no doubt in his ability.

« Reply #109 on: March 14, 2013, 12:59:04 PM »
Quarterfinals here in ATL. We can make Quarterfinals right?  RIGHT?!  :-\

Well if we do, y'all can know that there will be at least 1 SocaWarrior Tailgate Party at the Dome!  :beermug:

i will move heaven and earth to make that match...plus i could see meh mudda and dem down dey...hm i go have to look for meh warrior nation t-shirt boy

« Reply #110 on: March 14, 2013, 05:28:01 PM »

Photo (Back Row, l-r): Luis Fernando Suarez (head coach, Honduras); Carlos Slusher (head coach, Belize); Tony Fonseca (technical director, Canada); Sam Stark (Executive Director, Chicago Sports Commission); Michael Kelly (Gen. Superintendent and CEO of Chicago Park District); Jorge Luis Pinto (head coach, Costa Rica); Agustin Castillo (head coach, El Salvador); Jurgen Klinsmann (head coach, USA) ... (Front Row, l-r) Patrick Cavelan (head coach, Martinique); Jose Manuel De La Torre (head coach, Mexico); CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb; CONCACAF General Secretary, Enrique Sanz; Rolando Gonzalez (General Manager, Panama), Hutson Charles (co-head coach, Trinidad & Tobago)

WAIT A MINUTE... WHERE JAMAAL?  :devil:
We have strict rules here in Chicago...you can shoot whoever you like, just don't bring politics/government in to it.

« Reply #111 on: March 14, 2013, 05:38:37 PM »

Don't get me started.  I nearly got in a couple of fights after the T&T match at Bridgeview in '08...I really can't stand to be around those idiots.

« Reply #112 on: March 14, 2013, 05:41:09 PM »

:yawning: :yawning:

Heh, heh, heh..... ;D

« Reply #113 on: March 17, 2013, 11:08:48 PM »
The first game will be the litmus test; if the performance is  competitive , I am making the drive from out west to where ever.  I  am hoping that the team is competitive and  that they surprise some of these teams who are WC 2014 bound.  THIS SHOULD BE OUR WC2014!!!!!!!! steups,,,,,

« Reply #114 on: March 17, 2013, 11:57:04 PM »
The first game will be the litmus test; if the performance is  competitive , I am making the drive from out west to where ever.  I  am hoping that the team is competitive and  that they surprise some of these teams who are WC 2014 bound.  THIS SHOULD BE OUR WC2014!!!!!!!! steups,,,,,

The team will be competitive. Just get in yuh car and drive! Throw yuh full support behind de fellas. Doh hedge yuh bets. Wha kinda message is that sending?

Yeah, we can bear witness to some messy things, but I doh see another Nashville on the horizon. Roadtrip!

« Reply #115 on: March 18, 2013, 03:24:16 PM »

The team will be competitive. Just get in yuh car and drive! Throw yuh full support behind de fellas. Doh hedge yuh bets. Wha kinda message is that sending?

Yeah, we can bear witness to some messy things, but I doh see another Nashville on the horizon. Roadtrip!

I refuse to follow like a blind sheep for the sake of support. Until there is a REAL change in how business is conducted with the TTFF I am not chasing  an elusive glory to shout ole TnT!!!!! Let me see solid thinking, preparation and a competitive team.  I am not in the hip pocket of the TTFF or players who are out for self glory. The pangs of the defeat against Guyana still lingers on. Our players have to  win back the fan support after the kaka they let down in qualifying- especially the likes of the members from the 2006 team who are invited back. Till then it is cautious optimism for me. Like I said before, I was beginning to be very encouraged by how H.Charles had them playing prior to the two coach system.

« Reply #116 on: March 18, 2013, 03:53:52 PM »
AB.Trini, the defeat against Bermuda is what really did us in. We should have never lost that game in Hamilton.

« Reply #117 on: March 22, 2013, 11:11:16 PM »
Yeah yuh cyar lose to teams like dat...... I say we government could arrange friendly with India and leh we see how we do. then against Turks and Cacios and Samoa. If we could beat them badly and get some confidence then ah rematch against Gyuana go be all in the makings.

Offline Banter Banton

Your Gold Cup squad ?
« Reply #118 on: March 27, 2013, 09:58:54 AM »
Ok , we've seen this squad from last years Caribbean Cup qualifiers, to the finals itself, to 3 recent friendlies ... The coaching staff should have a fair idea in their head of the makeup of the Gold Cup squad and who from this current crop cannot cut it at the higher level and who has improved along the way.

The players that have improved and are coming along nicely are :

C.Gonsalves - He's growing into the RB role nicely and his aggression and effort he puts in is always 100%... reminds me of Cyd Gray but he is 22/23 and has time on his side to become a top player....also he can play a few positions including CM

C.Mitchell - Still a bit raw and gets caught out a bit too easily but he's grown into a fine CB with game time and that brings the obvious maturity and leadership we see from him today . His passing game is also impressive and seems very composed on the ball

D.Cyrus- Cyrus is a CB..plain and simple..its where his game suits his style best, tall aggressive great header of the ball.. he reads the game well from the central position and like Mitchell seems to be getting composure and maturity. Definitely one for the future..hope he gets a foreign contract and get out of the pro league.

J.Jones- Jones could be the brightest prospect along with Molino we have had for a while. Technically very good he can also play multiple positions . I think Left Back is his natural position and with better players around him he can be able to be the modern full back getting forward and back with great authority . Against Belize he connected well with K.Daniel on the left side. He can also put a good shift in CM where he does not look out of place , same when he is on either wing. But I do think he should be our left back and give us a different dimension

A.David- He has definitely improved since the youth TnT teams but still very raw and as a right footed left back he sometimes gets exposed.  An example of this is Peru's 2nd goal last night when he was trying to get his right foot to block the goal by catching up to the man when the natural instinct of a left back should be slide/jump and block the shot... I think he should be around the gold cup squad, the environment and training with the best TnT team will help him and his development.

C.Glenn- Yesterday we saw Glenn really give an effort and try for the shirt. He lead the line nicely but due to lack of support , especially from Edwards he didnt get as involved as I would like. He showed that he is up for it and gave us exactly what we thought Kenwyne would- effort. I am very satisfied that we found an alternative to Kenwyne.

Players that have disappointed me are:

Kevon Carter- I dont like to be harsh on Carter, anyone that suffers a horrific injury will take a while to get back into things.  I've seen flashes of the old Carter but majority of the games he hasnt been effective and his effort is in question. He doesnt mean his passes or crosses, a bit casual. I think he will be around the squad due to lack of wingers and I hope he really pushes on and gives it a go.

K.Edwards- I am happy for him to experience football on the international stage as he has been one of the pro league's stand out players for years but I do think its time for Jamaal to let go this sentiment he has with his club player. He's been given a long national trial and featured in many games but I do not see what he brings to the table going forward. I'm sorry Jamaal but its time to forget about it. Thanks for the effort Edwards... however I think he will be in the gold cup squad , if he is hopefully like Carter he can raise his game and give 100%

K.Jones- Still a bit too casual for my liking, taking things for granted. Hopefully his recent place on the bench can spark a bit of fire but I doubt it.  Good player to have off the bench if chasing a game or need an outlet to ease pressure.

Players I want to see given a chance:

Andre Boucaud- This guy has been playing at a high level week in week out. A center midfielder which we can use. I hope he is called up for the June friendlies at Estonia and Romania to have a look at him and see what he can add. With him our midfield choices look good , Birchall Hyland Theobald and Boucaud

JL Samuel- Unfinished business with the national team, Quality player and will add experience and class to the backline be it at LB or CB.. We are a bit short on experience in the backline. It will help dramatically

J.Hoyte- If his promise of joining up with the squad from June is true it will add experience to the back 4 as well. Great for a young Right Back like C.Gonsalves to learn from.

J.Bostock- Young, technically gifted, If we can get him involved and capped we would have pulled off a good coup. Exciting talented player who can really help us out in the attacking 3rd

L.Peltier- Apparent fall out with staff, so I dont expect things to be sorted before the cup unfortunately.
What he could add is pace from the wings and a goal threat as he is well capable of scoring from wide positions. He is the efficient version of Carter. And playing at a higher level. Would be a great addition.

My 23 would be(except Peltier as it seems unrealistic):

GK: JM Williams, M.Philips, C.John

DEF: J.Hoyte,C.Gonsalves, R.Primus,D.Cyrus,C.Mitchell,S.Power, J.Jones,JL.Samuel

MID: C.Edwards,K.Carter, C.Birchall,K.Hyland,D.Theobald,A.Boucaud,K.Molino,K.Daniel

ATT: C.Glenn, K.Jones, A.Guerra, J.Bostock

Stand by: S.Bateau, K.Moses, A.David, K.Edwards, D.Jorsling

My starting XI:
JM Williams
J.Jones
JL Samuel
S.Power
J.Hoyte
K.Daniel
K.Hyland
C.Birchall
C.Edwards
A.Guerra
C.Glenn

Concacaf Gold Cup 2013
« Reply #119 on: April 04, 2013, 06:51:55 PM »
Gold Cup groups, schedule unveiled

CHICAGO - CONCACAF announced on Wednesday the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup groups and schedule, while also awarding the Final to Chicago's Soldier Field (Sunday, July 28, 2013 at 4pm EST). As previously announced, the tournament will open at the Rose Bowl on Sunday, July 7, with a doubleheader featuring an encounter between reigning Gold Cup champion Mexico and Panama.

Tickets to all Gold Cup matches, an official FIFA calendar tournament, will be available to the general public starting on Thursday, March 21, at 10:00 a.m. (local time in all markets) by visiting www.GoldCup.org. Special pre-sales will be available starting tomorrow, Thursday, March 14, in many of the participating Gold Cup cities.

"We look forward to a successful tournament and an exciting 2013 Gold Cup final on July 28, right here at Soldier Field," said CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb. "We also expect yet another competition fueled by passionate fans brought together in a celebration that will hopefully inspire a whole new generation of players."

Mexico will anchor Group A, which begins play on July 7, with a twinbill that kicks-off with Canada taking on Martinique. Honduras will lead Group B the following day, facing Haiti at Red Bull Arena on July 8, with El Salvador and Trinidad & Tobago facing off earlier in the evening. The United States will play the following night, July 9 in Portland's JELD-WEN Field against Belize in Group C, immediately after a meeting between Costa Rica and Cuba. The complete schedule can be found by clicking here.

The 2013 Gold Cup quarterfinals will be played in Atlanta's Georgia Dome and Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium, both first-time hosts in the tournament. The semifinals will head to Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX on Wednesday, July 24.

With a mix of historic venues and brand new state of the art soccer facilities that average 57,000 spectators, the 2013 edition of the Gold Cup promises to provide fans both in stadium and at home with unforgettable atmospheres. In 2011, the tournament drew more than 600,000 fans throughout 13 match-days, including nine sell-outs. Taking place every two years, the Gold Cup has established itself as the region's most popular national team tournament, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of television viewers across the region. It features the confederation's best players from the top 12 nations

2013 CONCACAF GOLD CUP™
GROUP A: Mexico, Panama, Canada, Martinique
GROUP B: Honduras, El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti
GROUP C: USA, Costa Rica, Belize, Cuba

SCHEDULE
(local time followed by EDT time)
First Round
Sunday, July 7 - Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
Canada vs. Martinique, 2:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. EDT)
Mexico vs. Panama, 5:00 p.m. (8:00 p.m. EDT)

Monday, July 8 - Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
El Salvador vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
Haiti vs. Honduras, 9:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Tuesday, July 9 - JELD-WEN Field (Portland, OR)
Costa Rica vs. Cuba, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. EDT)
Belize vs. USA, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. EDT)

Thursday, July 11 - CenturyLink Field (Seattle, WA)
Panama vs. Martinique, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. EDT)
Mexico vs. Canada, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. EDT)

Friday, July 12 - Sun Life Stadium (Miami, FL)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
Honduras vs. El Salvador, 9:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Saturday, July 13 - Rio Tinto Stadium (Salt Lake City, UT)
USA vs. Cuba, 1:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m. EDT)
Costa Rica vs. Belize, 4:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m. EDT)

Sunday, July 14 - Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver, CO)
Martinique vs. Mexico, 1:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m. EDT)
Panama vs. Canada, 4:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m. EDT)

Monday, July 15 - BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
El Salvador vs. Haiti, 6 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 8:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Tuesday, July 16 - Rentschler Field (Hartford, CT)
Cuba vs. Belize, 5:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. EDT)
USA vs. Costa Rica, 8 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)

Quarterfinals
Saturday, July 20 - Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)
Group A runner-up vs. Group B runner-up, TBD (x)
Group A winner vs. Group B/C third-place, TBD (x)
x-matches scheduled for 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. local (3 p.m. and 6 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Sunday, July 21 - M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)
Group B winner vs. Group C runner-up, TBD (y)
Group C winner vs. Group A/B third place, TBD (y)
y-matches scheduled for 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. local (4 p.m. and 7 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Semifinals
Wednesday, July 24 - Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)
X quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
Y quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
z-matches scheduled for 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. local (7 p.m. and 10 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Final
Sunday, July 28- Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
Semifinal winners, 3 p.m. (4 p.m. EDT)
http://www.concacaf.com/page/GoldCup/NewsDetail/0,,12813~3107767,00.html