March 28, 2024, 03:16:33 PM

Author Topic: 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Thread.  (Read 83055 times)

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
Re: 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Thread.
« Reply #420 on: July 15, 2013, 07:11:41 PM »
A bunch of cheats!! Haiti had a pen that was not call; yet, the SOB found the grass real quick and the linesman blew just as quick!
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #421 on: July 15, 2013, 07:17:41 PM »
The asst. linesman should be history no more.. payback
is a bitch from since  '74.

« Reply #422 on: July 15, 2013, 07:40:30 PM »
Come on T&T..gimme something to wine about before I got to go back and edit. 

Can someone posts all the teams in this thread thanks?!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 02:33:51 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #424 on: July 16, 2013, 12:04:13 AM »
Tough luck Haiti, allyuh deserved better.

Yeah if somone could post the match ups. dates, times and venues that would be appreciated.

Wait nah?? Cuba beat Belize 4-0

I think they squeeze in they.

EDIT: Yes they are in ahead of Martinique.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 08:36:13 PM by FF »

QUARTERFINALS
Saturday, July 20, 2013
GAME TIME 3:30 PM - GEORGIA DOME
Panama VS Cuba

GAME TIME 6:30 PM - GEORGIA DOME
Mexico VS Trinidad and Tobago

Sunday, July 21, 2013
GAME TIME 4:00 PM - MT BANK STADIUM
United States VS El Salvador

GAME TIME 7:00 PM - MT BANK STADIUM
Honduras VS Costa Rica

« Reply #429 on: July 17, 2013, 08:23:32 AM »
could someone tell me why Canada gets a free ride to the Gold Cup every time its held?

« Reply #430 on: July 17, 2013, 08:29:15 AM »
could someone tell me why Canada gets a free ride to the Gold Cup every time its held?

my best guess is everybody connected on the north american continent gets a bly since they doh really have a north american contest to qualify and numbers wise is a small group

« Reply #431 on: July 17, 2013, 09:00:25 AM »

Money! Bigger television audience = more cash for Concacaf. There is no way the three 'North American' sides will ever be made to qualify for this tournament, they are the richest and most populous nations in the region. Also they would have to completely re-design how teams qualify for the tournament as the current structure would be unfair on the Big two and Canada. I remember in the 80's and earlier there used to be a North American group for WC and regional qualifiers but that was when the US MNT was a complete joke, things different now.

Mexico and the US always perform well at the GC so no one bothers with the Fact that they won't ever have to qualify either. Shame they don't try and follow Europes structure with a 2 yearly rotation of Regional Championship then WC qualification; it would make the Gold Cup 4 yearly and at least give a better chance of shifting the hosting of the Tourney around the region. Might go some way to dispel the belief that only the US and Mexico have the infrastructure and knowhow to host the tournament. Only then they might change the current method of qualifiers and we will have a better idea of what teams deserve to be there.

Doubt that will happen though, Money talks.

« Reply #432 on: July 17, 2013, 11:14:19 AM »
Japs and Stag  ;D

« Reply #433 on: July 17, 2013, 05:34:17 PM »
it would make the Gold Cup 4 yearly and at least give a better chance of shifting the hosting of the Tourney around the region.

If the other regional teams start to win the tournament, then there will a changes. But right now the tournament really suits the big 2 perfectly. The US gests big crowd almost every game because they can beat up on the shithongs who use to beat up on them 30 years ago. Most of the games for Mexico is set in the West. So those games are de facto home games. CR, Hondo, TT, Haiti and JA have to win the tournaments before the US Cup is moved.

« Reply #434 on: July 20, 2013, 01:50:12 PM »
As poorly as Cuba played last couple weeks, they look sharper no. Panama have more quality though. After some early pressure from Cuba, Panama beginning to assert themselves.

« Reply #435 on: July 20, 2013, 01:55:47 PM »
I wonder what piece of savannah they dig up make this field?

« Reply #436 on: July 20, 2013, 01:57:07 PM »
Goalazzooo!!!!!

Viva la revolucion!

« Reply #437 on: July 20, 2013, 02:03:32 PM »
Like some of these fellas want to defect early.
One setta wild tackle now

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #438 on: July 20, 2013, 02:13:38 PM »
Nice Panama Goal.  2-1
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #439 on: July 20, 2013, 02:17:09 PM »
out of the 4 Caribbean teams I find Cuba play de worst but they are the Caribbean champions  ???

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #440 on: July 20, 2013, 02:23:57 PM »
out of the 4 Caribbean teams I find Cuba play de worst but they are the Caribbean champions  ???

Royal, I was wondering the same thing. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #441 on: July 20, 2013, 02:54:02 PM »
The Refs and the TV announcers always seem to fall for these obvious dives.  Now a Cuban player was given a red-card...down 10 men. 

« Reply #442 on: July 20, 2013, 03:21:09 PM »
Some teams play better with 10 men.
Cuba is not one of them.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #443 on: July 20, 2013, 03:50:58 PM »
I remember a time when Panama were the whipping boys of Concacaf. That 6-0 beating we put on then in the QPO in 2000 seems like a century ago...right now I wonder if we could eke out a draw against them. I don't know what system they have in place, but whatever they are doing is paying off for them significantly.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #444 on: July 20, 2013, 04:02:44 PM »
I remember a time when Panama were the whipping boys of Concacaf. That 6-0 beating we put on then in the QPO in 2000 seems like a century ago...right now I wonder if we could eke out a draw against them. I don't know what system they have in place, but whatever they are doing is paying off for them significantly.

Yeah, I remember the 6-0 whopping we put on them at de Oval...and 1-0 win against them in Panama.  We also gave Canada a 2-0 beating in Canada and a 4-0 beating in Trini.  We defeated Mexico 1-0 also in that same group in Trini, but lost against them in Azteca Stadium by 7-0 if I remember correctly.

Except for the big loss in Mexico, we were playing some real decent ball under coach Ian Porterfield back then in 2000.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #445 on: July 20, 2013, 04:16:25 PM »

Yeah, I remember the 6-0 whopping we put on them at de Oval...and 1-0 win against them in Panama.  We also gave Canada a 2-0 beating in Canada and a 4-0 beating in Trini.  We defeated Mexico 1-0 also in that same group in Trini, but lost against them in Azteca Stadium by 7-0 if I remember correctly.

Except for the big loss in Mexico, we were playing some real decent ball under coach Ian Porterfield back then in 2000.

Yeah, we were playing some decent ball. If I remember correctly we topped our semi-final group ( which included Mexico) but the wheels fell off in the hex. Our first game of the hex against Jamaica at the "office" was one I eagerly anticipated because some of my Jamaican bredrens were talking smack....I could still see Shaka getting string up by that Tyrone Marshall bullet ...nightmares...

« Reply #446 on: July 20, 2013, 07:42:46 PM »
2002 campaign, was rough, after the semi final round never found our way. Some big wins then  :beermug:

« Reply #447 on: July 21, 2013, 03:13:18 PM »
Since T&T lost like nobody eh have no more interest in Copa Oro. U.S.A vs EL.SLV on now..

« Reply #448 on: July 21, 2013, 03:24:04 PM »
One of the fastest off the bench scores I've seen

« Reply #449 on: July 21, 2013, 03:32:28 PM »
One of the fastest off the bench scores I've seen

and nice too ...