March 28, 2024, 04:54:00 PM

Author Topic: Costa Rica declares calypso music ‘national patrimony’  (Read 1277 times)

Costa Rica declares calypso music ‘national patrimony’
« on: December 18, 2012, 06:36:15 PM »
It’s as Caribbean as rice and beans and sunshine. Calypso music has been popular along Costa Rica’s Caribbean coast since the late 1800s. More than a century later, the government of Costa Rica has declared the style of music “national patrimony.”

Executive decree No. 37418-C, published in the official government newspaper La Gaceta last week, gives special recognition to Calypso as part of Costa Rica’s cultural and historical identity, the daily La Nación reported.

Calypso was introduced into Costa Rica by Jamaican immigrants who settled along the Caribbean coast. The style of music combines simple, yet catchy, chord structures with lyrics that tell stories as diverse as a region’s history, a family’s financial woes or a no-good, drinking, cheating and gambling spouse. Calypso singers relate the joys of local cuisine, the beauty of the Caribbean and the struggles of the Afro-Caribbean people throughout history.

Calypso is said to have originated in the Caribbean archipelagic state of Trinidad and Tobago, and began as a form of communication between slaves from Africa. For more than a century, calypso singers have entertained throughout the Caribbean province of Limón, and even as far west as the capital, San José. Costa Rica’s most famous calypso musician, Walter Ferguson, who lives in the small southern Caribbean beach community of Cahuita, helped put Costa Rican calypso on the map, having performed in concerts in Europe and elsewhere.

Ferguson, 93, told La Nación he’s happy the government is officially recognizing his beloved style of music. “There are children growing up who want to know what calypso is. I hope they have the chance to learn,” he said.

http://www.ticotimes.net/Current-Edition/News-Briefs/Costa-Rica-declares-calypso-music-national-patrimony-_Monday-December-17-2012

Re: Costa Rica declares calypso music ‘national patrimony’
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 05:01:14 PM »
i never heard tico calypso.  will have to go youtube some now

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 05:26:53 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lpwYkGO3VLI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lpwYkGO3VLI</a>
complete with dance

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TKnch8g_sSs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TKnch8g_sSs</a>
seein a box base

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/xnXAInkjJBI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/xnXAInkjJBI</a>

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2012, 05:49:39 PM »
nice vids eman...costa rica has always been on my list of places to go now my desire is doubled.   without even googling limon i knew it had to be a coastal city.  i want to go there, cartagena and recife in brazil just to compare notes

« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2012, 09:32:59 PM »
Kawe Calypso, Segundo
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XnFcDKLi_mY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XnFcDKLi_mY</a>

« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2012, 03:23:45 PM »
nice vids eman...costa rica has always been on my list of places to go now my desire is doubled.   without even googling limon i knew it had to be a coastal city.  i want to go there, cartagena and recife in brazil just to compare notes

Yuh go have to add Livingston, Guatemala and Colon, Panama to that list (por lo menos).

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/qZV47omnV3s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/qZV47omnV3s</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/hxuEsyXD0LA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/hxuEsyXD0LA</a>
« Last Edit: December 22, 2012, 03:26:23 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2012, 07:58:37 PM »
bocas de toro and puerto viejo in costa rica by the looks of it too...what a bucket list!