March 28, 2024, 03:29:19 PM

Author Topic: Mario Balotelli & Roberto Mancini in 'training ground bust-up'  (Read 2139 times)

Mario Balotelli & Roberto Mancini in 'training ground bust-up'
« on: January 03, 2013, 11:25:43 AM »
Mario Balotelli & Roberto Mancini in 'training ground bust-up'

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20901006
Manchester City striker Mario Balotelli appears to have been involved in a training ground bust-up with manager Roberto Mancini.
A picture agency has released photographs it says were taken on Thursday morning of the pair having to be separated by staff and team-mates at Carrington training ground.
City have declined to comment.
Mancini is expected to answer questions about the incident at his news conference on Friday morning.
"It's believed Mancini reacted to a challenge from Balotelli on one of his team-mates," said BBC radio 5 live senior football reporter Ian Dennis.

"In one of the photos Mancini is seen to be pulling at Balotelli's orange bib, and in another photo Balotelli is being restrained.
"I'm led to believe the incident blew over very quickly and with that in mind the photos do need to be put into some sort of context because super-fast frames can show the spat but don't necessarily provide a true reflection of any time period.
"However, it doesn't reflect well on the champions, it ensures Balotelli will create headlines yet again, and Mancini will be quizzed about his relationship with the player at tomorrow's press conference."
The pictures appear to show Mancini shouting and gesticulating towards Balotelli, who has scored three goals in 21 appearances this season.
One photograph shows the pair face to face with Mancini pulling Balotelli's training bib, while in another, the striker appears to be pulled away by a member of staff.
The 22-year-old Italian has been involved in a series of controversies since his £24m move from Inter Milan in August 2010.

n December, Balotelli was set to take City to a tribunal over a two-week fine for missing 12 games last season because of suspensions.
He later dropped the action and accepted the punishment, prompting Mancini to say he was willing to give the striker another chance.
In November, Mancini said he had no intention of selling the player despite his tempestuous relationship with his fellow Italian.
Last season, Balotelli scored 17 goals in all competitions for City but was sent off twice.
After his red card against Arsenal in April, Mancini cast doubt over Balotelli's future at the club saying he didn't "have any words for his behaviour".
Mancini has often talked about the challenges of managing the player he says could be one of the best in the world .
In April, the City manager joked he might have punched Balotelli in the head every day if he were his team-mate.
He said: "I don't speak with him every day, otherwise I would need a psychologist, but I speak with him because I don't want him to lose his quality."

But Mancini has also stated that Balotelli's behaviour on and off the pitch is blown out of proportion , saying "every time Mario does something, [it] is like a war".
This is not the first time the City manager has fallen out with one of his players.
He saw Carlos Tevez return home to Argentina following a row during the 2-1 defeat at Bayern Munich in September 2011.
Mancini claimed the striker failed to warm up and insisted Tevez would never play for the club again, while the forward complained of being treated "like a dog".
But the relationship was repaired and the forward returned to action in February 2012 and helped City win the Premier League title

Re: Mario Balotelli & Roberto Mancini in 'training ground bust-up'
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 11:28:34 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gVsFb2ja43A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gVsFb2ja43A</a>

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 11:52:51 AM »
Hard to tell but Mancini looked like the aggressor  :duel:.

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 12:17:25 PM »
Can't put yuh hand on a next grown man.  Then again, Balo frequently exhibits signs of arrested development.. maybe dat is Mancini excuse.

« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2013, 12:24:51 PM »
"...Sources said the 22-year-old striker clashed with his manager in front of team-mates at their Carrington base while the squad prepared for their FA Cup third round match against Watford.

A witness told the Manchester Evening News how the pair had confronted each other during a practice match, when Balotelli reacted badly to being told off for mis-timing a challenge.

The source said: "Mancini ran at him – he was furious. He grabbed hold of him and appeared to try and throw him on the floor. It looked like Mario was too strong and he couldn't get him down. Then all the coaches ran in to separate them but Mancini was having none of it. He kept trying to break free and have a go at him again."

The witness said Balotelli went straight to the dressing room and drove away less than 10 minutes later in his camouflaged Bentley – though he stopped briefly outside the gates to sign autographs for waiting fans.

The incident is certain to revive speculation over Balotelli's future, despite Mancini having repeatedly rejected the idea of selling him during the January transfer window.

Mancini told Gazzetta dello Sport at the end of last month: "I think Mario will stay but the future depends mostly on him… The relationship between me and him is always good, even if one day he does something."...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jan/03/mario-balotelli-roberto-mancini-confrontation

« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2013, 12:30:13 PM »
City scum let them rot inside

« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2013, 12:38:47 PM »
Family ting! Balo eh even looked worried, Mancini was like a mosquito, none threatening, else Balo would ah rest a nut on him.  ;D

« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2013, 01:14:40 PM »
Family ting! Balo eh even looked worried, Mancini was like a mosquito, none threatening, else Balo would ah rest a nut on him.  ;D

I tend to agree... Mancini is a kinda excitable fella, prone to the odd emotional display, and Balo is just the kind of head case to keep him excitable.  It seems to me from the past that they've settled into a dynamic where they understand where each other is coming from.  The sense I get is that Mancini genuinely care about the fella and I think Balo knows this.

« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2013, 01:47:34 PM »
So by all accounts Mancini was the aggressor..let's see how the media spins this.

« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2013, 07:40:45 AM »
Hey shite happens, unfortunately we have visual proof versus the usual "anonymous source" reporting incidents that have happended involving a team. Citeh stupid for not making a better effort to insulate as a team.

« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2013, 08:05:46 AM »
  :yellowcard:  You have to admit doh, Balotelli acts & moves like he could test Christ.

« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2013, 08:21:53 AM »
  :yellowcard:  You have to admit doh, Balotelli acts & moves like he could test Christ.

Pressure dos bus pipe. And Mancini is an imps who lacks mananagment skills to deal with players who don't toe the line. Good footballer who lacks patience when players don't react or act the way he would have as a footballer. 
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 08:49:55 AM by Giggsy11 »

« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2013, 09:22:59 AM »
Giggsy, yuh saying yuh think Mancini should get rid of Balo? Who thinks he should?

Request to merge ...

« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2013, 10:18:52 AM »
Giggsy, yuh saying yuh think Mancini should get rid of Balo? Who thinks he should?

Request to merge ...

I think both of dem need tuh get away from each other. Jose couldn't handle him and Mancini sure has shown he can't.

« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2013, 07:00:50 PM »
Why should any Citeh player respect Mancini after how handled the situation with Tevez from beginning to end? Mario already acts like a teenager who dances to the beat of his own drum, so Mancini is just food for him.

« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2013, 07:33:37 PM »
Moving on...

Mario Balotelli will face no action after clash with Roberto Mancini

• Manchester City manager plays down incident with striker
• No fight, this is not true, says Mancini

Jamie Jackson
The Guardian, Friday 4 January 2013 06.34 EST

Roberto Mancini says he is prepared to give Mario Balotelli "one hundred chances" after the striker clashed with the Manchester City manager during training on Thursday.

Mancini did, though, admit that he was unsure whether Balotelli would still be at the club if he was not in charge. "I don't know this," the Italian said.

There is a sense that City may now listen to offers for Balotelli, so Mancini's declaration of ongoing support could be to protect the player's market value.

Balotelli had refused to leave the training pitch following a heavy tackle on his team-mate Scott Sinclair, which Mancini described as deserving "two red cards", with the manager pictured grabbing the striker's training bib to forcibly remove him.

But the manager said: "I will give him another one hundred chances if it is possible. I think that he can change because I am here for this. I give him other chances, for sure. I think he should understand that the career of a player is very, very short. He is 22 but three, four and five years can pass in one second and I hope the day arrives when he understands his [quality]. I hope for this.

"[If] he doesn't change, for him it will be very difficult in the future. For him, not me. Mario could stay with me one day, one month, five years. He is 22 years old. He needs to change. His problem is for himself."

Mancini admitted he lost his temper for "one or two seconds" but played down the incident, and stated he had no regrets. "For two seconds, yes [I lost my temper], because he didn't want to leave the pitch. I did nothing. I know it is unusual for a manager to do this but I'm not regretful.

"It didn't happen like bad things in the paper. We were playing a game and Mario kicked his team-mate. I say to him: 'Go inside, leave the pitch.' He say: 'No.' So I take his shirt and push him out. This is what really happened. Nothing special. No fight, no this not true. The pictures are false."

Asked if the club's hierarchy, which includes Khaldoon al-Mubarak, the chairman, and the owner, Sheikh Mansour, support Mancini regarding his stance on Balotelli, he said: "They always support me and the team and I think they are like me in that they hope every day Mario can change – to think only about his job and playing."

This is the latest in a catalogue of incidents involving Balotelli. Two weeks ago he abandoned a plan to take the club to a Premier League tribunal and accepted a two-week fine for indiscipline, yet Mancini is insistent the striker has a future at City. "No, no [this] doesn't change anything," he said.

Mancini would not be drawn on how his continuing public support may affect the rest of his squad. "What I hope every day is that he changes; he changes his [approach] – he should think only of his job and his life, only this," he said.

Is the problem not that Balotelli thinks he will always be given a further chance? "I don't forgive him always," Mancini said. "Sometimes he was out for three or four weeks [for a bad attitude in training]. But I hope he can understand. [Thursday] was nothing. Compared to other times, what he did was nothing."

What of the reputation of the club? "I don't know this. These sort of things can happen at any club. But the difference is that other clubs probably have screens around their [training] pitch. We don't have a screen."

When asked if Balotelli, who has been suffering from a virus, could start against Watford on Saturday in the FA Cup third-round tie, Mancini said: "No, he trained only four times this week. Not in the starting lineup, maybe on the bench. I spoke with Mario yesterday after training; I speak with him always. It is not easy to manage him and we can talk about him, but my thoughts about him don't change."

Mancini, who is looking forward to a match-up with his countryman Gianfranco Zola, the manager of Watford, confirmed that no one will be allowed to leave Manchester City during the current transfer window. "We need players in, not out," he said.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jan/04/no-action-mario-balotelli-roberto-mancini

« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2013, 08:30:32 PM »
Mancini is ah clown. He get mad when he realize he ah light weight after trying to get physical with Ballotelli. It funny how all this is still Ballotelli's fault.

« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2013, 01:25:19 AM »
It is Balotelli fault..he is a brat and have no respect for nobody, including he self...i could tell yuh for a fact with me..he done gone. To many incidents, to many chances, to many others waiting in the wings to take his place...plus, me doh think he is better than plenty ppl who I see, who can't get a sniff of that level football. but that is just me....fortunately is Mancini problem..if I was in Mancini position (which will never happen in the next 5 to 10 lifetimes), they woulda have to jail me. point final...He kick down a fellow teammate..so wha, nobody ent feeling for that guy ?

« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2013, 01:43:58 AM »
People ketching feelings more than the key players involved.  I think Mancini is keeping things in the right perspective.  Balotelli need to ride out when the coach kick him off the field, Mancini need to let others intervene and escort him off the pitch.  Both ah dem is passionate fellas and does let it bubble over from time to time.  They have their own unique dynamic as far as I can tell... where others looking on might label it dysfunction.

« Reply #19 on: January 05, 2013, 11:35:14 AM »
At times, a player's personality will stretch a coach such that the expedient thing to do would be to rid oneself of the player. However, coaching is a holistic pursuit (hence man management which seems to mean different things to different observers) that at times requires more tolerance despite certain behaviors being manifested. A coach who recognizes that these behaviors stem from pathologies that have been plastered over and indulged will be willing to confront the player's "eccentricities" out of care and discipline. We shouldn't judge Mancini on today. We should judge him on the ultimate cumulative effect he has on Balotelli in due course. I'm willing to bet that Balotelli himself will tell yuh Mancini did a lot for him and protected his career.

I'm reminded of Tyson and the old man who looked out for him. I think this is a multi-layered issue that Mancini is addressing by putting his (Mancini's) ego on the back burner.

« Reply #20 on: January 05, 2013, 01:44:00 PM »
^^^Fully agreed... and as many know I'm not the biggest fan of Balotelli.  That old man was Cus D'Amato btw.