March 28, 2024, 09:06:04 AM

Author Topic: de Silva, John-Williams, and Nicholson at the 2013 USL PRO Combine  (Read 5243 times)

Sean de Silva, Gerard John-Williams, and Diego Nicholson to participate at the 2013 USL PRO Combine.
http://www.uslsoccer.com/home/687143.html

Re: de Silva, John-Williams, and Nicholson at the 2013 USL PRO Combine
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 03:25:57 PM »
John-Williams was also at the SilverBacks open tryouts this past weekend.

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2013, 04:35:27 PM »
This is a great experience for a player. In reality it's a platform that we could exploit more. I got a player in last year and he said it was the single most amazing soccer experience he had. If last year is anything to go by (deemed the most competitive ever by Peter Mellor), this year should be compelling.

Offline StarKid

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2013, 04:37:13 PM »
john williams is a decent player hope he get true... he can play mid field and he plays center forward big lad... sean goo too hope they secure contracts

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2013, 04:43:38 PM »
There won't be any contracts immediately on offer. At best, players will be invited to travel to each team's training site for further assessment/observation of integration with their squads. Other players will be encouraged to the club tryouts of a team that holds a measure of interest/skepticism.

Offline StarKid

« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2013, 04:53:21 PM »
welll i hope they get tru bettwer for trini football

« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2013, 09:41:35 AM »
A late goal by Sean De Silva gave Team 5 victory as they finished Saturday with a win and a draw.

The winning goal came with just over five minutes remaining, Garrett Losee springing De Silva behind Team 2’s defense with a good reverse ball before the former College of Charleston standout drove home an emphatic finish.

http://www.uslsoccer.com/home/691254.html

« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2013, 10:10:12 AM »
De Silva graduate already ,did he just start collage .

« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2013, 06:02:14 PM »
De Silva graduate already ,did he just start collage .

He's a Senior. He would have graduated last year if he didn't take a year off to make the U-20 squad that went to the 2009 World Cup.

De Silva lifts side to victory
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2013, 06:08:24 PM »
De Silva lifts side to victory
uslpro.uslsoccer.com

Sean De Silva had his second goal of the weekend as Team 5 took a 1-0 victory against Team 4 in the final scrimmage of the USL PRO Combine presented by Umbro on Sunday morning at IMG Academy. The win allowed Team 5 to finish the weekend undefeated, without conceding a goal, with a record of 2-0-1.

De Silva’s goal came 20 minutes from the end, as he was able to run onto a pass from Brian Greco and put away his finish from inside the penalty area. The former College of Charleston standout had scored the only goal in Team 5’s other win, a 1-0 victory against Team 2 on Saturday afternoon, and had a good performance along with a number of his teammates as they had the better of much of the contest.

Team 5 had started the game off on the front foot, and came close to take the lead a number of times before the break. Matt Seinfeld’s low cross in the 18th minute was partially blocked after a good run into the right side of the penalty area, but the deflection came to Ferretty Sousa, whose shot was well saved by Bret Mollon.

Sousa wasn’t shy of having a go when the opportunity came, shooting over from 25 yards a few minutes later, and Team 5 continued to push for an opener, Garrett Losee’s cross intended for Leigh Veidman being cleared to safety by Dominic Cutrofello. Veidman then went close after a good pass from Seinfeld set him up on the right side of the penalty area, but his shot hit the left post and rebounded to safety.

Read More…

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2013, 04:37:12 PM »
DeSilva on trial with the earthquakes.

« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2013, 04:59:58 PM »
DeSilva on trial with the earthquakes.

He played the entire second half against the Houston Dynamo yesterday.

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2013, 12:43:03 AM »
It was Sean DeSilva's day as he made an impression on both the EarthQuakes and the Dynamos. Check out his entire performance here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6_vzCkw_Ro0#!

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2013, 04:08:03 AM »
Seems, it wasn't da Silva who scored those goals but some guy called Alexandre Emerson.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhNnE7_zogg

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2013, 02:35:21 PM »
Seems, it wasn't da Silva who scored those goals but some guy called Alexandre Emerson.
You are correct. My apologies. Have to admit, dude does look a lot like Sean in stature though.

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2013, 03:55:35 PM »
You are correct. My apologies. Have to admit, dude does look a lot like Sean in stature though.
Cyah blame yuh. De announcer in the original clip thought was da Silva too. Is only in de highlights dey get de right name.

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2013, 10:41:30 PM »
Cyah blame yuh. De announcer in the original clip thought was da Silva too. Is only in de highlights dey get de right name.
If I am not mistaken, I think Sean's number was #22. I have to take another look at the video just to see how he performed as a central mid/left mid. I would admit that at first I was confused when the announcer said that he was playing as a left side mid, then all of a sudden he is up front in a forward role on the right side of the center forward, and also he didn't seem to have good control of the rock in central mid. He was being knocked off the ball too easily by the defender. That left me a little concerned about his technical development or lack thereof. It's worth taking a look at especially for fans of Sean's who are interested in his technical development.

« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2013, 09:19:04 AM »
If I am not mistaken, I think Sean's number was #22. I have to take another look at the video just to see how he performed as a central mid/left mid. I would admit that at first I was confused when the announcer said that he was playing as a left side mid, then all of a sudden he is up front in a forward role on the right side of the center forward, and also he didn't seem to have good control of the rock in central mid. He was being knocked off the ball too easily by the defender. That left me a little concerned about his technical development or lack thereof. It's worth taking a look at especially for fans of Sean's who are interested in his technical development.
Thanks for the number. I'll have to take a look at the game and see how he does as well. I've only watched the highlights so far.

« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2013, 07:43:00 AM »
Prior to the team’s training session Tuesday morning, head coach Frank Yallop revealed the he has a difficult job over the rest of the week paring down the number of players the team hopes to carry into the season. Of the 11 players not under contract that traveled to Portland for last week’s preseason tournament, only two players are for certain not under consideration — Tottenham Hotspur midfielder John Bostock and Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Sean de Silva.
http://www.centerlinesoccer.com/san-jose-earthquakes-2013-mls-player-roster-cordell-cato-adam-jahn-abu-tommy/

« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2013, 07:59:53 AM »
Prior to the team’s training session Tuesday morning, head coach Frank Yallop revealed the he has a difficult job over the rest of the week paring down the number of players the team hopes to carry into the season. Of the 11 players not under contract that traveled to Portland for last week’s preseason tournament, only two players are for certain not under consideration — Tottenham Hotspur midfielder John Bostock and Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Sean de Silva.
http://www.centerlinesoccer.com/san-jose-earthquakes-2013-mls-player-roster-cordell-cato-adam-jahn-abu-tommy/
Ouch...Harsh !!!!

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2013, 12:17:42 PM »
Where lies our future?

« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2013, 12:49:01 PM »
At least Cordell has a good chance of making the team. Yallop likes his game. I have seen him in some of the preseason games for San Jose. He likes to run at defenders but his control of the ball is not where it should be as a winger. For a professional baller his control is not that good. Yes, I know he is only 20 years old but that is no excuse. You could see his technical skills on the ball needs a lot of work.
The driving force behind Michael Jordan and other professionals like him that made them great was the fear of failure. Michael was a beast in practice and he drove himself and his team to get better. He worked on his craft everday harder than anyone else and as you know the rest is history. Cordell has to have the same mentality to drive himself everyday in practice if he wants to be like a Jairzinho or a Christiano Ronaldo on the wing. He is a professsional now. He plays the game for a living, he should be eating, sleeping and breathing football. No more excuses. With that being said, I wish him all the best. Represent.

Offline amwood

« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2013, 08:32:09 PM »
At least Cordell has a good chance of making the team. Yallop likes his game. I have seen him in some of the preseason games for San Jose. He likes to run at defenders but his control of the ball is not where it should be as a winger. For a professional baller his control is not that good. Yes, I know he is only 20 years old but that is no excuse. You could see his technical skills on the ball needs a lot of work.
The driving force behind Michael Jordan and other professionals like him that made them great was the fear of failure. Michael was a beast in practice and he drove himself and his team to get better. He worked on his craft everday harder than anyone else and as you know the rest is history. Cordell has to have the same mentality to drive himself everyday in practice if he wants to be like a Jairzinho or a Christiano Ronaldo on the wing. He is a professsional now. He plays the game for a living, he should be eating, sleeping and breathing football. No more excuses. With that being said, I wish him all the best. Represent.

Well said man!

« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2013, 11:34:49 PM »

Well said man!
Thanks.

« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2013, 01:18:30 PM »
The first time I saw Sean as an under17 national, I was impressed with his skills on the ball and I thought well he maybe one for the future. After seeing him in the under 17 World Cup, he looked overwhelmed by the level of play, and as you know he ended sitting on the pine for most of the tournament. He lost a lot of confidence during that tournament, I thought. Well, fast forward that moment to now and it looks like not much have changed other than the fact that he got older. Well, I would be lying if I said he doesn't have any confidence at all, he does have a little bit.
After seeing him in a couple of preseason games for the Earthquakes, I wondered what happened to Sean. He is dangerous as a dead ball specialist and on corners but that is about it. His field of play was lacking in most areas that a midfielder must have to play and make a difference at the MLS level or any level above college and minor league football for that matter. He lacked creativity, vision, the desire to want the ball, the technical skills to get out of tight situations, and the ability to turn on a dime from a defender. It was as though Sean was not sure of his role on the field. He was not impressive at all. Just was not good enough for the MLS level of play. I came away from his performance or should I say lack of performance feeling very disappointed. I thought maybe Coach Yallop did not explain things clearly to Sean. It looked as though he did not want to be on that team. If that was the case then why even train with them if you are not going to try to impress the coach. You never know who could be watching you.

That is my take on what I saw from Sean DeSilva.

« Reply #25 on: April 10, 2013, 02:09:43 PM »
Sean de Silva, is currently on a two week trial at North American Soccer League club, Minnesota United.

« Reply #26 on: April 10, 2013, 03:57:57 PM »
Sean de Silva, is currently on a two week trial at North American Soccer League club, Minnesota United.

Wonder how the Thais, Filipinos or Vietnamese would regard/assess de Silva?

« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2013, 01:31:21 PM »
De Silva delighted over first Pro deal.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Former National youth team midfielder Sean De Silva is currently over the top after securing his first professional contract in the United States.

The former St Mary’s College student, also a past member of the La Foucade Coaching School, signed a one-year contract with Minnesota United of the North American Soccer League last Tuesday. His deal includes the option to extend for another year.

“It’s an amazing feeling to finally become a professional player as it’s all I wanted to become while I was growing up,” said De Silva who completed a degree in Business Administration at College of Charleston where he also excelled with the College’s Soccer team.

“I came here on a two-week trial and then they offered me the deal. I was more than willing to accept it because the club comprises of several experienced players who’ve played in the MLS at some point in their careers and the club itself is well run and has an ambitious owner.

Read More

« Last Edit: May 10, 2013, 01:33:42 PM by Flex »