March 28, 2024, 09:19:20 AM

Author Topic: Foreign players in T&T 2013.  (Read 2376 times)

Foreign players in T&T 2013.
« on: January 18, 2013, 10:10:53 AM »
Foreign players in T&T 2013

Caledonia AIA - Shemel Louison (Grenada), Colin Edwards (Guyana), Shemol Trimmingham (St Vincent), Colin Nelson (Guyana), Walter Moore (Guyana), Douglas da Rocha Poroca (Brasil), Cornelius Stewart (St Vincent), Trayon Bobb (Guyana), Nical Stephens (St Vincent), Akeem Thomas (Antigua), Elvis Thomas (Antigua), Vurlon Mills (Guyana), Sheldon Holder (Guyana), Miguel Alejandro (Canada), Miguel Romeo (Argentina).

W Connection - Alejandro Figueroa (Colombia), Murilo Da Costa (Brasil), Elijah Joseph (St Lucia), Gerard Williams (St Kitts), Kurt Frederick (St Lucia), Tremaine Paul (St Lucia), Christian Viveros (Colombia), Stefano Rijssel (Suriname).

North East Stars - Charles Pollard (Guyana), Keith Simpson (Jamaica).

St. Ann's Rangers - Akel Clarke (Guyana).

Central FC - Shane Mattis (Jamaica), Troy Dublin (Antigua), Kelvin Smith (Guyana), Daniel Torres (USA), Carey Harris (Guyana), Peter Byers (Antigua), Ladule Rako-LoSarah (USA), Terry Fenwick (Coach - England), Kevin Harrison (Staff - England).

T&TEC - Desmond Bailey (Assistant Coach - Antigua).

Westside Superstarz - Fabiano Agripino (Assistant Coach - Brasil).

Siparia Spurs - Duran Dilworth (Jamaica).

FC Santa Rosa - Andrew Durant (Guyana), Jason Hope (St Vincent), Devor Dennis (Guyana), Danilo Silva (Brasil), Vurlon Mills (Guyana).

« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 06:31:02 AM by Flex »

Re: Foreign players in T&T 2013.
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 10:21:23 AM »
Only Players - (Breakdown)

Guyana - 13
Antigua - 4
St Vincent - 4
Jamaica - 3
Brasil - 3
St Lucia - 3
Colombia - 2
USA - 2
Argentina - 1
St Kitts - 1
Suriname - 1
Canada - 1

34 foreign players in T&T as of January 2013.

We have no more limit ?

No wonder our national team does suffer.

« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 06:31:27 AM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2013, 10:51:04 AM »
Good post Sam.

Imagine our national football team head coach have 14 foreign players on his Caledonia team.

In England, USA, Spain, Italy and Portugal he would have been fed to the lions. Not even Jamaica would do that.

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2013, 12:21:45 PM »
We want to go places but no one should come to us?

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2013, 03:02:31 PM »

Wait bro, nobody saying we should not have foreign players but like all the top leagues in the world there is a limit.

« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2013, 04:06:23 PM »

Wait bro, nobody saying we should not have foreign players but like all the top leagues in the world there is a limit.

Per squad?

« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2013, 07:43:59 PM »
Only Players - (Breakdown)

Guyana - 13
Antigua - 4
St Vincent - 4
Jamaica - 3
Brasil - 3
St Lucia - 3
Colombia - 2
USA - 2
Argentina - 1
St Kitts - 1
Suriname - 1
Canada - 1

33 foreign players in T&T as of January 2013.

We have no more limit ?

No wonder our national team does suffer.

Sam whose fault is that. Foreign players are not  the cause of our national team poor performances. First of all this generation of TT males are not into local football. They are not encouraged to pursue football as a profession. Use it to get a scholarship. yes. Pro-ball, way down the totem pole. Hence some promising players fall by the wayside. There is no motivation if there is no encouragement, especially from the families. Thus the clubs have to go outside to get these players. Now, what getting me is, why these outside want to play in TT. If local feel profootball is not a viable profession for their sons, how come them foreigners coming to play in empty stadiums?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 06:31:44 AM by Flex »

« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2013, 08:48:43 PM »
Some corrections:

Central FC - Shane Mattis (Jamaica), Troy Dublin (Antigua), Kelvin Smith (Guyana), Daniel Torres (USA), Carey Harris (Guyana), Peter Byers (Antigua), Ladule Rako-LoSarah (USA), Terry Fenwick (Coach - England), Kevin Harrison (Staff - England).

First, I agree that there should EVENTUALLY be a limit to imports per team. That way, those that come are the best available. We should avoid signing average players who are no better than Trinis, but will play for half the wage.

The reason I say eventually, is that at present, even local players undervalue the Pro League. They don't appreciate that there are many talented Caribbean players who would die to get paid for playing football. The foreigners work ethic is usually much better than many locals and they take their job seriously. In fact, there is often a better attitude towards playing in the Super League than the Pro League. I would like to see at least 10 teams in the Pro League, but the local player pool is too thin to manage that. At this time, I would be happy with a limit of 6 foreigners per squad and maybe eventually reduce that figure to 4 if the League expands.

But, despite the local apathy for the Pro League, many Caribbean internationals want to play here. Yes, they may prefer to play in Europe or USA (inc Puerto Rico Islanders & Antigua Barracudas), but they view the Pro League as a chance to play professional football and use it as a stepping stone. For example, we have recently been to St Lucia and there are several talented players who would love to come here.

« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2013, 08:52:22 PM »
I was trying to send Connection a Salvadoran. A while back sent a text to Fevrier's cell ... no response. FS, allyuh want him for future reference?

« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2013, 06:13:15 AM »
Foreign players are important to the league but good or decent ones.

But when Stuart Charles importing St Lucians and Shabaaz importing Guyanese who are no better than what we have makes you wonder wha vibes them on.

Look W Connection sign a man from Suriname since last year and he eh score ah goal yet. They sign him to help them score goals in de CCL and he eh even play ah game.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2013, 08:20:18 AM »

But when Stuart Charles importing St Lucians and Shabaaz importing Guyanese who are no better than what we have makes you wonder wha vibes them on.

Look W Connection sign a man from Suriname since last year and he eh score ah goal yet. They sign him to help them score goals in de CCL and he eh even play ah game.
I totally agree. You must be of a certain standard if your are to be imported. I'm fed up these mediocre players with "fantastic work ethic" ::) just coming here, not playing, and using a slot where a local can be. W Connection will always bring St Lucians, and the occasional 'average' Brazilian. Cale will bring the whole of Guyana.

Bring something that people will acutally want to come out and watch. I think there is a list on the site that lists all the foreign players who ever played in the TTPL . Some off the top who I can recall are earl Jean, Titus Elva, Seabra, Goulart, Walter Moore, Byers, Pollard, Figueroa, Jaco Barret, Ranja Christian, Randolph Jerome, Collie Herculies

« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2013, 11:25:42 AM »

I totally agree. You must be of a certain standard if your are to be imported. I'm fed up these mediocre players with "fantastic work ethic" ::) just coming here, not playing, and using a slot where a local can be. W Connection will always bring St Lucians, and the occasional 'average' Brazilian. Cale will bring the whole of Guyana.

Bring something that people will acutally want to come out and watch. I think there is a list on the site that lists all the foreign players who ever played in the TTPL . Some off the top who I can recall are earl Jean, Titus Elva, Seabra, Goulart, Walter Moore, Byers, Pollard, Figueroa, Jaco Barret, Ranja Christian, Randolph Jerome, Collie Herculies

Look, you get what you pay for. Do the teams have that amount of money to bring in so called big name players? If they had that amount of money, then they could as well spend it on the local kid. Most of these teams don't even have decent training grounds.

No decent Brazilian or Carib. player coming to TT when they could probably get more from MLS. But we must ask ourselves why the other half of the TT population don't support football. Right now only half the population seem intereseted in football. The other appears to want nothing to do with football. I don not see what is stopping them from forming or sponsoring teams and helping develop local talent(DM from Grande is the exception). I mean young Indo talent. You mean to tell me out of a 1/2 million, there not even10 talented Indo-Trini. capable enough to play pro-ball. The issue lies with us Trinis. Encourage you children to play ball and go and support your local pro-team. I will guaranteed  if 2000/3000would go to the games, it will be a moral booster for these players.  Stop blameing foreigners. As soon as we see on of the current local reach above par, we start saying, "boy, don't waste your talent, go foreign!!". And we complaining that foreigners causing harm to we football. We can't have it both ways.

And this issue goes for TF, Rugby, swimming,hockey, NETBALL.

« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2013, 11:56:09 AM »
Deeks, we never say big players, we say decent, someone who can help the league and players in it.

Yuh getting carried away and not trying to understand what man saying.

We have young players who can get develop instead of developing young players from other countries who not even on de same level with our players.

De SSFL season does produce plently good players every year yet we importing players from St Lucia, because de coach from there, he looking out for his, we have to do de same...

« Last Edit: January 19, 2013, 12:01:23 PM by Sam »

« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2013, 12:45:05 PM »
This used to be the feeder/development group for out top tiered football...
http://www.socawarriors.net/foreign-based/foreign-based-news/us-college-players.html
now after these youths go away, play & study hard, in a semi-professional system, acquire their degrees, what is there for them to really comeback to, unless they are a National Team player..to play football for what, when they could actually make a living doing what they study..
What should be happening, is, we develop the society(yes,me agaaain boy, since before time I crying that), by making/creating/developing programs where these youths can return, want to return, and even maybe play football as an aside, so the not so fortunate youth can develop through their interaction, even if they themselves do not choose to play as a TT professional...the majority of these guys won't make it to be high level, middle level even, pros, farless THE National team. However, their talent would still be way above the average, and it should not be lost forever. They may be able to assist some junior community teams, on a volunteer basis, if not semi-professional level, while they have a means of income in their areas of study..

The Ministry of Sports/Education could/should keep a track of not just what school they go to, but what is their field of study and make plans revolving around these guys. These are part of our National resources. Not everyone only studies self, many hope to develop self to serve others.

« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2013, 04:49:13 PM »

Sam, I kind of understand your point. How do gauge a decent player. When Steuart Charles started yes he brought some of his country men who happened to be quite good. But when you look at Cali who has 13 Guyanese! Who brining them, Shabazz, The TT national coach. And the previous Guyanese were good too. Hercules, "Jackie Chan". Now Bobb is a next decent player. But somehow the TT people have to get back in the football. Look Police, DF and TTEc are all local players. That close to 60 players alone. So where are Police, DF and TTec supporters.

« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2013, 06:56:06 PM »
dey backin man u, man c, not we man   :devil:

they go actually say, dey doh move so
« Last Edit: January 19, 2013, 06:57:41 PM by maxg »