March 28, 2024, 11:21:51 AM

Author Topic: Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.  (Read 50435 times)

Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.
« on: January 29, 2013, 07:10:47 AM »
Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.
By Steven Goff (soccer insider).

Nick DeLeon has never been to Trinidad & Tobago, the Caribbean nation where his father is revered and his younger sister has played for the junior national teams.

The D.C. United winger was born and raised near Phoenix, idolized American players and longed to someday represent the United States on a big stage.

So late last week, when the Trinidadian federation unexpectedly invited him to camp ahead of a Feb. 6 friendly against Peru, he declined. For now, his mind is set on someday playing for the U.S. squad.

“I grew up here and it’s always been my dream to play here,” DeLeon, 22, told the Insider. “It felt pretty good to get invited, to be honest. It’s a big honor. But I don’t think it’s the right time.”

When the call came, he had a long talk with United Coach Ben Olsen. And on Sunday he spoke with his father, Leroy DeLeon, 64, a former T&T international and Hall of Famer who served with several U.S. indoor and outdoor clubs between 1967 and ’83, including the Washington Diplomats.

Read More

« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 07:16:09 AM by Flex »

Re: Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2013, 07:17:42 AM »
“It would be a huge honor to walk in his footsteps,” said Nick, the 2012 MLS rookie of the year runner-up. But as his father told him, “there’s no need to rush right now.”

So leroy told his son hold out ...l

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2013, 07:27:54 AM »
I love T&T eh, but we federation dont treat people right.

Nick right to take his chance with the USA, I would advise my son to do the same.

Until we federation start treating people better no foreign born should come to T&T.

Imagine, we Carribean Cup players eh even get paid yet.

This sort of unprofessional shit is embarrassing and to involve a foreign born in this shit is bad.

Again, ah love meh country, but de people down they need to get they act together.

And ah next thing to is when T&T dont need you, they does treat you like a blasted step child.

Look man like Boucaud, Thomson and Birchall would give T&T 1000% more than many locals and they dont even get de respect of a phone call.

They calling de players they cant get or who cant come and ignoring de ones who want to play, real back to front thing.

Look T&T playing a game in a week and they not even training.

Now they hire Leroy in de TTFF to see if he could persuade his son and instead he rest de bullpistle on them, expect to see Leroy get fired soon...   :rotfl:

« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 07:31:07 AM by Sam »

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2013, 08:08:23 AM »
As much as I support the soca warriors... you cah blame the fella... he grew up in the states, his dreams are different. I'm surprised USA didnt invite him to the camp. Never to know, we may still get the opportunity one day to steal him away.

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2013, 08:15:10 AM »
Zamora!

Lol

« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2013, 08:25:41 AM »

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2013, 09:12:17 AM »
He has a better chance with T&T than USA.

Look at how Robbie Findley is disgarded now, even Nottingham Forest let him go last week.

« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2013, 09:29:43 AM »

Look at how Robbie Findley is disgarded now, even Nottingham Forest let him go last week.

Better chance 2 c trouble/ work for free.

Re: Re: Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2013, 10:11:05 AM »

I forget about he yes. Like I say, they does cap them then drop them

« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2013, 10:26:28 AM »
Where's Big Mag?  I'll just say it for him.  F#CK DELEON

« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2013, 10:39:02 AM »
Not surprised: The TTFF in shambles, and he is probably due for a call-up from the U.S. if he keeps progreessing.  I'd take a wait-and-see approach too.

« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2013, 10:41:53 AM »
Not surprised: The TTFF in shambles, and he is probably due for a call-up from the U.S. if he keeps progreessing.  I'd take a wait-and-see approach too.

Ent?

« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2013, 10:49:29 AM »
I would give my son the same advice as well. The TTFF? Oh hell no.

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2013, 11:36:15 AM »
Cyah fight de youth for being honest and making dah choice but what ah find rhel disgrace is dat de youth 22 and never visited Trini boi...wam Leroy like yuh never mind dah youth or wah smh lol
all dat is necessary is necessary

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2013, 11:39:39 AM »
Just using gimmicks to get the fans to come out without doing the work! They could kill the guy's career before it start! Bunch of unprofessional guys who don't have a clue! Trying to buy favour with the father too! Bunch of jokers!

Re: Re: Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2013, 11:45:08 AM »
Cyah fight de youth for being honest and making dah choice but what ah find rhel disgrace is dat de youth 22 and never visited Trini boi...wam Leroy like yuh never mind dah youth or wah smh lol

Yeh that seem rel strange

« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2013, 11:50:26 AM »

better chance at what? failure?

findley go get pickup elsewhere or by mls. he was right to pick usa. look how he get to  play in the world cup.

« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2013, 12:24:31 PM »
Didn't DeLeon come to TnT de other day?

« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2013, 01:00:43 PM »
If was my son, ah woulda advise him to do de same ting and anybody who say differently seriously clueless ;)

Seriously though how can you be angry at dis youth for making the decision he make, look I love meh Socawarriors but I could never be mad at dis youth for saying eh eh.

« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2013, 01:06:31 PM »
Why didnt the TTFF "privately" confirm him before "publicly" calling him up??

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2013, 01:15:50 PM »
THIS!!
All we did was remind the US of his situation and now they'll probably cap him just to cap him.

« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2013, 01:42:47 PM »

Yeh that seem rel strange

He didn't grow up with his father... allyuh just reach or what?

...anyways F#ck Zamora Maund Findley DeLeon  ::)

« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2013, 01:52:40 PM »
Lol..

Now that you mention it, i remember the article.

« Reply #23 on: January 29, 2013, 01:59:10 PM »

Because d TTFF is a parlour not even a shop.

« Reply #24 on: January 29, 2013, 02:43:14 PM »
You all are missing the bigger picture here: A Professional football player and you spending your money on an engagement ring for your girlfriend at age 22?  ::)

« Reply #25 on: January 29, 2013, 03:02:35 PM »
don't blame him, the ttff has fallen and it will take more than tim kee to rebuild a fed that is successful, deleon is better served playing for the us bc tt ain't seeing a world cup with tim kee in charge

« Reply #26 on: January 29, 2013, 03:22:42 PM »
FAIR ENOUGH

all the best to the young man

« Reply #27 on: January 29, 2013, 03:26:26 PM »
don't blame him, the ttff has fallen and it will take more than tim kee to rebuild a fed that is successful, deleon is better served playing for the us bc tt ain't seeing a world cup with tim kee in charge

Well it took Scamps and them 26 years to see WC. So give him some time nah  :devil:

« Reply #28 on: January 29, 2013, 03:57:44 PM »
People cuss Zamora upside dong,well,well.

« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2013, 04:00:07 PM »
Nick right to take his chance with the USA, I would advise my son to do the same.

FAIR ENOUGH
all the best to the young man

This and this  :beermug: