March 28, 2024, 09:46:15 AM

Author Topic: Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.  (Read 50429 times)

Re: Nick DeLeon declines T&T call-up.
« Reply #210 on: January 14, 2016, 10:51:56 AM »
Re: "therefore his connection is solely through his family environment while growing up."

Doh sleep on that nah. Not sure how much of his (Trinbago) culture he would have been exposed too at home, but I know many 2nd generation Trinbagonians (not born in Trinidad nor Tobago) who align themselves as being "trini" more than their birth country.

That force is strong.. but the same family/environment will also relay their hesitation to them choosing Trinidad and Tobago. (based on the history of the system as mentioned)

« Reply #211 on: January 14, 2016, 11:04:36 AM »
Nick wants to play.

CONFIRMED !!!!

Flex, good job.

You should be the TTFA official scout.

« Reply #212 on: January 14, 2016, 12:24:54 PM »
Nick wants to play.

CONFIRMED !!!!

Flex, good job.

You should be the TTFA official scout.

Nah, Flex should stay bamboo(arms) length from TTFA, unless he wants to be corrupted. He maybe already. :devil: but keep your distance.

Boy Flex, if TTFA ever give you a good offer, take it.  Doh bother with me. Just doh end up like Latapy, Wim,Sheldon, etc. Get a lawyer first. You can hire Bakes!!!

« Reply #213 on: January 14, 2016, 05:27:00 PM »
Nice addition looking forward to some more recruits who have stayed away,deciding to be Warriors
Nuff respect Scorpion I will still love to know what caused a change of Hart
I can never diss,it his choice and in this time every man has a right chart his path in life as it his
Rastafari

« Reply #214 on: January 15, 2016, 09:38:41 AM »
This is an interesting video. Not sure if it has been posted before.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48iiP5r3GG4

« Reply #215 on: January 15, 2016, 01:11:39 PM »
Absolutely love this video. Thanks for posting. I am moved to joy by the power of the "Father Factor."

« Reply #216 on: January 15, 2016, 03:23:45 PM »
Bring tears to my eyes!!!!

« Reply #217 on: January 15, 2016, 05:28:32 PM »
Oh wow.. That's great news! Wish him well.

« Reply #218 on: January 15, 2016, 05:43:48 PM »
Bring tears to my eyes!!!!

There's a 2012 video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6K4qXaDnIM

From what one could deduce (only conjecture) from both videos, an improvement of the relationship between the two would seemingly have had some impact in this decision to represent us.

« Reply #219 on: January 16, 2016, 02:27:15 PM »

:applause:

« Reply #220 on: January 19, 2016, 04:58:08 AM »
Nick wants to play.

CONFIRMED !!!!

Flex, what did DJW say?

Can't see David John Williams supporting this as he may want to push for W Connection players.

Sad.

« Last Edit: January 19, 2016, 04:59:49 AM by Sando »

« Reply #221 on: January 19, 2016, 07:12:42 AM »
Nick wants to play.

CONFIRMED !!!!

Flex, what did DJW say?

Can't see David John Williams supporting this as he may want to push for W Connection players.

Sad.

Its not up to DJW what players he would like to add to the national team, it is up to the head coach provided the players in question are willing and able to represent.

« Reply #222 on: January 19, 2016, 08:06:45 AM »
Nick wants to play.

CONFIRMED !!!!

Flex, what did DJW say?

Sad.

On the contrary, David John Williams was very supportive and will be assisting with Nick's passport.

« Reply #223 on: January 19, 2016, 08:50:50 AM »
DJW is open to foreign born ?? wow

« Reply #224 on: January 19, 2016, 11:08:08 AM »
DJW is open to foreign born ?? wow

Hard to believe !!

Offline ffisback

« Reply #225 on: January 19, 2016, 02:00:59 PM »
If a American coach was in charge  he would have a chance to make the U S A team.

Offline Majestic

« Reply #226 on: January 20, 2016, 07:26:57 AM »
how long before we change this title?
He Is Highly

Offline madness

« Reply #227 on: January 20, 2016, 08:04:19 AM »
we need to hear from Nick first.

« Reply #228 on: January 20, 2016, 08:57:58 AM »
Leroy DeLeon says son Nick ready to play for T&T.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ltg8RzO4qN4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ltg8RzO4qN4</a>

« Reply #229 on: January 20, 2016, 09:15:48 AM »

Very touching video!

« Reply #230 on: January 20, 2016, 10:06:03 AM »
Nick wants to play.

CONFIRMED !!!!

When I see it, I will believe it Flex.

Doh sleep on that man, ah warning yuh.

He looking out for his people and his club.

He looking for money.

« Reply #231 on: January 20, 2016, 11:52:59 AM »
i feel bad for this young man because he is under is so much pressure to choose a side even though his contact with trinidad and tobago is little to none. i think this kid is the typical american product and should not be backed into a corner to represent us.

in all honesty i don't believe that we need him as much as we think, and i am sure if given the chance this bloke would jump through fire to play for the country of his birth and i wouldn't blame him for that either. please leave the lad alone. if he really he wants to play then he knows what to do.

Nick DeLeon ready to pick between Trinidad and Tobago, United States
« Reply #232 on: January 20, 2016, 12:32:27 PM »
ESPNFC.com

D.C. United midfielder Nick DeLeon has opened the door to representing Trinidad and Tobago, confirming that he'll make the call on his international allegiance in the coming months.

Born in Phoenix, Arizona, the 25-year-old is eligible to play for the Caribbean nation through his father -- T&T international and former NASL player Leroy DeLeon.

DeLeon has declined two previous call ups from T&T, but now says that the pull of international football is too good to turn down.

"I have been approached by [T&T] multiple times. I'll know in the next month what team I'll be playing for," DeLeon said at MLS Media Day.

"It's exciting, very exciting. You're exposed to a lot more teams, a lot more coaches. It's a lot higher competition where you can test yourself against some of the best guys."

DeLeon knows that he can turn to his father for advice but, in the end, only he can make the final decision.

"I'll ask his advice as far as what he thinks of the team and that type of thing," DeLeon said. "But as far as where he wants me to play, it's up to me.

"He's in my corner, wherever that is."

« Reply #233 on: January 20, 2016, 04:11:21 PM »

What a wonderful story. Now he can continue to follow in his father's footsteps by playing for T&T, but only with all his heart and soul.

« Reply #234 on: January 20, 2016, 05:11:04 PM »
i feel bad for this young man because he is under is so much pressure to choose a side even though his contact with trinidad and tobago is little to none. i think this kid is the typical american product and should not be backed into a corner to represent us.

in all honesty i don't believe that we need him as much as we think, and i am sure if given the chance this bloke would jump through fire to play for the country of his birth and i wouldn't blame him for that either. please leave the lad alone. if he really he wants to play then he knows what to do.

sense!

however, it could also be said that it's an opportunity he would/could not have with the US national team? Young fella could feel he's getting no-where with his country of birth, so option #2. Look at MeMum.. he was as distant to Trinbago as one could possible be and knowing he could never make an England team he fell een.. rest is history.

« Reply #235 on: January 21, 2016, 07:07:34 AM »
Funny you should use Memum as your example , have not been following Nick and DC .So I checked in on his 2015 year in review , eerily similar to to Memum and look at his goal .

http://www.blackandredunited.com/dc-united-offseason-2015-2016/2015/11/24/9794914/dc-united-nick-deleon-2015

« Reply #236 on: January 22, 2016, 10:10:26 AM »
ESPNFC.com

D.C. United midfielder Nick DeLeon has opened the door to representing Trinidad and Tobago, confirming that he'll make the call on his international allegiance in the coming months.

Born in Phoenix, Arizona, the 25-year-old is eligible to play for the Caribbean nation through his father -- T&T international and former NASL player Leroy DeLeon.

DeLeon has declined two previous call ups from T&T, but now says that the pull of international football is too good to turn down.

"I have been approached by [T&T] multiple times. I'll know in the next month what team I'll be playing for," DeLeon said at MLS Media Day.

"It's exciting, very exciting. You're exposed to a lot more teams, a lot more coaches. It's a lot higher competition where you can test yourself against some of the best guys."

DeLeon knows that he can turn to his father for advice but, in the end, only he can make the final decision.

"I'll ask his advice as far as what he thinks of the team and that type of thing," DeLeon said. "But as far as where he wants me to play, it's up to me.

Hmmm... does he really want to play for us or just positioning himself in hope of a U.S. call up?

« Reply #237 on: January 22, 2016, 10:22:50 AM »
ESPNFC.com

Hmmm... does he really want to play for us or just positioning himself in hope of a U.S. call up?

Let's say that is the case ... How many US call-ups would he be positioning for? That would be a calculus of folly ---  unless he is angling for a brief and unremarkable international career.

« Reply #238 on: January 22, 2016, 02:36:46 PM »

Honestly I feel like we being used as second fiddle here. Is either he wants to play for T&T or not.. This is not a papyshow ting. This is national football team football here we talking about

« Reply #239 on: January 22, 2016, 02:51:44 PM »
I wondered if it was only me?

I thought he had already made his decision?

I guess Jurgen could ketch ah vaps and all of ah sudden decide to call him up in the middle ah WC qualifying?
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 02:53:57 PM by Fyzoman »