April 19, 2024, 05:47:01 PM

Author Topic: Is there any video out there on men like Leroy DeLeon?  (Read 1909 times)

Offline amwood

Is there any video out there on men like Leroy DeLeon?
« on: January 29, 2013, 11:40:04 PM »
.....Warren Archibald, Steve David, Bobby Sookram, Henry Quanvie.....always hear allot of the older heads talk about these legends, unfortunately, there does not appear to be anything video wise on these guys. Such a shame!

Re: Is there any video out there on men like Leroy DeLeon?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 05:30:19 AM »
Yes, there is video of those who played in the NASL.

Offline amwood

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2013, 08:00:52 AM »
Yuh have any links?

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2013, 08:19:13 AM »
not much of a link. but this shows Warren Archibald (11) playing for the Toros againts the Rowdies in 75. I think if you see a number 7....that is Steve David. There is also a shot of a dejected Archibald in the locker room after the loss.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlRSfC6StTQ

Blink and you'll miss em! The two Leroy's Spann (23) and DeLeon (12) playing for the earthquakes vs LA Aztec's (which Steve David played for that year but I think he was traded by the time this game played)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3FzK13m6FWo

I admit that these two arent the best examples however there are many if you know where to look. Found quite a few with Steve David, Spann, De Leon and chinapoo but not many with them actually playing, most are like the one above. I suggest going to this site: http://www.nasljerseys.com/Rosters/NASL_Rosters.htm search for a trini you know find a Team and year they played frequently on then google search with that info and hope for a video. Trini players of the past aint household names to the rest of the world so it is extremely unlikely that their names will headline a video. You will probably have to look through some (there are quite a few extended highlights and even a few full games posted).

hope that helps.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2013, 10:05:25 AM by Rodney »

Offline amwood

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2013, 08:57:57 PM »
Respect man!

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2013, 04:25:43 PM »
.....Warren Archibald, Steve David, Bobby Sookram, Henry Quanvie.....always hear allot of the older heads talk about these legends, unfortunately, there does not appear to be anything video wise on these guys. Such a shame!

Steve David   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3CrKWBZeyJs

Warren Archibald   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qf_m2hNJf-k

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2013, 05:44:09 PM »
After the 5th goal. You will Selris Figaro walking away dejected #19.

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2013, 06:58:26 PM »
Pity Mike Tyson wasn't younger, he would have fit right in.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2013, 06:10:44 AM »
After the 5th goal. You will Selris Figaro walking away dejected #19.
You are spot-on, Deeks!

« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2013, 11:16:29 AM »
This video Flex posted a while ago of Mex v T&T '73

a few highlights regarding Mexico's elimination in '73
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1wSLyCvwDc

Leroy Spann as an Earthquake
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=8138.msg696338#msg696338

Going back a little further to 1947 T&T v Curacao. Prior Jones, Ken Galt, Gerry Gomez etc.
http://ttfootballhistory.com/node/3290

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2013, 11:38:16 AM »
Good job E man I never knew we had videos from way back then ! It shows something of our history thanks to this website we can see something that the TTFF should have as part of their archives! Gally really put a hurt on Mexuco with dem 2 goals! They grabbed him to play in the Mexican league soon after! Archibald was a real favorite among the Haitians! I heard many persons named their sons Archibald in Haiti after that tournament and for many years after the only thing most Haitians knew about Trinidad and Tobago was Eric Williams and our football team. Dat is history.

« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2013, 08:12:46 PM »
I have some old NASL dvd's of games with Archibald , David ,Spann, Deleon . I am not too technologically inclined and haven't had the time to figure out how to upload them. I would prefer to get them edited and not just put the whole games on. Good trini players like, Tony Douglas, Jan Steadman and some others I can't recall right now.