April 26, 2024, 12:44:35 PM

Author Topic: De Mighty Kevin sings  (Read 570 times)

De Mighty Kevin sings
« on: February 02, 2013, 06:08:27 AM »
De Mighty Kevin sings

By Kevin Baldeosingh

Story Created: Jan 31, 2013 at 10:00 PM ECT
(
Story Updated: Feb 1, 2013 at 6:36 AM ECT )

Once again, it is time for my almost-annual calypso. But this year I have a problem. You see, my custom is to write a calypso which deals with a topic the real calypsonians won't sing, using actual rhymes, and as well as words they can't understand. From 2000 to 2010, this was easy, since the PNM was in power and only a couple of calypsonians were criticising the government or using words of more than two syllables.

Now, however, the People's Partnership is in office, so pretty much every calypsonian will be singing songs that badtalk the Government, although still with bad rhymes. That isn't my problem, though. My problem is that commentary calypso earns just a few thousands of dollars at best, whereas soca gets millions. And I would like to be a millionaire, if only so I could pay for full-page ads every week to badtalk herbalists, religious fundamentalists, and curry tofu.

So, this year, in order to distinguish myself from the real calypsonians and have a shot at getting real money, I am writing a soca tune which praises the People's Partnership administration. And, if anyone feels I've sold out, it's only because they are Machel Montano.

Paean for the PP

Lyrics by KB, © 2013

This year I come to praise the

PP

Not to bury it;

I here to raise the PP

From its hairy pit.

CHORUS: So if you like PP

Open your mouth

If you love PP

Doh spit it out.

PP is the best