April 26, 2024, 03:00:04 AM

Author Topic: Wired868 examines T&T's 2-0 friendly defeat to Peru  (Read 3709 times)

Offline SWF Reporter

Wired868 examines T&T's 2-0 friendly defeat to Peru
« on: February 07, 2013, 03:24:05 AM »
Warriors’ progression continues with Peruvian lesson
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

“We will come to the point (where we would be) very disappointed with a result like that,” said joint Trinidad and Tobago national head coach Jamaal Shabazz, in the post-game press conference.

“It’s not bad for now. But we have to be more ambitious as a people going forward (from here).”

It seemed a fair summary of last night’s friendly international fixture between Trinidad and Tobago and Peru in front of roughly 4,000 spectators at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

The “Soca Warriors” gave a fair account of themselves and troubled Peru at times but the final 2-0 score did not flatter the South American visitors.

“We are a little disappointed (with the result) but it is a new team,” said Trinidad and Tobago and Stoke City forward Kenwyne Jones. “We’re very happy with what we’re trying to do.”

The Warriors appear to be moving in the right direction but it is a slow process. Perhaps this is the way it is supposed to be.

Shabazz remarked after the game that he could not tell the difference between local and foreign-based players in “red, white and black” tonight.

It was meant to be a compliment for the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League players like Defence Force winger Kevon Carter, Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA midfielder Ataullah Guerra and DIRECTV W Connection central defender Daneil Cyrus, who all gave commanding performances.

But it must be acknowledged too that Trinidad and Tobago can no longer simply inject Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy into the squad to mask its deficiencies.

There are no more supposed saviours in the FIFA and CONCACAF offices either to arrange fixtures with bidding nations or do whatever else might have been done behind closed doors.

There are just a bunch of young men with varying gifts led by an enthusiastic and bold but relatively inexperienced coaching trio who are all working hard to create something memorable for Trinidad and Tobago.

At the Caribbean Cup finals in Antigua, the Warriors progressed through collectivity and grit. Last night, the Warriors gave the first indication, albeit in flashes, that they had more to offer.

Guerra’s poise and bravery in possession and Carter’s electrifying pace drew the most cheers. But it was the axis of central defenders Carlyle Mitchell and Cyrus and holding midfielder Khaleem Hyland that arguably shone brightest.

Mitchell, Cyrus and Hyland were like three deep-lying playmakers. They shuffled the ball back and forth, worked wall passes with their full backs, danced around Peru’s half-hearted offensive press and waited patiently for the right moment to go forward.

“Sometimes we kept the ball and kept the ball when we could have gone forward,” said Shabazz, who suggested that his defensive trio had over-indulged at times.

Yet, it was within the cagey, opening 20-minute period that the Warriors conjured up their best opportunity.

As the Peruvians were drawn forward in an attempt to steal possession, the ball was shuttled forward to Guerra who stepped inside one defender and lowered his left shoulder but lengthened his stride in the other direction to glide past another.

Jones made an angled run to his left and Guerra slipped the ball perfectly into his stride in Peru’s penalty box.

The big striker had time and space but he opened his body and tried to hit the ball first time and connected with only fresh air.

The Trinidad and Tobago supporters were in uproar.

It is hard to understand the influence of supporters unless you attend a game in a more traditional football nation.

In Spain, fans often cheer at five-yard sideways passes, which play a vital role in the subsequent attack. British crowds support effort, which will reap dividends over the course of 90 minutes.

Trinidad and Tobago patrons generally applaud only when something interesting appears to be happening like the dribbles, long forward passes or efforts at goal. They acknowledge the frills and the end result but often ignore the building process.

Did the roar from the local supporters prompt the Warriors to go forward quicker? Or was it the glimpse of Peru’s vulnerability under attack?

Either way, Guerra’s solo excursion did not set the tone for a period of dominance. The effect was, arguably, the opposite.

Jones seemed to be struggling to keep his footing or being crowded out while Guerra, the most advanced of the three central midfielders, lacks the upper body strength to play with his back to an opponent. So Trinidad and Tobago’s efforts at quicker attacks led, for the most part, to a more rapid turnover of possession.

And, unsurprisingly, the more fluent and experienced Peru team took advantage of the opened game in the 29th minute.

Mitchell could only head a left side cross as far as Jefferson Farfan, on the edge of the area, who crashed a powerful low volley goalward. Trinidad and Tobago custodian Marvin Phillip fended away his effort but only in the path of Peru captain and Bayern Munich employee Claudio Pizarro who made no mistake from close range.

Four minutes later, Peru nearly doubled its advantage but for a flying save from Phillip, who pushed a Rinaldo Cruzado effort over the bar.

Trinidad and Tobago regained composure and made a strong start to the second half with Carter taking turns in tormenting either full back. But Peru, who held a Lionel Messi-inspired Argentina team to a 1-1 draw last September, knows how to bend without breaking and there were no more clear scoring opportunities for the host team.

Both teams used seven substitutes in the second half, which affected the game’s flow for the final 30 minutes. Trinidad and Tobago suffered most for the personnel changes and was punished for an inability to keep the ball in the final 10 minutes.

Cruzado, who gave a classy performance in central midfield, drifted past a half-hearted challenge before rifling a clinical 20-yard drive past substitute goalkeeper and North East Stars captain Cleon John in the 86th minute.

Substitute Andre Carrillo should have notched a third, two minutes later, but skied a straightforward opportunity from inside the area after being teed up by Corinthians striker Paolo Guerrero.

Peru settled for a 2-0 triumph at the final whistle, which snapped a run of four games without a win.

The Warriors had less tangible evidence of their night’s work but they had reason for optimism as well.

Carter and Guerra’s positive showing should provide impetus and a gauge for aspiring Pro League players, although both can still improve their final ball. Jones was mobile, committed and a handful in the air though he missed his one chance and there was a lack of variety in the aerial service to him.

Elsewhere, Sheldon Bateau and Carlos Edwards fitted in seamlessly at left and right back respectively while Roberts and Theobald were also solid without necessarily distinguishing themselves. Bateau might have had the toughest challenge against the fleet-footed Schalke winger Jefferson Farfan but generally coped well.

“It is a work in progress,” said co-head coach Hutson Charles, after the match.

The triangle of Cyrus, Mitchell and Hyland looked closer to the finished product, though. They played in defensive positions but their poise, patience and vigilance set the platform for Trinidad and Tobago’s offense.

It might not be enough to get excited about but there was surely enough to provoke encouragement.

“We have been on a downward spiral since 2008,” said Jones. “Now we’re trying to rebuild.”

There are unlikely to be any quick fixes this time. But the glimpses of patient, thoughtful play last night suggested that Trinidad and Tobago’s foundation is well on its way.

Results

T&T 0 v Peru 2
    ;    (Claudio Pizarro 29, Rinaldo Cruzado 87).

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip (21.Cleon John 73rd); 11.Carlos Edwards (2nd vice-capt), 17.Daneil Cyrus (6.Kareem Moses 83rd), 19.Carlyle Mitchell, 4.Sheldon Bateau; 8.Khaleem Hyland (13.Curtis Gonzales 73rd); 12.Darryl Roberts (2.Aubrey David 63rd), 18.Densill Theobald (capt) (14.Keyon Edwards 68th), 7.Ataullah Guerra, 15.Kevon Carter (16.Jemel Sebro 76th); 9.Kenwyne Jones (vice-capt) (10.Devorn Jorsling 73rd).

Coach: - Hutson Charles/ Jamaal Shabazz.

Peru: - 1.Raul Fernandez (12.Diego Penny 46th); 13.Renzo Revoredo (23.Roberto Guizasola 46th), 5.Carlos Zambrano, 2.Alberto Rodriguez (15.Christian Ramos 43rd), 19.Yoshimar Yuton; 17.Carlos Lobaton (Yellow 70) (22.Edwin Retamoso 73rd); 10.Jefferson Farfan (16.Juan Marino 60th), 8.Rinaldo Cruzado, 20.Luis Ramirez, 24.Junior Ross (9.Paolo Guerrero (vice capt) 46), 14.Claudio Pizarro (capt) (18.Andre Carrillo 60th).

Unused substitutes: 4.Aurelio Saco-Vertiz, 25.Alfredo Rojas.

Coach: - Serio Markarian.

Referee: - Adrian Skeete (Barbados).

Attendance: - 4,500.

Venue: - Ato Boldon Stadium.

« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 07:25:44 AM by Flex »

Congrats Soca Warriors...
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 08:31:02 AM »
on your 1-0 victory 0-2 loss over Peru.

Jamaica's 0-0 tie against Mexico feels like a defeat for my beloved Reggae Boyz given the fact that we blew two "sitters", which could have inflicted a first defeat on the Mexicans in WCQ games in the Azteca in their last 25 games, but Ill take the point.

MCannuff was outstanding on the wings vs Mexico
« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 08:59:02 AM by Reggaefan »

Re: Wired868 examines T&T's 2-0 friendly defeat to Peru
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 08:44:00 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/poyA4B1Duww" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/poyA4B1Duww</a>

Better quality, but doesn't show the miss from Jones
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/kpBLlbVkGqc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/kpBLlbVkGqc</a>

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2013, 09:00:11 AM »
woman in second video nice

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2013, 09:30:26 AM »
oh god Jones!! yuh does really give we ah lumbering ox vibes...

Guerra shoulda put it on he head.. goal for sure.  ;D

« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2013, 09:39:48 AM »
on your 1-0 victory 0-2 loss over Peru.

Jamaica's 0-0 tie against Mexico feels like a defeat for my beloved Reggae Boyz given the fact that we blew two "sitters", which could have inflicted a first defeat on the Mexicans in WCQ games in the Azteca in their last 25 games, but Ill take the point.

MCannuff was outstanding on the wings vs Mexico

maybe Jamaica should stop blowing so much

« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2013, 10:52:55 AM »
Thanks SWF reporter...always a fine job

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2013, 12:42:53 PM »
Thanks maxg!  :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2013, 01:44:22 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/whEGIaQRr88" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/whEGIaQRr88</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5OOle4tl4gk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5OOle4tl4gk</a>

« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2013, 04:30:58 PM »
Shabazz sound like a illiterate bastard, imagine he having a press conference about de game and in de end begging people and sponsors for money.

There is a way to do things boss and you have a big marketing man like Tony Hartford scratching he ball bearings, what he doing now?.

De TTFF need to come up with ideas to generate money and once they start doing well sponsors and crowd will come, but they have to lead de way, nobody in they right mind will just come out and just you money especially with the TTFF reputation and how they does STILL operate, besides, I not giving any taliban my money.

The want to hire who they want and expect people to just jump up and pay for they problem, you have to earn it.

Hutson Charles went to school allyuh? this man is we national coach and he cant even talk good, how de players especially de foreign one could respect this man or even take him serious ?

A for aloo
B for barra
C for channa
D for double

« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 04:37:24 PM by Sam »

« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2013, 05:08:32 PM »
Shabazz sound like a illiterate bastard, imagine he having a press conference about de game and in de end begging people and sponsors for money.

There is a way to do things boss and you have a big marketing man like Tony Hartford scratching he ball bearings, what he doing now?.

De TTFF need to come up with ideas to generate money and once they start doing well sponsors and crowd will come, but they have to lead de way, nobody in they right mind will just come out and just you money especially with the TTFF reputation and how they does STILL operate, besides, I not giving any taliban my money.

The want to hire who they want and expect people to just jump up and pay for they problem, you have to earn it.

Hutson Charles went to school allyuh? this man is we national coach and he cant even talk good, how de players especially de foreign one could respect this man or even take him serious ?

A for aloo
B for barra
C for channa
D for double

Yuh aint notice the link between the resurrected government sponsorship and the removal of All Sport promotions in the TTFF marketing

« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2013, 05:45:36 PM »
some more highlights, ill see if i get more later

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/FrQIYt6Gs-E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/FrQIYt6Gs-E</a>

« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2013, 07:48:21 PM »

A for aloo
B for barra
C for channa
D for double

This post full of bias.

breds i don't like shabbaz anymore than you do, but the man wasn't begging and he also give a good account of himself, come on bredder be fair.

the man did nothing wrong in this press conference, and IMO was much more engaging than any other coach we had in the pas, he was also willing to divulge much more than we've ever seen before  of any coach including latas, IMO it was ah damn good interview.  don't hate.

« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2013, 08:20:46 PM »
Tony Harford not associated with the TTFF again.

« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2013, 11:53:38 PM »
I find the need to focus on a point mentioned by Shabbazz at the end of his interview when he was talking about the need for more meaningful friendlies against quality opposition and a plea for financial support from the corporate world in TnT.
Now, I know some of you are going to say "wtf" without an explanation to your objection and your confusion regarding my train of thought, and few of you are going to respond in a more intelligent and inquisitive manner, but most of you are not even going to respond at all.
Nevertheless, I believe that the current president of the TTFF is largely responsible, not solely though, for making those goals and objectives that Shabbazz described in his short appeal to the corporate world, a reality. In his role as leader of the football federation he has to be held accountable for producing that type of winning environment that leads to securing that kind of home court advantage that brings out the best in every visiting team that comes to our shores, both men's and women's visiting international teams alike. Without their best, they won't be able to win the game. It's a situation that begs for a brilliant mind to see the enormous economic opportunities that is just begging to be explored. It's the kind of opportunity every head coach desires in order to sustain a more meaningful approach to developing a cohesive and dangerous soccer unit that would attract other international opposition to want to come to TnT to play against our national teams, albeit the men's, women's, or youth teams, and if not for the tourist attraction that is TnT then for the quality of play, and in some small ways maybe both, whether it happens to fall on a FIFA date or not. It could mean an economic boost for everyone involved. The president of the TTFF cannot and would not hurt his situation if he employs a professorial knowledge or maybe even a learned experience of the Principle of Economics. There is so much to gain and a lot to lose by not studying it's advantages.
What does economics have to do with any of this? A whole lot.
For example, let's take a look at the president of the USSF, Sunil Gulati, born in India, now a neutralized American citizen. Hate it or not, United States soccer has grown by leaps and bounds when you think of the other major million dollar sports in the United States.
Despite the growth of men's and women's professional soccer in the United States in the last few decades, by far the largest category of soccer in the United States, at least in terms of participation, is boys and girls youth soccer. Though organized locally by organizations all over the United States, there are two main youth soccer organizations working nationwide through affiliated local associations. The United States Youth Soccer Association boasts over three million players between the ages of five and 19, while American Youth Soccer Organization has more than 300,000 players between the ages of four and 19. This makes soccer one of the most played sports by children in the United States.
Sunil Gulati, a professor of economics at Columbia University and the elected president of the United States Soccer Federation, said: "There's no right to exist, so to speak, of any sports venture, or any business venture, for that matter. In the end, the market will decide. It comes down to two things: one is economics and the other is the quality of the league itself, which is obviously related to economics."
He sees his four-year term as a chance to pursue initiatives in international relations, diversity and media growth, all with an eye to playing host to major events. But for every change he tries to implement, he knows he will face the same problem.
"There is no model," Gulati said. "Not many countries have the sort of competition we have for entertainment dollars, the geography we have in the U.S., and the role of education. The solutions we've got to have in soccer must be very different than they are elsewhere. It's very different than it is in England or Brazil, or in Italy where a gifted 17-year-old isn't thinking about the University of Rome, he's thinking about playing for A.C. Milan. If a kid is choosing between a place like Columbia, that's a different decision from somebody who doesn't have 1400 SATs and might be thinking about another alternative. Opportunity cost, as we would say in Principles of Economics."
Let's take a look at Raymond Tim Kee, Insurance Executive and current president of the TTFF, who promised to restore the confidence and credibility the local football federation has lost in the eyes of most supporters, corporate citizens and the Ministry of Sport. Now mind you, nobody bothered to ask him what does that really entail, and of course he never bothered to lay out an economic plan or an achievement plan that makes it possible for a home court advantage type situation that is attractive and condusive for progress and growth.
To make a long story short. Shabbazz sounds like a poster boy for Tiny Tim and the small minded ttff.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 11:57:10 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2013, 12:28:29 AM »
Thanks Liburd. Much appreciated

« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2013, 04:51:16 AM »
That pitch look ugly boy.

« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2013, 08:11:39 AM »
I find the need to focus on a point mentioned by Shabbazz at the end of his interview when he was talking about the need for more meaningful friendlies against quality opposition and a plea for financial support from the corporate world in TnT.
Now, I know some of you are going to say "wtf" without an explanation to your objection and your confusion regarding my train of thought, and few of you are going to respond in a more intelligent and inquisitive manner, but most of you are not even going to respond at all.
Nevertheless, I believe that the current president of the TTFF is largely responsible, not solely though, for making those goals and objectives that Shabbazz described in his short appeal to the corporate world, a reality. In his role as leader of the football federation he has to be held accountable for producing that type of winning environment that leads to securing that kind of home court advantage that brings out the best in every visiting team that comes to our shores, both men's and women's visiting international teams alike. Without their best, they won't be able to win the game. It's a situation that begs for a brilliant mind to see the enormous economic opportunities that is just begging to be explored. It's the kind of opportunity every head coach desires in order to sustain a more meaningful approach to developing a cohesive and dangerous soccer unit that would attract other international opposition to want to come to TnT to play against our national teams, albeit the men's, women's, or youth teams, and if not for the tourist attraction that is TnT then for the quality of play, and in some small ways maybe both, whether it happens to fall on a FIFA date or not. It could mean an economic boost for everyone involved. The president of the TTFF cannot and would not hurt his situation if he employs a professorial knowledge or maybe even a learned experience of the Principle of Economics. There is so much to gain and a lot to lose by not studying it's advantages.
What does economics have to do with any of this? A whole lot.
For example, let's take a look at the president of the USSF, Sunil Gulati, born in India, now a neutralized American citizen. Hate it or not, United States soccer has grown by leaps and bounds when you think of the other major million dollar sports in the United States.
Despite the growth of men's and women's professional soccer in the United States in the last few decades, by far the largest category of soccer in the United States, at least in terms of participation, is boys and girls youth soccer. Though organized locally by organizations all over the United States, there are two main youth soccer organizations working nationwide through affiliated local associations. The United States Youth Soccer Association boasts over three million players between the ages of five and 19, while American Youth Soccer Organization has more than 300,000 players between the ages of four and 19. This makes soccer one of the most played sports by children in the United States.
Sunil Gulati, a professor of economics at Columbia University and the elected president of the United States Soccer Federation, said: "There's no right to exist, so to speak, of any sports venture, or any business venture, for that matter. In the end, the market will decide. It comes down to two things: one is economics and the other is the quality of the league itself, which is obviously related to economics."
He sees his four-year term as a chance to pursue initiatives in international relations, diversity and media growth, all with an eye to playing host to major events. But for every change he tries to implement, he knows he will face the same problem.
"There is no model," Gulati said. "Not many countries have the sort of competition we have for entertainment dollars, the geography we have in the U.S., and the role of education. The solutions we've got to have in soccer must be very different than they are elsewhere. It's very different than it is in England or Brazil, or in Italy where a gifted 17-year-old isn't thinking about the University of Rome, he's thinking about playing for A.C. Milan. If a kid is choosing between a place like Columbia, that's a different decision from somebody who doesn't have 1400 SATs and might be thinking about another alternative. Opportunity cost, as we would say in Principles of Economics."
Let's take a look at Raymond Tim Kee, Insurance Executive and current president of the TTFF, who promised to restore the confidence and credibility the local football federation has lost in the eyes of most supporters, corporate citizens and the Ministry of Sport. Now mind you, nobody bothered to ask him what does that really entail, and of course he never bothered to lay out an economic plan or an achievement plan that makes it possible for a home court advantage type situation that is attractive and condusive for progress and growth.
To make a long story short. Shabbazz sounds like a poster boy for Tiny Tim and the small minded ttff.
In fairness to Tim Kee he has taken over a ship that has already sank and the captain has abandoned ship. If he cannot raise the money NOW to pay bills NOW, all the plans that he has for the federation mean nothing.

Short Term Goal: Find money to stop the federation from being closed down.
Medium Term Goal:  Improve the quality of the structure of football being played.
Long Term Goal:  Reclaim the trust and loyalty of players, fans and sponsors.

« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2013, 08:33:26 AM »
Tim Kee is an Insurance Executive. When he ran for the post he advertised his business acumen, his ability to make contacts in the business community to assist in financing the TTFF for their projects. I may be wrong, but the business community has no interest in touching the TTFF with a 10 foot pole. We need more teams to play and only the business community and the govt can help. The present govt is squeezing them. I don't have to explain the dynamics. They can get money from govt but they will have to toe the line with Anil. I can't predict the outcome of a TTFF/Govt peace accord. The other thing is the business community. Black people eh have any big business. So football going to continue to suck salt.

« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2013, 08:40:18 AM »
Tim Kee is an Insurance Executive. When he ran for the post he advertised his business acumen, his ability to make contacts in the business community to assist in financing the TTFF for their projects. I may be wrong, but the business community has no interest in touching the TTFF with a 10 foot pole. We need more teams to play and only the business community and the govt can help. The present govt is squeezing them. I don't have to explain the dynamics. They can get money from govt but they will have to toe the line with Anil. I can't predict the outcome of a TTFF/Govt peace accord. The other thing is the business community. Black people eh have any big business. So football going to continue to suck salt.

Deeks I agree with what you are saying. I will add that the business community in general do not invest enough in sport in general.  Look at the state of most sports in the country, the governing bodies & athletes always begging cap in hand. As for the Gov't no need to go there, we all have seen the movie, know the plot & ending.

« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2013, 09:55:05 AM »
I am willing to give Tim Kee the benefit of doubt for now, because of what he inherited and because we  are not in the hex. But after this year, TTFF better be on the road to solvency and have their house in order.They either sue Jack/Camps/Groden or  go to the court to work out some kind of deal with the Warriors. This impasse remains an albatross around their necks and puts up a wall of distrust between the TTFF and players(the ones not on gov;t teams) as someone stated earlier.

« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2013, 10:47:09 AM »
Markarian was looking for a high intensity game. He wasn't too pleased by the way the substitutions were used ... he would probably have liked to have seen about 10-15 minutes more at a fairly engaged pace. If one thinks about it, given their next opponent in qualifying, it makes absolute sense. We can't replicate Chile, but he was looking to see how his players applied themselves. In sum, given teams that were available to play on the day, I think this was a valid call by his camp and it shed light for us too.

I think our journalists ask too many general questions. It's time to be more specific and penetrating. Markarian looked bored. He can be a surly, disagreeable kind of fellah when he ready. The best scene for him is when he receives thoughtful questions from journalists. Lots of history with him and that.

« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2013, 10:50:46 AM »
T&T players need to play rough sometimes, the harder they play and more teams will want to play them.

Peru was looking for a high intensity game, Haiti or Jamaica would have given them a better fight that is why they will always be considered over T&T even if we have more skillfull players.

Our players are to soft, especially the defenders.

T&T coach need to tell his players to play teams more close and hit them some hard tackle and make his players more intimidating.

Even though Peru won, they want to feel they beat a good team, results is not what they really want alone, they want a good sweat not savannah football.

Who ever decision it was to make so many subs should get a good cussing. Peru must be feeling they waste they money coming to T&T

« Last Edit: February 08, 2013, 10:56:14 AM by Sam »

« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2013, 10:07:17 AM »
The subs thing is dicey because for us it was a true friendly, whereas for them, more closely replicating the game would better suit them. How many substitutions did Peru make? Can anyone say whether there were more than three?

Markarian's issue seems to be with the timing of the subs and how it affected the rhythm of the game. So for instance, maybe making wholesale changes at the half?

Again, Jan should have started this game. After seeing his safe hands in Antigua, my call is that I doh see him coughing up them rebounds to the Peruvian attack.

Also, the unsettled nature of the game didn't benefit us and it didn't benefit Cleon John.

Our winding down the game shows a measure of satisfaction with what we produced for about 70 minutes. Also obviously designed to return the foreign-based healthy to their clubs. Intensity could only be maintained if the subs are brought on with that mentality, but wholesale subbing affects collective play.