March 28, 2024, 04:35:57 PM

Author Topic: Panorama 2013  (Read 8537 times)

Re: Panorama 2013
« Reply #30 on: February 07, 2013, 06:30:50 AM »

Pointless rights wrangle

Published:

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Impossibly—one would have thought—a negotiations impasse arose last week, just a fortnight before Carnival, that was so daunting that it led to a failure to televise or professionally record the first major steelband competitions of the 2013 season.

This is a matter that speaks not only to the unsatisfactory state of rights negotiations regarding the festival, but also to a fundamental misunderstanding of the challenges facing this country’s most visible tourism product. It won’t matter how great a Carnival we think we have if it isn’t recorded, broadcast and made available for viewing in the wider world.

Even the most optimistic fan of T&T Carnival must acknowledge that there’s no shortage of competition among global destinations for tourists seeking an entertaining event.

Last week’s debacle found state-owned media house CNMG and Pan Trinbago, after months of negotiations and discussion, unable to arrive at an accommodation that at least allowed recording to be done over a weekend that found the nation’s best players performing at the mecca of the steelband, the Queen’s Park Savannah.

A singular event is now lost forever. It was a moment that should leave all parties involved in the matter shamed by their inability to rise to the responsibility that they all shared to record, for posterity, performances by musicians the country claims to respect and love but is willing to abandon for the sake of pointless argument.

Pan Trinbago is not alone in this scrappy situation. TUCO and the NCBA have also been unable to successfully negotiate with CNMG, and the matter has now embroiled the NCC and the Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism.

CNMG has taken the position that it is expected to make a profit and cannot offer more for the rights to broadcast Carnival than it has put on the table, a sum reported to be $600,000 to be split among the three interest groups. The state media group has also claimed that broadcast costs will add another million to its bill and there is insufficient commercial return on the broadcast.

That position calls into question the current role of CNMG as a state enterprise and the constantly shifting imperatives it must answer, which pull it between providing important services and making money. That’s a matter for the Government to address and decide on.

It’s hardly fair to other competing media houses for the state media enterprise to have special conditions for CNMG’s operations, but it also isn’t fair to the company constantly to have the goalposts of its financial mission shifted by political whimsy.

Carnival’s stakeholders, who have been quite keen to squeeze every potential source of media revenue, must also understand that growing the festival will demand they invest more to improve and encourage more advantaged and critically important access to local media houses and documentarians keen to amplify the country’s creative output.

TUCO has made some small moves in this direction by working to broaden access to Calypso Fiesta, but the current situation remains needlessly disorganised and vulgar and an embarrassment to T&T

« Reply #31 on: February 07, 2013, 11:42:09 AM »
Say no more

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSGI3NIaEAQ

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RSGI3NIaEAQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RSGI3NIaEAQ</a>
« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 12:10:20 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #32 on: February 10, 2013, 01:20:53 AM »
LARGE BANDS

Pos   Points   Band
10   259   RBC Redemption Sound Setters
8   267   NLCB Fonclaire
8   267   PCS Nitrogen Silver Stars
6   268   CAL Invaders
6   268   WITCO Desperadoes
5   270   Junior Sammy Skiffle
4   271   Republic Bank Exodus
3   275   Bp Renegades
2   278   Neal & Massy T’dad All Stars
1   283   Petrotrin Phase ll Pan Groove

People's Choice
3 WITCO Desperadoes
2 Petrotrin Phase ll Pan Groove
1 Neal & Massy T’dad All Stars   

Results:

Medium Bands

Pos   Points   Band
10   254   Arima Angel Harps
9   256   Carib Dixeland
7   258   Steel  Xplosion
7   258   Valley Harps
6   264   NGC Couva Joylanders
5   265   Pan Elders
4   267   Curepe Scherzando
3   272   Petrotrin Katzenjammers
2   276   Courts Sound Specialists of Laventille
1   279   NLCB Buccooneers

People's Choice:
3 Pan Elders
2 NLCB Buccooneers
1 Courts Sound Specialists of Laventille
« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 01:34:23 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #33 on: February 10, 2013, 08:08:35 AM »
Loved how Phase II brought it, real sweet. Surprised at where Despers was placed. Skiffle Bunch?

Big up Bucconeers, Tobago in the big house, with Katzenjammers running 3rd. Must admit I enjoyed Joylanders.

« Reply #34 on: February 10, 2013, 10:34:22 AM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/933hY57XAMs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/933hY57XAMs</a>

« Reply #35 on: February 10, 2013, 01:16:34 PM »
T&T PANORAMA 2013 MEDIUM & LARGE CONVENTIONAL STEELBANDS FINALS RESULTS

SATURDAY 9TH FEBRUARY, 2013 @ QUEEN PARK’S SAVANNAH, PORT OF SPAIN

MEDIUM BANDS RESULTS (DESENDING ORDER):

1st (279pts) NLCB Buccooneeers "Gold" sung by Machel Montano & Friends & arranged by Seion Gomez; 2013 Champion :applause: : Made 8pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 271pts.

2nd (276pts) Courts Sound Specialists of Laventille "Long Time" sung by Arrow & arranged by Ken Philmore; Made 8pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 268pts.

3rd (272pts) Petrotrin Katzenjammers "Kershorn - The Javelin Champion" sung by Eunice Peters & arranged by Len “Boogsie” Sharpe; Made 14pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 258pts.

4th (267pts) Curepe Scherzando "We Come Out To Play" sung by DeFosto & arranged by Yohan Popwell;
Made 12pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 255pts.

5th (265pts) Pan Elders "We Come Out To Play" sung by DeFosto & arranged by Duvone Stewart;
Made 3pt improvements from their Semi-final score of 262pts

6th (264pts) NGC Couva Joylanders "Band From Space" sung by Crazy & arranged by Kenneth “Panam” Clarke; Regressed by 2pts from their Semi-final score of 266pts.

TIE 7th (258pts) Steel Xplosion "Tell Dem" sung by Black Stalin & Steve Sealy & arranged by Terrance Marcelle; Made 10pt improvements from their Semi-final score of 248pts.
TIE 7th (258pts) Valley Harps "More Love" sung by Black Stalin & arranged by Michelle Huggins–Watts; Made 4pt improvements from their Semi-final score of 258pts.

9th (256pts) Carib Dixieland "Shock Attack" sung by Denyse Plummer & arranged by Leon “Smooth” Edwards; Made 1pt improvement from their Semi-final score of 255pts.

10th (254) Arima Angel Harps "We Come Out To Play" sung by DeFosto & arranged by Shelton C. Besson; Made 5pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 249pts.

LARGE BANDS RESULTS (DESENDING ORDER):

1st (283pts) Petrotrin Phase II Pan Groove "More Love" sung by Black Stalin & arranged by Len “Boogsie” Sharpe; 2013 Champion :applause: : Made 10pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 273pts.

2nd (278pts) Neal & Massy Trinidad All Stars "Bounce & Drive" sung by Blaxx & arranged by Leon “Smooth” Edwards; Made 7pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 271pts.

3rd (275pts) Bp Renegades "Shock Attack" sung by Denyse Plummer & arranged by Duvone Stewart;
Made 11pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 264pts

4th (271pts) Republic Bank Exodus "Gold" sung by Machel Montano & Friends & arranged by Pelham Goddard; Regressed by 1pt from their Semi-final score of 272pts.

5th (270pts) Junior Sammy Group Skiffle "Sapna (The Dream)" sung by Gerelle Forbes & arranged by Ray Holman; Made 6pt improvement from their Semi-final score of 264pts.

TIE 6th (268pts) WITCO Desperadoes "Hammer Time" sung by Nicole Greaves & arranged by Robert Greenidge; Regressed by 2pts from their Semi-final score of 270pts.

TIE 6th (268pts) CAL Invaders "Dat Is Lie" sung by Rembunction & arranged by Arddin Herbert;
Made 3pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 265pts

TIE 8th (267pts) NLCB Fonclaire "Addicted" sung by Destra & arranged by Ken “Professor” Philmore;
Made 3pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 264pts

TIE 8th (267pts) PCS Nitrogen Silver Stars "Shock Attack" sung by Denyse Plummer & arranged by Edwin Pouchet; Made 2pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 265pts.

10th (259pts) RBC Redemption Sound Setters "More Than An Oil Drum" sung by Joanne Foster & arranged by Winston Gordon; Made 4pts improvement from their Semi-final score of 255pts.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 01:40:24 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #36 on: February 10, 2013, 01:36:04 PM »
Please see full Panorama results with tunes, arrangers, points, improvements, etc in my post above!

I can't understand how both Exodus and Despers could have scored less points in the Final than they did in the Semis when they both sounded even better last night than they sounded in the Semis 2 weeks ago.  :-\

Also I can't understand how my south band Fonclaire only made a 3 points improvement in the eyes of the judges from the Semis after all those nights of practise and improvements to our Semi-Final arrangement during the last 2 weeks!
Maybe the judges were tired and sleepy after a long night because Fonclaire played last for the night?!  :-\
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 12:55:45 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #37 on: February 10, 2013, 10:27:20 PM »
Anybody seen Che? Last known whereabouts was on Duke st begging for more love  :devil:

« Reply #38 on: February 10, 2013, 10:33:01 PM »
Please see full Panorama results with tunes, arrangers, points, improvements, etc in my post above!

I can't understand how both Exodus and Despers could have scored less points in the Final than they did in the Semis when they both sounded even better last night than they sounded in the Semis 2 weeks ago.  :-\

Also I can't understand how my south band Fonclaire only made a 3 points imrovement in the eyes of the judges from the Semis after all those nights of practise and improvements to our Semi-Final arrangement during the last 2 weeks!
Maybe the judges were tired and sleepy after a long night because Fonclaire played last for the night?!  :-\

Fonclaire had the massive handicap of playing right after Phase II.  No amount of practice the weeks before could overcome that.

The best South band BY FAR was Skiffle who should have had a top 3 finish.  Respeck and congrats to Skiffle and Ray Holman. A real gem that will go down in panorama history as one of the classics. ALL Southerners should be proud of them.

« Reply #39 on: February 10, 2013, 11:19:08 PM »
The best South band BY FAR was Skiffle who should have had a top 3 finish.  Respeck and congrats to Skiffle and Ray Holman. A real gem that will go down in panorama history as one of the classics. ALL Southerners should be proud of them.

I was telling people to look out for that tune in the finals. What I heard in the semis had me excited. Who knows what the judges really want

« Reply #40 on: February 11, 2013, 01:06:20 AM »

Also I can't understand how my south band Fonclaire only made a 3 points imrovement in the eyes of the judges from the Semis after all those nights of practise and improvements to our Semi-Final arrangement during the last 2 weeks!

Fonclaire had the massive handicap of playing right after Phase II.  No amount of practice the weeks before could overcome that.

:bs:
It was only a handicap because the judges were either tired combined with their usual anti-South band bias.
Why you think Skiffle also placed much lower than deserved?!

« Reply #41 on: February 11, 2013, 01:34:37 AM »

It was only a handicap because the judges were either tired combined with their usual anti-South band bias.

One day you'll get over you "dey doh like we because we from south" insecurity. Who knew you and Bertille St Clair had so much in common?  ;)

Instead a bein grateful that Fonclaire make de finals in de fuss place, yuh dey cowbawlin all over de people msb bout teefin Fonclaire.

If any band get teef was Despers. I eh hear a peep from yuh bout dat. Oh right, dey eh from South right?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 01:37:37 AM by palos »

« Reply #42 on: February 11, 2013, 09:04:10 AM »

One day you'll get over you "dey doh like we because we from south" insecurity. Who knew you and Bertille St Clair had so much in common?  ;)

Instead a bein grateful that Fonclaire make de finals in de fuss place, yuh dey cowbawlin all over de people msb bout teefin Fonclaire.

If any band get teef was Despers. I eh hear a peep from yuh bout dat. Oh right, dey eh from South right?
If you read back your previous post you would see that you self said this:
Now seeing that they finished 5th and you self said that they should have placed in the top 3, this only means that you are now contradicting yourself!   ::)

And btw is your memory span so short? I was the first one in this thread to indicate that I thought that Despers was cheated when I posted this:
I can't understand how both Exodus and Despers could have scored less points in the Final than they did in the Semis when they both sounded even better last night than they sounded in the Semis 2 weeks ago.
So its obvious that I am not blindly biased towards South bands and do appreciate good music from any steelband.

What I was saying is that Fonclaire should have scored more points in my opinion based on the improvement they made in their arrangement and performance from the Semis. Same goes for Despers and Exodus and we all know that neither Despers or Exodus are South bands so you clearly lost this argument and need to go back to the drawing board!  :loser:  ;D

Btw I do believe that your band deserved to win so congrats to Phase II.  :applause:
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 09:23:21 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #43 on: February 12, 2013, 10:10:17 AM »
Anybody seen Che? Last known whereabouts was on Duke st begging for more love  :devil:

Palos I am right here  ;D, Congrats to Phase II on a well deserved victory. All Stars (the people's champ ) will be back next year to reclaim their crown.