April 28, 2024, 05:09:23 PM

Author Topic: Caribbean Premier League Thread.  (Read 54215 times)

Re: Caribbean Premier League Thread.
« Reply #210 on: August 06, 2013, 09:57:15 PM »
I only still watching this match for spite.

Edit: even espn decide to go and sleep.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 10:02:29 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #211 on: August 06, 2013, 10:02:22 PM »
The other results going our way. We just need to win now.

« Reply #212 on: August 06, 2013, 10:14:31 PM »
Wow tino and ponting still at it after the game

« Reply #213 on: August 06, 2013, 10:20:58 PM »
DWolfman, thanks for explaining the process...well Viv look ah real happy man to have Ponting...lucky draw ah guess..

What is the purpose of Dave Mohammed selection today... was he selected as ah Fieldsman??

cause he aint bat or bowl.....surely dey could have given him an over or 2..not like d other bowlers apart from Samuels have anything to brag about..

« Reply #214 on: August 07, 2013, 08:09:02 AM »
was at the oval again yesterday hearing pple ranting about the team and conspiracy theories..steupse..wolfman wish u were there to explain cuz I does jus hadda steupse and let them rant
Hoping we get a match tonight..Forecast says rain may play a part..

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #215 on: August 07, 2013, 09:45:40 AM »
It was great seeing Ponting marshaling the troops yesterday. The players (especially the regional ones) seem to have a lot of respect for him and respond to him really well. The commentators were giving Samuels a lot of stick for not showing enough emotion and not rallying his team, but I can't blame him for that; he has always been a reserved character and expecting him to change overnight for the sake of this tournament is ridiculous. I think Ponting was well aware of this and was happy to assume the role of on-field motivator.

« Reply #216 on: August 07, 2013, 11:58:44 AM »
Allyuh hear it's 2 for 1 for The Greens (New Pavillion stand ) for tonight's game!  Come early and get at the Oval!  $60 for two tickets

« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 12:02:09 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #217 on: August 07, 2013, 10:41:59 PM »
was at the oval again yesterday hearing pple ranting about the team and conspiracy theories..steupse..wolfman wish u were there to explain cuz I does jus hadda steupse and let them rant
Hoping we get a match tonight..Forecast says rain may play a part..

Tonight I was hearing people talking that nonsense again. I don't even bother to respond. Plenty people taking basket from Andre Baptiste's article as well. If I listen to too many Trinis, I end wanting to vomit so I've learned to tune it out.

« Reply #218 on: August 08, 2013, 07:40:38 PM »
Barbados Tridents 175/6
Big score.
This is the team to beat I think.

« Reply #219 on: August 08, 2013, 09:10:19 PM »
Allyuh hear it's 2 for 1 for The Greens (New Pavillion stand ) for tonight's game!  Come early and get at the Oval!  $60 for two tickets

This part of the Oval look kind of rinky dinky!

« Reply #220 on: August 08, 2013, 09:17:01 PM »
Barbados Tridents 175/6
Big score.

St Lucia Zouks 92 (17.5/20 ov)
Barbados Tridents won by 83 runs

Time to ask: Pollard vs Bravo as captain?

« Reply #221 on: August 08, 2013, 09:38:39 PM »
Barbados Tridents 175/6
Big score.

St Lucia Zouks 92 (17.5/20 ov)
Barbados Tridents won by 83 runs

Time to ask: Pollard vs Bravo as captain?

Pollard never struck me as a big ego, confident yeah, goh trow talk on field yeah, but he seems level headed all d same and smarter too

« Reply #222 on: August 09, 2013, 04:59:33 AM »
So instead of leveling the playing field they create a new red force under the name tridets. That just happens to be owned by the main funder of CPL Mr Khan.

All the results going our way, but we not winning. Today is another therapy session in the oval
« Last Edit: August 09, 2013, 05:01:20 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #223 on: August 09, 2013, 06:04:17 AM »
Ah hear Benn drunk and smoking 1 am this morning

« Reply #224 on: August 09, 2013, 06:57:06 AM »
Couldn't they have just left us with Emrit,I dont suppose that Mr.Khan was taking any chances so they depleted us like vultures to a dead dog.This Khan fella wants Bim Tridents to win this and they are sure to win,the Trinis will see to that.As the saying goes dem Bajans and Muddies "never had it so good".
MDCNTS ALL AH DEM.

« Reply #225 on: August 09, 2013, 08:00:32 AM »
why must we develop players and de go to other teams and we doh even get a transfer fee or some sort of compensation? dais not fear.who decide where these franchise players and other goes? is it de league? teams?
Another ting take de national name out ah dem teams,let it be like everywhere else some city or other name.

« Reply #226 on: August 09, 2013, 08:24:32 AM »
dais not fear.who decide where these franchise players and other goes? is it de league? teams?
Another ting take de national name out ah dem teams,let it be like everywhere else some city or other name.

Well hear the thing, these players were selected before the tournament start, what i find odd is that they never said how the franchise player were selected for the teams.

While the draft was "fair" two teams get to choose players first more than the other teams (Guyana and Barbados), (Coincidence or random?)

Limacol title sponser - Guyanese company > Narine , Ramdin , Simmons, Perkins
Mr Khan is the main funder - Bajan > Pollard, Emritt , Gabriel

Those two teams take all the Trinis except Rampaul who went Jamaica (Coincidence?) Add on the other big international players and you see how strong they are.

Meanwhile the other teams struggling.

Another thing is, It was supposed to be City names and for some unknown reason they switched to country names.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2013, 08:26:30 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #227 on: August 09, 2013, 08:52:41 AM »
thanks D.H.W for clearing that up. I guess fairness and West Indies doh go together.People are blinded now with all de excitement but once de dust settle we will begin to hear rumblings. 

« Reply #228 on: August 09, 2013, 08:55:39 AM »
dais not fear.who decide where these franchise players and other goes? is it de league? teams?

Well hear the thing, these players were selected before the tournament start, what i find odd is that they never said how the franchise player were selected for the teams.

While the draft was "fair" two teams get to choose players first more than the other teams (Guyana and Barbados), (Coincidence or random?)

Limacol title sponser - Guyanese company > Narine , Ramdin , Simmons, Perkins
Mr Khan is the main funder - Bajan > Pollard, Emritt , Gabriel

Those two teams take all the Trinis except Rampaul who went Jamaica (Coincidence?) Add on the other big international players and you see how strong they are.

Dem two countries especially like to tief all things Trinbagonian and brand it as their own.  Ain't nuttin new. It vexes me how TnT allows it to continue to happen.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2013, 08:57:33 AM by ProudTrinbagonian »

« Reply #229 on: August 09, 2013, 11:16:38 AM »
this is d explanation DWoflman give me...for Ponting

What power do the WI selectors have and what do they gain by using this "power" to assign him to the Hawksbills? He said he would like to play for the T&T franchise, but he had no say in where he played. The franchise players were assigned, not how, and we ended up with Ross Taylor. The CPL used a hierarchical draft system starting with 6 regional franchise players, 6 international franchise players, regional elite, international elite, regional Pool B, international Pool B and then regional U-23 players. In addition there was a 4-man selection committee consisting of the team's head and assistant coaches and their two franchise players. They were allowed a certain number of selections from each level, for example you must have a minimum of 2 U-23s in your squad of 15 (if I'm not mistaken they must be from the home country as well) which also includes the 2 franchise players. Taylor, Bravo, Greenidge and David Williams pick this squad.

« Reply #230 on: August 09, 2013, 11:23:13 AM »
Yes I know the process, I was following the draft live.

My take is how Barbados and Guyana get so lucky picking players first each round. Now this could be a random fluke, but its just strange that's all. Trinidad had the worse because we were almost always last in each round picking players. So we get the left overs

« Reply #231 on: August 10, 2013, 05:45:14 AM »
so the teams will be like this every year, so will it be a complete re-shuffle next year?

« Reply #232 on: August 10, 2013, 03:07:50 PM »
Oval sold out for tomorrow double header

« Reply #233 on: August 10, 2013, 05:41:43 PM »
Zouks vs Jamaica 2nite.

Zouks batting first

« Reply #234 on: August 11, 2013, 04:48:00 AM »
Rain boy. Oval might be wash out

« Reply #235 on: August 11, 2013, 12:26:29 PM »
Rain hold up. First match at 3pm

« Reply #236 on: August 11, 2013, 01:00:46 PM »
Simmons out first ball

« Reply #237 on: August 11, 2013, 01:07:47 PM »
Good . Doh make no runs here. Go back Guyana!

« Reply #238 on: August 11, 2013, 02:24:57 PM »
Pollard is just showing off now.

« Reply #239 on: August 11, 2013, 03:53:27 PM »
Bdos getting a good cutass now..almost makin me feel to go down for the second game