March 28, 2024, 11:37:54 AM

Author Topic: Two Guyanese to have played for Trinidad (Cricket)  (Read 7061 times)

Two Guyanese to have played for Trinidad (Cricket)
« on: February 18, 2013, 11:01:51 AM »
Name two Guyanese to have played cricket for TT?

NOT TALL MAN!!!

Re: Two Guyanese to have played for Trinidad (Cricket)
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 12:25:23 AM »
Tall Man go ahead.

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2013, 01:21:12 AM »

Colin Croft and Lance Gibbs

Online Tallman

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2013, 06:19:04 AM »
Rohan Kanhai is one. Me eh know de next one.

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2013, 12:16:27 PM »

Hint, he played in the 40s and 50s.

Online Tallman

« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2013, 07:10:38 PM »

Anthony Nigel Slinger

« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2013, 07:56:50 PM »

Anthony Nigel Slinger

I have no record of him playing for TT, can you prove it?

« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2013, 08:04:40 PM »

Anthony Nigel Slinger

Answer: Doosha Persaud. Made 174 in his FC debut for Guyana vs. Barbados. - 1937.
Played for TT in 1941 and also participated in the Beaumont Cup.

« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2013, 08:05:27 PM »
So I was wrong he played in the 30s and 40s.  ;D ;D

Online Tallman

« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2013, 09:22:40 PM »

Anthony Nigel Slinger

Diaz what dey say in his profile: http://www.espncricinfo.com/review2012/content/player/53058.html

There is also George Learmond

« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2013, 09:47:56 PM »

Anthony Nigel Slinger

Diaz what dey say in his profile: http://www.espncricinfo.com/review2012/content/player/53058.html

There is also George Learmond

You know I went to the profile the first time and didn't see it.  ;D

Well both o' we right and it looks like three not two.

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2013, 07:10:06 PM »
VB, the questions to hard man. My mother din born yet.

« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2013, 07:00:14 AM »
Why did Kanhai play for TnT ,when ?

Online Tallman

« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2013, 07:06:41 AM »
Why did Kanhai play for TnT ,when ?

He played in 1964/65. Me eh know why.

« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2013, 07:13:29 AM »
 Cant find it,thats odd he did.

Online Tallman

« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2013, 07:54:56 AM »

« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2013, 07:59:03 AM »

He played against Australia:
http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Scorecards/27/27315.html
And we still lorsed ,but why did he play doh .Thats weird, like they just asked him and he took it as a warm up game maybe.

« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2013, 12:13:08 PM »

He played against Australia:
http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Scorecards/27/27315.html
And we still lorsed ,but why did he play doh .Thats weird, like they just asked him and he took it as a warm up game maybe.

Not as weird as it seems.
Remember the islands were just a sub team to the WI, so if you lived in another country, eg. Clyde Walcott who moved to Guyana to coach:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/player/53211.html

then you were allowed to play for them so you could be considered for the WI.
In cricketing terms it would be like moving from county to county or zone to zone.

« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2013, 01:05:02 PM »
I do remember seeing Wes Hall opening bowling for TT in the Shell Shield in 71 or /and 72. He bowled from the northern end and Julien from the pavilion end. Actually, we won our first Shell shield when he played.

« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2013, 01:41:49 PM »
I do remember seeing Wes Hall opening bowling for TT in the Shell Shield in 71 or /and 72. He bowled from the northern end and Julien from the pavilion end. Actually, we won our first Shell shield when he played.

Correct, he was coaching in TT just like Weekes was coaching in Guyana.

In fact I think they named a league after Hall in TT.

« Reply #20 on: September 23, 2015, 07:56:25 AM »
Colin Croft is one.

« Reply #21 on: September 23, 2015, 10:52:55 AM »
Sarwan and Narsingh playing this year.