April 28, 2024, 10:07:07 AM

Author Topic: Opportunities  (Read 2945 times)

Opportunities
« on: March 12, 2013, 03:12:22 PM »
Most of our players go through a secondary school education locally and then look into being picked up for a scholarship subsequent to that. I want to use this thread to bring a few opportunities to the attention of parents of youngsters, youngsters themselves etc.

To start ... there's a school in Florida named Montverde Academy ... some of you may know it as one of the highest ranked prep programs in the U.S. for basketball ... but I want to talk football here.

http://montverde.org
http://mvasports.com/

http://mvasports.com/team/montverde-academy-soccer/  (for boys)

The Eagles were recognized as the Preseason #1 high school team in the nation by ESPN Rise Magazine for the 2011-12 winter season and finished the year with an overall record of 23 wins, 0 losses, and 4 draws.  The Boys Varsity Soccer Program was recognized as the #1 high school program in the country for 2011-12 by MaxPreps.com and finished #2 in the final ESPN Rise Magazine rankings.  For the second consecutive year under Head Coach Mike Potempa, the entire Senior class of 2012 signed athletic specific scholarships at NCAA and NAIA institutions and currently holds the nation's longest unbeaten streak at 54 matches.

http://mvasports.com/team/montverde-academy-girls-varsity-soccer/  (for girls)

Some months back, I had a conversation with former Canadian international, Robbie Aristodemo, the girls' coach @ Montverde, and one of the things he mentioned is that Montverde offers the prospect of scholarships and grants to kids from all over the world, who would otherwise find the cost of attendance prohibitive. Yuh hadda submit paperwork etc, but small thing if yuh serious.

I've provided several links, check it out ... this isn't an ad for them (I wasn't asked to bring this to anyone's attention), but if one of the forum family or national family could benefit from this, why not? Bless.

Get past the sticker shock @ the cost of tuition there. Believe me when I tell you it's possible. Dreams start somewhere.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 01:07:36 AM by asylumseeker »

Re: Opportunities for T&T youngsters ... success off the beaten path
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 03:31:53 PM »
For the older ones, Durham University in the UK annually looks for players with collegiate soccer playing experience who have an interest in extending their playing careers ... yuh doh have to have played in the NCAA (D-I, D-II or D-III) or NAIA ... USCAA?

Iz possible that if you are a solid, competent player who for instance represented one of the UWI campuses, you too could be in the mix with the proper supporting documentation ... buh doh hold me to that. Link de man via email and ask questions.

They offer the following:
On the women's side:
Durham University is seeking to appoint two women's soccer graduate assistant player/coaches for the 2013/14 academic year. The successful candidate will help to oversee one of the leading women's soccer programmes in Britain with ambitions of becoming National University Champions and competing in the FA Women's Football Superleague.

*British University Sport eligibility regulations will also allow the successful candidates to play for the University team.

The assistant coaches will work alongside the Senior Women's Soccer Coach. These player/coaching posts are to be combined with full time postgraduate (MA or MSc) study. Masters qualifications are completed in one year in Britain - over 150 world class MA and MSc programmes are available.

The successful candidates will receive the following package:

Free accommodation

Up to 60% reduction in course fees reducing tuition to between £5,500 and £10,000 depending upon course choice

Requirements: An undergraduate degree with a GPA of 3.0 or the equivalent; at least three years NCAA playing experience and some prior experience or significant interest in coaching.

CLOSING DATE is March 15 (My bad! Hurry!) Ah doh have all the details  ... reach out to Quentin Sloper at q.r.sloper@dur.ac.uk

They've been doing this for about 5 years now, so if yuh eh ketch it this year, link them next year.
On the men's side:

Durham University is seeking to recruit four men's soccer postgraduate scholars for the 2013/14 academic year.
The successful candidates will become part of a squad with National Championship ambitions and will also have some opportunities to develop their coaching experience.

*British University Sport eligibility regulations allow the successful candidates to play for the University team regardless of the number of years played in the NCAA.

Masters qualifications are completed in one year in Britain - over 150 world class MA and MSc programmes are available.

The successful candidates will receive the following package:
Up to 60% reduction in course fees reducing tuition to between £7,000 and £10,500 depending upon course choice.

For further information please contact Quentin Sloper
Email: q.r.sloper@dur.ac.uk

Closing Date For Applications: March 28th 2013

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 03:35:16 PM »
P.S. Durham has a bunch of sports in which they do the same so ... right now they advertising for golf and American football as well. Link de man. Ask questions.

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2013, 05:48:27 PM »
Appreciate it Asylum Seeker ..valuable info

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 10:19:08 PM »
Dear _____

TSF Academy will once again be fielding a team in the USL W-League for the 2013 season.  The North Jersey Valkyries – our Women’s Pro-Am team – competed in the league last season, and had its most successful campaign in its short 3 year history, finishing second in its conference.

We have built the program around a strong, competitive environment, where players are challenged to work hard during the summer, and look to improve their game understanding and technical/tactical play in arguably the best competition for Women’s soccer outside of the professional league in the USA.

We begin in May and run through July 28, training twice-a-week.  This season we will play 12 regular season games, against Long Island Rough Riders, New York Magic, New Jersey Wildcats, DC United, Fredericksburg & Virginia Beach.

The North Jersey Valkyries covers all costs to its players including:

Training
Registration & Insurance
Training Uniform
Travel

*Game day uniform is given out at the beginning of the game, collected at the end, and washed & prepared for the next game in-house

In return, players are asked to be fully committed to the training program, and games, as well as available to make player appearances and help in the promotion of the team.  We also run a ‘Valkyries Summer Select’ program for U10 & U12 Girls, and ask the senior players to assist in coaching these teams.

With the core group of last season’s successful team already committed to return to the 2013 roster, we are looking to add just a few high-level players to the squad.  If you have any players who will be in the New Jersey area, and who you believe are at the level to play on a premier women’s team, I would appreciate it if you could send me those players contact details.

Many thanks in advance

Mark White
General Manager
TSF Academy / The Sports Factory / North Jersey Valkyries
Head Coach – TSF U18G Fire / North Jersey Valkyries
973-696-9199 (ph); 973-696-9499 (f)

Offline amwood

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2013, 07:18:03 PM »
"To start ... there's a school in Florida named Montverde Academy ... some of you may know it as one of the highest ranked prep programs in the U.S. for basketball ... but I want to talk football here."

Great info man, a friend just emailed some info about this school, they currently have a scholarship for a 15 year old. If anyone knows of any kids who are at a really high level in Trini at this age, please contact me...everything is paid for...they are said to be a more serious setup than IMG..

« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2013, 11:31:34 AM »
Mods, please permit a lil discretion on this ... thanks.

Basketball and Volleyball Scholarships

The University of East London (UEL), England, is seeking to recruit men and women high performance volleyball players as postgraduate scholars for the 2013/14 academic year. UEL aims to become one of the best Universities for sport in the UK, and number 1 in London.

Basketball is one of our key focus sports for achieving major competitive success, and subsequently attract our finest sports scholarship package, which is without doubt the best in the UK.

Volleyball is a focus sports, ensuring volleyball scholars have access to world-class coaching and facilities.

Our volleyball and basketball clubs compete in the top tier of University leagues and have close links with professional clubs in London, giving scholars optimal competition throughout the year. Our current scholars include current senior and junior GB internationals.

Successful applicants will receive the following scholar package:- •100% of tuition fees (worth £10,500) •£1000 bursary for living expenses for the academic year •Free access to SportsDock (www.sportsdock.co.uk) •Free Strength and Conditioning Coaching •Free Physiotherapy •Free Sports Massage •Free UEL Scholarship clothing from kit sponsor Kukri •Additional access to training facilities where required •Support from the Elite Athlete Flexible Study Policy

British University Sport eligibility regulations will allow the successful candidates to play for the University team regardless of how many years played in the NCAA.

For more information and to apply please contact our High Performance Team- highperformancesports@uel.ac.uk

To be eligible for an international scholarships, applicants need to be competing at either junior international (T&T U23 etc.), senior national(e.g. NCAA D1) or senior international level. This is a competitive application process and scholarships are awarded to the strongest candidates first. The number of awards is limited and unsuccessful applicants will be notified.

These scholarship awards are limited to postgraduate study only (MSc or MA), and for students wishing to study their degree over 1 or 2 years. UEL has 7 schools of study, and details of all the current postgraduate courses can be accessed at
http://www.uel.ac.uk/postgraduate/

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 06:26:40 PM »
Not targeted to local-based, but ... an opportunity.

Real Boston Rams opportunity

Friday, January 03, 2014

________,

Please feel free to pass along the information below to any interested player...

Coming off a very successful 2013 which included being named the Rookie Franchise of the Year in the PDL and establishing a relationship with the New England Revolution of the MLS; we are excited about the upcoming season. The Real Boston Rams are looking to continue their positive growth heading into our sophomore season. Our continued partnership with New England Revolution allows our organization to further develop our homegrown talent in the Northeast Region with a goal of becoming the best PDL club in the region. In addition to PDL success our Reserve teams played very well and competed for the championship in the Massachusetts Twilight League.

Our first tryout of the year will be held on Sunday January 12th from 2:00-4:00pm at the Dana Farber Field House at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, MA.

The fee to tryout is $60. This includes the 2 – 3 tryouts we will be hosting. Here is the registration link:

https://www.sportspilot.com/register/family/default.asp?asoid=106256

(Please complete all the required information and make payment) If you have any questions, please feel free to email tryouts@bostonrams.com . You can find up to the minute tryout information on our website:www.bostonrams.com

There will be no players accepted on the field without completing the registration process. Any player that registers on-site must pay the fee in cash. Checks will NOT be accepted.

You will be trying out for the PDL team at this first tryout. We will determine which players can continue to get a look for the PDL and which can be considered for the Ram’s Reserve Team(s). The Reserve teams will have a player fee that will cover: league fees, uniforms, field rentals, referee fees and etc. It will NOT include your Mass Amateur ID Card. That is your responsibility as it is your pass to play wherever you choose.

All PDL players MUST:

1)      Be able to provide own transportation

2)      Be able to provide own housing

3)      Be able to commit to at least 2 training sessions per week

4)      Be able to commit to ALL games on the schedule (May – July)

5)      Be able to present a Passport

There are other requirements for PDL players that will be discussed once you have been identified as a PDL pool player.

Again, Thank you very much for your interest in the Real Boston Rams. We hope to have you as part of our family in one way or another – as a player, fan, and/or supporter!

Happy Holidays to you all and safe travels!

John Barata
General Manager Real Boston Rams

Peter Mendel
Assistant DOC RBSA
Staff Coach Real Boston Rams
pmendel@bostonrams.com
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 06:40:30 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 06:34:23 PM »
Not targeted to local-based, but ... an opportunity nonetheless.

2014 Summer Team Opportunity with TSF

Thursday, December 19

Dear _______,

TSF Academy will once again be fielding three Women’s teams during the 2014 summer. 

The North Jersey Valkyries will have a Women’s Pro-Am team (competing in the USL W-League) as well as a Valkyries Reserve Team (U23) & Valkyries Development Team (U20) – these two teams will compete in the US Club Adult Leagues.

We have built the program around a strong, competitive environment, where players are challenged to work hard during the summer, and look to improve their game understanding and technical/tactical play in arguably the best competition for Women’s soccer outside of the professional league in the USA.

We begin in May and run through July 28, training twice-a-week.  This season our Pro-Am team will play 12 regular season games, against Long Island Rough Riders, New York Magic, New Jersey Wildcats, Washington Spirit Reserves, & Northern Virginia.

The North Jersey Valkyries covers all costs to its players including:

Training

Registration & Insurance

Training Uniform

Travel

*Game day uniform is given out at the beginning of the game, collected at the end, and washed & prepared for the next game in-house.

In return, players are asked to be fully committed to the training program, and games, as well as available to make player appearances and help in the promotion of the team.  We also run a ‘Valkyries Summer Select’ program for U9-U14 girls, and ask the senior players to assist in coaching these teams.

With the core group of last season’s team already committed to return to the 2014 roster, we are looking to add just a few high-level players to the squad.  If you have any players who will be in the New Jersey area, and who you believe are at the level to play on a premier women’s team, I would appreciate it if you could send me those players contact details.

Many thanks in advance

Wishing you a very Happy Holiday

Mark White
General Manager
TSF Academy / The Sports Factory / North Jersey Valkyries
973-696-9199 (ph); 973-696-9499 (f)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 06:39:51 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 07:00:18 PM »
Sacramento Republic FC opportunity

Calling Roopie!!!! Paging Roopie  ...

Sacramento Republic FC will be holding tryouts on January 18 and 19.

http://www.sacrepublicfc.com/football-club/player-tryouts/#.UsitSOL1w99

Location: Davis Legacy Soccer Complex, located off Highway 80 in Davis.*

Each of the two-day tryouts are open tryout opportunities for soccer players, ages 18 or older, to receive full assessment from Sacramento Republic FC coaching staff. This can include Technical Director Graham Smith and Head Coach Predrag “Preki” Radosavlijevic.

The tryouts are not limited to testing match-like situations, as all areas of skill will be
assessed.

Lunch will be provided on both days and each player will receive a Sacramento Republic FC T-shirt.

The registration fee for each two-day tryout is $200 per person.

Those wishing to participate are asked to pre-register using the form below. Our staff will review your application and send you a link to a formal registration page.

Space is limited as each tryout is open to no more than 66 participants.

« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 07:05:30 PM »
FC Tucson opportunity

http://www.uslpdl.com/home/777392.html

FC Tucson has announced it will hold an open tryout for players 18 years of age and older on Saturday, January 11 (5 p.m. to 9 p.m.) and Sunday, January 12 (8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 3 p.m.) at the Kino Sports Complex. Any eligible players who wish to sign up for the open tryout can visit the site www.fctucsonregistrations.ticketsocket.com. There is a $20 fee to register and those who make the team will be refunded.

“We know there are a lot of very talented players in Tucson and Southern Arizona and we want to find these players and give them a chance to represent FC Tucson,” said FC Tucson General Manager Jon Pearlman. “Everyone who has played for the club has learned how important the local soccer community is to us. And getting a chance to play in front of those screaming supporters, under the lights and against MLS clubs, is an honor. We’d love to see players from the area wearing the FC Tucson crest with pride as we show some of these professional soccer clubs how special our local soccer community is.”

Added FC Tucson Head Coach Rick Schantz: “For me there’s nothing better than leading a team of players from the local area and representing our community together. When the lights go on, and the referee blows the opening whistle and then you hear countless Tucson soccer fans screaming in support of your club, there isn’t a better soccer experience.”

The open tryout will be on Saturday, January 11 (5 p.m. to 9 p.m.) and Sunday, January 12 (8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 3 p.m.).

Players under 18 must contact FC Tucson General Manager Jon Pearlman at jonathan@fctucson.com.

« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 07:10:08 PM »
Carolina Dynamo

Friday, December 27, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- The Carolina Dynamo have announced open tryouts for their 2014 PDL and Reserve Teams, to be held at the Smith Athletic Complex in Greensboro, N.C. on March 2, 2014.

This will be the only open tryout for the team this preseason, and there is a registration fee of $70 required prior to February 28. Any player interested in playing for the Dynamo should attend. More information can be found by visiting www.carolinadynamo.com.

The Dynamo are the defending USASA Amateur Cup National Champions, and reached the PDL Championship Game in 2012. The oldest minor league soccer team in the nation, the Dynamo are entering their 22nd season in 2014 as they continue to provide opportunity for elite college players with professional aspirations.

The Dynamo compete in the PDL, the top amateur development league in North America, and have also participated regularly in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. The league season runs from May through July/August, with the team set to play games in Kentucky, Ohio, North Carolina, and South Carolina as they compete for a place in th PDL Playoffs.

The Dynamo have also been a proving ground for future professionals, with many of the club's alumni having been drafted by MLS clubs. Most recently, No. 1 MLS SuperDraft selection Andrew Wenger was taken by the Montreal Impact, with other players such as Sheanon Williams (Philadelphia Union), Jalil Anibaba (Chicago Fire) and Corben Bone (Philadelphia Union) having been members of the squad in recent years.

Overall, the Dynamo have 40 former players currently playing professionally, including 19 in Major League Soccer. Seventy-seven former players have been selected in the MLS SuperDraft after playing for the Dynamo. The Carolina Dynamo is one most successful clubs in all of US Soccer, having won five National Championships, multiple Conference Championships, and 12 Division Titles.

http://www.uslpdl.com/home/777510.html

« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 07:14:47 PM »
Ocean City Nor'Easters

Tryout in NJ tomorrow (Sunday, January 5).

http://nuss.coffeecup.com/forms/OC%20Nor%27Easters%20Tryout%20Registration/

Yuh can pay onsite ($50). Location: Rutgers University - Camden from 12 to 4 p.m
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 07:21:17 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 07:19:05 PM »
Westchester Flames

Looking for players. You must be born on or after January 1, 1994 in order to be eligible.

E-mail your soccer resume to Joao de Souza, Director of Coaching for the Westchester Flames Youth Program and Super 20 Head Coach joao@westchesterflames.com in order to be considered.

About Westchester Flames F.C.
http://www.westchesterflames.com/

The Super-20 League provides the platform for top 17- to 20-year-old soccer players in the United States and Canada to compete at the elite level. While serving as a reserve team system for many PDL teams, the Super-20 League features teams competing in regional divisions, playing in 8-10 regular season matches throughout the summer months. The Westchester Flames Super-20 men’s team ranked 4th in North America in 2012.

« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 07:24:17 PM »
REGISTER ONLINE: http://soundersu23.com/home/777835.html

Open tryouts are open to male soccer players, ages 18 years and older. Tryouts will feature small-sided as well as 11v11 games. Players will be assessed by members of the Sounders FC technical and coaching staffs.

All players must register online at SoundersU23.com and will not be allowed to participate unless they have registered and pre-paid.

Open Tryouts for Seattle U-23s

Details
Date: March 8-9
Times: Saturday – 12pm-4pm (players will be emailed with any specifics on session assignment) and Sunday – 9-11am
Location: Sunset Chevrolet Stadium in Sumner, WA - 901 Valley Avenue, Sumner, WA 98390
Registration: All players wishing to attend tryouts must fill out the application forms at SoundersU23.com. Applications must be submitted online and payment processed. Absolutely no applications will be accepted via phone or fax. All registrants will receive email confirmation.
Registration Fee: $50
Registration Deadline: March 7, 2014 (3pm cutoff)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 07:26:13 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2014, 07:38:43 PM »
Mississippi Brilla

www.brillasoccer.org

$25; February 21 and 22, 2014.

In addition to the open tryout, this year’s tryout weekend will also feature an invitational trial on Saturday, February 22. The invitation only tryout will include sessions from 11:00 am - 12:30 pm and 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm. Both sessions will take place at Arrow Field in Clinton. Coach Drew Courtney will offer personal invitations for Saturday’s trial. Players involved in Friday’s open tryout will have the opportunity to be invited to Saturday’s tryouts as well.

Mississippi Brilla FC is entering its eighth year of competition in the PDL, the top developmental league in North America. The PDL has proven to be one of the most important stepping-stones for professional soccer players around the world. Mississippi Brilla has rostered 20 players that are currently playing or previously played professional soccer.

« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2014, 07:42:43 PM »
BYU Cougars News Release -- www.byusoccer.com

Friday, January 3, 2013

PROVO, Utah -- The BYU Cougars will be completing their squad for the 2014 PDL after three days of intense winter tryouts, which will begin on Jan 9, 2014 at 6 a.m. and are open to current high school seniors, transfer students and current BYU students. All those who try out should anticipate becoming a full time BYU student

Participants are expected to attend all sessions. There is a $50 tryout fee that can be paid in the Richards Building (RB) just north of the Smith Fieldhouse in room 112. The office is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The office will be open at 6 a.m. on the morning of January 9th for those who cannot pay dues ahead of time.

Covered by the tryout fee all players will receive a long sleeve Nike shirt. There will be an identification number on the shirt required for the tryout.

There will be a two-mile run and a condition Beep Test during the afternoon on Thursday or Friday.

“We welcome anyone who would like to be a part of the team,” said assistant coach Chad Sackett. “The guys should expect a good hard training and come prepared to bring their best.”

All tryouts will be held in the BYU Indoor Practice Facility (IPF) located west of the Smith Fieldhouse. Schedule is as follows:

Thursday, January 9th:  6-9 a.m. and 7-10 p.m. 
Friday, January 10th: 6-10 a.m. and 3-5 p.m. 
Saturday, January 11th: 6 a.m.-10 p.m.

For those who make the team, practice will begin Monday Jan 13, 2014 and last from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m.

Last season the Cougars held a final record of 9-8-3 overall. BYU competes in the PDL, the fourth tier of the American Soccer Pyramid. The Brigham Young University Cougars have competed in the league since May 2003. BYU’s team is the first University-sponsored soccer program to purchase a franchise and compete at a higher level. For more information on the team please visit soccer.byu.edu.

The Cougars are also gathering its 2014 sponsors. If you are interested in sponsoring the team or speaking to any of the coaches please contact Chanel Klein at chanelklein20@gmail.com or call her at 760-560-7778.

« Reply #17 on: January 04, 2014, 07:49:34 PM »
Wilmington Hammerheads -- www.wilmingtonhammerheads.com

The club will host three professional open tryouts for the upcoming 2014 USL PRO regular season.

The tryout dates are February 8-9, 2014 and March 8-9, 2014 at Legion Stadium in Wilmington, North Carolina and February 22-23, 2014 at New Overpeck Park in Ridgefield Park, New Jersey.

Weather dependent, the Ridgefield, New Jersey combine may be subject to change and take place at Capelli Sport Center in Carlstadt, New Jersey.

These professional combines are great opportunities for potential players to showcase their abilities in front of key decision makers for the Wilmington Hammerheads organization. Eligible college seniors, free agents and amateur players seeking a professional contract are welcome to register.

The Hammerheads have discovered several key players during previous combines, most recently 2013 Wilmington Hammerheads Rookie of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, Kyle Greig. Past Hammerheads combines have assembled players such as Luke Mulholland (2011 USL PRO Rookie of the Year, USL PRO All-League) and veteran Hammerheads players Paul Nicholson and Tom Parratt who have taken the field for multiple years.

“With combines, it is a bag full of different tricks,” said David Irving, Wilmington Hammerheads Head Coach. “You never know what you are going to see with the range of talent. Kyle Greig, for example, attended a combine last Spring and I requested he stay for a week of training. Shortly thereafter, he signed his first professional contract and had an outstanding debut season with the team.”

Registration for all Wilmington Hammerheads combines is scheduled to open in the coming weeks.

Players interested in attending these professional combines must register online at www.wilmingtonhammerheads.com/combines.php. A complete registration form must be filled out prior to the combine. A registration fee of $175 must be submitted during the registration process along with indication of the combine date in which the player plans to attend. All players are required to bring a form of valid identification (i.e. Driver’s License, passport, etc.) to the tryout. There will be no refunds for the Hammerheads combines.

The Hammerheads will also be holding an open tryout for local players in Wilmington and surrounding areas on February 15, 2014. This will be a one day event with a registration fee of $60.

For more information, please email jason.arnold@wilmingtonhammerheads.com or visit www.wilmingtonhammerheads.com.

« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2014, 08:44:15 PM »
We'll done pardna  :beermug: