March 28, 2024, 12:32:01 PM

Author Topic: T&T kicks-off 2013 Gold Cup against El Salvador in NJ.  (Read 6370 times)

T&T kicks-off 2013 Gold Cup against El Salvador in NJ.
« on: March 13, 2013, 04:10:27 PM »
T&T to open against El Salvador in 2013 Gold Cup.

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup groups and schedule, as well as awarded the 2013 Gold Cup final to the City of Chicago and Soldier Field, to be played on Sunday, July 28, 2013 at 4pm EST.

As previously announced, the Rose Bowl will host the opening doubleheader of the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup on Sunday, July 7, which will feature reigning Gold Cup champion, Mexico taking on Panama as part of that doubleheader.

Tickets to all Gold Cup matches, an official FIFA calendar tournament, will be available to the general public starting on Thursday, March 21 at 10:00 a.m. (local time in all markets) by visiting GoldCup.org. Special pre-sales will be available starting tomorrow, Thursday, March 14 at many of the participating Gold Cup cities.

"We look forward to a successful tournament and an exciting 2013 Gold Cup final on July 28, right here at Soldier Field," said CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb. "We also expect yet another competition fueled by passionate fans brought together in a celebration that will hopefully inspire a whole new generation of players."

Mexico will anchor Group A, which begins play on July 7, in a double header that kicks off with Canada taking on Martinique at 5:30pm EST the Rose Bowl. Honduras will lead Group B the following day, facing Haiti at Red Bull Arena on July 8, with El Salvador and Trinidad & Tobago facing off earlier in the evening. The United States will play the following night, July 9 in Portland's JELD-WEN Field against Belize in Group C, which also will include Costa Rica vs. Cuba in the first match of the doubleheader.

The 2013 Gold Cup quarterfinals will be played in Atlanta's Georgia Dome and Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium, both first-time hosts in the tournament. The semifinals will head to Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX on Wednesday, July 24.

With a mix of historic venues and brand new state of the art soccer facilities that average 57,000 spectators, the 2013 edition of the Gold Cup promises to provide fans both in stadium and at home with unforgettable atmospheres. In 2011, the tournament drew more than 600,000 fans throughout 13 match-days, including nine sell-outs. Taking place every two years, the Gold Cup has established itself as the region's most popular national team tournament, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of television viewers across the region. It features the confederation's best players from the top 12 nations

2013 CONCACAF GOLD CUP™

GROUP A: Mexico, Panama, Canada, Martinique
GROUP B: Honduras, El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti
GROUP C: USA, Costa Rica, Belize, Cuba

SCHEDULE
(local time followed by EDT time)
First Round

Sunday, July 7 - Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
Canada vs. Martinique, 2:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. EDT)
Mexico vs. Panama, 5:00 p.m. (8:00 p.m. EDT)

Monday, July 8 - Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
El Salvador vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
Haiti vs. Honduras, 9:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Tuesday, July 9 - JELD-WEN Field (Portland, OR)
Costa Rica vs. Cuba, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. EDT)
Belize vs. USA, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. EDT)

Thursday, July 11 - CenturyLink Field (Seattle, WA)
Panama vs. Martinique, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. EDT)
Mexico vs. Canada, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. EDT)

Friday, July 12 - Sun Life Stadium (Miami, FL)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
Honduras vs. El Salvador, 9:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Saturday, July 13 - Rio Tinto Stadium (Salt Lake City, UT)
USA vs. Cuba, 1:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m. EDT)
Costa Rica vs. Belize, 4:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m. EDT)

Sunday, July 14 - Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver, CO)
Martinique vs. Mexico, 2 p.m. (4 p.m. EDT)
Panama vs. Canada, 4:30 p.m. (6:30 p.m. EDT)

Monday, July 15 - BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
El Salvador vs. Haiti, 6 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 8:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Tuesday, July 16 - Rentschler Field (Hartford, CT)
Cuba vs. Belize, 5:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. EDT)
USA vs. Costa Rica, 8 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)

Quarterfinals

Saturday, July 20 - Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)

Group A runner-up vs. Group B runner-up, TBD (x)
Group A winner vs. Group B/C third-place, TBD (x)
x-matches scheduled for 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. local (3 p.m. and 6 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Sunday, July 21 - M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)

Group B winner vs. Group C runner-up, TBD (y)
Group C winner vs. Group A/B third place, TBD (y)
y-matches scheduled for 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. local (4 p.m. and 7 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Semifinals

Wednesday, July 24 - Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)

X quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
Y quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
z-matches scheduled for 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. local (7 p.m. and 10 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Final

Sunday, July 28- Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
Semifinal winners, 3 p.m. (4 p.m. EDT)

SOURCE: CONCACAF.COM

READ MORE

« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 04:39:25 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T kicks-off 2013 Gold Cup against El Salvador in NJ.
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 04:25:39 PM »
To reach the quarterfinals is a realistic expectation

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 05:12:26 PM »
We have a chance

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 06:25:27 PM »
Gold Cup draw: Warriors pull Haiti, Honduras and El Salvador
By Editor (Wired868)

Fortune might have smiled on the Trinidad and Tobago national senior team in Chicago today as the “Soca Warriors” arguably received its best draw ever at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, which has also become remarkably generous to its participants in the 2013 edition.

There are 12 nations in the Gold Cup finals, which kicks off on 7 July 2013 at the Rose Bowl. But only three will be eliminated in the first round while nine teams will progress to the quarterfinal stage.

In short, it is harder to be eliminated from the Gold Cup than it is to progress.

And, best of all, the Trinidad and Tobago team , the Caribbean Cup runner-up, has somehow ended up with three nations, Honduras, El Salvador and Haiti, that it has enjoyed favourable results against in the recent past.

In contrast, Group C pits host nation the United States against Central American champion, Costa Rica and Caribbean conqueror, Cuba, as well as Belize. Defending Gold Cup champion, Mexico, heads Group A which also includes Panama, Canada and Martinique.

Trinidad and Tobago has a superior head to head record against El Salvador and Haiti over the last 10 years while the tiny two-island republic is undefeated after two Gold Cup meetings with Honduras in the CONCACAF showcase tournament.

“It’s a good group,” Trinidad and Tobago joint head coach Hutson “Barber” Charles told the TTFF Media. “These are opponents we have competed well against in the past. And I feel that once we prepare well and have our best team possible on the pitch then we can definitely fancy our chances of getting positive results and progressing beyond the group stage…

“We have a program to follow with the build-up in terms of our line-up of international friendlies and the players we are looking at and we intend to stay focused and work hard towards ensuring we stick to our plans.”

Trinidad and Tobago has played in seven Gold Cup tournaments but only ever advanced to the knock-out stage in the 2000 competition when coach Bertille St Clair led to the team to the semi-finals. Since the remaining two nations were guests from other confederations, Trinidad and Tobago effectively finished second among the CONCACAF nations.

St Clair was immediately fired from his post by then special advisor Jack Warner and replaced by now deceased Scotsman Ian Porterfield.

Charles was present at today’s Gold Cup draw in Chicago along with team manager William Wallace and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) president Raymond Tim Kee.

The Warriors started their Gold Cup preparations with a 2-0 loss to Peru at Couva on 7 February 2013 while they face Belize and Peru on March 22 and 26 respectively.

Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA midfielder Densill Theobald, who is the most experienced current national player with 88 caps, also expressed his appreciation for the draw.

“No group is an easy one but I feel good about this group with Haiti, El Salvador and Honduras,” said Theobald.

Arguably, the most difficult aspect of the Gold Cup group stage is the air miles.

The Trinidad and Tobago team opens its Gold Cup Group B campaign in New Jersey on July 8 when it faces El Salvador at the Red Bull Arena

The Warriors will then travel to Miami to face Haiti at the Sunlife Stadium on July 12 before meeting Honduras at the BBVA Stadium in Houston on July 15.

2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup groups

GROUP A:  Mexico, Panama, Canada, Martinique
GROUP B:  Honduras, El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti
GROUP C: USA, Costa Rica, Belize, Cuba

Group B Schedule

Monday, July 8 – Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
El Salvador vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 7 p.m.  (7 p.m. EDT)
Haiti vs. Honduras, 9:30 p.m.  (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Friday, July 12 – Sun Life Stadium (Miami, FL)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti, 7 p.m.  (7 p.m. EDT)
Honduras vs. El Salvador, 9:30 p.m.  (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Monday, July 15 – BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
El Salvador vs. Haiti, 6 p.m.  (7 p.m. EDT)
Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 8:30 p.m.  (9:30 p.m. EDT)

Head to Head

(Tabulated as played-won-drew-lost-goals for-goals against)

Against El Salvador

(5-3-1-1-8-5)

Against Haiti

(11-6-1-4-14-8)

Against Honduras

(5-0-2-3-4-11)

« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 06:22:01 PM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2013, 07:59:12 PM »
We're coming out of this group!

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2013, 08:14:41 PM »
We got the easiest group no doubt with group A being the group of mexico and panama advancing.  ;D

all we need is ah win and a draw.

« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2013, 08:18:29 PM »
I beg to differ; nothing is guaranteed with TnT. Without our very best we only showing up and taking ah  licking.Since when we sure about getting anywhere? were we dominant in qualifying? steups..... we does get one set ah premature elation about we football with out looking at reality.

How about facing handling these questions:

So I ask the question: Could we put a price on success? Imagine TnT had the very best and talented players at the Gold Cup and we were to be in the final four and to achieve success over teams that are WC2014 bound, what might that do for our country and for our program?

Why is Keon Daniel even being considered after his refusal to be available during the qualifying? What message are we sending to other players? is this how we reward those who answered the call and may or may not have received any compensation for  the duty they provided? In my opinion Mr.Daniel does not deserve a call up. Especially since a public  declaration was not given as to his refusal to answer the alleged request by the national team.

QUESTIONS: Are there other players to consider adding to this  pool of players/ are there some that should be omitted? for example those who have indicated a lack of desire to represent TnT? Shuld we consider teh quality of our coaching staff? Is it time to seriously consider have these coaches conduct guest coaching camps:

what would  our team look like if we could have  all these players available for the best selection:

Europe
Kenwyne Jones-  S  -  28  -  Stoke City (EPL)
Carlos Edward-  M/D  -34  -  Ipswich Town (League Championship)
Jake Thompson-  D  -  23  -  Newport County (Conference National)
Andre Boucaud-  M  -  28  Notts County (League One)
Chris Birchall-  M  -  28  -Port Vale (League Two)
Robert Primus-  D  -  21  -  Aktobe (Kazakhstan Premier League)
Khaleem Hyland  -  M  - 23  -  Racing Genk(Belgian Pro  League)
Darryl Robert-  S  -  29  -  Samsunspor (TFF First League)
Lester Peltier- S -24-  SK Slovan Bratislava (Slovak Super League)
Sheldon Bateau- M- 21-  KV Mechelen (Belgian Pro League)
Meikel Williams-D-22- FC Fyn (Danish 1st Division)
Shahdon Winchester-S-23- FF Jaro (Veikkausliiga- Finnish Premier League)

Asia
Jlloyd Samuel-  D  -  31  -  Esteghlal Tehran FC (Iran Pro League)
Kendall Jagdeosingh -S-26-  Chainat FC (Thai Premier League)
Hughtun Hector -M -28-  Song Lam Nghe An FC   (V-League)
Willis Plaza -S-25- Song Lam Nghe An FC   (V-League)   

US
Julius James-  D  -  28  -  ?
Kevan George – M-22- Columbus Crew (MLS)
Keon Daniel-  M  -  25  -  Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Uriah Betnick- D – 23 - Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Damani Richards- D 18 - Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Cordell Cato – S –20- Seattle Sounders (MLS)?
Carlyle Mitchell – D-25- Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS)
Kevin Molino-  M/S  - 20  - Orlando City (USL)?
Sean Da Silva- M-22-?
Leston Paul-M-22-?

Prospective US born caps (not selected to January US training camp)
Kamani Hill- M-26 -Colorado Rapids
Nick DeLeon – M-22- DC United
Sheanon Williams- D- 22  -  Philadelphia Union

PROPER PLANNING PREVENTS POOR PERFORMANCE

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2013, 08:31:36 PM »
Come on ABT, yuh post this on three fackin threads already, bro we got it!!  say something new nah man, how yuh so ridiculous fella ??!!

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2013, 08:36:00 PM »
Jc I realize that ...but yuh know some people does post some one line chupidness..... and is like people eh want or not interested in taking on or looking at some deeper issues. We always seem content with just getting by and hoping for the best . When was the last time we  had a solid  team that was a legitimate contender at  the level of football we going to encounter? come nah people  take on the  real issues and leh we not get carried away with just showing up with ah pellet gun for the battle and everyone else have Uzi.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 08:46:16 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2013, 08:39:43 PM »
Jc I realize that ...but yuh know some people does post some one line chupidness..... and is like people eh want or not interested in taking on or looking at some deeper issues. We always seem content with just getting by and hoping for the best . When was the last item we  had a solid  team that was a legitimate contender at  the level of football we going to encounter? come nah people  take on the  real issues and leh we not get carried away with just showing up with ah pellet gun for the battle and everyone else have Uzi.

We building at least ah SLR, and we have a military man at the helm!

« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2013, 08:49:40 PM »
 Yeah we building but we need to get out of the ' little  team syndrome' aka minnows complex and start taking the game to the next level. We cyar be always  battling to just scrape by and watching impoverish nations dominating the Caribbean scene. And what we hope to beat the likes of any of these  Central American nations with their speed and finesse?

Until we bring our very best together multiple times then we could expect pure orgasmic football.

Offline Raul

• ˇHala Madrid!
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2013, 09:16:57 PM »
Gold Cup draw: Warriors pull Haiti, Honduras and El Salvador
By Editor (Wired868)

There are 12 nations in the Gold Cup finals, which kicks off on 7 July 2013 at the Rose Bowl. But only three will be eliminated in the first round while nine teams will progress to the quarterfinal stage.

Tell me again how 9 teams can qualify for the Quarter Finals?

« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2013, 09:35:03 PM »
Where we meeting up fellas, Miami?  Is ah Friday nite so man ain't have to study work the day after.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2013, 12:10:49 AM »
@AB.Trini Apparently Keon explained the reason for his bizarre behavior to the technical staff was that he was having personal and professional issues with his club and ultimately refused to speak to anyone at the time. He admitted his actions were unacceptable and apologized to the TTFF. That's why he was allowed back into the fold!

« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2013, 04:54:56 AM »
Where we meeting up fellas, Miami?  Is ah Friday nite so man ain't have to study work the day after.

hhhhhmmmm all yuh real tempting me......(note to self, yuh passport expired eh..... ::))

« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2013, 06:14:37 AM »
Hmmm......Ah wonder if Jack had anything to do wid this draw  :D

« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2013, 06:38:34 AM »
Hmmm......Ah wonder if Jack had anything to do wid this draw  :D

ha ha

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2013, 08:48:47 PM »
We have a decent record versus El Salvador and i believe a result versus Haiti is possible as well.

« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2013, 08:28:26 AM »
Allyuh in what sections we going in NJ, Miami and Houston.

Tickets going on sale tomorrow... dem spanish go buy out the stadium quick.

« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2013, 12:03:58 PM »
FF... d last time somebody didnt organize tickets for all ah we?? it wasn't you?? we hadda get somebody to organize d ting, dah way we doh end up sitting dong between dem spanish and dem... dat is hostile environment.....  So who teking on d responsibility for d NJ game???

« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2013, 12:08:54 PM »
FF... d last time somebody didnt organize tickets for all ah we?? it wasn't you?? we hadda get somebody to organize d ting, dah way we doh end up sitting dong between dem spanish and dem... dat is hostile environment.....  So who teking on d responsibility for d NJ game???

ah think it was Firebrand

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2013, 12:37:47 PM »
So, have we decided which section of the stadium we at for NJ and Miami games? I will like to secure about 6 tickets for each game.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 03:28:49 PM by TdotTrini »
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2013, 03:08:35 PM »
Coaching staff, El Salvador plays Ecuador in a friendly on Thursday. Do ah ting!

« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2013, 06:17:02 AM »

Doh frighten FF, last gold cup i was @ the game in redbulls arena to see JA vs honduras, yes all the lower deck seats was sold out, but on the upper deck there were seats in abundance.

BTW, them spanish does behave real fackin nasty and crazy, and dem stewards in RB areana ain't sh!t, so allyuh please be careful. there is also one major concern, this gang call MS 13, 16 or some sh!t so, and it's a salvadorian gang, so allyuh be careful, God willing i'll be there and hoping this time to get ah seat in the lower deck close to the field @ the center half of the field.

BTW i bought my tickets @ the arena.

« Reply #24 on: March 21, 2013, 08:57:16 AM »
Allyuh what section we taking over...

I thinking 128 and 127 that way we have two different price points to satisfy all.
Section 128 is $60 and 127 is $75. Thoughts? Tickets on sale now

EDITED for 2cents input. We going 128 and 127

« Last Edit: March 21, 2013, 09:11:27 AM by FF »

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2013, 09:05:49 AM »

Wha vibes FF...remember meeting u n a couple others at a Red Bulls game. I bought 24 tickets yesterday will be in section 128 rows 5 and 6 so y'all can try to get seats nearby if anything.
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2013, 09:19:13 AM »

Wha vibes FF...remember meeting u n a couple others at a Red Bulls game. I bought 24 tickets yesterday will be in section 128 rows 5 and 6 so y'all can try to get seats nearby if anything.

You iz de mayor of a tiny municipality or wha?  ;D

« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2013, 09:27:10 AM »

Yeah man... I have almost the same squad in 127 row 5.

SWO section start... 127 and 128!! allyuh come in.

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #28 on: March 21, 2013, 09:30:04 AM »

You iz de mayor of a tiny municipality or wha?  ;D

Lol...nah I have Red Bulls season tickets so was able to buy tickets b4 they went on sale to public today. So try to get all my people sittin together to form a small crew. Then besides my crew got some for a few forumites I'm in a whatsapp group with. Don't come on here everyday so only saw this thread today else I'd have gotten tickets also for those here who going. Section 128 rows 5 and 6 though for who gonna purchase
It's only kinky the 1st time

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #29 on: March 21, 2013, 11:48:04 AM »
Where you guys finding tickets for these prices? at the arena?
Online prices showing tickets in sections 127 for $100 plus and section 128 for $80 plus
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!