March 28, 2024, 03:48:29 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Haiti Game (12-Jul-2013).  (Read 49203 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Haiti Game (12-Jul-2013).
« on: March 13, 2013, 04:44:03 PM »

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Haiti 2013 Gold Cup game at the Sun Life Stadium (Miami, FL, 7pm) on the 12th of July 2013 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (St Ann’s Rangers), Cleon John (North East Stars), Marvin Phillip (Central FC).

Defenders

Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada), Seon Power (Chainat FC/Thailand), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Radanfar Abu Bakr (FC Vostok/Kazakhastan), Joevin Jones (W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA), Justin Hoyte (Middlesbrough FC/England).

Midfielders

Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk/Belgium), Kevin Molino (Orlando City/United States), Andre Boucard (Notts County/England), Kevon Carter (Defence Force), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town/England), Christopher Birchall (Port Vale/England), Darryl Roberts (Samsunspor/Turkey), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union/USA).

Forwards
Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City/England), Cornell Glen (Shillong Lajong/India), Jamal Gay (Caledonia AIA).

Haiti Squad

Goalkeerpers
To be updated.

Defenders
To be updated.

Midfielders
To be updated.

Forwards
To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2013, 09:28:52 PM by Tallman »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Haiti Game (12-Jul-2013).
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 08:09:07 PM »
We're coming out of the group!

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 08:17:34 PM »
I beg to differ; nothing is guaranteed with TnT. Without our very best we only showing up and taking ah  licking.Since when we sure about getting anywhere? were we dominant in qualifying? steups..... we does get one set ah premature elation about we football with out looking at reality.

How about facing handling these questions:

So I ask the question: Could we put a price on success? Imagine TnT had the very best and talented players at the Gold Cup and we were to be in the final four and to achieve success over teams that are WC2014 bound, what might that do for our country and for our program?

Why is Keon Daniel even being considered after his refusal to be available during the qualifying? What message are we sending to other players? is this how we reward those who answered the call and may or may not have received any compensation for  the duty they provided? In my opinion Mr.Daniel does not deserve a call up. Especially since a public  declaration was not given as to his refusal to answer the alleged request by the national team.

QUESTIONS: Are there other players to consider adding to this  pool of players/ are there some that should be omitted? for example those who have indicated a lack of desire to represent TnT? Shuld we consider teh quality of our coaching staff? Is it time to seriously consider have these coaches conduct guest coaching camps:

what would  our team look like if we could have  all these players available for the best selection:

Europe
Kenwyne Jones-  S  -  28  -  Stoke City (EPL)
Carlos Edward-  M/D  -34  -  Ipswich Town (League Championship)
Jake Thompson-  D  -  23  -  Newport County (Conference National)
Andre Boucaud-  M  -  28  Notts County (League One)
Chris Birchall-  M  -  28  -Port Vale (League Two)
Robert Primus-  D  -  21  -  Aktobe (Kazakhstan Premier League)
Khaleem Hyland  -  M  - 23  -  Racing Genk(Belgian Pro  League)
Darryl Robert-  S  -  29  -  Samsunspor (TFF First League)
Lester Peltier- S -24-  SK Slovan Bratislava (Slovak Super League)
Sheldon Bateau- M- 21-  KV Mechelen (Belgian Pro League)
Meikel Williams-D-22- FC Fyn (Danish 1st Division)
Shahdon Winchester-S-23- FF Jaro (Veikkausliiga- Finnish Premier League)

Asia
Jlloyd Samuel-  D  -  31  -  Esteghlal Tehran FC (Iran Pro League)
Kendall Jagdeosingh -S-26-  Chainat FC (Thai Premier League)
Hughtun Hector -M -28-  Song Lam Nghe An FC   (V-League)
Willis Plaza -S-25- Song Lam Nghe An FC   (V-League)   

US
Julius James-  D  -  28  -  ?
Kevan George – M-22- Columbus Crew (MLS)
Keon Daniel-  M  -  25  -  Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Uriah Betnick- D – 23 - Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Damani Richards- D 18 - Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Cordell Cato – S –20- Seattle Sounders (MLS)?
Carlyle Mitchell – D-25- Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS)
Kevin Molino-  M/S  - 20  - Orlando City (USL)?
Sean Da Silva- M-22-?
Leston Paul-M-22-?

Prospective US born caps (not selected to January US training camp)
Kamani Hill- M-26 -Colorado Rapids
Nick DeLeon – M-22- DC United
Sheanon Williams- D- 22  -  Philadelphia Union

PROPER PLANNING PREVENTS POOR PERFORMANCE

Spain vs Haiti
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2013, 08:36:03 PM »
Spain to play soccer friendly vs. Haiti national team at Sun Life Stadium
BY Michelle Kaufman (Miami Herald)

South Florida soccer fans will get a rare up-close look at reigning World Cup and European champion Spain when La Roja visits Sun Life Stadium on June 8 for a 4 p.m. exhibition match against the Haitian national team.

The Spanish national team, the first in history to win a World Cup sandwiched between back-to-back Euro titles, plans to bring its full star-studded roster and spend one week training at Barry University. The team will travel from Miami to Brazil for the 2013 Confederations Cup, a 2014 World Cup tune-up that runs June 15-30.

Among the FC Barcelona and Real Madrid stars expected for the Sun Life Stadium match: Xabi Alonso, Sergio Ramos, Iker Casillas, Gerard Pique, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta and Sergio Busquets.

“We want to make Sun Life Stadium the hotbed, the focal point for large, prestigious international games, and what better place to start than with the World Cup champions?” said Charlie Stillitano, CEO of Relevant, the soccer arm of Miami Dolphins owner Stephen Ross’ RSE Ventures. “There is no question they will have all their top players because they will go from here to Confederations Cup. It’s a great opportunity for South Florida fans to see the best team in the world. We anticipate a sellout. Tickets will be scarce.”

Stadium officials expect a huge turnout from the local Haitian community. Haiti won the 2007 Caribbean Nations Cup. The national team last played in Miami in July 2007 against then-Copa Libertadores champions Boca Juniors. The Haitian roster will include top players Johnny Placide, Jeff Louis, Jean-Jacques Pierre, Jean Sony Alcenat and Reginal Goreux.

Some of the ticket proceeds will be donated to Project Phoenix to aid Haitian redevelopment after the massive damage from the 2010 earthquake. Part of the money will be used to help fund a national stadium in Cite Soleil, an impoverished area in metropolitan Port-au-Prince.

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2013, 10:32:54 PM »
just select everybody 28 and younger...then sift out from there.

« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2013, 02:55:44 PM »

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2013, 03:23:05 PM »
we can come out dis group all according to the team selected
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2013, 04:51:08 PM »
Haiti support in south florida will be so strong it is like a home game for them.

« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2013, 06:41:44 PM »
Haiti support in south florida will be so strong it is like a home game for them.

Actually it should be a home game for Trinis as well.

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2013, 11:37:28 AM »
I think there are 3 times as much Haitians in Miami than Trinis...

Off topic: In preparation of the upcoming gold cup, Haiti spending the next 2 weeks in Canada playing ,local teams for a total of 4 games. Haiti totally dominated and beats MLS club Montreal Impact 2-0 in a friendly last night in Canada.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2013, 11:40:58 AM by truehaitian »

Nashy

« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2013, 08:18:22 PM »
I am not sure exactly how many Haitians are in Miami or how many Trinis are there.  But I do know we are better looking!

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2013, 04:01:05 PM »
The 2013 Gold Cup, ‘Battle of the Caribbean comes to Miami on July 12th at Sun Life Stadium

As a benefit to the Soca Warriors, we are pleased to offer you a special ticket discount for the Gold Cup Quarterfinals matches in Miami on Sunday, July 21st.

With a mix of historic venues and brand new state of the art soccer facilities that average 57,000 spectators, the 2013 edition of the Gold Cup promises to provide fans both in stadium and at home with unforgettable atmospheres. In 2011, the tournament drew more than 600,000 fans throughout 13 match-days, including nine sell-outs.

When purchasing tickets please use your VIP Club Member code (KSC13) for a $5 discount. Tickets start at just $30 and 1 (one) tickets is redeemable for both matches!

Friday, July 12th, Trinidad & Tobago v Haiti, 7PMET
Honduras v El Salvador, 9:30PMET
[Purchase Now!]

http://www.ticketmaster.com/event/0D004A658D6A4E38?camefrom=CFC_MLSOCCER_MIA

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2013, 04:23:22 PM »

Actually it should be a home game for Trinis as well.

We do have a decent population in South Florida but nothing compared to Haiti approx 200,000 and that's the legal ones.

« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2013, 11:01:07 PM »
Its definitely going to be a pro Haitian crowd, but in terms of the game, I'm curious who going to stop that Louis boy from Haiti in our midfield. Definitely not Bleeder! This game is a trouble game for T&T. The only thing we have going for us is Haiti don't have a proven goalscorer on their team. They totally outplayed probably the best team in our group and totally took them out of their game, especially in the first half. It will be interesting to see T&T try to maintain possession against this Haitian teams speed, high pressure and physicality. We can't afford to make the amount of bad passes we made in the El Salvador game on Friday or we will be punished. On the flip side, we need to continue the offensive play we had in the 2nd half of tonight's game.  :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2013, 11:37:51 PM »
my prediction is we will beat haiti and draw with hond, hond will beat el sal, which means we would need a draw to advance with hond to the next round

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2013, 05:23:26 AM »
rem the two best 3rd place teams also go tru to nxt round eh

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2013, 06:32:07 AM »
Haiti were very unlucky last night!!!!! .... FACT!!!
They dominated Honduras but failed to put away numerous chances...
They also ran outright for 90 minutes!!!
Beware of Louis and Saint Preux!!!
We need to be wary of them...
Go T&T!!!  :challenge:
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 10:24:18 AM by de_redman »

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2013, 07:17:14 AM »
Whoever in Florida and around Florida get out there and support the boys

« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2013, 10:09:29 AM »
We need to be weary of them...

And coulda run ah next 90 cool, cool......I eh wary of them, I frighten like hell...... :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2013, 10:33:29 AM »
We need to be wary of them...

They weren't unlucky. Daiz ah typical Haitian performance. Plenty fitness and high intensity mixed wit some skill, but poor decision making and execution in de final third. I've seen them do it many times before. Dey does remind meh of many an African team. But no doubt we hadda plan accordingly fuh dem. Ah wouldn't be surprised if plenty card pass in de game.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2013, 10:41:47 AM »
This will be a home game for Haiti. The numbers would fail in comparison but we can hold our own. My only concern would be Ms. Chantal though.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2013, 11:28:25 AM »
Even though I like Abu Bakr as a player, I hope he does not play against Haiti, his pace will be a factor.

« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2013, 11:34:30 AM »

And coulda run ah next 90 cool, cool......I eh wary of them, I frighten like hell...... :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

No need to be to frighten just be a little bit concern that is all, T&T is the better team. Look out  for a good game on the night.

« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2013, 02:44:40 PM »

No need to be to frighten just be a little bit concern that is all, T&T is the better team. Look out  for a good game on the night.

people who have little knowledge of football will be frighten, never underestimate an opponent and never fear them either, only God, as tallman said, we have seen haiti do this many times, they lack execution, which is why they have never dominated in concacaf.

« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2013, 05:44:55 PM »

people who have little knowledge of football

Oooooohhhhh the all knowing football guru has spoken........steups!!   ::) ::)

« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2013, 08:26:24 PM »

Doh worry with dem, I share your concerns about Haiti.  They have been profligate... but so too has TnT.  Ask El Salvador how that worked out.  Fact is that even a broken clock is right twice a day as the saying goes.  Saint Preux and Louis, as it has been stated ad nauseaum, had their way against Honduras down the right flank.  We conceded two goals from plays along the right side of the attack.  One on a set piece after and attempted give-and-go from central mid to right of mid-field.  The second goal was the result of Zelaya exploiting a defensive breakdown between our LB and left side central defender.  Criticize Haiti's finishing all you want... the way our defense (including goalkeeper) has been playing, teams are bound to get lucky, especially with all the chances Haiti can create.

« Reply #26 on: July 10, 2013, 06:34:47 AM »

The second goal was the result of Zelaya exploiting a defensive breakdown between our LB and left side central defender.   Criticize Haiti's finishing all you want... the way our defense (including goalkeeper) has been playing, teams are bound to get lucky, especially with all the chances Haiti can create.

Bakes, I took in clips of the goals last night and that second goal is exactly why I frighten like hell for us against Haiti.  But I eh know nutten bout football so ah hushing mih arse till tomorrow...... ::)

« Reply #27 on: July 10, 2013, 07:57:53 AM »

The second goal was the result of Zelaya exploiting a defensive breakdown between our LB and left side central defender.   Criticize Haiti's finishing all you want... the way our defense (including goalkeeper) has been playing, teams are bound to get lucky, especially with all the chances Haiti can create.

Bakes, I took in clips of the goals last night and that second goal is exactly why I frighten like hell for us against Haiti.  But I eh know nutten bout football so ah hushing mih arse till tomorrow...... ::)

Yep, you right but it could be a different game come Friday. I doh think Haiti could play the same game twice in a row T&T is a different opponent though, tactical situations and adjustments will be looked at way before kick off on Friday night.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2013, 12:51:26 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #28 on: July 10, 2013, 10:34:39 AM »
Best wishes to the team as they move on to this game. With our team in this formative stage of development and ascent to the heights of previous years, no game for us appears to be an easy one to claim victory.  Do we have the potential to achieve success- YES are we a dominant force- not yet are we moving in the right direction- YES- Is it possible to have a positive result?- yes

What does Haiti bring to the table that we do not have?  player for player where do we stack up?  How we manage teh pace of Haiti is for us to decide- how we slow the game down and force them to play at a different pace is what is manageable. Finally in Kj and our attackers we are seeing  possible gamebreakers.
SO CAN WE DO IT? The collective efforts of all should endure.

Best Regards for a positive result on Friday- GO WARRIORS GO

« Reply #29 on: July 10, 2013, 12:16:11 PM »
The team is supposed to have a training session today at 6pm at Florida International University (FIU) on the North Field.