April 18, 2024, 06:19:13 PM

Author Topic: New CoE scandal: Warner's venue blanks T&T U-17 footballers  (Read 3506 times)

Offline SWF Reporter

New CoE scandal: Warner's venue blanks T&T U-17 footballers
« on: March 15, 2013, 12:42:16 PM »
Warner’s CoE snubs T&T U-17 footballers.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 football team was dealt a low blow to its United Arab Emirates 2013 Under-17 World Cup chances yesterday when the teenaged “Soca Warriors” were denied any chance of practicing on the Marvin Lee Stadium at the Dr João Havelange Centre of Excellence, which was a key part of their preparations.

The national starlets already booked their place for the CONCACAF stage of the World Cup qualifying series, which starts next month on April 6 in Panama, and are just three games away from being only the second Trinidad and Tobago under-17 team to qualify for a FIFA tournament in the country’s history.

The snag is that all three World Cup qualifiers will be played on turf and the only artificial venue in the country is at the Centre of Excellence.

And the Centre of Excellence has said no, despite the fact that the Marvin Lee Stadium was built for the TTFF using a FIFA grant. Wired868 proved exclusively, last year, that the Centre of Excellence belongs to Jack Warner, who is the National Security Minister and  a former FIFA vice president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) special advisor.

Team manager, Christo Gouveia, called the venue to book training sessions as soon as the CONCACAF draw mandated the Trinidad and Tobago squad  to play on the artificial surface of the Estadio Agustín Muquita Sánchez in Panama.

The under-17 manager was initially told, by a booking clerk, that the Marvin Lee Stadium was available on the requested dates.

However, the clerk subsequently emailed Gouveia and said that she was told by her “superiors” not to facilitate the national team.

Wired868 was able to obtain, through an anonymous source, a copy of the email sent by the Centre of Excellence employee to the national under-17 team manager. There was no suggestion that money was a factor in the snub.

“This email serves to inform that we will be unable to facilitate the U-17 team at the Marvin Lee Stadium due to instructions passed on to us by our superiors,” stated the Centre of Excellence employee. “… I do apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused to both you and your team.

“However on behalf the management and staff of the Centre of Excellence we thank you for showing interest at (sic) our facilities and do wish you all the best in your future endeavors.”

Wired868 tried unsuccessfully to reach Centre of Excellence CEO Jamila Charles so as to confirm whether the order to blank the national team came from her or a member of the Warner family. The National Security Minister and his wife, Maureen Warner, are listed as the only two directors of the facility while their sons, Daryan and Daryll, both held senior posts there.

Gouveia admitted that it is a blow to miss out on the venue, especially as Trinidad and Tobago’s CONCACAF group opponents, Costa Rica and Canada, both have their own turf facilities.

“It would have definitely been a plus (if we got to use the Marvin Lee Stadium),” Gouveia told Wired868. “Our team is competitive and we can get through the first round. But the fact is playing on turf is different to playing on grass because the pace of the game is different and the ball moves faster and you need different footwear and so on.”

Instead, the national under-17 team turned to the Tacarigua National Hockey Facility for assistance and has already received a favourable response.

However, the Tacarigua venue is available just once a week and is much smaller than a football ground, which means that the national team cannot do proper shadow sessions or play any practice games there.

“It is too small for an 11-a-side game,” said Gouveia, “but at least we can do small sided games. So we intend to use it for four versus four situations so that the players can at least get a feel for the pace of the turf and practice using the proper gear for turf.”

Ironically, the TTFF should, arguably, own the Marvin Lee Stadium as it was built through FIFA’s Goal programme although the local football body paid Warner’s family rent for use of the facilities for years.

The Goal programme allows each national football body to “receive funding for football development projects” and helps “build national association headquarters, training academies and artificial and grass pitches.”

Each member association, once its request is accepted, is entitled to receive up to $3.2 million (US$500,000) per project. The TTFF was twice the beneficiary of GOAL funding to a tune of $8.9 million (US$1,386,396), which was $2.5 million (US$386,396) more than the maximum figure allowed.

Both projects went to the Centre of Excellence to construct the Marvin Lee Stadium and the Futsal hall, which is often used for comedy shows, flea markets and expos.

At the time that Warner quit his FIFA office while facing charges for facilitating bribes, his son, Daryll, was the FIFA Goal Development Officer based in Trinidad and with jurisdiction for over half of the Caribbean.

The Marvin Lee Stadium was so far over budget that FIFA spent almost twice its stipulated amount for Goal projects while the TTFF had to use from its own savings to help fund its construction.

Information on FIFA’s website shows that the TTFF contributed $3.97 million (US$617,312) towards the artificial surface.

Last September, present CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb hired global legal company Sidley Austin LLP to determine whether the confederation can reclaim the Centre of Excellence along with other issues related to Warner’s tenure as CONCACAF president.

A final report is expected from CONCACAF between April and June 2013.

It will be too late to benefit the national under-17 team and the World Cup dreams of just under two dozen local teenage football players.

The young Warriors were unbeaten in their Caribbean qualifying group and set a new CONCACAF record after mauling the British Virgin Islands 23-0 in a qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on 25 July 2012.

Gouveia assured local fans that, despite the setback, the talented national team will not waste time feeling sorry for itself and would do its utmost to qualify for the FIFA competition. Gouveia was also the team manager when Trinidad and Tobago qualified for its first Under-17 World Cup in 2007 while the Warriors played, as the host nation, at the 2001 competition in this age group.

“I don’t want to say if we don’t play on the turf we are going to lose,” said the manager. “We didn’t get as much preparation as we would have liked. But we did get some preparation and the Sport Ministry and Sportt Company were very helpful…

“Not having the chance to prepare on turf is not good. But we are not stopping. We are going full steam ahead.”

2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship (April 6-19)

Group A: Panama, Barbados, Jamaica

Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago

Group C: United States, Guatemala, Haiti

Group D: Mexico, Honduras, Cuba

« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 05:30:54 AM by Flex »

Re: New CoE scandal: Warner's venue blanks T&T U-17 footballers
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 01:03:06 PM »
Shocking, shocking, shocking.  And Pro League games are played there...in fact there are double headers tonight and tomorrow.  :pissedoff:

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2013, 02:43:31 PM »
let dem go to the eastern complex and train on de hockey field............. only in T&T. 

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2013, 03:06:51 PM »
Tim Kee will pick up the phone and make ah call and get this squared away, small thing, me eh worried.

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2013, 04:58:52 PM »
Information on FIFA’s website shows that the TTFF contributed $3.97 million (US$617,312) towards the artificial surface.

This piece of info. from Wired. I thought TTFF never had money. Or did Jack wired that amount from his Swiss account into the TTFF account. Leave there for a while and then use it to build the COE, making it look like is TTFF money. Or could be the other way around. Which is Jack? Which is TTFF? We can not tell. but in the ending Jack has all. For now at least!

« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2013, 08:27:28 PM »
As somebody would say. . .

It good for we

« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2013, 08:53:13 PM »
F.S. yuh acting like yuh new to this kind of behaviour. This is not shocking to most of us here, it is jokey. Not to mention the illiteracy of the person writing the figgin letter. Even the end of the letter is funny to me. "Good luck in your future endeavours." Lemme finish that sentence for yuh. In other words, "Good luck in your future endeavours trying to use this center of effing excellence, because it ain't happening" Capeche.

« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2013, 09:22:14 PM »
F.S. yuh acting like yuh new to this kind of behaviour. This is not shocking to most of us here, it is jokey. Not to mention the illiteracy of the person writing the figgin letter. Even the end of the letter is funny to me. "Good luck in your future endeavours." Lemme finish that sentence for yuh. In other words, "Good luck in your future endeavours trying to use this center of effing excellence, because it ain't happening" Capeche.

I hear you, KG. But we can't get desensitised, or we may as well give up! I think in this instance, is a clear "f*ck you, you can't touch me" message. Its almost a challenge. This is where Tim-Kee shows his true colours. If he doesn't release a blistering attack on Jack, then we clearly know where he stands. It appears Jack left the FIFA motto behind when he left: "For The Good Of The Game"

« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2013, 09:44:41 PM »
“This email serves to inform that we will be unable to facilitate the U-17 team at the Marvin Lee Stadium due to instructions passed on to us by our superiors,” stated the Centre of Excellence employee. “… I do apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused to both you and your team.

"...and by 'superiors' she didn't mean Mother Superior eh!"

De devil used tuh wear Prada, but not anymore ...
« Last Edit: March 15, 2013, 09:48:14 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline Insider

« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2013, 06:11:57 AM »
I heard this is a big bluff.

Tim Kee and his friend Jack Warner is trying to make the public feel that Jack Warner is not close with him and the TTFF.

Unlink both Warner and Tim Kee they trying to do because a lot of people starting to see them together, so they trying to disguised their friendship.

Do not believe this guys and off course Lasana will make a meal off it. He took the bait !!!

« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2013, 06:57:37 AM »
I heard this is a big bluff.

Tim Kee and his friend Jack Warner is trying to make the public feel that Jack Warner is not close with him and the TTFF.

Unlink both Warner and Tim Kee they trying to do because a lot of people starting to see them together, so they trying to disguised their friendship.

Do not believe this guys and off course Lasana will make a meal off it. He took the bait !!!

Not a matter of taking the bait. What Jack andTim doing behind closed doors will come to light eventually..............until then the fact is that U17 team required the use of the COE and was categorically denied.

That is the news reported ....and that is the height of fackery.

Offline Insider

« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2013, 08:02:37 AM »
In the end, the Under 17 team will get the field and if they don't then some will have to suffer to save the persons involved faces.

This is all part politics and Jack Warner is man who is always thinking of ways to make things work in his favor.

« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2013, 12:39:24 PM »
On ah related note, two good cut-ass games against the US U-17 later this month will do much more for them than playing on dis damn turf...IMHO :)

And before the idiots come out the woodwork, I wish we U-17 could hit the US U-17 five goals in each of dem games, ok?

« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2013, 01:58:01 PM »
Listen some ah allyuh does even think?

Tim Kee?  Is called de concacaf center of excellence, big ass concacaf cyar get their investigation of de ground yet and allyuh expect Tim Kee to do it?  hahahahahahahahaha.

too damn funny...is around a decade now de man transfer the title to he name...using FIFA and Concacaf funds,,dem eh doing nutten broke ass TTFF can do what again?

steups.

« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2013, 07:54:45 PM »
I wish nothing good for Mr Warner..however it doesn't surprise me for he has sold this country out many times before..yet  the people annoint this demon.
These boys are behind the eightball already and not being able to train on that artificial surface is a huge setback. The pace of the game is faster, the bounce of the ball is different and on hot days the temp is also much higher..I wish the boys and the technical staff all the best.

« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2013, 08:13:57 PM »
Someone clarify something for me ... the CONCACAF finals are taking place on an artificial surface, but the FIFA finals are not? Also, does IMG now have an artificial surface or are these games in Bradenton going to be on grass?

« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2013, 02:48:32 PM »
Interestingly enough, seems as though of the two stadiums being used one is natural grass (Rommel Fernández Gutiérrez) and the other artificial (Agustín Sánchez.)

Home team-Panama-have their group games and quarterfinal (if they make it) all on the artificial turf.

From semi-final onwards all games are on the natural grass field.

Couldn't find if IMG Bradenton had any outdoor artificial fields, they might have an indoor smaller field though.

Offline SWF Reporter

U-turn, same result: Now T&T U-17s priced out Centre of Excellence
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2013, 02:40:33 PM »
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

The João Havelange Centre of Excellence, formerly known as the João Havelange CONCACAF Centre of Excellence, has done a U-turn of sorts regarding the Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 team but the result is the same.

The young “Soca Warriors” will not have the benefit of preparing on turf for the United Arab Emirates 2013 Under-17 World Cup qualifying series in Panama, despite the fact that their three qualifiers will be played on the artificial surface next month.

Wired868 revealed exclusively last week that the Centre of Excellence refused to allow the teenage footballers to practice at the Marvin Lee Stadium, although the venue was constructed for the benefit of CONCACAF teams and paid for by FIFA and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF).

National Security Minister Jack Warner, who is a former FIFA vice president and TTFF special advisor, and his wife Maureen Warner are the only two directors listed at the facility.

TTFF president Raymond Tim Kee said he queried the refusal to allow the young national players to use the venue. He was subsequently told that Warner and Centre of Excellence CEO Jamila Charles both allegedly refused to take responsibility for the rejection letter that was emailed to national under-17 manager Christo Gouveia.

“I was told that the (employee) who wrote the email to Christo misunderstood (her orders),” Tim Kee told Wired868.

Tim Kee said he did not ask Warner directly but declined to say who his query was directed towards.

A Centre of Excellence employee with responsibility for Marvin Lee Stadium bookings initially informed the national team:

“This email serves to inform that we will be unable to facilitate the U-17 team at the Marvin Lee Stadium due to instructions passed on to us by our superiors… I do apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused to both you and your team.”

Gouveia, on the TTFF president’s instructions, resubmitted the under-17 team’s proposed training schedule for the Marvin Lee Stadium. This time, the Centre of Excellence administrative staff accepted the request but responded with a bill that the national team cannot afford.

The Trinidad and Tobago youth team was asked to pay $5,000 per hour with an additional $1,000 per hour if the lights are used. Gouveia said training sessions generally last two to two and a half hours. This is understood to be the usual rental fee for the venue.

Even if the team trained only during daylight hours, its six sessions would cost between $60,000 to $90,000.

“As it stands, we are not using the Marvin Lee Stadium and we will have to use the Ato Boldon Stadium to prepare,” said Gouveia. “So we will have no preparation on turf going into the tournament. The costs (of the Marvin Lee ground) are outside what the TTFF would be able to afford.”

Trinidad and Tobago’s CONCACAF opponents next month, Costa Rica and Canada, both have their own turf facilities.

“It would have definitely been a plus (if we got to use the Marvin Lee Stadium),” Gouveia told Wired868, in a previous interview. “Our team is competitive and we can get through the first round. But the fact is playing on turf is different to playing on grass because the pace of the game is different and the ball moves faster and you need different footwear and so on.”

The TTFF contributed $3.97 million (US$617,312) directly to the Marvin Lee Stadium and allowed a further $8.9 million (US$1,386,396) to be used on the Centre of Excellence from money allotted to the local football body from the FIFA Goal programme. But this expense will not benefit the present national players.

Wired868 tried unsuccessfully to reach Charles, the Centre of Excellence CEO, for comment by phone while she has not responded to messages left with her secretary or on her voice mail.

Tim Kee told Wired868 that he will investigate the amount of money spent by the previous TTFF administration to use the Marvin Lee Stadium. Last year, CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb launched a legal probe into the confederation’s rights regarding the Centre of Excellence and this is due to be completed next month.

The national under-17 team travels to Miami this weekend and will play two practice games against the United States under-17 squad on March 22 and 24 at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

The young Warriors will then return to Trinidad for a final week’s preparation before they head to Panama for the World Cup qualifiers, which start on April 6.

Coach Shawn Cooper and assistant coach Leonson Lewis told the TTFF Media that the competition represented a “once in a lifetime opportunity” for the young men.

“They will be a nervous bunch at this time because they are young and it’s the first time they will be going into a qualifying tournament like this one,” said Lewis, a former Trinidad and Tobago international star and Portugal-based professional. “I was there at one stage and I know how it feels. It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity for them you are only going to be under 17 once.

“I try to get into their minds how they should think, and we, to prepare them as best we can for the tournament coming up in Panama.”

The Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 team hopes that its failure to prepare for the conditions in Panama will not be to the detriment of the squad’s World Cup Cup dreams.

2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship
(April 6-19)

Group A: Panama, Barbados, Jamaica

Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago

Group C: United States, Guatemala, Haiti

Group D: Mexico, Honduras, Cuba

« Last Edit: March 24, 2013, 06:58:12 PM by Flex »

« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2013, 11:28:11 PM »
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

The Centre of Excellence has done a U-turn of sorts regarding the Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 team but the result is the same.
The young “Soca Warriors” will not have the benefit of preparing on turf for the United Arab Emirates 2013 Under-17 World Cup qualifying series in Panama, despite the fact that their three qualifiers will be played on the artificial surface next month.
Wired868 revealed exclusively last week that the Centre of Excellence refused to allow the teenage footballers to practice at the Marvin Lee Stadium, although the venue was constructed for the benefit of CONCACAF teams and paid for by FIFA and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF).
National Security Minister Jack Warner, who is a former FIFA vice president and TTFF special advisor, and his wife Maureen Warner are the only two directors listed at the facility.
TTFF president Raymond Tim Kee said he queried the refusal to allow the young national players to use the venue. He was subsequently told that Warner and Centre of Excellence CEO Jamila Charles both allegedly refused to take responsibility for the rejection letter that was emailed to national under-17 manager Christo Gouveia.
“I was told that the (employee) who wrote the email to Christo misunderstood (her orders),” Tim Kee told Wired868.
Tim Kee said he did not ask Warner directly but declined to say who his query was directed towards.
A Centre of Excellence employee with responsibility for Marvin Lee Stadium bookings initially informed the national team:
“This email serves to inform that we will be unable to facilitate the U-17 team at the Marvin Lee Stadium due to instructions passed on to us by our superiors… I do apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused to both you and your team.”
Gouveia, on the TTFF president’s instructions, resubmitted the under-17 team’s proposed training schedule for the Marvin Lee Stadium. This time, the Centre of Excellence administrative staff accepted the request but responded with a bill that the national team cannot afford.
Read more: http://www.wired868.com/2013/03/22/u-turn-same-result-now-tt-u-17s-priced-out-centre-of-excellence/

But Warner not supposed to have any connections to football.
How can he be a Director of a Concacaf facility.

Someone inform Anil and Blatter right away.  ;D