June 16, 2024, 01:21:42 AM

Author Topic: T&T U-17s to face USA in two warm up games  (Read 7917 times)

T&T U-17s to face USA in two warm up games
« on: March 16, 2013, 08:35:07 AM »
T&T U-17s to face USA in two warm up games
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 team will face the United States Under 17 team in two-warm up matches in Bradenton, Florida later this month as both countries continue their preparations for the CONCACAF Under 17 round of qualifiers for the 2013 FIFA Under 17 World Cup.

The matches will be played on March 24th and 27th at the IMG Academies in Bradenton. The invitation was offered by US Soccer and accepted by the TTFF. T&T’s trip is being made possible through support from the Ministry of Sports.

The T&T Under 17 team has been in training at the Ato Boldon Stadium training pitch. They open the Concacaf final round against Canada on April 6th before taking on Costa Rica two days later. The top two teams from the group will advance to the quarter-finals.

Read More…

Re: T&T U-17s to face USA in two warm up games
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 08:50:37 AM »
Excellent news !!!!

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 08:52:53 AM »
Good.

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 08:15:59 AM »
Respect to de TTFF !!!

Good job.

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2013, 10:58:26 AM »
How much later this month?

« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2013, 11:54:59 AM »
Seems like more getting done & more reliable games secured since Jackula's claws and brown envelope culture were removed  from the aspect of procuring games for our Warriors. Makes a lie out of the myth that if Jackula eh dey, nutten cyah geh done.
However, doh let your guard down. Dem current TTFF boys have to be watched kike a hawk and account for all expenditures.

« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2013, 01:59:03 PM »
Seems like more getting done & more reliable games secured since Jackula's claws and brown envelope culture were removed  from the aspect of procuring games for our Warriors. Makes a lie out of the myth that if Jackula eh dey, nutten cyah geh done.
However, doh let your guard down. Dem current TTFF boys have to be watched kike a hawk and account for all expenditures.

to have expenditures yuh need money to spend...watch dem?  lol

« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 04:22:47 PM by Flex »

« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2013, 03:11:06 PM »
Closed door game I imagine?

« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2013, 03:22:56 PM »
whats the score people? .....
« Last Edit: March 24, 2013, 03:31:24 PM by Trini _2018 »

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2013, 05:54:20 PM »
USA 4 - T&T 0. Reports say T&T started well then tapered off.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

Re: Re: T&T U-17s to face USA in two warm up games
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2013, 06:11:53 PM »

So we play like how we normally do.

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2013, 07:03:06 PM »
USA 4 TT-0

Offline amwood

« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2013, 01:43:38 AM »

This should be a massive cause for concern. Although Im not really surprised that we lost the game, I never imagined that it would be by this margin. The one positive I suppose is that coach Cooper will have a true sense of where his team is...it is distressing to think what happens to our only national youth program currently if this group does not qualify next month.

« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2013, 03:41:14 AM »

This should be a massive cause for concern. Although Im not really surprised that we lost the game, I never imagined that it would be by this margin. The one positive I suppose is that coach Cooper will have a true sense of where his team is...it is distressing to think what happens to our only national youth program currently if this group does not qualify next month.

i think Canada drew this usa team and costa rica ... this does not look well ....

« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2013, 11:30:48 AM »
First warm up game, no panic. Evaluate build for game 2.

« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2013, 01:55:53 PM »
we need a better result today

Offline amwood

« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2013, 03:53:33 PM »
Any updates?

« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2013, 10:11:26 PM »
the match is supposed to be played later this evening

« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2013, 04:17:33 PM »
ok thanks

Offline amwood

« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2013, 07:17:11 PM »
Second game 2-2...nice recovery by the staff and team!
« Last Edit: March 27, 2013, 08:19:08 PM by amwood »

« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2013, 09:39:27 PM »

i'm guessing the yanks played a strict b side the second time around. but well done regardless boys. at this stage confidence boosters are critical. i still maintain these games should have happened at least four months ago.

« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2013, 07:41:19 AM »

i'm guessing the yanks played a strict b side the second time around. but well done regardless boys. at this stage confidence boosters are critical. i still maintain these games should have happened at least four months ago.
First of all I think that that was totally uncalled for.. very low blow..remember is 16yr olds we talking about here. They should not be subjected to the harsh criticisms leveled against their senior counterparts.

Secondly we should be glad that we get games at all. The US has no real need to play TnT right now.... remember we will most likely meet in qualification. And the TTFF has no money to pay for games.

P.S. remember that I have a soft spot for this team as my son was in the training squad.

« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2013, 07:45:09 AM »
Any word on the scorers ???

« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2013, 09:21:21 AM »

First of all I think that that was totally uncalled for.. very low blow..remember is 16yr olds we talking about here. They should not be subjected to the harsh criticisms leveled against their senior counterparts.

Secondly we should be glad that we get games at all. The US has no real need to play TnT right now.... remember we will most likely meet in qualification. And the TTFF has no money to pay for games.

P.S. remember that I have a soft spot for this team as my son was in the training squad.
(1) How on earth did you come to think that is a 'harsh' criticism? The team recently lost 3-0 to costa Rica. They then lost 4-0 to the U.S. A 2-2 comeback is either indicative of a big change in lineups or a gutsy fight back. Seeing our history against the U.S. at this level its not unreasonable to suggest a mass player change. If you note there was no condemning the team or staff. I also said well done regardless, and was happy for the confidence booster.

(2) I understand you have a lot of skin in this team. But just because your son is in the training squad is no reason they should be exempt from criticism. And there is no excuse making for the TTFF. We all know TTFF broke, but that is due to YEARS of mismanagement and very possibly criminal activity. So they gets not an ounce of pity from me.

(3) But that being said I have been one of the biggest and most consistent supporters of this and other youth teams through and through. I have seen these yutes play from since the U-14 Pro-league. I can also tell you for sure these games should have been played a long time ago. Cooper was publicly bawling for games precisely against big, fast CONCACAF opponents to help address some physical shortcomings noted against even Guyana and Suriname in the CFU tournament. In fact he even specifically mentioned the U.S. and Costa Rica as ideal opponents. That was July 2012. As you would know, this particular T&T side is higly skilled and industrious. Its beyond frustrating that we jeopardize their chances by trying fixing problems so late in the game.

« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 09:24:08 AM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #25 on: March 29, 2013, 10:44:56 AM »

(1) How on earth did you come to think that is a 'harsh' criticism? The team recently lost 3-0 to costa Rica. They then lost 4-0 to the U.S. A 2-2 comeback is either indicative of a big change in lineups or a gutsy fight back. Seeing our history against the U.S. at this level its not unreasonable to suggest a mass player change. If you note there was no condemning the team or staff. I also said well done regardless, and was happy for the confidence booster.

(2) I understand you have a lot of skin in this team. But just because your son is in the training squad is no reason they should be exempt from criticism. And there is no excuse making for the TTFF. We all know TTFF broke, but that is due to YEARS of mismanagement and very possibly criminal activity. So they gets not an ounce of pity from me.

(3) But that being said I have been one of the biggest and most consistent supporters of this and other youth teams through and through. I have seen these yutes play from since the U-14 Pro-league. I can also tell you for sure these games should have been played a long time ago. Cooper was publicly bawling for games precisely against big, fast CONCACAF opponents to help address some physical shortcomings noted against even Guyana and Suriname in the CFU tournament. In fact he even specifically mentioned the U.S. and Costa Rica as ideal opponents. That was July 2012. As you would know, this particular T&T side is higly skilled and industrious. Its beyond frustrating that we jeopardize their chances by trying fixing problems so late in the game.

I appereciate your responce. Your first comment hid the fact that you were so much in the know.

T&T Men's U-17 team prepares for World Cup Qualifiers at IMG Academy
« Reply #26 on: March 30, 2013, 01:55:11 PM »
T&T Men's U-17 team prepares for World Cup Qualifiers at IMG Academy
By John Esfeller (imgworld.com)

U-17 World Cup Qualifying is just around the corner, and the United States U-17 National Team is playing in a series of friendlies at IMG Academy to ready them for what’s ahead. The teams they are facing are fellow CONCACAF participants, Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados.

In the two matches against Trinidad and Tobago, the U.S. U-17s’ first string won comfortably in a 4-0 drubbing. The U.S. U-17s’ second string had a much nervier affair in a 2-2 draw.

Read More...

« Reply #27 on: March 30, 2013, 02:20:59 PM »

yup i guess you were right

« Reply #28 on: March 30, 2013, 07:29:15 PM »
Agreed with the comments that these warm ups should of taken place a long time ago. While our boys were sweating in T&T, the US 17's were regularly traveling and playing against top opposition in Europe, Middle East and Central America since last year. And to add further insult to injury, one of the top US players was denied to play for T&T....reasons I wont discuss on this forum!!

In any case I hope the T&T team does well given the circumstance and preparations.  :beermug:

Offline amwood

« Reply #29 on: March 30, 2013, 08:24:52 PM »
The Americans take their football very seriously...that residency program in Bradenton is the foundation of the national team setup. There is no reason why we shouldn't have a similar set up here in T@T...logistically, it wouldn't be that difficult...our players are at such a disadvantage!