April 19, 2024, 12:33:22 PM

Author Topic: NCAA March Madness 2013  (Read 13360 times)

NCAA March Madness 2013
« on: March 21, 2013, 07:17:30 PM »
The usual suspects quiet so far. It's a lot better with trash talk.

I thought Davidson was going to take out Marquette, but they get pips at the end. The rest of it is going to form.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 08:02:44 AM by Bitter »

Re: NCAA March Madness 2013
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 08:08:43 PM »
12 seed California downs 5 seed UNLV.

Cal tried hard to recreate the the Davidson game. Them fellas was taking freethows like stone masons.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 08:02:51 AM by Bitter »

Re: NCAA March MAdness 2013
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2013, 09:52:13 PM »
I dunno if I's one ah de usual suspects but I here, I juss doh automatically associate this board with basketball chatter... but ah here.  Didn't get to watch too many games today, de fates pick de worst week tuh drop some busy in man inbox.  Ah see de UNLV loss doh and ah watching  Mizzou get handled by Colorado St.  One thing true to form so far, teams from weak conferences having ah devil of a time... which doesn't bode well fuh Gonzaga... watch this space.

On the other end of the spectrum is Pittsburgh... dem shithongs.  Run along to de ACC now and good riddance.  Keep Syracuse spot warm fuh dem... dey eh coming right now, but soon enough.

As for my boys... ah pardna ah mine come thru in de clutch nice nice... and out ah de blue.  Two tix to tomorrow's game versus somebody name Florida Gulf State U.  Me eh care, Wells Fargo not even 10 mins from my house so I getting tuh enjoy ah March Madness game in person right in mih own back yard.  Last time I went ah game was in 1995 when ah went and watch Georgetown (with Iverson) play North Carolina in the Sweet Sixteen down in Birmingham.  Carolina had 5 McDonald's All-Americans, including Stackhouse, Wallace, Donald Williams, Jeff McInnis and Serge Zwikker.  Donald Williams is de only one out ah all ah dem who didn't play in the NBA... Zwikker was on de Rockets bench but never log ah minute, so technically he too. 

Georgetown had a nice team too... AI, Jerome "Junk Yard Dog" Williams, Don Reid, Othella Harrington and Jahidi White... all of whom played significant games in the NBA... we lost by ten, 74-64... too much Stackhouse.

Re: NCAA March MAdness 2013
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2013, 06:48:17 AM »
Harvard?
First win in the tournament...they look good and Arizona will have their hands full

Have a feeling Marquette ain't moving further, barely beating Davidson.  BUtler will handle them, (at least my bracket hoping so)

Looking forward to see Duke today....ah have them winning it all

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2013, 01:39:32 PM »
Harvard?
First win in the tournament...they look good and Arizona will have their hands full

Have a feeling Marquette ain't moving further, barely beating Davidson.  BUtler will handle them, (at least my bracket hoping so)

Marquette could easily make Sweet 16... they won a share of the Big East regular season title and my Big East bias aside, they play extremely good defense, are near the top in the nation in getting the ball in the paint and in getting to the foul line.  Their biggest weakness is their lack of consistent outside shooting.  I think the win doesn't look impressive because you underestimating how good a team Davidson is.

« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2013, 02:03:36 PM »
Harvard?

Marquette could easily make Sweet 16... they won a share of the Big East regular season title and my Big East bias aside, they play extremely good defense, are near the top in the nation in getting the ball in the paint and in getting to the foul line.  Their biggest weakness is their lack of consistent outside shooting.  I think the win doesn't look impressive because you underestimating how good a team Davidson is.

Nah, I knew Marquette would struggle against Davidson.  It will eventually come down to shooting for both Butler and Marquette....i.e  If Butler hits their shots. It will be a good game nonetheless. Butler beat them already this year, history may repeat itself

Kansas St in real trouble now against la salle

« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2013, 02:37:30 PM »
Nah, I knew Marquette would struggle against Davidson.  It will eventually come down to shooting for both Butler and Marquette....i.e  If Butler hits their shots. It will be a good game nonetheless. Butler beat them already this year, history may repeat itself

Kansas St in real trouble now against la salle

You should be rooting fuh Marquette too... given Cadougan from TO and his father(?) Trini.

Ah keeping mih eye on that LaSalle scoreline... shocker.

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2013, 03:22:33 PM »
LaSalle takes out K-State. 63-61

« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2013, 06:03:31 PM »
Two tix to tomorrow's game versus somebody name Florida Gulf State U.  Me eh care,

I wonder if Bakes know who Florida Gulf State University is now...  ::)

Only halftime though, plenty of time left for the blowout.

« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2013, 06:35:48 PM »
Georgetown is self-destructing. Must be March... :devil:

« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2013, 06:38:20 PM »

This is a real shocker. Today is the day of upsets.
Still time though.

« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2013, 06:41:24 PM »

This is a real shocker. Today is the day of upsets.
Still time though.

FGCU ent looking like they care how much time it have.

« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2013, 06:48:47 PM »
FGCU beginning to come back to earth now.

Win or lose, this is a fun team to watch.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 07:01:45 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2013, 07:14:54 PM »
Georgetown self-destructingdestructed. Must be March... :devil:

:loser:
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 07:16:45 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2013, 07:24:00 PM »
Georgetown self-destructingdestructed. Must be March... :devil:

:loser:

These upsets killing me today
This year supposed to be the wildest march madness in years.

« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2013, 08:33:11 PM »
LaSalle takes out K-State. 63-61

laSalle has a trini connection with Sam Mills. He scored 10pts today in win over K- State

« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2013, 08:56:24 PM »
Two tix to tomorrow's game versus somebody name Florida Gulf State U.  Me eh care,

Yeah some team that was founded in 1997.  f**k yuh rolling yuh eyes for...did you know who they was?  f**ked up game for Georgetown... FGCU deserved the win.  Shit happens... moving on.

« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2013, 09:16:47 PM »

Yeah some team that was founded in 1997.  f**k yuh rolling yuh eyes for...did you know who they was?  f**ked up game for Georgetown... FGCU deserved the win.  Shit happens... moving on.

Actually, VCU played them early in the season, so I've seen them play before (though they were on the other end of a beatdown).
Also, I have family in Ft Myers. If you ever down that way, check out the Edison & Ford Winter Estates.

But all that is just ole talk. After the past what? 6-7 years where allyuh keep getting knocked out in the early rounds, you shoulda learn by now to  fear respect any opponent. At this point, if allyuh matched up against University of Phoenix Online, I would be worried.

On a serious note. How much longer does John Thompson Jr keep his job?
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 09:19:02 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #18 on: March 22, 2013, 10:01:01 PM »
#7 Notre Dame goes down to #10 Iowa State

« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2013, 10:19:20 PM »
Now UCLA on the slippery slope vs Minnesota.

« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2013, 10:41:58 PM »
Actually, VCU played them early in the season, so I've seen them play before (though they were on the other end of a beatdown).
Also, I have family in Ft Myers. If you ever down that way, check out the Edison & Ford Winter Estates.

But all that is just ole talk. After the past what? 6-7 years where allyuh keep getting knocked out in the early rounds, you shoulda learn by now to  fear respect any opponent. At this point, if allyuh matched up against University of Phoenix Online, I would be worried.

On a serious note. How much longer does John Thompson Jr keep his job?

This team wasn't ready... I won't make excuses for them, but they were picked to finish 7th in the Big East so the overachievement catch up to them in the end it seems.  Not one senior... two juniors on the team... no inside presence.  Many of my friends bitching about JT III (John Thompson, Jr. was his father)... I have no worries about him or his job.  He was named CBS sports Coach of the Year two days ago and in the running for other awards.  The problem isn't coaching, but execution... as is to be expected from a largely inexperienced team.  This is 4 years in a row we've lost to a double-digit seed, but too much is being made of that. 

Davidson- lost a close follow up game to eventual champions KU.
VCU- went to the Final Four
NC State- Chris Wright broke his hand at the end of the season and came back less than a month later to play in this game.  Not surprisingly we struggled.  Had he been healthy AND we lost, then I'd say the criticism is legitimate.  This and the Ohio loss in 2010 are the two legitimate blotches on his record if you ask me.

« Reply #21 on: March 23, 2013, 09:08:27 PM »
Gonzaga in trouble. But everyone was projecting an early exit for them

The A10 had a bad day.
St Louis and VCU get blown out. Butler can't make the buzzer-beater.

« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2013, 01:35:19 PM »
Iowa State just got robbed against Ohio State.

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2013, 02:15:21 PM »
Common Temple!

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2013, 07:04:58 PM »
FGCU is the Cinderella team this year - and so much fun to watch.

« Reply #25 on: March 24, 2013, 07:42:51 PM »
yuh could have $100m 1st prize in dat bracketology ting and you'll never win it because there is always a FGCU to mash up every body bracket.

« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2013, 09:06:03 PM »
Ah tell allyuh allyuh sleeping on Marquette.  Indiana getting exposed by Syracuse... that team so overrated, same for Zeller and Oladipo as individual players.

« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2013, 11:14:52 PM »
Ah tell allyuh allyuh sleeping on Marquette.  Indiana getting exposed by Syracuse... that team so overrated, same for Zeller and Oladipo as individual players.
Well Syracuse just messed up 73.7% of 8.15 million ESPN brackets for people who had Indiana in the Elite Eight. Didn't Obama choose Indiana to win it all in his bracket?

« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2013, 11:20:37 PM »
Tomorrow's games will be great for the neutral fan...Michigan vs Kansas, Mich St vs Duke and David vs Goliath in FL vs FGCU.....Oh there's also Oregon vs Louisville

« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2013, 11:48:06 PM »
I tell people Indiana wasn't going to do shit... Zeller overrated.  He's ah next Tyler Hansbrough, drive in the lane crazy crazy, create a setta contact and get bail out by the refs.  Time and time again.  See what happen when they let them play?  Next team getting found out is Duke.  Plumlee is another one limited in what he can do... once yuh figure him out.  Play him to drive left, and stay on your feet, don't fall for the up and under.  I like him because he hustles, but very overrated.  Without him Duke is a completely different team.  Seth Curry is a player though... I was shitting on his game but he might make me a liar in the end. 

Might.