March 29, 2024, 04:22:14 AM

Author Topic: Chris Birchall Thread  (Read 18370 times)

Chris Birchall Thread
« on: March 22, 2013, 10:45:09 AM »
Can someone please explain to me how Chris Birchall cannot get playing time, let alone a start at League Two Port Vale?? He has been there for a few months and I think has about a grand total of 1 appearance worth 10-15 mins. Port Vale has also been struggling mightily the past month, yet Birchall sees no action. I checked out the Port Vale board and many have suggested that Birchall is terribly out-of-shape.

I suppose a better question would be why did he go back to that division in the first place? Two years ago he helps LA win a championship, and last year he is a starter for Columbus. Could his agent not have gotten him a better stint/trial anywhere else? If Port Vale was chosen just for fitness then he's wasting his time riding the bench.

And yet an even better question is why is he called-up for the Belize and Peru matches? Unless your name is Yorke or Latapy and this is 10 years ago, NO ONE should be getting called up when they havent played a match in over 6 months.

« Last Edit: November 20, 2013, 03:05:03 AM by Flex »

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: Chris Birchall
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2013, 11:09:13 AM »
Hes actually played in 5 matches including going the full 90 in Port Vale's last match.

http://int.soccerway.com/players/christopher-birchall/644/

And i believe that he has gone back to Port Vale for family reasons, last season before he signed with Columbus he wanted to sign with Port Vale but they had a transfer embargo placed on the team. However i do agree with you as much as i do like Birchall im not sure he should have been called up this time.

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2013, 11:59:14 AM »
They giving him a chance. Is up to he to prove himself. Is not the first time I see TTFF pick a players who not playing regular, is TTFF we talking about eh.

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2013, 12:23:36 PM »
They giving him a chance. Is up to he to prove himself. Is not the first time I see TTFF pick a players who not playing regular, is TTFF we talking about eh.

... and imagine when he was playing regularly on a championship team dey never call him...

but they was calling men who was scrubbing bench in de same league...

TTFF boy

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2013, 04:06:32 PM »
Hes actually played in 5 matches including going the full 90 in Port Vale's last match.

http://int.soccerway.com/players/christopher-birchall/644/

And i believe that he has gone back to Port Vale for family reasons, last season before he signed with Columbus he wanted to sign with Port Vale but they had a transfer embargo placed on the team. However i do agree with you as much as i do like Birchall im not sure he should have been called up this time.

Ok I see he has only just started getting some minutes. But, even if its for family, his move to Port Vale can really hurt his reputation and make getting to a higher club difficult.

...and I should know better than to think theres logic behind a TTFF decision

« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2013, 05:35:56 PM »
Even an unfit Birchall could still walk into the current T&T side, even a retired Dwight Yorke could do that to on this current team under these current coach.

« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2013, 06:05:11 PM »
So wait......they finally recall birchall and somebody complaining?

Yuh ever thought that he probably came into a team (Port Vale) that had a good midfield?
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 06:06:48 PM by andre samuel »

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2013, 06:23:01 PM »

Yuh ever thought that he probably came into a team (Port Vale) that had a good midfield?
Them birchalites could cry!!

right now the only person place he could take on the team is bleeder....and yeh that keon edwards guy, but as for the regular starters, he will catch hell to take their place, birchall stocks drop bad.

« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2013, 07:03:15 PM »
Jc I agree; he stock drop and mothers who were on that team that lost against Guyana!!!!! in my opinion H Charles had a fresh troop marching in the right direction until wham brap just so someone figure that if they eh want ah coup on they hand they might as well put in ah coach whose claim to fame among mnay other things was knocking TnT out of the WC 12014 campaign. That one game  change the course of  we football and now  that said coach is at the helm and what do we see coming back in the experimenting phase once more?
 Could someone tell me why Andre Bouchard (sp) eh worthy of a call up? tell me we eh have inform  players from we U20  or U23 that cyar get ah whiff? instead we default to players that could not even overthrow the mighty Guyana...:)

« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2013, 07:11:53 PM »
Because the MLS is nowhere near as good as people think it is.

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2013, 09:23:41 AM »

Them birchalites could cry!!

right now the only person place he could take on the team is bleeder....and yeh that keon edwards guy, but as for the regular starters, he will catch hell to take their place, birchall stocks drop bad.

theobald always makes the team JC it seems ..... carter jorlsing,thoebald ,edwards glen, Carlos Edwards have all served our country well . those guys  are either in thier 30's  or hitting 30 this year ....

« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2013, 09:49:39 AM »
Yes there have been good service but when we needed them most- the debacle in Guyana is a legacy of mass  humiliation. Winning the Gold Cup will be the saving grace.

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2013, 09:53:46 AM »
Yes there have been good service but when we needed them most- the debacle in Guyana is a legacy of mass  humiliation. Winning the Gold Cup will be the saving grace.

yup time for all of them to move on we need to stop selecting them

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2013, 11:04:22 AM »
In regards to Birchall getting called up: I'm no blind devotee of any player, I'm only blindly devoted to T&T football, even despite what I've (and everyone else here) had to go through as a fan. That being said, I have no doubt the coaches/management are not as dotish as people make them out to be, and that Birchie's selection is definitely warranted. I'll retract this statement when we have other midfielders under the age of 30 who have no problem finding a side to play for in MLS or Europe.

Form is temporary, class is permanent, experience is invaluable, and attitude and hustle are innate.

« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2013, 02:12:24 PM »
I fuh one doh see what the issue is. Didn't the management already explain why Birchall is there. Though admittedly he currently has little match fitness & dubious form; what better way to see if ah normally consistent performer fuh the MNT could still do the business, in ah friendly against probably the weakest team at the GC. If he has ah shocker, we could cut we losses before the big show, if he do well yet another midfield option available fuh selection, and ah proven option at that.

« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2013, 09:40:46 AM »
For the same reasons ANDRE BOUCHAD could be worthy of a call up.

Chris Birchall as assessed by the coaching staff
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2013, 07:27:15 PM »
Chris Birchall as assessed by the coaching staff worked hard and gave yeoman service to the soca warriors. If that is what was expected from this player by the staff then he did a great job. I would like to know what is his position on the field. What is his role and what are his responsibilities then I can give a true assessment. I watched this match and I felt that he would have served us well had he played as a defensive screen/defensive midfield. His role in attack should be limited to set plays, outside shooting, deep crosses and the occasional long pass. If you really look at him defensively he was non effective. I really don't blame him for that.

« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2013, 02:49:02 AM »
For the same reasons ANDRE BOUCHAD could be worthy of a call up.

Was never sure why he hardly get ah lookin with the squad. The few times he has play, he was always consistent and a decent performer. IMHO anyway!

« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2013, 06:48:30 AM »
Birchall is a boss!!! One of the most dedicated Soca Warriors of all time!!!

Re: Re: Chris Birchall
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2013, 06:51:38 AM »
Birchall is a boss!!! One of the most dedicated Soca Warriors of all time!!!

In Guatemala. Trinidad 10 men. Bess shift I see him put down.

« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2013, 01:37:58 PM »

1. They don't. In fact, they were struggling pretty badly up until recently.
2. Even if their midfield was good, Chris Birchall should still be able to break in to a Leauge 2 midfield and get some playing time.
3. My point is his move to Port Vale and subsequent lack of significant playing time can really damage his reputation and appeal to larger clubs.

I love Birchall. He's one of my favorite players, and he can help the TnT squad with his experience alone. But, its just the fact that he has played so little in such a long time-span that it sends the wrong message to others in the national team pool about earning your way into your club's first team and working hard to keep that spot.

« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2013, 01:17:57 AM »
Clearly in this game he was missing in action and that says alot about his game shape. He needs more playing time to get back to his physical best. I, too, like his hustle.

« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2013, 04:57:17 AM »
Ah know allyuh go come wid allyuh "racist" arsehole talk but fack it, i will say how i feel anyway! and all who dogging bleeder allyuh doh say nutten when allyuh darlin "birchie" as he is affectionately called, could seldom hold on to a ball to save his life.

man talking bout hustle, yeh he have dat in aboundance, but talk about ah lose the ball specialist that he is nah? he does it way too much for my taste, so why no body doh talk about dat? and his passing is suspect.

yeh the fella useful. but IMO he eh no starter, lacks creativity more than bleeder. @ least bleeder could pass and hold on to the ball.

« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2013, 06:14:57 AM »
Ah know allyuh go come wid allyuh "racist" arsehole talk but fack it, i will say how i feel anyway! and all who dogging bleeder allyuh doh say nutten when allyuh darlin "birchie" as he is affectionately called, could seldom hold on to a ball to save his life.

man talking bout hustle, yeh he have dat in aboundance, but talk about ah lose the ball specialist that he is nah? he does it way too much for my taste, so why no body doh talk about dat? and his passing is suspect.

yeh the fella useful. but IMO he eh no starter, lacks creativity more than bleeder. @ least bleeder could pass and hold on to the ball.

You're right...... this must be racist arsehole talk  :bs:

« Reply #24 on: March 26, 2013, 06:43:16 AM »

You're right...... this must be racist arsehole talk  :bs:
Yuh see what ah mean, no body cyar criticize allyuh golden boy without an immediate response!!!  hahahahaha!!

allyuh soft redboy, if yuh did know football like yuh claim, then you would see that birchall is not even championship quality, hek he's not even MLS quality, but @ best a run of the mill league one player. 

i don't have shyte against the man, but he's not this world beater like allyuh claim, and that is not being racist, just brutally honest!  please don't mix up the two.   ;)

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2013, 08:43:43 AM »
JC every team needs a birchall, relatively speaking he isnt as good technically as other players but he works his socks off. Manchester had Park, Chelsea and Brazil have Ramires and Netherlands have Kuyt. All of these players are really nowhere as good as their teammates technically but their work rate makes them valuable especially in a team like ours that is plagued by laziness.

« Reply #26 on: March 26, 2013, 09:24:02 AM »
JC every team needs a birchall, relatively speaking he isnt as good technically as other players but he works his socks off. Manchester had Park, Chelsea and Brazil have Ramires and Netherlands have Kuyt. All of these players are really nowhere as good as their teammates technically but their work rate makes them valuable especially in a team like ours that is plagued by laziness.
Isn't that what bleeder iz?? he's not the best technically, but he works for the team.

IMO bleeder is sort of like a dean white head, rory delap, glen whelan, obi mikel, abu diabi or lee catermole type player, they are not pretty to watch and they don't have the world of speed, but they fill that midfield and serve a purpose.

this is why bleeder did not feature on latapy's team, that's bc he had trent noel who was more of a work horse and was way more skillfull yet did the same job bleeder.

he filled that midfield and controlled the tempo just as good as trent, even though trent was a far better more skilfull baller, yet all i could see is more attacks on bleeder than birchall and IMO that's fackin hypocritical! when birchall loses the ball more than bleeder especially when we are building in the attack yet ppl only talk about how much of a great ball winner and clean up man he is, but no one talks about what a great passer and tempo regulator bleeder has been!

« Reply #27 on: March 26, 2013, 09:31:03 AM »
Isn't that what bleeder iz?? he's not the best technically, but he works for the team.

IMO bleeder is sort of like a dean white head, rory delap, glen whelan, obi mikel, abu diabi or lee catermole type player, they are not pretty to watch and they don't have the world of speed, but they fill that midfield and serve a purpose.

this is why bleeder did not feature on latapy's team, that's bc he had trent noel who was more of a work horse and was way more skillfull yet did the same job bleeder.

he filled that midfield and controlled the tempo just as good as trent, even though trent was a far better more skilfull baller, yet all i could see is more attacks on bleeder than birchall and IMO that's fackin hypocritical! when birchall loses the ball more than bleeder especially when we are building in the attack yet ppl only talk about how much of a great ball winner and clean up man he is, but no one talks about what a great passer and tempo regulator bleeder has been!
Maybe bleeder should play rugby instead. The only passes I see him making are lateral and backwards...

« Reply #28 on: March 26, 2013, 11:15:09 AM »
Isn't that what bleeder iz??

Jack is man of Action!...... remember that?

« Reply #29 on: July 19, 2013, 07:56:51 PM »
START CHRIS BIRCHALL TOMORROW!  :wavetowel: