March 29, 2024, 02:11:37 AM

Author Topic: Scoreless draw as Warriors can't find was past Belize.  (Read 3875 times)

Scoreless draw as Warriors can't find was past Belize.
« on: March 24, 2013, 08:20:00 AM »
Scoreless draw as Warriors can't find was past Belize.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago came away with a scoreless draw with hosts Belize in an encounter which saw both teams create but fail to put away their scoring chances at the FFB Stadium in Belmopan on Saturday night.

The friendly international, which was used as a Concacaf Gold Cup tune up for the two teams would have left both teams cautiously optimistic after avoiding defeat but saw the visitors unable to defeat the Central Americans for the second straight game at the venue as both teams also played to a 0-0 draw when Russell Latapy was head coach back in 2010.

Four of T&T’s 2006 World Cup players started together for the first time in over three years with Kenwyne Jones and Cornell Glen used up front and Christopher Birchall and captain Densill Theobald in the midfield while Keon Daniel also made a return to the starting line up.

Daniel and Joevin Jones connected well on the left for T&T and caused their opponents some problems particularly in the opening half.

T&T, which travels to Lima on Sunday to face Peru two days later, made the better start and could have been comfortably ahead inside the first 20 minutes on a bumpy service that affected the fluidity of both team’s play.

A good volleyed effort from Glen went wide of the right post from the edge of the box after the Belize goalkeeper superbly blocked a header from his own defender and two minutes later the former Columbus Crew forward again went close.

Read More

Re: Scoreless draw as Warriors can't find was past Belize.
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2013, 08:26:11 AM »
VIDEO:

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2013, 10:11:30 AM »
tanx for the link flex but jah knows da quailty of vid to horrible to watch anything

Re: Re: Scoreless draw as Warriors can't find was past Belize.
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2013, 10:14:18 AM »
tanx for the link flex but jah knows da quailty of vid to horrible to watch anything

Different source

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2013, 10:59:53 AM »
I believe they couldn't find their way because they spelled it was.

« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2013, 12:02:43 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ev9hwH4yllM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ev9hwH4yllM</a>

« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2013, 12:10:41 PM »
No intensity!  NONE!

« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2013, 12:34:46 PM »
Not terrible, just ah lil to much "I", they need to find ah "we". This is where an experienced coach with international experience makes a difference.

« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2013, 01:12:32 PM »
No entity can get away with inept or corrupt Leadership: No matter how talented and well meaning the players might be, leadership from the very top has to be transparent and fair in their dealings. Wishing us the best.

« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2013, 01:17:25 PM »
Several attempts were made but the men upfront need to work on their finishing. Hoping they can build from this game. On to Peru...

« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2013, 01:26:42 PM »
Not terrible
Yeah, it didn't seem to be a bad game. Just not good.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2013, 01:36:55 PM »
I actually liked the link up play between Jones and Glen.

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2013, 01:44:44 PM »
Well from the highlights we didnt look terrible. Hadda see the whole game to know for sure. Seems like they actually using Jones to bring other players into it somewhat.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2013, 02:33:24 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/kkM9SH68NDo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/kkM9SH68NDo</a>

« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2013, 02:42:33 PM »
Zip up your jacket or take it off  >:(

« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2013, 02:43:13 PM »
Well from the highlights we didnt look terrible. Hadda see the whole game to know for sure. Seems like they actually using Jones to bring other players into it somewhat.

True: You could never judge a game by the highlights. Way too much direct play and long ball and if that is a tactic, then the midfield was
very far away to anticipate knock downs and win second balls. Then again those 5-6 long ball plays in the highlights could of been all that was played in the entire game. ;D

« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2013, 03:18:43 PM »
Several attempts were made but the men upfront need to work on their finishing. Hoping they can build from this game. On to Peru...

better we  replace those guys up front soon very soon Cornell Glen (33)  kenwyne Jones  (29) Devon Jorsling (30) no young strikers at home? thought we were building towards 2018 ....

« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2013, 03:23:52 PM »
i think the goal  is short term (i.e. gold cup) hence the older more experienced players.  plus i cant think of any young forwards who doing anything special these days that warrant a call up.

« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2013, 03:27:07 PM »
Did anyone catch where the belize announcer pointed out that they had considerable more time for preparation as the majority of the squad were local. I would really like to see this game for the 90min.
The field is always a major factor in a game & this one did not help the quality at all.

« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2013, 03:32:36 PM »
Did anyone catch where the belize announcer pointed out that they had considerable more time for preparation as the majority of the squad were local. I would really like to see this game for the 90min.
The field is always a major factor in a game & this one did not help the quality at all.

there is a link to the full game above

« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2013, 03:33:06 PM »
I would really like to see this game for the 90min.

« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2013, 03:58:02 PM »

there is a link to the full game above

Thanks so much

« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2013, 04:13:24 PM »
Well I looked at this game in its entirety. From my observations, I must express kudos to Left back Jones and Mitchell for their confident defensive play.  In the midfield, Birchall worked impressively hard, but not to be bias, even the commentators said it, Theobald was truly impressive and the most influential player on the field.  However, Birchall and Theobald are two box to bx midfielders, so I think the best option for this team would be to see Birchall in a first stopper Role, have Theobald as the holding midfielder and then have Keon in front as the attacking midfielder... This is a recipe for killing teams.. Upfront, Kenwyn could have done more, but Glen worked hard and I believe has secured his spot.  Everybody else was just support in my opinion... Looking forward to the next game

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2013, 05:24:49 PM »
birchall as a first stopper?  allyuh not easy.

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2013, 06:24:16 PM »
Nice result considering the changes.  It seems like the D is still doing well.  The final 3rd needs some cohesion and a bit of luck.  Nice cross by Birchy, we need dangerous crossed for sure.  This team will poison come Gold Cup. 

« Reply #25 on: March 24, 2013, 06:25:46 PM »
No teams are considered a "walk in the park" anymore just look at the Finland vs Spain result,and when you don't have lots of time to prepare I would have to say it was a good result for TT.Belize did very well in the qualifying matches for the GC so it was always going to be a good test for our players,with some travelling from abroad wasn't ideal but with more time and matches we will probably surprise many.

Bright Spots in The Belize Match
« Reply #26 on: March 24, 2013, 08:23:11 PM »
Joevin Jones !!!..big big player!

Cleon John- takes care of his area..very composed and distributes extremely well..most of all he's not glued to his line.

Joevin Jones!

Cornell Glen..the ultimate professional

Keon Daniel..needs more of the ball

Denzil Theobald..de BOSS!!

Devon Jorsling..the little time he spent on the field he created more problems for the sweepers than Kenwyn Jones did the entire match..had he been trained to be calm and simply lay off that ball he had already accomplished the mission in that he drew out the sweeper deep into the midfield ..now that space is left behind only to be exploited..instead  we got carried away and had to get a red card..it still tipped  the scale in our favour because that stalwart sweeper was gone that's why we were able to apply so much pressure in the dregs...

who say the youths can't do it..yes they can ..with the right preparation,direction and leadership

Offline ANC2

« Reply #27 on: March 25, 2013, 07:39:10 AM »
Is almost like a desperation thing now with TT. Man talking about good performance against  Belize. This is an opposition of
purely local based players, have very little experience in International football and we seem almost relieved to tie the game.
Performance alone needs to be questioned, if not the lack of a result. Predictable football boarding on boom kick, long balls up to Jones or diagonal
long passes to the left side. That is the extent of the offensive tactics? Then the defending, players left exposed, no cover for the challenging player,
no frontal cover for the back line, if and when play break down leaving big holes on counter attack.  My reaction to watching the game was thank god
we only played Belize.

For man who talking about first stopper :banginghead:

Re: Re: Scoreless draw as Warriors can't find was past Belize.
« Reply #28 on: March 25, 2013, 08:04:39 AM »
Is almost like a desperation thing now with TT. Man talking about good performance against  Belize. This is an opposition of
purely local based players, have very little experience in International football and we seem almost relieved to tie the game.
Performance alone needs to be questioned, if not the lack of a result. Predictable football boarding on boom kick, long balls up to Jones or diagonal
long passes to the left side. That is the extent of the offensive tactics? Then the defending, players left exposed, no cover for the challenging player,
no frontal cover for the back line, if and when play break down leaving big holes on counter attack.  My reaction to watching the game was thank god
we only played Belize.

Peru game we will see who really ready.

« Reply #29 on: March 25, 2013, 11:25:44 AM »
we only played Belize.

have looked at d game video yet but even with d live footage being dirty .....it didn't seem to have plenty to write home about..will run through it tonight though.