April 27, 2024, 08:29:05 AM

Author Topic: Football is a contact sport  (Read 1226 times)

Offline happy go lucky

Football is a contact sport
« on: March 27, 2013, 08:28:07 AM »
I am sorry this is my 1st thread please be kind people I am not here to show up any one only making keen observations and sharing them. I will start by congratulating the ttff for finally keeping the boys occupied on a FIFA dates. I am happy for the results believe it or not. We don't need smoke screens at this juncture this is why I am pleased that we were schooled by a far more technical Team and staff. Let's face it our boys gave their all kudos to them which brings me to the point of the thread, we in Trinidad and Tobago has been spoiled by small goal......oh yeh. Our pros go out there and play this small goal gentleman brand where we make very little contact with our opponents and it's so annoying / no jersey pulling no shoulder bumping no no take downs on counter attacks simply no cheeky tactics and the last i checked intentional fouls is an integral part of the game once you fouled outside your defensive area.

Last night I saw a lot of positives and games like these could only do us a world of good but we need to fast forward to the present were you don't chase a speedy opponents for 60 yards this is not flag football. come to the present people where you cut him down and start the play over, barca does it, Milan does it, bayern does it that is how the game is played in the 21st century......hello is any body home? The first two goals were quite preventable had our midfield fouled in the counter same way they brought down our speedy wingers when ever they were beaten for pace, we need to learn fast and now that this is how the modern game is played foul before they dismantle your formation this is rudimentary folks not high science.  Thanks for listening.

« Last Edit: March 27, 2013, 08:39:35 AM by happy go lucky »

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
Re: Football is a contact sport
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 09:52:37 AM »
Our team didn't tackle and try to make their presence known in the defense. Seem like they were escorting the Peruvian players in the box.  The entire team gotta get a little more physical.  It even affectd us on the offensive side, Cornell Glen spent most of the game complaining cause he got brought down a few times. yeah he took a few knocks, but nothing really flagrant as the way he was carrying on.  He complain and complain until I think they he got carded.  That's how the game is played. like you said its not flag football.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2013, 09:56:45 AM by CAPITANO »
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 11:08:50 AM »
I am sorry this is my 1st thread please be kind people...

Welcome  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2013, 12:33:36 PM »
I watch the cross for the 1st goal and have not gone any further and yuh right. Good 1st observation. That cross should have never been allowed to happen. BUt the LFB just jog with the attacker and watch him cross the ball. He should have defelected that for a corner or for a throw in or force the player to cut back. BUt a free cross and you right in the ma face? Not good.

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2013, 01:09:59 PM »
Welcome on board and good first post. Yes we were "too nice" and I beleive that's due to how we play the game but we have to change that culture if we want to compete in today's game. Peru was fouling us everytime we carossed the half disrupting any sort of momentum we were trying to create, how many times was Glen able to stand or manuver with the ball at his feet? Not only was he swarmed by white shirts as the lone striker but everytime he touched or came close to they had him eating grass. We on the other hand we giving them loads of space, they were beating us to most balls, they attacked in numbers, with options in transition, many times were we escourting or chasing and that is probably the main reason reason we never had a chance to stay in the game.
We have to learn to stop our opponents from early, shutting down space, disrupting their flow by fouling (smart of course) at times, giving up nothing easy until we figure out how to break them down. We all saw the first goal, got burned down the line, two defenders ball watching, no communication, unaware of where the foraward was, so many things wrong with that play. Then again if we did what we had to do to prevent that cross ball we would've hung in the game a little longer.
It's tough for me to critisize our players when most of them are not use to playing at a high level of intensity that is essential for the international game but if we'll like to be competitive and give ourselves a chance we must learn to make our presence felt when we take the field. I truly hope that this was a lesson learn and we can take away these things from it.

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2013, 05:02:37 PM »
Welcome. I see a lot of people suggesting the use of professional fouls to break the other teams rythm. I would advocate this with extreme caustion. Not because Barca, Madrid, etc, doing we should do it. Especially in Central America. Remember Avery vs Sweden. TT players will not get the benefit of doubt with those refs. They may straight red.

« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2013, 05:32:06 PM »
Welcome. I see a lot of people suggesting the use of professional fouls to break the other teams rythm. I would advocate this with extreme caustion. Not because Barca, Madrid, etc, doing we should do it. Especially in Central America. Remember Avery vs Sweden. TT players will not get the benefit of doubt with those refs. They may straight red.

Nah not professional fouls, tackles to win the ball, which is part of the game. We escorting attacker, when we should be tackling to win the ball.