March 28, 2024, 03:46:07 PM

Author Topic: RIP Daft Trini  (Read 49127 times)

Re: RIP Daft Trini
« Reply #90 on: April 03, 2013, 03:00:08 PM »
If allyuh only read Daft last post on this board. i only shaking my head

Boy, all yuh could do is shake yuh head.

You know this kinda sh*& is make me appreciate my fellow SWN members more.

RIP Chris. Ah feeling it.

« Reply #91 on: April 03, 2013, 03:06:22 PM »
Boy, all yuh could do is shake yuh head.

You know this kinda sh*& is make me appreciate my fellow SWN members more.

RIP Chris. Ah feeling it.

Yuh eh lie... under all the shit up and shit talk, this is precisely what I was getting at.

The next thing, I want to follow this case but I feeling ahow.

Today was the wife court date. Any news? Maybe we need another thread for that.

Today was just the prelim... nothing significant would have happened.  In fact my guess is that it was waived.  I plan on making the trip for the court dates as time permits.... I'd hate to drive down there only for it to get continued for another day.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2013, 03:08:46 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #92 on: April 03, 2013, 03:26:37 PM »

R.I.Peaceful Journey Chris,,,, you will be missed.

« Reply #93 on: April 03, 2013, 03:58:41 PM »
Is strange although Chris listed himself as separated, just last month his wife put up a romantic photo of the two of them and there are numerous photos of them as of late last yr. going out and looking like a happy couple.

I don't know the facts but I hope they come out at the trial.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #94 on: April 03, 2013, 06:22:37 PM »
R.I.P Daft

« Reply #95 on: April 03, 2013, 06:37:10 PM »
R.I.P soldier.  Condolences to the family. 

« Reply #96 on: April 03, 2013, 07:58:57 PM »
Dianna Lalchan Held in a Halfway House on Voluntary Manslaughter Charge

Posted April 3, 2013, 6:57 p.m. by Penny Ray | Leave a Comment

Judge Robert Morin ruled Wednesday that there was probable cause to hold Dianna Lalchan, 27, at a halfway house on suspicion of voluntary manslaughter in connection with the shooting death of her husband, Christopher Lalchan, last week.

Prosecutors had pursued first-degree murder charges in the case. Defense attorneys argued Wednesday that the killing was in self-defense.

In making his finding of voluntary manslaughter, Judge Robert Morin said Wednesday that “even if [Dianna Lalchan] acted in self-defense, the force was excessive.”

Dianna Lalchan, a pharmacist at Walter Reed Medical Center in Bethesda, was arrested last week on a charge of second-degree murder in connection with her husband’s death. Police found Christopher Lalchan lying on the couple’s living room floor with a gunshot wound to the back of his head.

According to 911 call records, Dianna Lalchan called 911 that night. A portion of that call was played in court Wednesday.

On the recording, at the beginning of the call, Dianna Lalchan hesitates to speak. After the dispatcher obtains the address of the incident, Dianna finally says, “My husband was getting violent, and, umm…”

Lalchan paused, and the dispatcher asked where her husband was.

“On the floor,” Dianna Lalchan replied. “I shot him.”

When police arrived they found that Christopher Lalchan had suffered a single gunshot wound to the back of his head. Two other fired bullets were recovered from the scene: one was lodged in the kitchen wall, and the other was fragmented and lodged in the floor right next to Christopher Lalchan’s head, Metropolitan Police Detective Robert Cephas testified Wednesday.

Dianna Lalchan told detectives that she shot her husband as he charged at her. But a medical examiner determined that the bullet entry wound in the back of Christopher Lalchan’s head had a downward angle, which was inconsistent with that description, Cephas testified.

Prosecutors believe that Christopher Lalchan may have ducked and fell when an initial shot did not strike him; then was struck by a subsequent bullet.

Dianna Lalchan told police the evening was the deadly culmination of years of domestic abuse. The abuse “started from the beginning” of their marriage, and Christopher Lalchan would often slap and choke her, she said.

“In the past it got to the point where he would strangle me,” Dianna Lalchan told detectives. “But if he wanted to kill me, I would be dead by now.”

No reports were ever filed with police.

Matthew Hanna, an investigator with the D.C. Public Defender Service, testified that he spoke with several of Dianna Lalchan’s friends and colleagues, and that they all said that Dianna Lalchan had been victimized.

One of the witnesses told Hanna that Dianna Lalchan never reported the abuse because “her husband was going into politics and she didn’t want anything on his record,” Hanna said.

On the evening of March 27, Christopher Lalchan called Dianna around 5 p.m. and asked her to come home so they could “talk about their marriage,” Detective Cephas said.

Dianna Lalchan told detectives that the argument lasted all evening, and at one point Christopher Lalchan picked up a bicycle and threw it across the apartment.

Moments before the shooting, Christopher Lalchan picked up a plastic mop and held it above his head like a baseball bat, Dianna Lalchan told police. They struggled over the mop for a while, but Dianna Lalchan wrestled it from him. The two argued for a few minutes more, then Dianna Lalchan told her husband that she didn’t feel safe. So Christopher Lalchan retrieved a handgun from the bedroom closet and placed it on a television stand in the living room.

In the police interrogation video played in court Wednesday, Dianna Lalchan is seen telling police, “I pretend like I’m scared,” and that she “talked him into getting the gun out of the closet.”

Dianna Lalchan told police that shortly after Christopher Lalchan placed the gun on the television stand so that she would “feel safe,” he lunged at her. So she grabbed the gun and fired three shots.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Cynthia Wright argued that Dianna Lalchan showed no remorse in the 911 call, and that there was no description of the violence that occurred that night given to the dispatcher.

“The government is certainly sympathetic to the battered woman syndrome,” Wright said. “But the typical things that one would hear in a domestic violence call just weren’t there.”

Judge Morin scheduled a felony status conference on Judge Ronna Beck’s calendar for May 10.

http://homicidewatch.org/2013/04/03/judge-orders-walter-reed-pharmacist-dianna-lalchan-held-in-a-halfway-house-in-connection-with-death-of-husband/

Offline ChipChipSilver

• 'Let the Good Times Roll'
  • Do you feel like working today?
« Reply #97 on: April 03, 2013, 08:25:59 PM »
So sad, haven't posted in while but had to come in to say my thoughts and prayers are with his family. May God comfort them and give them strength in this difficult time. RIP
In Everything, Give Thanks

« Reply #98 on: April 04, 2013, 10:47:57 AM »
D.C. judge orders pharmacist accused of killing husband released from jail
By Keith L. Alexander (Washington Post)

A D.C. Superior Court judge found enough evidence Wednesday to support the possibility that a Walter Reed pharmacist accused of killing her husband last week acted in self-defense.

Judge Robert E. Morin reduced the charge against Diana Lalchan from second-degree murder to voluntary manslaughter and ordered that she be released into a halfway house and placed on Global Positioning System monitoring until her trial. Lalchan is accused of fatally shooting her husband, Christopher Lalchan, in their Southwest Washington condo on March 28.

Lalchan's attorney, Arthur Ago of the District’s Public Defender Service, said his client was battered by her husband during their four-year marriage. Lalchan told friends, according to an investigator, that she never filed assault charges or sought a restraining order because her husband had plans to enter politics.

Prosecutors initially charged Lalchan with second-degree murder and, at Wednesday’s preliminary hearing, indicated they had plans to elevate the charge to first-degree murder. They said that Christopher Lalchan, 36, was shot in the back of the head and that evidence showed his wife was walking toward him as she fired. At the hearing, Morin said he wanted more information about the report that Lalchan was killed by a bullet to the back of the head. “I need clarity on that,” Morin said.

Diana Lalchan, 27, sobbed when marshals escorted her into the courtroom and she saw her parents and friends sitting in the audience. During most of the hearing, she sat with her head bowed in her hands, her hair covering her face. At times, she rocked back and forth. At one point Morin became concerned with Lalchan's behavior and asked her attorney to inquire about his client’s condition.

Lalchan grew up in Bethlehem, Pa., the daughter of a physician and his wife, who emigrated from Taiwan. Argo described his client as a highly motivated woman who graduated from high school in three years, finished college in two years and earned a doctorate degree in pharmaceuticals. He said that after her arrest, she was placed on paid administrative leave from her job at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda. Argo said his client had no prior arrests or history of drug use.

Lalchan told detectives she met her husband in church but had never met his family, who are from the Caribbean island of Trinidad. None of Christopher Lalchan’s family members attended the hearing.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Cynthia Wright repeatedly argued she was concerned about Lalchan's mental state. Wright played the 911 call in which Lalchan, sounding calm, told the operator that her husband “was getting violent. I shot him. He’s on the floor.” When the operator asked whether she wanted an ambulance, Lalchan instead requested police. Wright argued that women who are victims of domestic abuse are often hysterical after a violent incident.

Homicide Detective Robert Cephas Jr. testified that Lalchan told police she and her husband were arguing the night he was killed and that he never struck her. She told police that her husband had grabbed a mop and lunged at her but that she was able to take the mop from him. Lalchan said she told her husband she was afraid of him and that he went into a room, took out a .40 caliber pistol, placed it on a TV stand and told her “you should feel safe now.”

Lalchan, who also had a knife with her the night her husband died, told detectives her husband then lunged at her and she grabbed the gun and fired, striking her husband once in the back of the head. Cephas testified that preliminary results showed Lalchan was pointing the gun downward when she shot her husband, as though he were on the floor.

Lalchan told detectives she and her husband were in the process of separating.

The case was sent to a grand jury. Jurors could, based on additional evidence, indict Lalchan on additional charges, including second-degree murder. A follow-up hearing was scheduled for May 10.

« Reply #99 on: April 04, 2013, 11:12:10 AM »
This judge is a f**king moron... from the article I posted:

Two other fired bullets were recovered from the scene: one was lodged in the kitchen wall, and the other was fragmented and lodged in the floor right next to Christopher Lalchan’s head, Metropolitan Police Detective Robert Cephas testified Wednesday.

Dianna Lalchan told detectives that she shot her husband as he charged at her. But a medical examiner determined that the bullet entry wound in the back of Christopher Lalchan’s head had a downward angle, which was inconsistent with that description, Cephas testified.

How the hell could you downgrade the charge to voluntary manslaughter when her story not adding up?  He supposedly put the gun on the TV stand and start to walk away then suddenly turn and charge at her... and in that short space of time she happen the grab the same gun and squeeze off three shots??  He charged at her and what... turned his head?  The medical examiner indicated that the bullet entered his head at a downward angle; the detective testify that another round was lodged in the floor right next to his head.  That mean she not only shot him in the back of the head, but likely as he was ducking to get away.  Then after the first shot put him down she stood over him and fired one more time at his head, just missing him.  She family and friends show up... but nobody there to represent Daft.  That have to change.

« Reply #100 on: April 04, 2013, 11:16:25 AM »
Next issue is how long will the family persist with the PD?

« Reply #101 on: April 04, 2013, 11:19:36 AM »
That
This judge is a f**king moron... from the article I posted:

Two other fired bullets were recovered from the scene: one was lodged in the kitchen wall, and the other was fragmented and lodged in the floor right next to Christopher Lalchan’s head, Metropolitan Police Detective Robert Cephas testified Wednesday.

How the hell could you downgrade the charge to voluntary manslaughter when her story not adding up?  He supposedly put the gun on the TV stand and start to walk away then suddenly turn and charge at her... and in that short space of time she happen the grab the same gun and squeeze off three shots??  He charged at her and what... turned his head?  The medical examiner indicated that the bullet entered his head at a downward angle; the detective testify that another round was lodged in the floor right next to his head.  That mean she not only shot him in the back of the head, but likely as he was ducking to get away.  Then after the first shot put him down she stood over him and fired one more time at his head, just missing him.  She family and friends show up... but nobody there to represent Daft.  That have to change.

Something like that happen to John F .Kennedy .
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 11:28:49 AM by Qmire »

« Reply #102 on: April 04, 2013, 11:34:55 AM »
In the police interrogation video played in court Wednesday, Dianna Lalchan is seen telling police, “I pretend like I’m scared,” and that she “talked him into getting the gun out of the closet.”

So she said that she convinced him to bring the gun for her to feel safe, pretending to feel scared.  Doesn't that sound like she was planning to kill him at that point?  And if she really felt so unsafe that she might have to fire a weapon, why not leave? She felt shooting him was the better deal?
This is such a damn shame.

« Reply #103 on: April 04, 2013, 11:51:16 AM »
If it was a man who shoot the woman he would be on murder charge.

Offline Trevor

« Reply #104 on: April 04, 2013, 12:14:18 PM »
But what is this!!  RIP brother!

« Reply #105 on: April 04, 2013, 02:47:45 PM »
This is no doubt about it whatsoever based on what I've read so far in this thread and elsewhere that this was pre-meditated murder on behalf of DT's wife. No wonder he was looking to break-up with that woman.

This trial should be for nothing else but first-degree murder, the evidence obtained so far clearly points to that!

I hope Christopher will have some family and friends that care about justice for him present at the next hearing and the murder trial.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 02:50:33 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #106 on: April 04, 2013, 05:59:44 PM »
Many here seem to think they know the facts.

Granted it strange a man running towards you and get a shot in the back of the head.
She will have to explain that in court, unless she close she eye and shoot.

« Reply #107 on: April 04, 2013, 06:46:54 PM »
wayyyy sahhh...RIP brother! this rel sad

« Reply #108 on: April 04, 2013, 07:13:46 PM »
A girlfriend of mines just took up a posting in the Washington High Commission. The first thing to meet her on her desk was a report from ICE informing them of Draft's death.

« Reply #109 on: April 04, 2013, 08:45:35 PM »
A girlfriend of mines just took up a posting in the Washington High Commission. The first thing to meet her on her desk was a report from ICE informing them of Draft's death.
Weary can you find out anything from your friend concerning a funeral?
How his family coping?..etc

Sad that he had no one there physically at the hearing on his behalf.
Can't believe she get sent to a half-way house either..steups

« Reply #110 on: April 04, 2013, 08:52:20 PM »

I will see what I can find out.

« Reply #111 on: April 04, 2013, 10:31:07 PM »
dedicated a song to him last night at a gig I played....
met him at a mod sec football reunion...
blessings man

« Reply #112 on: April 04, 2013, 10:42:09 PM »
blessings man

« Reply #113 on: April 04, 2013, 11:18:51 PM »
This is no doubt about it whatsoever based on what I've read so far in this thread and elsewhere that this was pre-meditated murder on behalf of DT's wife. No wonder he was looking to break-up with that woman.

This trial should be for nothing else but first-degree murder, the evidence obtained so far clearly points to that!

I hope Christopher will have some family and friends that care about justice for him present at the next hearing and the murder trial.

It actually does not, second-degree murder was the proper charge and under present facts manslaughter could also be justified.  All that said, I can't tell people how to think, but my focus isn't just on choosing sides simply because I "knew" Chris... my focus is on justice.  I say that to say this: the facts of this particular case aside, domestic violence is real and it is unacceptable, no matter which spouse is doing the abusing.  Things don't have to get this far... please, if any one of you, or people allyuh know in a situation like this, urge them to get help, there are resources out there for abuser and abused alike.

Good stuff Big Mag  :beermug:

« Reply #114 on: April 05, 2013, 06:57:43 AM »
If it was a man who shoot the woman he would be on murder charge.
Indeed.

« Reply #115 on: April 05, 2013, 07:46:23 AM »
blessings man

RIP bro...u kickin ball in heaven now

« Reply #116 on: April 05, 2013, 07:48:45 AM »

It actually does not, second-degree murder was the proper charge and under present facts manslaughter could also be justified.  All that said, I can't tell people how to think, but my focus isn't just on choosing sides simply because I "knew" Chris... my focus is on justice.  I say that to say this: the facts of this particular case aside, domestic violence is real and it is unacceptable, no matter which spouse is doing the abusing.  Things don't have to get this far... please, if any one of you, or people allyuh know in a situation like this, urge them to get help, there are resources out there for abuser and abused alike.

i agree...domestic abuse normally occurs in cycles...but help is available...there are resources out there

« Reply #117 on: April 05, 2013, 08:42:12 AM »

Great post bredda...in my neck of the woods (as it should be in all necks of the woods), this is indeed a huge issue...I believe that the forum shouldn't be place to cast aspersions on either the perpetrator or the victim in situations like this, however I am SURE most forumites are familiar with DV episodes (if not involved in them themselves?) so without being privy to all the facts it's hard to say what the hell was really going on in them people's lives.

Also my girl explanation is kinda jokey, but again who really know what was going on with them that caused it to come to a head the way it did...RIP DC Trini.

« Reply #118 on: April 05, 2013, 09:21:18 AM »
I reading this thread from the time it has been initiated and I am amazed at how we allow our "emotions" to make us jump to conclusions.  from Just cool to king jackass, men speculating and lambasting the judge and playing forensic expert all at the same time....Even for the people on here that knew him with some personal degree of intimacy, no one know in intimate detail what was going on in that household and marriage and unless anybody spent time in their home, or has seen the CSI reports/photos, no one can or should speculate (especially publicly) what happened or how it happened, where it happened or the sequence of events.  Sure, her story doesn't make sense to any of us on the outside but none of us were there and there is not enough "evidence" to say how things happened one way or another....and since we bringing up the issue of "domestic violence". people have to bear in mind that it doesn't always have to come in the form of a physical application.  There are a myriad of ways to "threaten" a person without saying a word. For me, the best way t respect the dead is to pray that he finds peace and safe passage in whatever realm and however he would have wished for it as is applicable to his faith. Especially in this case!
« Last Edit: April 05, 2013, 09:23:20 AM by Mango Chow! »

« Reply #119 on: April 05, 2013, 09:43:58 AM »

I will see what I can find out.

She had ltd info they got an address in Gasparillo but no phone number whichwas forwarded to ICE. They made no more contact with the embassy so it os believed that the wife provided more info. So if anybody here from Gasparillo they might be able to give some more info.