March 29, 2024, 12:35:32 AM

Author Topic: The Fallen Warrior Thread  (Read 17070 times)

Re: The Fallen Warrior Thread
« Reply #30 on: August 26, 2014, 09:46:09 AM »
I wondered if this thread was around. RIP Coops

R.I.P Phensic
« Reply #31 on: March 31, 2015, 05:19:09 PM »
We lost another member today. Although he seldom posted he was always around the site. R.I.P Phensic.
Funds are being raised for his family here:

http://www.youcaring.com/memorial-fundraiser/help-for-kristin-and-kensi/330621#.VRsnUUsNFyW.facebook

Re: R.I.P Phensic
« Reply #32 on: March 31, 2015, 05:38:30 PM »
Really sorry to hear of his passing... Godspeed to your rest brother  :beermug:

« Reply #33 on: March 31, 2015, 05:40:24 PM »
Thanks for sharing this. Condolences to his loved ones.

« Reply #34 on: March 31, 2015, 05:53:30 PM »
Sorry to hear about that. RIP. In truth, I totally forget about him because he hardly used to post. But Go With God, Breds!

« Reply #35 on: March 31, 2015, 06:03:18 PM »
Wow!  So sorry to hear that news.

Condolences to family and friends.  RIP Phensic

« Reply #36 on: March 31, 2015, 07:04:56 PM »
IN MEMORIAM

Phensic on his experience in Germany 2006

1. How long did you stay in Germany?
I was there for two days one night. Drove from England, via France, Belgium and Holland.

2. Did you have WC-tickets or did you buy them in Germany?
My cuz organized tickets for me for TnT vs SWE and TNT vs PAR. Was only able to do the TnT vs SWE game though.  Couldn't get tickets for the TnT vs Eng, but I watched it in England...a real ketch horros seeing all them red-cross flags (England flag) drped all over the place afterwards...was like a blasted Red Cross blood drive!  ;D

3. In which hotels were you accomodated and were you satisfied with your hotel?
My crew stayed in a the Hotel Stradd located in Hamm...a small town/city just outside of Dortmund city.  The hotel was decent and nicely located in the center of the city. Took the train into Dortmund after checking into the hotel.

4. Did you arrange your stay by yourself or did you use a travel agency?
Again, my cuz was the organizer

5. What is your opinion about Germany, the Germans and would you like to return to Germany for holidays?
Well boy...I have to say the youths and dem REAL kewl! A group of them adopted my crew and TnT at the train station in Hamm.  They supply us with drinks, cigs and entertainment, all on the way to Dortmund on the train...they were all painting their faces with the national flag...dat was a great experience.

Phensic on Denzil Theobald

Touches I know your question was directed to someone else, but ah have a two cents to contribute.

I saw Denzil play live in Foxboro (MA, USA) against Guatemala in the last Gold Cup. Not 100% sure but I believe he was the captain for that game, what I am 100% sure about is that dat boy gave 150% of himself in that game. I was down in the front seating near the field and I could see dee man veins popping up on his head from effort and work rate. Up until then I was NOT a Denzil fan, but after seeing his effort level up close and the way he Marshalled our players on set plays and in general, I have to give the man nuff respect.

The effort of the team in the second half on the whole was impressive and deserved of the equalizing goal.

Phensic in response to learning of injury to Kenwyne Jones

Owww!

ACL and MCL...damn, I am presently recovering from similar injuries and ah could testify that it not easy. Rehab work before and after the operation is vital for full recovery.

Its been around 4 months now since my surgery and although i can walk and do a slow jog, there are still spots around my knee that are still somewhat numb to the touch.

Hard luck there KJ ah feeling it for yuh dread...positive vibes!

Phensic on life

Touches, thats some amazing restraint on your part...Iz funny, the only time I have ever been called a nigger was in my own country by a spoil rich trini-white gyaul (who didn't know her ass from her elbow) in Pelos car park...I have been living in Boston for over 6 years now and have been around more white people than ever before, and to date, not once have I been on the receiving end of a racial slur...

But ah still young so yuh never know!

« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 07:11:03 PM by asylumseeker »

Online soccerman

« Reply #37 on: March 31, 2015, 08:16:45 PM »
It's always shocking anytime we loose a fellow member. RIP bro and condolences to the family.

From his pic, he was relatively young too.

« Reply #38 on: March 31, 2015, 09:19:40 PM »
RIP .. cool soldier. Sincere condolences to the family, love-ones and friends. 
« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 09:22:16 PM by Jumbie »

« Reply #39 on: March 31, 2015, 09:32:13 PM »
RIP and god bless to the family...

« Reply #40 on: March 31, 2015, 09:59:26 PM »
It's always shocking anytime we loose a fellow member. RIP bro and condolences to the family.

From his pic, he was relatively young too.

He was early 40's . When to school with him . Cool guy with a good sense of humor.   

« Reply #41 on: April 01, 2015, 11:55:51 AM »
May he rest in peace.
Nice of asylumseeker to pay respect with his real words which will be there for posterity

« Reply #42 on: April 01, 2015, 12:40:07 PM »
RIP fallen warrior

« Reply #43 on: April 01, 2015, 08:05:44 PM »
Name: Kenyatta Braithwaite
Forum Handle: Phensic
Date of Death: March 31st, 2015
Cause of Death: Post-surgical septic shock
Memorial Thread: http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64206.0

« Reply #44 on: April 01, 2015, 10:29:20 PM »
RIP SW brother.

« Reply #45 on: April 02, 2015, 03:02:40 AM »

RIP Phensic

Offline Swima

« Reply #46 on: April 02, 2015, 06:34:11 AM »
Wha bout I know Phensic since I was in short pants and never know d man posting as Phensic was Kenny. Heard about his death yesterday from my mom. He grew up in the same neighbourhood and was friends with my bro as small men. Was real break dancing on my porch. Wow! Heard it was some negligence on the part of the surgeon too. Not sure though.

RIP bro.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #47 on: April 02, 2015, 09:15:03 AM »
It does be a kind of sinking feeling to see this thread pop up on the board knowing full well what it mean.  RIP... Condolences to the family.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #48 on: April 02, 2015, 11:38:44 AM »
It does be a kind of sinking feeling to see this thread pop up on the board knowing full well what it mean.  RIP... Condolences to the family.

CO-SIGN

« Reply #49 on: April 02, 2015, 12:18:24 PM »
Bring back sad memories of the Texeira incident.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #50 on: April 02, 2015, 04:55:37 PM »
RIP Phensic.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #51 on: April 03, 2015, 05:22:02 AM »
RIP Phensic.....

« Reply #52 on: March 12, 2017, 09:11:27 AM »
Name: Joann Charles
Forum Handle: Weary1969
Date of Death: March 2nd, 2017
Cause of Death: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma
Memorial Thread: http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=65810.0

« Reply #53 on: March 12, 2017, 01:47:11 PM »
Name: Joann Charles
Forum Handle: Weary1969
Date of Death: March 2nd, 2017
Cause of Death: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma
Memorial Thread: http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=65810.0

*sigh*   :'( :'(

Tribute to a man for sport—John E. Sabga
« Reply #54 on: November 16, 2017, 08:50:35 AM »
Tribute to a man for sport—John E. Sabga
By Jonathon Matouk (T&T Guardian)

Today, on National Pancreatic Cancer Day, Guardian Media Sport honours the life of John E Sabga, an individual who contributed to local sport in ways in which few others that came before him had ever done.

“He was always willing to give, through guidance or actual assistance when he could, and he did it silently, he never did it for the public recognition, he did it for the passion he had to help others,” his son Matthew told Guardian Media Sport.

“As a member of the Queen’s Park Cricket Club he gave his endless support to the club, in addition to his alma mater, Fatima College, he also made contributions to countless secondary schools and sports clubs in T&T,” he added.

Furthermore, Sabga was a sports fanatic, he loved his West Indies and Soca Warriors teams, with whom he gave his endless support to, all over the world.

Matthew recounted a story in which, even when he was sick and undergoing chemotherapy, on his last trip home to T&T, he went to the Hasely Crawford Stadium to watch his Soca Warriors team play for one last time against Guatemala.

That relentless passion for sport can be appreciated within the countless articles of memorabilia, gifted to him through his friendships in sport, and hung proudly throughout his dream-come-true sports bar and restaurant ‘Trotters’.

One of the lesser-known highlights of Sabga’s sporting background was that he ran on former FIFA referee Ramesh Ramdhan’s ticket for the post of Vice-President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association in the November 2015 elections.

His goal, his son explained, stemmed from his disappointment of the mismanagement of the national team, “he had nothing to gain from being vice president, this was purely his passion for T&T football, he wanted to give back to T&T football, being a life-long fan, he wanted to help take T&T football forward and not backward,” he said.

Words cannot begin to portray the type of man John E Sabga was, but as a friend of Sabga’s, Brian Lara, mentioned prior to dedicating a community T20 cricket tour match in his honour, “It is difficult to find a more passionate and knowledgeable man in sport as John Sabga and it’s guys like him that inspire you daily to keep going.”

In his memory, today, his wife, Natalie Sabga has launched the John E Sabga Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer.

The non-profit organisation aims to raise money to fund research and clinical trials to find an answer to the disease, and to educate and give back to the people of T&T who have suffered at the hands of the disease. To learn more about the foundation and to donate to the cause you can visit thejesfoundation.com

« Reply #55 on: November 16, 2017, 09:58:41 AM »
Every time I see this thread bumped up I  does grimace.

I now open it with trepidation.

« Reply #56 on: November 16, 2017, 04:06:10 PM »
Rest in Peace, John. I did not know him per se. But  everyone know the Sabga's because of the prominence in TT society. If what they said about him is true, it is really sad that the past admins. and this Sabga could not find some kind of common ground to help improve football. God Bless.

« Reply #57 on: November 16, 2017, 07:56:23 PM »
Rest in Peace, John. I did not know him per se. But  everyone know the Sabga's because of the prominence in TT society. If what they said about him is true, it is really sad that the past admins. and this Sabga could not find some kind of common ground to help improve football. God Bless.

He was ah cool fella. He even joined de Warrior Nation when we first started it.  Whenever I went Trotters and he see meh, he would always take time out from whatever he was doing and come and hail meh and talk bout football.

Online soccerman

« Reply #58 on: November 16, 2017, 08:05:58 PM »
RIP John, one who demonstrated true passion behind T&T sports.

« Reply #59 on: September 04, 2019, 10:42:29 AM »
Imagine if weary was here should will post a big STEUPSE in response to the state of T&T football   :D