April 24, 2024, 09:49:06 PM

Author Topic: Canada eases past Trinidad in U-17 opener.  (Read 5748 times)

Offline socalion

Re: Canada eases past Trinidad in U-17 opener.
« Reply #30 on: April 08, 2013, 09:50:56 AM »
Well said king deese...

« Reply #31 on: April 08, 2013, 09:57:02 AM »
If Woo Ling was the most gifted player, he would be starting. Therefore in the coaches' opinion he is not. Concerning him trying out with foreign teams. So what? That does not mean much. Look how many of our yutes went to try out foreign and they are back home.  But Mathew is definitely a good prospect. He has to do some things on his own. One being body strength. If he can do that, he will be one hell of a player.

But I do share a lot of the forum sentiments as pertain to the intensity or lack thereof. This team will gel when they are in the U23. As long as TTFF are on pins and needles, don't expect quick development. More like molassess.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2013, 10:00:26 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #32 on: April 08, 2013, 10:21:34 AM »
Are we missing the point? This is still part of development where you get to test the progress of your programme. The post test evaluation would inform the way forward. Put in context are we expecting more than we're investing? Are they ahead of where the programme should be as implemented? Those answers and more would be forthcoming.

I always want us to succeed, but the result is not the end of the world. It however affect the opportunities for collective progress as a group since the plan is always - get the result to progress rather than progressing to get the results.

The talk continues.... doh beat up!
« Last Edit: April 08, 2013, 10:24:00 AM by doc »

« Reply #33 on: April 08, 2013, 11:16:14 AM »
Are we missing the point? This is still part of development where you get to test the progress of your programme. The post test evaluation would inform the way forward. Put in context are we expecting more than we're investing? Are they ahead of where the programme should be as implemented? Those answers and more would be forthcoming.

I always want us to succeed, but the result is not the end of the world. It however affect the opportunities for collective progress as a group since the plan is always - get the result to progress rather than progressing to get the results.

The talk continues.... doh beat up!

Please keep truth, common sense and logic out of the f**king discussion doc!

Much appreciated my man, much appreciated.

« Reply #34 on: April 08, 2013, 01:18:57 PM »
Trinitodeozbone!! That point you made ..I made that same point back in the 80's..my coaches in Trinidad were saying the same thing..The Corneal family is the football mafia and  was the football mafia in Trinidad in the 70's and 80's  then Jack Warner took control, now it looks like Warner is out of the picture and the Corneals are back..well look mediocrity now.
We were never better than mediocre under Alvin Corneal and son.

« Reply #35 on: April 08, 2013, 01:22:09 PM »
This is still part of development where you get to test the progress of your programme. The post test evaluation would inform the way forward. Put in context are we expecting more than we're investing? Are they ahead of where the programme should be as implemented? Those answers and more would be forthcoming.

The part bolded…is brilliantly and succinctly put. We CONSTANTLY underinvest and overexpect. This underperformance is systemic, and symptomatic of tired old men, devoid of the ideas, and appetite for risk necessary to succeed in modern football, and who lack the energy and passion  to get up to scratch.

However to place responsibility on them to evaluate the way forward is to continue placing trust in the same people who have failed us year after year, after year. Only once have the TTFF ever been consistently successful, and they have now abandoned the very principles that led to that success.

Fools will blame the coach and players. IMO Cooper is a smart coach. He was begging for games specifically against the US and Costa Rica as far back as July 2012. These games only happened a month before this tournament. Regardless of who he blank or not, I believe he prepared this team as well as anyone with the limited resources he had. And his assistant coach Leonson Lewis is no slouch either. Just look at his record with W-Connection youth teams!

To address the’ cultural’ issue…a lot of that is only organizational issues. The TTFF, operates in a competitive international arena. However the federation is also an umbrella organization for regional and sub-regional associations that do not necessarily operate in that context. Do the Eastern or Southern Football  Associations see themselves as just competing against each other, or also as fierce competitors against their counterparts in El Salvador, Panama or Germany?  Could organizational/structural changes in the local game translate into a better product?

To dig into the real cultural issues that impact our performance relative to our competitors, the TTFF would do well to submit to a thorough self-examination through platforms like Hofestede’s Cultural  Dimensions. That kind of analysis will tell the TTFF what they think they are trying to accomplish, what they are actually doing, clarify their goals, and help find the best way for them to get there. But the old men running football already know everything and will never allow that to happen.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2013, 01:24:10 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #36 on: April 08, 2013, 02:17:08 PM »
Allure eh see that drag #7 hit ah man on the wing? That was nasty lol
Didn't see the drag but did he score after or caused a goal to score?????

« Reply #37 on: April 08, 2013, 04:59:03 PM »
Some feedback from someone who was actually at the game

Alright, Canada play T&T last night. Love the T&T team individually some real talent, but miss some technical elements. They showed good organization, got into really good positions only finishing let them down.

Saw Panama vs Jamaica as well and wow. believe me, JA was pressha. Big and wild, 8 yellow 2 red. Panama sweet sah.

« Reply #38 on: April 08, 2013, 07:22:56 PM »
It hard for me at least to make judgement from this condensed version. But we did get a couple chances. But our shoot is almost non-existent. Lots of soft shots at goal. Saw some nice build ups. Just no finishing power. # 15 tall boy is a promising prospect. Kind of look like Attullah Guerra lil brther. But he has some touches for a tall man. He could develop into a nice defensive mid with skills. And he can be used as a stopper. But he needs some serious coaching. Doc, where you dey?!!! Lets hope they can pull the rabbit out of the bag and surprise CR.

« Reply #39 on: April 08, 2013, 07:25:02 PM »
Allure eh see that drag #7 hit ah man on the wing? That was nasty lol
Didn't see the drag but did he score after or caused a goal to score?????

Yes, ah see the drag. Nice bit of ball movement, but the cross went to the Canucks tho. Some promising yutes. But knowing TT, they will be ready by U23.

« Reply #40 on: April 08, 2013, 07:42:00 PM »
It hard for me at least to make judgement from this condensed version. But we did get a couple chances. But our shoot is almost non-existent. Lots of soft shots at goal. Saw some nice build ups. Just no finishing power. # 15 tall boy is a promising prospect. Kind of look like Attullah Guerra lil brther. But he has some touches for a tall man. He could develop into a nice defensive mid with skills. And he can be used as a stopper. But he needs some serious coaching. Doc, where you dey?!!! Lets hope they can pull the rabbit out of the bag and surprise CR.

Deeks we now score a soft shot against costa rica  ;D