April 17, 2024, 08:40:51 PM

Author Topic: Bombing at the Boston Marathon  (Read 32692 times)

Re: Bombing at the Boston Marathon
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 01:36:08 PM »
What the hell is going on in this world?

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2013, 01:37:10 PM »
CNN saying "6 hurt" and Fox News saying "3 dead and 30 injured" - Anyone nearby, please stay safe

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2013, 01:47:23 PM »
Hit them when they guard down.

« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2013, 01:51:02 PM »
so sad...what a world.   thoughts and prayers with families of the victims

« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2013, 02:10:49 PM »
Watching it now; the blood stained sidewalk is upsetting, to say the least.

« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2013, 02:34:57 PM »
It was an explosion, the facts are not out yet... So it's a lil premature to say it was a bombing. I however must say it has the ingredients to be one. I say this because it was two SEPERATE explosions (coincidence maybe), and it was at a mass gathering for an event. I am not saying it was a bombing, more of it has potential to be one.

Here is a video of the explosion.... http://www.bloomberg.com/video/boston-marathon-explosion-captured-on-video-ahWSSGq4RHGowbqVucWOJA.html
« Last Edit: April 15, 2013, 02:38:56 PM by triniairman »

« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2013, 02:44:12 PM »
on NY1 they say numerous devices were found. other than the first 2 that went off, 2 more bombs went off. one was by bomb squad the other went off on its own. 3 other devices were found as well.

« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2013, 02:46:29 PM »
on NY1 they say numerous devices were found. other than the first 2 that went off, 2 more bombs went off. one was by bomb squad the other went off on its own. 3 other devices were found as well.
These facts are very disturbing, I did say it had the potential to be a bombing. Sorry FF, I needed facts to call it a bombing.

« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2013, 03:00:51 PM »
NYT Live blog has the best feeds I think. I can't listen to hours of mindless speculation by the talking heads on TV

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/04/15/live-updates-explosion-at-boston-marathon/

Also, this will sound harsh, but I can't help but wonder how someone in Iraq or Afghanistan or Syria or any number of places would react to this? We're certainly desensitized to news of bombings in many places.

« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2013, 03:28:29 PM »
NYT Live blog has the best feeds I think. I can't listen to hours of mindless speculation by the talking heads on TV

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/04/15/live-updates-explosion-at-boston-marathon/

Also, this will sound harsh, but I can't help but wonder how someone in Iraq or Afghanistan or Syria or any number of places would react to this? We're certainly desensitized to news of bombings in many places.

When it far from home, it's less disturbing but bring it to a venue where this is not typical, it then becomes incomprehensible.

Welcome to globalization.

« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2013, 03:31:44 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago nationals affected by blasts in Boston may contact the T&T embassy at 202-467-6490.

« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2013, 03:42:16 PM »
These facts are very disturbing, I did say it had the potential to be a bombing. Sorry FF, I needed facts to call it a bombing.

Doh dig no horrors... my post was knee jerk. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I didn't have all de facts neither.

« Reply #13 on: April 15, 2013, 03:49:03 PM »
Obama to deliver statement on Boston incident at 6:10 pm EDT in the White House briefing room

« Reply #14 on: April 15, 2013, 04:17:26 PM »
So way before the explosions - Boston.com tweeted this:

12:53 PM - 15 Apr 13
https://twitter.com/BostonDotCom/status/323886877746790402

Officials: There will be a controlled explosion opposite the library within one minute as part of bomb squad activities.

edit. That time stamp is a different time zone - 3:53 PM ET.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2013, 04:37:00 PM by E-man »

« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2013, 04:28:03 PM »

« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2013, 05:32:13 PM »

« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2013, 06:02:57 PM »
I cyar believe yuh gone to run in a marathon or just be a spectator and yuh leg blown off.....madness!!

« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2013, 06:37:04 PM »
Watch the 8th pic. Make sure yuh belly could take it.

http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/04/photos-of-the-boston-marathon-bombing/100495/

I cyar believe yuh gone to run in a marathon or just be a spectator and yuh leg blown off.....madness!!

madness indeed

« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2013, 06:50:32 PM »

« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2013, 06:52:54 PM »

Doh dig no horrors... my post was knee jerk. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I didn't have all de facts neither.

So Triniairman, what other facts you need?

« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2013, 08:17:13 PM »
"We started grabbing tourniquets and started tying legs. At least 25 to 30 people have at least one leg missing, or an ankle missing, or two legs missing."

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691#TWEET724773

« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2013, 08:26:18 PM »
"We started grabbing tourniquets and started tying legs. At least 25 to 30 people have at least one leg missing, or an ankle missing, or two legs missing."

Why did this seem to predominately tear up peoples legs?

« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2013, 08:37:08 PM »

probably where it was planted and maybe due to fragmentation

« Reply #25 on: April 15, 2013, 08:41:06 PM »

ooops my bad...wrong thread.

point made ...

What "point" would that be?

« Reply #26 on: April 15, 2013, 08:59:43 PM »

So Triniairman, what other facts you need?
follow the post Deeks... I said I needed facts to call it a bombing before it was reported they found other explosive devices. They were reporting it to be an explosion. I did say that it had potential to be a bombing by the way the timing, amount or explosions in close proximity of each other and place in which it occured.  :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 15, 2013, 09:59:31 PM by triniairman »

« Reply #27 on: April 15, 2013, 09:03:02 PM »

point made ...

as much as I think his posting is misguided, do I really need to explain?

« Reply #28 on: April 15, 2013, 09:28:43 PM »

point made ...

as much as I think his posting is misguided, do I really need to explain?

You seem to understand... so by all means, enlighten us.

Re: Re: Bombing at the Boston Marathon
« Reply #29 on: April 15, 2013, 09:57:27 PM »

It was in the dustbin. And probably what ever they use to make it.