April 26, 2024, 12:24:13 PM

Author Topic: Yoshihide Kiryu fastest ever 17 year old  (Read 2786 times)

Yoshihide Kiryu fastest ever 17 year old
« on: April 29, 2013, 12:22:06 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/O3BW0ZKaU7E#!" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/O3BW0ZKaU7E#!</a>
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 12:25:44 PM by Trini _2018 »

Re: Yoshihide Kiryu fastest ever 17 year old
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 12:26:02 PM »
I wonder how fast this kid can get ....

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 02:24:04 PM »
Was that in China?

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2013, 02:45:12 PM »
Was that in China?

Look Japanese to me!  Fantastic run for a kid that age. I think that was Crawfie time in Montreal.

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2013, 04:40:22 PM »
The kid is Japanese.  He ran 10.01 in the semifinal and 10.03 in the final

Crawford time in Montreal was 10.05 in 1976

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2013, 05:28:21 PM »
We will see in the next 5 years. So many juniors never make the senior jump.

« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2013, 05:34:12 PM »
We will see in the next 5 years. So many juniors never make the senior jump.
Our own Darrell Brown being a good example.

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2013, 11:31:33 AM »
Crawford ran 10.06 in Montreal. Hiroshima, where that 10.01 and 10.03 were run, is one of maybe the 15 fastest tracks in the world, and Tokyo is on that list as well, with Athens, Lausanne, Beijing and others.

This kid's drive phase and relaxation hint that he can run under ten, and soon - as in next week. In fact, as the season starts many pros are headed his way to compete, and if he can overcome the nerves, he can be the first Asian to break ten.

Japan's NR is 10.00

You are correct in saying this means NOTHING as a senior since the odds say fastest 17 year old usually = senior underachiever.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 11:47:25 AM by A.B. »

« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2013, 08:30:19 AM »
Crawford ran 10.06 in Montreal. Hiroshima, where that 10.01 and 10.03 were run, is one of maybe the 15 fastest tracks in the world, and Tokyo is on that list as well, with Athens, Lausanne, Beijing and others.

This kid's drive phase and relaxation hint that he can run under ten, and soon - as in next week. In fact, as the season starts many pros are headed his way to compete, and if he can overcome the nerves, he can be the first Asian to break ten.

Japan's NR is 10.00

You are correct in saying this means NOTHING as a senior since the odds say fastest 17 year old usually = senior underachiever.

Ato have you taken a close look at our 13 year old phenom Adel Colthrust ? I know the fastest junior = fastest underachiever in later years holds  according to the stats and many have dropped off ...but Usain is a good example of one come good and I was wondering if you have seen this youngster at all. I am no expert in athletics, football being my main sporting interest, so I would appreciate what you and others might have to say on this child...( cause he still is )
You are doing a tremendous job for athletics with inside athletics...wish we had that sort of promo for our football where most of the news is negative ...ah well .
in jamaica at the CUC games I understand that Adel created quite a stir ...similar to when darrel Brown beat Bolt in the 100 while juniors ...I hate using the Darrel example because I find it very difficult to accept that he is done .....but i think as a world force he is ....big shame for T&T with such a small gene pool .. Well I am in the corner of this youngster ...his goal is to beat usain Bolt's world record ...not just Usain bolt and he is focussed as an athlete ...I cant even get my son of similar age to focus on anything !! ha ha ..

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2013, 04:18:23 PM »
Record may not be ratified, and he should be damn pissed off about it, although he has another year to get it, technically.

http://the-japan-news.com/news/article/0000229446

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2013, 07:41:14 AM »
 ::) could be ah next darrel brown
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline STMB

« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2013, 06:46:28 AM »
Kiryu Breaks High School 200 m National Record in 20.41 Nineteen Years After Old Record was Set

With a time of 10.01 already making him the all-time #2 Japanese man over 100 m, Yoshihide Kiryu (17, Rakunan H.S.) ran 20.41 (+0.5) to break the 200 m high school national record June 15 at the Kinki Region National High School Championships Qualifier at Nara's Konoike Field. The previous record of 20.57 was set at the same meet in 1994 by Kazuhiro Takahashi (Soekami H.S.). Having eclipsed that record by a margin of 0.16 seconds nineteen years after it was set, Kiryu now holds both the 100 m and 200 m high school national records.

Kiryu ran 21.81 in the heats and 21.05 in the semifinals, the fastest times in each round. Despite rain at the time of the final he ran perfectly, winning by a gap of more than one second over his nearest competitor.