April 26, 2024, 06:42:11 AM

Author Topic: US Vice-President Biden coming to T&T  (Read 2852 times)

US Vice-President Biden coming to T&T
« on: May 09, 2013, 02:56:22 AM »
US Vice-President Biden coming
By Clint Chan Tack Thursday, May 9 2013
TT Newsday

UNITED States (US) Vice-President Joe Biden will visit Trinidad and Tobago at the end of this month.

Announcements of Biden’s visit to TT were made in separate statements issued yesterday by the Office of the Prime Minister and the US Embassy. Biden and his wife Dr Jill Biden are due to arrive the week of May 26.

During his visit, Biden will hold talks with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on TT-US collaboration in a number of areas, including citizen security.

He also meets with Persad-Bissessar and regional leaders on collective efforts between the US and Caricom to promote economic growth, energy interdependence, and development in the Caribbean. Persad-Bissessar has invited regional leaders to TT for Biden’s visit.

In expressing her enthusiasm for Biden’s visit, Persad-Bissessar described it as “the continued strengthening of diplomatic relations between the United States and Trinidad and Tobago”.

In the embassy statement, US Charge d’Affaires Thomas Smitham said Biden’s visit showed the importance the US government placed on its partnership with the Caribbean region. “We look forward to a warm and productive visit in Trinidad and Tobago with Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar and to engagement in Port-of-Spain with other Caribbean leaders,” Smitham said.

US President Barack Obama was in TT in April 2009 to attend the Fifth Summit of the Americas. Biden did not accompany Obama to that summit, but Smitham notes Biden’s presence here later this month “is an excellent opportunity to reflect on what we have accomplished together since President Obama’s visit in 2009, and look ahead to continued cooperation.”

“And we know Vice President Biden will enjoy a very warm welcome from the people of TT,” Smitham said.

Biden’s visit follows Persad-Bissessar’s trip to Washington last month, when she discussed matters of critical interest to TT and Caricom with US Deputy Secretary of State William Burns. Those matters included the US Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act; assistance in the fight against the illegal drug trade and the process of criminal deportations from the US. Persad-Bissessar, who will assume chairmanship of Caricom when the next Caricom Heads of Government Meeting is held in TT on July 1, also discussed the convening of a US-Caricom Summit with Burns in April. This was in keeping with a decision taken by Caricom leaders at their last meeting in Haiti in February.

At the Sixth Summit of the Americas in Cartagena, Colombia last April, Persad-Bissessar said she held talks with Obama about the possibility of TT acquiring fast patrol craft from the US to bolster its border security.

Government, under former national security minister Jack Warner, was in talks with Colombia regarding the acquisition of long-range patrol vessels for the Coast Guard. Following his visit to TT, Biden heads to Colombia and Brazil. and plans to discuss ways to deepen America’s global and economic partnership with Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff, and security relations and ways for mutual prosperity with Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos.

Re: US Vice-President Biden coming to T&T
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2013, 05:15:22 AM »
Travel tips for the Bidens
By Andre Bagoo (Newsday).
Sunday, May 26 2013

WE HOPE US vice-president Joe Biden and his more than 100-strong contingent coming here tomorrow take heed of the warnings set out by the US Bureau of Consular Affairs to all US visitors to Trinidad and Tobago.

Mr and Mrs Biden would do well to visit http://travel.state.gov/travel/ before letting Air Force Two touch down at Piarco. Otherwise, they might as well scrap the trip!

There are all sorts of dangers lurking here, including taxis that are not yellow, lonely areas at nights and persons involved in nefarious cyber-crime (Mr Biden, when he meets Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar at Piarco tomorrow, should have a chat with her on this topic.)

As the Bureau warns, the first peril the Bidens will face is the risky journey from Piarco to their hotel at the Hilton, St Ann’s. We do not recommend a taxi.

“Traditional, non-shared, marked yellow-cab-style taxis do not exist in Trinidad and Tobago,” the US Bureau notes. “Unmetered, unmarked private taxis are available at the airports and major hotels. You can hire them to take you door to door (fares should be agreed upon in advance). Private taxis and route taxis both have plate numbers beginning with “H”. You should ensure your taxi is not a route taxi before getting in, because route taxis will stop to pick up additional passengers. Crimes including rapes, assaults, robberies and thefts have taken place inside taxis. Taxis have also caused serious traffic accidents when they swerved suddenly across several lanes of roadway in order to pick up or discharge passengers. You should also avoid small buses and vans known as ‘Maxi Taxis’ for the same reasons.”

Getting away from the airport quickly will be crucial. We know Air Force Two is likely to touch-down in the afternoon, but once the sun sets things may get rough.

“Violent crime remains high on both islands and affects local and expatriate communities, and tourists,” the Bureau states on its website profile of Trinidad and Tobago. “You should exercise caution and good judgement as in any large urban area. Be particularly cautious when travelling after dark from Trinidad’s Piarco Airport as incidents have been reported in the past involving armed robbers trailing arriving passengers from the airport and accosting them in remote areas of the airport parking lot, on the highway leading from the airport to downtown Port-of-Spain, and outside the gates of residences.”

As the Bureau notes, “Areas in the Port-of-Spain metro area to avoid include Laventille, Morvant, Sea Lots, the interior of the Queen’s Park Savannah, South Belmont, and Cocorite. Visitors should avoid the following areas after dark: scenic rest stops including Fort George, downtown Port-of-Spain, and all beaches. Tourists are particularly vulnerable to pick-pocketing and armed assaults in these locations. Night travel should be avoided.”

Joe and Jill Biden will have to get past Beetham, the landfill which has been on fire for more than a week. But they will face other perils.

“The Beetham Highway, a main thoroughfare in and out of the city, can be very dangerous if your vehicle has broken down. If your vehicle is still drivable you should get out of the area before seeking help,” the Bureau warns. “On the Beetham stretch, there are regular incidents of pedestrians running out into the road or throwing debris at cars — including masonry bricks — for the purpose of causing accidents and forcing cars to stop, whereupon a group of accomplices then descend upon the accident victims, robbing them of valuables, and often violently assaulting them, even if they are compliant. Elsewhere in Port-of-Spain, especially in Laventille, “bump and rob” incidents have been reported, in which the perpetrator rear-ends the victim, often causing only minor damage. When the victim emerges from the car, he or she is then robbed of valuables, and possibly carjacked as well.”

But the real people the US visitors have to fear are the cyber-criminals.

According to the US Bureau, “While Nigeria-operated scams are infamous for their cleverness and ingenuity, these types of financial scams are also common in Trinidad and Tobago. These scams target foreigners worldwide posing risks of both financial loss and personal danger to their victims. Scams are often initiated through Internet postings and unsolicited emails. No one should provide personal or financial information to unknown parties via email, telephone, mail or fax.” And since they are so elderly, we hope the Bidens’ advisers warn them of scams involving their relatives who may be living here.

“A recurring scam involves phone calls to elderly persons in the US by scammers who told them their grandchild had been arrested in Trinidad and Tobago for involvement in a traffic accident, and needed money immediately. Often an actual relative’s name was used, lending credibility to the hoax. In all cases, the young relatives were ultimately located, and in fact had never travelled to Trinidad or Tobago,” the Bureau advises.

And with all kinds of email trails all over the place these days, we caution the Bidens, just after turning the bend from the Beetham, to not give out their Hotmail addresses to anyone near the International Waterfront Centre.

While there is plenty bacchanal in Trinidad and Tobago, we hope the Americans realise we have laws and they cannot come here and just get away. This is particularly relevant to the members of the Secret Service (we all know what happened in Colombia last year with those prostitutes!)

“While you are travelling in Trinidad and Tobago you are subject to its laws even if you are a US citizen,” the Bureau helpfully reminds. “If you break local laws in Trinidad and Tobago your US passport won’t help you avoid arrest or prosecution. It’s very important to know what’s legal and what’s not where you are going.” We know our Police Service will bend over backwards to prove to the Americans that we are about law and order.

While we understand why the Americans might want to take a dip in the sea, we strongly caution against it.

“Marine hazards include corals, jellyfish, sharks, and sea urchins. Heed posted warnings at organised beaches, and do not bathe at unmarked, unpatrolled beaches. Use extreme caution at Maracas Beach on Trinidad, as the tides and undercurrents can be dangerous, and waves can exceed five feet in height,” the Bureau makes clear. “Medical care is significantly below US standards for treatment of serious injuries and illness, with limited access to supplies and medications.”

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2013, 12:55:23 PM »
Most negative/ stupid article I have read. Kept repeating himself on top of the shit that he calls an article. I'm not saying what he wrote is not true, it's just "outtatiming" and ridiculous.

Nashy

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2013, 01:40:59 PM »
Most negative/ stupid article I have read. Kept repeating himself on top of the shit that he calls an article. I'm not saying what he wrote is not true, it's just "outtatiming" and ridiculous.

Actually, I quite liked tis article.  Re-read it in context.

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2013, 02:01:37 PM »

He need to address his "tips" to the Prime Minister instead of the Bidens, like they have time to read this. Like I said.. The article maybe factual, but outta timing.

« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2013, 05:44:57 PM »

The article is shit.

« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2013, 04:47:49 AM »

The article is shit.

If again.  It deserves a big wet loud ssssssttttteeeeuuuupppsss!!!!!!......

« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2013, 04:53:02 AM »
BIDEN SUMMIT
By Lara Pickford-Gordon (Newsday)
 Monday, May 27 2013

Caribbean Community (Caricom) leaders arrive in Port-of-Spain today and are to have a caucus on the eve of high-level talks with US Vice-President Joe Biden.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar is host to Biden, who flies in this afternoon, and regional leaders, including President of the Dominican Republic Danilo Medina Sanchez for a major meeting at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s tomorrow.

Talks with the US Vice-President will cover regional security, trade, energy and human and social development, and a Trade and Investment Framework Agreement (TIFA) between Caricom and the United States will be signed.

In a release yesterday, the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) said Persad-Bissessar and Biden “will meet privately for bilateral discussions before the multilateral meeting between Heads of State and Governments of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) and of the Dominican Republic and the Vice-President.”

Among the regional leaders for the mini-summit are: President of Haiti and current Caricom chairman Michel Joseph Martelly; President of Guyana Donald Ramotar; Bahamas Prime Minister Perry Christie; Grenada Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell; Prime Minister of St Kitts/Nevis Dr Denzil Douglas; St Vincent Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves and Deputy Prime Minister of St Lucia Philip Pierre, representing Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony who is attending a meeting in Cuba.

Jamaica’s Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller misses the meeting as she is on official business in Ethiopia and will be represented by her National Security Minister Peter Bunting.

The OPM said Persad-Bissessar graciously agreed to use the opportunity of Biden’s visit to facilitate her colleagues in Caricom and the Dominican Republic.

“It is anticipated that this meeting with the Vice-President may serve to lay the groundwork for robust cooperation during the (US) Administration’s second term,” the release said.

At a press briefing last Wednesday in Washington, a senior administration official said the US anticipates “ good discussions on regional efforts to promote economic growth, on cooperation around citizen security, on energy issues, and other issues that are high on the priority list of our partners across the Caribbean.”

Biden, along with his wife Dr Jill Biden, will touch down at Piarco International Airport aboard Air Force 2, at about 6.45 pm, for a visit lasting less than 48 hours.

Persad-Bissessar will be at the airport along with Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran to welcome the Bidens.

OPM said the US Vice-President would be invited to inspect a Guard of Honour, following which the Prime Minister would introduce him to members of Cabinet and other officials. Newsday learnt that upon arrival Biden will get a sample of TT culture as the Defence Force Steel Orchestra has included in its repertoire a medley of tunes by calypsonian Timothy “Baron” Watkins, which includes the popular “Soca Man”, “Somebody” and “We Havin’ A Party”.

Security forces are on high alert during the visit and particularly in Port-of-Spain where most activities will take place.

Initial reports disclosed the Bidens would be staying at Hilton Trinidad, St Ann’s but additional information has indicated they will be at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Port-of-Spain.

The Bidens’ itinerary for tomorrow starts with courtesy calls on President Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona and his wife Reema.

Mrs Biden is expected to meet with local female entrepreneurs at 10.30 am at Cocobel, Woodbrook, and the Vice-President will pay a courtesy call on Persad-Bissessar during which they will meet privately before the meeting with regional heads of government.

OPM said Persad-Bissessar will host a luncheon for the visiting delegations at the Diplomatic Centre. A press briefing will take place at 2.15 pm during which addresses will be given by Biden, Persad-Bissessar and Martelly. In a Newsday interview yesterday, Mitchell said in the context of economic growth, he would want to raise the issue of information and communication technology as a means of spurring economic activity.

In a brief telephone interview from Miami, Mitchell said through cooperation and endowments the US could support the region in developing information communications technology (ICT). Alluding to the “immigration issue” he said through the creation of jobs through ICT it would be “less attractive to go to the US.”

Ramotar said Caricom heads would meet in caucus prior to discussions with Biden. He said due to the limited time of the visit they would have to prioritise what issues would be raised. Ramotar said there was concern “on both sides” about drug trafficking and deportation of persons from the US to the Caribbean.

“We have trade issues and so forth, because of the limited time we have to prioritise,” he told Newsday.

Ramotar said Caricom leaders still expected to have a meeting this year with US President Barack Obama.

For the high-profile visit “all necessary security measures” will be in place and security personnel on “high alert.”

Deputy Commissioner of Police Ann Marie Alleyne, Gold Commander during Biden’s visit, yesterday said all heads under National Security (Defence Force–inclusive of army, Coast Guard, Air Guard, National Security Operations Centre, Police, Special Branch, and Special Branch VIP Section) would be involved.

Alleyne said there would be “a full force” present from the time Biden arrives at Piarco International Airport. More than 200 local officers would be involved in the exercise.

Before flying to Trinidad, Biden met with Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos in Colombia, earlier today, to discuss security and other issues of mutual interest as part of a three-nation tour that includes Trinidad and Tobago and Brazil.

« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2013, 05:02:40 AM »
Our ties are strong
Exclusive interview with US VP Biden who arrives in T&T today
By Ria Taitt (Express).

US, T&T to strengthen ties

US Vice-President Joe Biden, who arrives in Trinidad and Tobago today, granted an exclusive question-and-answer interview to the Express.

The questions were posed by political editor Ria Taitt.
Biden did not respond to questions dealing with the extradition of businessmen and UNC financiers Ishwar Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson; the matter of deportees to Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean; and the problem being experienced in the US market by Caribbean rum producers.
He did address these other questions as follows:

Q This trip is the highest official visit by a US official since the visit by American President Barack Obama in 2009. Why is this visit important to the US and what do you hope to achieve?

A The people of the United States and the Caribbean share a long history of friendship and common values. And that includes a number of things: a commitment to free and open democratic institutions; respect for human rights, and a desire for open markets. Our ties are strong and deep. The large Caribbean Diaspora—some 3.6 million residents in the United States who were born in the Caribbean—bring with them a vibrant culture that truly enriches all of us. I want to use this visit to discuss what we can do to strengthen our co-operation on a number of issues, including sustainable energy, economic growth, and security.

In Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s recent visit to Washington, Deputy Secretary of State William Burns raised the issue of the US Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), which was enacted in Congress in 2010 and is part of the US effort to combat tax evasion by US citizens holding overseas investments. Why is this important for Trinidad and Tobago, which is not known to be a Caribbean tax haven? Is the US government concerned that there might be US nationals or US residents who are using Trinidad and Tobago residence to avoid US taxes?

The purpose of FATCA is to address concerns with offshore tax evasion. It was not targeted at Trinidad and Tobago or any particular jurisdiction. It can be applied broadly.
If we work together to detect, deter and discourage offshore tax abuses through increased transparency and enhanced reporting, we will help build a stronger, more stable, and more accountable global financial system. That’s our goal.
Many jurisdictions in the region are engaged with the United States to implement FATCA, which shows a real commitment across the region to prevent tax evasion through foreign accounts. We welcome your engagement.

The US government has been seeking a Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA) with Trinidad and Tobago and has been seeking to have the Trinidad and Tobago Government pass the necessary legislation. Why is this legislation needed? What is the value of such an agreement in the absence of a base in Trinidad and Tobago?

We value our strong partnership with Trinidad and Tobago, which is supported by agreements we’ve had in place for years. Status of Forces Agreements (SOFA) are international agreements clarifying cooperation with US armed forces deployed to a partner’s country. Such agreements are important so that we develop a shared understanding of how armed forces will interact with a host nation’s government, even in the absence of a base. These agreements not only strengthen, they promote our already well developed cooperation. We were pleased that the Government of Trinidad and Tobago ratified the SOFA on May 22.

We in the Caribbean were very encouraged by President Obama’s statement at the Fifth Summit of the Americas in Port of Spain in 2009 when he said that the problem of the illegal drug trade in the Caribbean would not simply be solved by law enforcement in the region, but that the United States had a responsibility to “take aggressive action to reduce our (US) demand for drugs, and to stop the flow of guns and bulk cash south across our borders”. On the other end Caribbean nations have agreed to take responsibility for securing their waters. Are you satisfied that both sides have met their commitments?

Through the Caribbean Basin Security Initiative (CBSI), the United States and the nations of the Caribbean partner together to combat drug trade and other transnational crime that threaten our regional security and the safety of both US and Caribbean citizens.

We’ve committed more than $203 million to CBSI since President Obama announced it at the 5th Summit of the Americas in Trinidad and Tobago. To us, the CBSI is a shared responsibility, not a one-way assistance programme; each of our countries has a vital stake in its success. To date, we have seen real progress–from decreases in homicide rates to increases in arrests and prosecution rates, including an improved capacity to detect drug traffickers.

The United States recognises our shared responsibility to reduce demand for illicit drugs and, over the last three years, we’ve spent more than $31 billion on domestic demand reduction. Our 2013 National Drug Control Strategy outlines innovative policies and recognises that substance use disorders are not just a criminal justice issue, but also a major public health concern. Our administration has requested more than $10.7 billion to support drug education programmes and expand access to treatment for people with substance use disorders for fiscal year 2014. The rate of overall drug use in America has dropped by roughly one-third over the past three decades. More recently, the number of current cocaine users has dropped by 44 per cent and methamphetamine use has been cut by 40 per cent from 2006 to 2011.

Trinidad and Tobago, in particular, has given undertakings in the past to increasing the scope of security arrangements in the wider Caribbean, via the use of sophisticated radar systems, offshore patrol vessels etc. Is the United States satisfied that there has been adequate progress in that area and in what areas can this be improved?

We appreciate the efforts of partners, including Trinidad and Tobago, to promote maritime and air domain awareness and security. Through CBSI, the US supports programmes and institutions like Caricom’s Implementation Agency for Crime and Security that encourage operational readiness, information sharing, and collaboration throughout the region. We’re making great strides, but we know there is still work to do. In partnership with Trinidad and Tobago and other partners, we’re working on additional programmes to improve regional collaboration. That includes things like Tradewinds, a military exercise conducted in St Lucia this year that includes more than 260 members from 14 countries. We applaud Trinidad and Tobago and all of our Caribbean partners in their efforts to increase our security co-operation and look forward to continuing our work in this area.

« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2013, 07:43:59 AM »

The article is shit.

Guys, I honestly think the Andre was really trying hard to be sacarstic.

« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2013, 07:52:59 AM »

The article is shit.

Guys, I honestly think the Andre was really trying hard to be sacarstic.

Dias wha I thought too, a Express attempt at a tongue in cheek type article, he end it too serious so dat kinda carry the whole tone

« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2013, 10:49:35 AM »
I interpret the article to be a picant, almost petulant derision of the US State Department travel advisories... sorta ah "dem real dotish, look at de kinda thing they exaggerating about... leh we emphasize how dotish dese advisories is."

« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2013, 12:16:00 PM »
I think it was a poor attempt at sarcasm....if the US Bureau of Consular Affairs has issued all these warnings then the VP should take heed and be wary is the the writer is saying. However it seems as if he just cut and paste and didn't personalize Biden's trip.

« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2013, 02:28:25 PM »
I think it was a poor attempt at sarcasm....if the US Bureau of Consular Affairs has issued all these warnings then the VP should take heed and be wary is the the writer is saying. However it seems as if he just cut and paste and didn't personalize Biden's trip.

None of those warnings would apply to Biden as his itinerary and schedule is heavily circumscribed.  Not only that, he will be coming with his own contingent of Secret Service agents, and quite possibly of the "Beasts" as well.  So in that regard we know he's not seriously offering advice to Biden.  However, I seems to me to be a bit of griping at the advisory.

« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2013, 01:32:36 PM »
work on upper cipriani boulevard...saw an SUV whizz by with Biden...i decided against walkin down cipriani on my way out lest the secret service thinks too much of my baldhead+sideburns into beard  and my heavily weighed duffelbag
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 01:57:24 PM by mukumsplau »

« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2013, 01:59:47 AM »
BRUTAL TALKS
Biden, Caricom leaders tackle deportation, illegal immigrants, trade
By Ria Taitt Political Editor (Express)

Brutally frank.

United States Vice-President Joe Biden diplomatically described his discussions with Caricom leaders as “completely open, completely frank and completely straightforward”.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar confessed that at times, it became “brutal”.

Both leaders gave statements at the end of a 90-minute discussion between Biden and Caricom leaders at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s, yesterday.

There was the signing of a trade and investment agreement at the end of the talks.

The tone of the discussions was set when Caricom leaders met before at the Diplomatic Centre.

“Vice-President wants a serious story to go back home (with),” Grenada Prime Minister Keith Mitchell said.

Mitchell said the meeting with Biden was going to be short, and so Caricom leaders deci­ded to look at two critical issues—security and immigration—and how they could leverage concern in the United States over these issues.

“Our leverage is, ‘If you don’t help us, more of our people are going to flood to the US, no matter what you say.... They are going to find ways to get to the American shore if they perceive America...as the way for opportunities to empower themselves and to live a better life,” said Mitchell.

He said if the US did not help the Caribbean to find a way to address the fundamental issues, it would be “penny wise and pound foolish”.

“The American public has decided that they want to see a reduction of people coming into their country. The question, therefore, is how we can use that concern and leverage opportunities for our people?” Mitchell said.

He said the great equaliser was information and communication technology, and advancement of educational opportunities. If they have educational opportunities, there would be no need for them to leave the region, he said.

Mitchell said the regional leaders decided to appeal to Biden to have America use its influence to access more resources at concessionary terms.

“That doesn’t cost the American taxpayer a cent,” Mitchell said. “But it would certainly do a lot to empower our people and give Americans the kind of image they want to have in the region.”

Biden said in the discussion on citizen security, “I made clear that the US approaches this as a shared responsibility”.

He noted though that there was “a desire for more input and more resources from the US”.

He said after a successful programme to curb drug trafficking in Central America, there was a fear the Caribbean would regain its previous position as a major transshipment point.

Biden said US President Barack Obama and himself were also aware that small island nations faced special difficulties.

He said the cost of doing business was higher, and goods are more expensive and everything more attenuating in a globalised world.

He said they were now looking for additional ways outside of CBI (Caribbean Basin Initiative) to create growth, and the trade and investment agreement was a vehicle.

He said growth had to reach everybody, regardless of gender and sexual orientation.

“Our country is deeply invested in a partnership with all the nations of the Caribbean. Our search for growth, jobs, affordable supplies of energy, fight against transnational crime, protection of climate—all these issues have no respect for borders.”

However, Biden stressed: “In economics, security and energy, the nations of the Caribbean would go faster and further when they not only work with you (the US), but when they work together.”

He said access to education was crucial, and an investment in education and innovation important.

“Any country that out-educates us, out-competes us,” he said, quoting his wife, Dr Jill  Biden.

Biden said 3.6 million people living in the US are part of a hard-working diaspora who send US$8 billion in remittances back to their home countries in the Caribbean.

He said the US Government was enabling the 11 million undocumented (illegal) residents (from all over the world) “who live in fear” to “come out of the shadows” and be afforded the dignity they deserve.

Biden said America needed its Caribbean friends.

“Affording you people, who live in my country, respect is part of how we will show respect for you.

“We need you! And I hope you would find a place in your hearts, and your economics and your quest for civilisation that we can play a part in,” he said.

In a reference to the problems being experienced by Caribbean rum producers on the US market, chairman of Caricom and President of Haiti Michel Martelly said Caricom stressed the importance of trade being conduc­ted on a level playing field and with respect for the rules established by the World Trade Organisation (WTO).

He said Caricom asked the US to address, “in a sympathetic manner”, the region’s concern with respect to rum and Internet gaming.

Martelly said Caricom pointed to the need for the US to use its influence on the multilateral financial institutions to encourage a review of the decreasing access to concessional financing being experienced by Caricom countries categorised as middle-income.

On the topical issue of deportees and immi­gration, he said there were repeated pleas for increased information and intelligence-sharing, with respect to criminal deportees.

Martelly said on the issue of the US to reform its immigration policies, regional heads called for greater consideration for family unification.

He said the leaders felt the meeting with the vice-president was viewed as an important precursor to a meeting with President Obama.

« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2013, 09:33:09 PM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/columnist/2013-06-09/not-diplomatically-speaking

The real reason behind the visit of US vice-president Joe Biden was the decision by T&T to ratify a Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA) with the United States that now makes T&T a virtual base for US Forces and defence contractors. And the reason he was followed by Chinese President Xi Jingping is that China, which is determinedly dogging the Americans through a cyber cold-war, does not intend to allow the Americans untrammelled access to this country.

Following the election of Hugo Chavez in Venezuela in 1999, the US government had been persistent in its attempt to set up a virtual (as opposed to physical) base in T&T to keep a close eye on Venezuela and provide some form of US presence, to counter what it saw as a threat to its interest in the region. American anxiety was increased with the creation of the so-called “axis of evil” with Iran.

According to a US diplomatic cable on a March 3, 2006, meeting between former Foreign Affairs minister Knowlson Gift and US deputy chief of Mission, Eugene Sweeney, which was revealed by the Wikileaks Web site, T&T, clearly seeing the implication for its relations with Venezuela, was resisting the signing of any such agreement.

The meeting was called ostensibly to discuss other issues, but Sweeney reported that he raised the US government’s “longstanding and often repeated request to the GOTT (Government of Trinidad and Tobago) for a Status of Forces Agreement with the USG (United States Government).” The American diplomat admitted in the cable that the US recognised T&T’s opposition to an Article 98 agreement which would give the American military officials blanket immunity from the International Criminal Court for any action taken here.

Sweeney emphasised “that the USG would approach any discussions of a SOFA with the GOTT with flexibility, so that, if any proposals tabled by the US would require complex legislation or a constitutional amendment to implement, we would entertain counter-proposals from the GOTT which could be more readily implementable.”

Gift promised to get back to him but there is no evidence that he did, even as cables released by Wikileaks showed the US with a growing anxiety over Venezuela and seeking to get T&T’s co-operation.

In another meeting, former US ambassador Roy Austin, sought to have T&T publicly denounce an attack on a US diplomat stationed in Venezuela. He reported that “Gift was evasive, moving to a different subject.” He saw this as a wariness in line with “past GOTT reluctance to become involved in the acrimonious exchanges between the US and Venezuela.”

The US cables showed that T&T was conscious of the economic implications of any agreements with the US which would jeopardise its economic interests, particularly in production-sharing arrangements, through which this country exploits oil and natural gas resources with its South American neighbour. The then government did sign a temporary agreement to cover the US presence during the Fifth Summit of the Americas but that ended with the 2009 summit.

What then could have brought T&T to the point where it has secretly ratified an agreement with the US that has such major implications that it bought China to immediately cement its relationship with T&T and even schedule a reciprocal state visit, diplomatic embarrassments notwithstanding?

In a world where military activity is increasingly cyber-based, the US government does not need to establish a physical presence or base in T&T. What it needs is free passage for its vessels and vehicles (including warships and drones); radio spectrum for communication and espionage; right of entry; and immunity from T&T laws for its soldiers and defence contractors who will have the right to carry arms without needing to seek a permit. All of which have been guaranteed to the Americans under the SOFA.

The agreement also guarantees the Americans immunity from civil action and criminal prosecution. Should any citizen of T&T be harmed in the Americans’ exercise to protect their national security, they will be merely collateral damage not open to any legal action.

This is probably why former National Security minister Jack Warner, possibly seeing personal implications, described the agreement as akin to recolonisation and a threat to the country’s sovereignty. It could also explain why, a week after the Prime Minister’s return from the US, he was out.

Such a significant agreement was made in secret and its existence only made public by the US vice-president who, in an interview with Express reporter Ria Taitt, confirmed that the agreement was ratified on Wednesday May 22, 2013, the same day the Prime Minister spoke in the Parliament on the no-confidence motion to deny “emailgate”.

Neither she, nor the Foreign Affairs Minister, Winston Dookeran, who had also previously spoken in the debate, mentioned the signing of the SOFA agreement that has significant implications for this country’s sovereignty and economy.

Following the publication of Biden’s announcement, the Office of the Prime Minister said the presence of American forces would be by mutual agreement, when exercises became necessary. Somehow, I suspect that would be no comfort to the Venezuelans.

There has not even been word on the legislation which needs to be brought to Parliament to effect this agreement. But already there is provision in the proposed draft amendment of the Telecommunications Act for spectrum to be secretly awarded for national security purposes without legal avenues for disclosure.

The SOFA agreement is not unique to T&T and is usually accompanied by generous contributions of US aid to countries which sign them. In our case, we owed the Americans a significant debt for Ish and Steve, so that we were only offered four used warships in compensation. When one takes into consideration that the pursuit of “emailgate” also requires the active co-operation of the US government, the full ramifications of this agreement are just too troubling.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2013, 01:02:07 AM »
We owed the Americans a significant debt for Ish and Steve?  What shit this man talking?  He really feel that some low-level prosecution of embezzlement and racketeering so high on Obama radar that they send Biden to TnT to negotiate access in exchange for it?

« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2013, 10:34:53 AM »
We owed the Americans a significant debt for Ish and Steve?  What shit this man talking?  He really feel that some low-level prosecution of embezzlement and racketeering so high on Obama radar that they send Biden to TnT to negotiate access in exchange for it?
He probably means our government were willing to acquiesce to atone for previous indiscretions without the the US needing to bring it to the table.

Offline congo

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2013, 12:29:29 PM »

That is Trini logic for you. Trinis so wrapped up in their own little world that it isn't shocking to see just how far we've fallen behind.

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2013, 01:10:40 PM »
He probably means our government were willing to acquiesce to atone for previous indiscretions without the the US needing to bring it to the table.

Nah, what he saying is that normally in exchange for the access the US seeking, they offer all kinds of inducements, financial and what not.  But now since TnT owing them big time fuh not forking over Ish and Steve, all the US had to do was offer four patrol boats.  So is acquiescence on one hand as you suggest, but also he elevates a low-level criminal prosecution in Miami to one of national concern, such that it was on Biden's agenda.  I can't speak for the US government, so possibly that was the case.  More likely it's as Congo suggest, this Ish and Steve thing is big news to us Trinis and so he extrapolating the importance of that onto the US as well.

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2013, 01:21:16 PM »

Nah, what he saying is that normally in exchange for the access the US seeking, they offer all kinds of inducements, financial and what not.  But now since TnT owing them big time fuh not forking over Ish and Steve, all the US had to do was offer four patrol boats.  So is acquiescence on one hand as you suggest, but also he elevates a low-level criminal prosecution in Miami to one of national concern, such that it was on Biden's agenda.  I can't speak for the US government, so possibly that was the case.  More likely it's as Congo suggest, this Ish and Steve thing is big news to us Trinis and so he extrapolating the importance of that onto the US as well.
Agreed, Biden revealed a lot more than our own government about the purpose of the visit but didn't even respond to that question when Ria Taitt asked.