March 28, 2024, 03:42:16 PM

Author Topic: What Yall think? Lauryn Hill  (Read 1068 times)

What Yall think? Lauryn Hill
« on: May 09, 2013, 10:29:36 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=pwfFIM8K9gQ

What yall think about the points made in this little piece?  Primarily about the Conspiracy Theorist having a mental disorder. 

We don't have to all agree but we can at least be civilized in our discourse.  So no pettiness or personal attacks please.  Keep chill or don't post.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 10:34:12 AM by Preacher »

Re: What Yall think? Lauryn Hill
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2013, 10:37:03 AM »
she is damn right.   it have sooo many good musicians out there who doh get a break.   i was reading somewhere that 2 or 3 companies own the companies, the tracking companies, the radio stations etc.  so of course they push who they want.   

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2013, 11:21:58 AM »
Yeah there are 4 main companies that own everyone else and media outlets.  Sony BMG, EMI, Warner Bros and Universal.  So pretty much they can decide who is the superstar or the carrot that everyone chases.  So when you hear the very carrots saying oppression and satanism, it might be more that just talk.  Many of them reference having to "Sell their souls" for success.  Big ones 50 cents, Snoop, Eminem, Lil Wayne etc. all reference it.
If she pay the money why still send her to prison and order counseling on account of her worldview?   

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2013, 12:03:22 PM »
1. give unto Caesar what is Caesar's/you could get way with murder, not the IRS. 2. She should have monitored her business affairs. She is not the first and will not be the last. 3. Caesar is making an example of her. 4. Worldview and being Black/Oprressed will not work in this day and age. 5. She may be a closet tea-party member.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 12:04:56 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2013, 12:11:29 PM »
I agree with everything Deeks except the Black and Oppressed piece.  I don't think she's on that scene.  Oppressed people ain't got 900K for sure.  :)  She is black conscious though. 

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2013, 12:35:31 PM »
sound like the judge eh hear her music or she would get 3 years.

seriously though, music industry about making money not finding talent. ah remember hearing about bob marley's crew running up on djs in the radio stations. nobody eh say nuttin about them days. tables turned. doh frighten, de internet killing off de music industry anyway.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 12:37:45 PM by ribbit »