April 28, 2024, 11:41:08 AM

Author Topic: 2013 World Track & Field Championships in Moscow (Sat 10th to Sun 18th Aug)  (Read 52875 times)

Why they put that fellah to run second leg? Throw away the race
Exactly, what an annoying and dotish decision!!  :pissedoff:
I was cussing as soon as I saw that!

As soon as Lalonde ran last in the 200m semi-final the alarm bells should have been ringing to leave him off the 4x400m relay squad as he was obviously spent!

I would have put Solomon on the 2nd leg just like in the heats, Jehue on the 3rd leg in for the spent Lalonde and I would have ran a sore Deon on the last leg; I know for a fact that if Deon got the baton in the 2nd or 3rd place on the last leg that we were bagging either silver or bronze.

PS: Alternatively I would have even preferred Cedenio in for Lalonde on the 2nd leg or coming up against his Jamaican rival who he hates losing to on the last leg.

Ultimately we can't blame Lalonde as it was a very bad decision by our management team running him after his earlier lame 200m semi-final performance.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 12:09:13 PM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

I warned that Lalonde's schedule will be detrimental.........

:cursing: :bs: :banginghead:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Our downfall was moving Solomon from the 2nd leg and running a spent Lalonde there and also not having enough faith in Cedenio to replace a sour Deon on the last leg if Deon was not fit enough to run.
Wasted opportunity for a medal!
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 12:17:38 PM by Socapro »

Here is link for 14th IAAF World Championships Friday Timetable:
http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/14th-iaaf-world-championships-4873/timetable/byday#day7

And for those who missed the World’s athletics action this Friday Afternoon 16th August you can click the link below for full real time replay of the morning session in Moscow.

Athletics: World Championships - 2013 - Day 7, Part 2
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b038lj0z/Athletics_World_Championships_2013_Day_7_Part_2/

Double Olympic champion Mo Farah goes for gold in the 5,000m at the World Championships in Moscow.

Gabby Logan is joined by Michael Johnson, Paula Radcliffe, Colin Jackson and Denise Lewis as six more gold medals are decided. Farah is attempting to become the first Briton to retain a world title and will face a formidable challenge as ever from the Kenyan and Ethiopian contingent.

There could be British interest too in the men's long jump and women's hammer finals, while Olympic champion Allyson Felix of the USA attempts to retain the world 200m title.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 05:22:53 PM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

Why they put that fellah to run second leg? Throw away the race
Exactly, what an annoying and dotish decision!!  :pissedoff:
I was cussing as soon as I saw that!

As soon as Lalonde ran last in the 200m semi-final the alarm bells should have been ringing to leave him off the 4x400m relay squad as he was obviously spent!

I would have put Solomon on the 2nd leg just like in the heats, Jehue on the 3rd leg in for the spent Lalonde and I would have ran a sore Deon on the last leg; I know for a fact that if Deon got the baton in the 2nd or 3rd place on the last leg that we were bagging either silver or bronze.

PS: Alternatively I would have even preferred Cedenio in for Lalonde on the 2nd leg or coming up against his Jamaican rival who he hates losing to on the last leg.

Ultimately we can't blame Lalonde as it was a very bad decision by our management team running him after his earlier lame 200m semi-final performance.

I doh know what kind of jokey quartermilers we have nah, I remember running 200, 400, and 4x400m in local and univ. conference meets in the same day. As a quartermiler I can tell you that I ran a better 400m relay leg after running a 200m final because the latter got me warmed up.

Lalonde must be really out of shape this year if he couldn't come back from a 20.88 to run a decent 400m leg, it's not like he ran the 400m event as well, just 2 x 200m in 21.1 and 20.8, oh well.....

Offline Aviator

So I just finally got a chance to actually see that 4x4. Lalonde legs was that DEAD that he couldn't run a more aggressive first bend. Nah man!!!!!!!!!! :cursing:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Our downfall was moving Solomon from the 2nd leg and running a spent Lalonde there and also not having enough faith in Cedenio to replace a sour Deon on the last leg if Deon was not fit enough to run.
Wasted opportunity for a medal!

PS: Based on Lalonde Gordon's performances he is not totally fit and is seriously out of form.

2013 IAAF World Championships women 100m hurdles opening round heats
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/i8d1jb9K1J8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/i8d1jb9K1J8</a>

August 16, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 100 meter hurdles opening round heats. The top 4 finishers in each heat advance along with the next 4 fastest times.

Heat 1
Angela WHYTE
Marzia CARAVELLI
Nadine HILDEBRAND
Nia ALI

Lucie ŠKROBÁKOVÁ
Shujiao WU
Hitomi SHIMURA

Heat 2:
Sally PEARSON
Cindy BILLAUD
Anne ZAGRE
Tatyana DEKTYAREVA
Brigitte MERLANO
Andrea BLISS
Nooralotta NEZIRI

Gnima FAYE

Heat 3
Queen HARRISON
Alina TALAY
Danielle WILLIAMS
Jessica ZELINKA

Marina TOMIC
Anna PLOTITSYNA
Noemi ZBÄREN

Heat 4
Tiffany PORTER
Yuliya KONDAKOVA
Dawn HARPER
Reïna-Flor OKORI
Lina FLÓREZ

Kierre BECKLES
Anastasiya SOPRUNOVA
Salma Emam Abou EL-HASSAN

Heat 5
Brianna ROLLINS
Lavonne IDLETTE
Shermaine WILLIAMS
Aleesha BARBER

Veronica BORSI
Isabelle PEDERSEN
Sara AERTS
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 11:02:13 PM by Socapro »

2013 IAAF World Championships men 200m dash opening round heats
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/FC6pXlvY730" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/FC6pXlvY730</a>

August 16, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics opening round heats for the men's 200 meter dash. The top 3 finishers in each heat advance to the semi-finals along with the next 3 fastest times.

Heat 1
Curtis MITCHELL
Isaac MAKWALA
Jaysuma SAIDY NDURE

Hitjivirue KAANJUKA
Serhiy SMELYK
Likoúrgos-Stéfanos TSÁKONAS
Kyle GREAUX
Neddy MARIE

Heat 2
Churandy MARTINA
Anaso JOBODWANA
Mosito LEHATA

Alex QUIÑÓNEZ
Tremaine HARRIS
Joshua ROSS
Ratu Banuve TABAKAUCORO
Liaqat ALI

Heat 3
Warren WEIR
Bruno DE BARROS
Bernardo BALOYES

Jimmy VICAUT
Bruno HORTELANO
Kei TAKASE
Lestrod ROLAND
Mitchel DAVIS

Heat 4
Nickel ASHMEADE
Antoine ADAMS
Alonso EDWARD

Hua Wilfried KOFFI
Aldemir DA SILVA JUNIOR
Nil DE OLIVEIRA
Aleksandr KHYUTTE
Yendountien TIEBEKABE

Heat 5
Jason LIVERMORE
Wallace SPEARMON
Karol ZALEWSKI

James ELLINGTON
Zhenye XIE
Luguelín SANTOS
Rolando PALACIOS
Courtney Carl WILLIAMS

Heat 6
Isiah YOUNG
Shota IIZUKA
Adam GEMILI

Enrico DEMONTE
Sergio RUIZ
Winston GEORGE
Ayman Mohamed AHMED SAID
Jerai TORRES

Heat 7
Usain Bolt
Jamial ROLLE
Lalonde GORDON

Delanno WILLIAMS
Yuichi KOBAYASHI
Alex WILSON
Jan ŽUMER
Didier KIKI

2013 IAAF World Championships women 4x400 qualifying rounds
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/jTD85ZbgwUo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/jTD85ZbgwUo</a>

August 16, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 4x400 meter relay qualifying heats. The top 2 finishers in each heat advance to the final along with the next 2 fastest times.

Heat 1
1. United States - 3:25.18 - Q
2. Italy - 3:29.62 - Q
3. Ukraine - 3:29.63 - q

4. Czech Republic - 3:30.48
5. India - 3:38.81

Heat 2
1. Great Britain & N.I. - 3:25.39 - Q
2. Nigeria - 3:27.39 - Q
3. France - 3:27.75 - q

4. Bahamas - 3:32.91
5. Trinidad and Tobago - 3:33.50
6. Botswana - 3:38.96

Heat 3:
Jamaica - Disqualified - DQ
1. Russia - 3:23.51 - Q
2. Romania - - 3:29.62 - Q

3. Poland - 3:29.75
4. Belarus - 3:30.28
5. Canada - 3:31.09

2013 IAAF World Championships men 200m dash semi-finals
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HBQ-bqJW8bA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HBQ-bqJW8bA</a>

August 16, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics: Semi final heats for the men's 200 meter dash. The top 2 finishers in each heat advance to the semi-finals along with the next 2 fastest times.

Heat 1
Curtis MITCHELL (USA)
Warren WEIR (JAM)
Jaysuma SAIDY NDURE (Norway)

Jimmy VICAUT (FRA)
Bruno HORTELANO (ESP)
Alex QUIÑÓNEZ (ECU)
Delanno WILLIAMS (GBR)
Lalonde GORDON (TRI)

Heat 2
Usain Bolt (JAM)
Anaso JOBODWANA (RSA)

Isiah YOUNG (USA)
James ELLINGTON (GBR)
Jason LIVERMORE (JAM)
Antoine ADAMS (SKN)
Shota IIZUKA (JPN)
Karol ZALEWSKI (Poland)

Heat 3
Adam GEMILI (GBR)
Nickel ASHMEADE (JAM)
Churandy MARTINA (NED)

Serhiy SMELYK (UKR)
Likoúrgos-Stéfanos TSÁKONAS (Greece)
Wallace SPEARMON (USA)
Alonso EDWARD (PAN)
Mosito LEHATA (LES)

Fraser-Pryce claims 200m, Felix goes down - Universal Sports
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cbMKMCv65XI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cbMKMCv65XI</a>
2013, Moscow, Russia, IAAF Track and Field World Championship, In the Women's 200m, two time defending champ Allyson Felix (USA) goes down on the turn and has to be carried off. as Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM) grabs the rare double, 100m and 200m wins. (Watch the full event at UniversalSports.com)

2013 IAAF World Championships women 200m dash FINAL - Felix goes down with injury!
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/kPUM3K4cx_A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/kPUM3K4cx_A</a>

August 16, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics: Women's 200 meter dash final

GOLD - Shelly-Ann FRASER-PRYCE (JAM) - 22.17
SILVER - Murielle AHOURE (Ivory Coast) - 22.32
BRONZE - Blessing OKAGBARE (NGR) - 22.32

4. Shaunae MILLER (BAH) - 22.74
5. Jeneba TARMOH (USA) - 22.78
6. ChaRonda WILLIAMS (USA) - 22.81
7. Mariya RYEMYEN (UKR) - 22.84
Allyson FELIX (USA) - DNF

Interview: Fraser-Pryce wins historic double for Jamaica
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yvU-Jq6fvW4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yvU-Jq6fvW4</a>
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce became the first Jamaican woman to win world sprint double titles when she won the 200M in a time of 22.17 here at the World Championships in Moscow.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 11:40:09 PM by Socapro »

American men win 4x400m 2013 championship - Universal Sports
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/K53TOZOOO4w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/K53TOZOOO4w</a>
2013, Moscow, Russia, IAAF Track and Field World Championship, In the Men's 4x400m, anchored by the newly crowned world champ, Lashawn Merritt, Team USA, after 2nd place in London, are World Champions again. Winning at 2:58.71, dominating the field by 1.17 seconds. (Watch the full event at UniversalSports.com)

2013 IAAF World Championships men 4x400m relay FINAL
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/SuEdsqa1RDg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/SuEdsqa1RDg</a>

August 16, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics: Men's 4x400 meter relay final

GOLD UNITED STATES USA 2:58.71 WL David Verburg Tony McQuay Arman Hall LaShawn Merritt
SILVER JAMAICA JAM 2:59.88 SB Rusheen McDonald Edino Steele Omar Johnson Javon Francis
BRONZE RUSSIA RUS 2:59.90 SB Maksim Dyldin Lev Mosin Sergey Petukhov Vladimir Krasnov

4 GREAT BRITAIN & N.I. GBR 3:00.88 Conrad Williams Martyn Rooney Michael Bingham Nigel Levine
5 BELGIUM BEL 3:01.02 Jonathan Borlée Kévin Borlée Dylan Borlée Will Oyowe
6 TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TRI 3:01.74 Renny Quow Lalonde Gordon Jehue Gordon Jarrin Solomon
7 BRAZIL BRA 3:02.19 Pedro Luiz de Oliveira Wagner Cardoso Anderson Henriques Hugo de Sousa
8 AUSTRALIA AUS 3:02.26 SB Steven Solomon Alexander Beck Craig Burns Tristan Thomas
14th IAAF World Championships RUSSIA Moscow (Luzhniki), RUSSIA 10 AUG 2013 - 18 AUG 2013

Mixed Zone Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team JAM - 4x400m Men - Final - Silver
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/s61zK9eZeEs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/s61zK9eZeEs</a>
IAAF World Championships Moscow 2013 Russia 10 AUG 2013 - 18 AUG 2013
Team JAM - 4x400m Men - Final - Silver

Jamaica 4x4 team celebrates silver medal
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7jU4xVjdBlI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7jU4xVjdBlI</a>
Jamaica 4x4 team celebrates silver medal. Calabar High schoolboy Javon Francis was Jamaica's star, despite Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce's historic 200m victory, on Friday's 7th day of the 14th IAAF World Atheltics Championships.
The Jamaican team, which included Rusheen McDonald, Edino Steele and Omar Johnson, stopped the clock in a season best 2:59.88 behind USA, anchored by LaShawn Merritt, 2:58.71, a world leading time.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2015, 05:42:37 PM by Socapro »

JEHUE GETS GOLD MEDAL
By MIRANDA LA ROSE and JONATHAN RAMNANANSINGH (T&T Newsday)
Saturday, August 17 2013

National hurdler, Jehue Gordon became the second Trinidad and Tobago track athlete to penetrate the air of a World Championships arena with the melodious steelpan sounds of this country’s Pat Castagne-written national anthem.

Yesterday, at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia, the 21-year-old athlete mounted the highest segment of the podium and proudly received his first-ever 400 metres hurdles World Championships gold medal.

Gordon also powered into several local and international sporting history books when he produced his victorious showing in 47.69 seconds, on Thursday. This accomplishment saw Gordon become the first male TT hurdler to ever medal at the Championships and the youngest athlete to have ever won gold in this event.

The last time the twin-island republic achieved such a feat was back in 1997, when sprinter Ato Boldon powered to victory in the men’s 200 metres final in a golden time of 20.04 seconds.

As Gordon stood on the podium yesterday, flanked by silver medallist Michael Tinsley (47.70s) of the USA and bronze receiver Emir Bekric (48.05s) of Serbia, he flashed a broad smile.

Before having his medal placed around his neck by an IAAF official, Gordon struck a jubliant pose which mimicked that of Jamaican star sprinter Usain Bolt’s world renowned victor posture. As the medal was draped around the youngster’s neck, Gordon’s eyes seemed to forcibly hold back the tears, beaming with national pride that seemed to overflow throughout the Russian arena.

Seconds later, the TT national anthem echoed through the Luzhniki Stadium as a smiling Gordon patriotically sang along, word for word.

Not long after the medal ceremony, the Maraval athlete contested the third-leg of the men’s 4x400 metres relay final with compatriots Renny Quow, Lalonde Gordon and Jarrin Solomon, and the team placed sixth in 3:01.74, unable to match their bronze medal finish of the 2012 London Olympics. Gordon (Jehue) was not a member of that Olympic relay team.

However, the team’s placing yesterday did not diminish the joy over Gordon’s success, as it emerged that one of the young hurdler’s unique characteristics is his loyalty to his country.

Throughout Gordon’s years of athletic prowess, he had received many opportunities to advance his education and athletics in foreign countries. However, the home-grown athlete always turned down these once-in-a-lifetime offers and opted to pursue his academics at the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine.

Witnessing his patriotism on several occasions was Dr Iva Gloudon, Director of Sport and Physical Education at the St Augustine campus. Presently on special leave, Gloudon admitted she tried to dissuade Gordon from joining the regional university campus as a student-athlete.

“I tried to talk him out of it because while we in sport were prepared, I did not think that the wider campus of the University of the West Indies, St Augustine, understood how or was sufficiently prepared to embrace an elite student-athlete,” Gloudon, Trinidad and Tobago’s High Commissioner to Jamaica yesterday told Newsday in a telephone interview from Kingston, Jamaica.

Paying homage to Gordon and his coach Dr Ian Hypolite, Gloudon said, “to his coach I sing all praises. They are the ones that should receive all of the kudos.”

Gloudon, who set the groundwork for Gordon’s academic and training programme at UWI, said, “I always knew it was going to happen. I thought it was going to be at the last Olympics, but it was just a matter of time. He has the talent. He has the belief in himself. He has the discipline and tenacity to achieve. He has a relationship with the Holy Spirit, and he is extremely intelligent.”

As SPEC director, Gloudon said through Hypolite and her efforts they were successful in getting several offers of scholarships for Gordon at a number of North American universities.

“Then this young man,” she said, “came to my office one day and said that he really wanted to stay at home and train with his local coach.”

She tried to talk him out of it because she was aware that structures were not in place to cater at the optimum level for an elite student-athlete.

“Jehue was steadfast. I understood then that he was a very directed, purpose-driven young man. His decision was clear.”

As a teacher and a servant of students, she said, “once a student is that directed, I go with that direction.”

Additionally, Albert King, former coach of Gordon, also lauded the humility and the maturity of his former charge at Belmont Boys Intermediate. During an interview on Thursday afternoon, King commented, “his strength is his mental ability. Even as a schoolboy, he was very mature. He was above his age.”

He added, “A lot of people were criticising him for not taking up an American scholarship instead of staying in Trinidad,” said King. “He decided that he would stay in Trinidad and still train. It is bearing fruit. I want to hear those negative people now what they will say. He’s very much attached to his family. I am wishing him the best and everything comes with time,” King added. “Even though he’s not in my club, I am a coach in Air Bon Sonics but he shows me that respect. He will always come and check me.”

Also sending congratulatory remarks for Gordon yesterday was President Anthony Carmona. The President issued a release in the afternoon heaping praises on the youngster for his gutsy performance and timely execution in Gordon’s biggest race of his career thus far. The President commended Gordon’s commitment to training and educating himself in TT.

He stated, “Whereas, most of us need another person to push us to excellence, Jehue Gordon, in the main, was always competing against himself on local soil. As much as we are prepared to celebrate his success, however, we need to also celebrate the road to his success. His parental support was certainly pivotal. This victory was also made sweeter by the fact that this gold medal was 100% locally produced. In Jehue Gordon, we have a homegrown, ‘home-coached’ champion.”

Carmona added, “I have spoken often with Jehue Gordon’s coach, Dr Hypolite and I recall one conversation with him during a period when Jehue was not doing as well as was hoped. I shared with him the idea of sending him abroad to train but Dr Hypolite said, “No, we are going to train right here and Trinidad and Tobago is going to produce a homegrown world champion.

“I was wrong and his statement was prophetic. I congratulate Dr Hypolite, Mr Skinner and the other Memphis Pioneers coaches on their vision and perseverance.

“My sincere congratulations to you, World Champion Jehue, on this golden achievement. You have made everyone in this Republic exceedingly proud.”

NO GAS NO GLORY - 4X400 men 6th in final
« Reply #254 on: August 17, 2013, 12:20:01 AM »
NO GAS NO GLORY
4X400 men 6th in final

T&T Express Reports
Story Created: Aug 16, 2013 at 10:08 PM ECT

Deon Lendore suffered a leg injury and had to sit out the men’s 4x400 metres final, and Lalonde Gordon just didn’t show up for the party, those two factors combining to keep Trinidad and Tobago out of contention for a podium finish, at the Luzhniki Stadium, here in Moscow, Russia, yesterday.

T&T finished sixth in three minutes, 01.74 seconds. United States, anchored by 400m champion LaShawn Merritt, secured gold with a 2:58.71 clocking, while silver and bronze went to Jamaica (2:59.88) and Russia (2:59.90), respectively.

Keen to follow up on Olympic bronze in London last year with precious metal at the 14th IAAF World Championships, T&T’s 4x4 men were set back when the medical team declared Lendore unfit to run in the final. Newly crowned 400 hurdles world champion Jehue Gordon was chosen as the replacement.

Renny Quow did his part on the leadoff leg for T&T, before handing the baton to Lalonde Gordon. But the Olympic 400m bronze medallist did not have the legs he needed after two rounds of the 200, yesterday, his semifinal run coming less than two hours before the 4x4 championship race.

Jehue and anchorman Jarrin Solomon produced big efforts, but there was too much work to be done, and T&T finished outside the medals.

Solomon was not a happy man after the race.

“I protested the dude from Great Britain hitting me on the home straight. He kicked my foot and then he elbowed me when he came by. I lost my balance. Therefore, I couldn’t pass the Belgium fella, and then he passed me, so I lost two spots.”

The T&T anchorman told the Express he did not think it was wise for Lalonde to compete in the individual 200m event.

“I felt a better decision could have been made, according to what we were trying to do as a team and according to medals.”

Jehue was also disappointed.

“We knew it might have been a bit of a challenge with Lalonde. He just did not bring his ‘A’ game on the day. Sometimes, it goes like that, but it was a team effort and we must all take some sort of blame for this.”

Aleesha Barber faces the starter at 10.36 this morning (T&T time) in the semi-final round of the women’s 100m hurdles. She has been drawn in lane three in the third and final heat.

In yesterday’s opening round, the T&T hurdler finished fourth in heat five in 13.33 seconds, for an automatic spot in the semis.

“I think things are falling into place at the right time. There are some things I still got to work on, but it’s coming together.”

Barber’s semi-final goal is “to keep improving my race…just get out those blocks and run the best race I can.”

Lalonde Gordon bowed out of the men’s 200m in the semi-final round. The T&T athlete finished eighth and last in the first of three heats in 21.14 seconds.

In the opening round, Lalonde copped third spot in heat seven in 20.85 to advance automatically to the semis. But, after a pedestrian bend, he had to work hard on the straight for that qualifying berth.

“Early morning, the body’s still sleeping,” Gordon told the Express, after the race. “I looked across and saw most of the guys tying up, so I went into a next gear and tried to take the spot to go to the next round.”

Reigning champion Usain Bolt, of Jamaica, topped the heat in 20.66 seconds, while second spot went to Great Britain’s Delano Williams (20.72).

In the opening heat, T&T’s Kyle Greaux had his first ever run on the global stage.

“Feeling a lot different competing at this level,” he told the Express. “It’s a blessing, but today nerves got the best of me and I didn’t execute my race properly. I slipped at the beginning, and these guys are fast, so you can’t recover from a falter like that.”

Like Gordon, Greaux was stronger on the straight…but not strong enough. He finished sixth in 20.89 seconds, and exited the event.

“Moving forward,” Greaux said afterwards, “I would be looking to up my game, so I can represent Trinidad and Tobago a lot better.”

Shawna Fermin, Sparkle McKnight, Domonique Williams and Romona Modeste combined for a 3:33.50 clocking in the second women’s 4x400m qualifying heat. The run was only good enough for fifth spot in the race, and T&T were eliminated.

McKnight, who exited in the opening round of the 400m hurdles here in Moscow, told the Express she was proud to be part of the country’s first ever World Championship women’s 4x400m team.

“Although we didn’t accomplish what we came to accomplish, I’m glad that a women’s 4x4 was able to come out here and do the best we could do. This is definitely a start.”

Fermin told the Express she is looking forward to more appearances on the global stage.

“Hopefully, in the future we can keep qualifying.”
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 12:21:51 AM by Socapro »

Here is link for World Championships Sat.17th August Events Timetable:
http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/14th-iaaf-world-championships-4873/timetable/byday#day8

Link for Today's Live BBC UK Coverage of World Championships in Moscow:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/tv/bbc_two_london/watchlive

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
This championship feels weird. Jamaica already got disqualified from two events that we could at least got a bronze each, I understand that most of the team is young, but there is no excuse for those two disqualifications. Secondly, it seems like a lot of the athletes went into the championship unfit, never seen so many Jamaican athletes injured at one time in a championship. Thirdly, it seems like the Russians are not interested in track, but why embarrass your country like this? where are the fans?, I heard they were even giving away free tickets to fill the stands, still no fans. I can't see them getting another championship like this any time soon. Lets see how the Fifa world cup turns out, lets see if the Russian team gets eliminated if the fans will still turn out.
Hard work is the key to success

This championship feels weird. Jamaica already got disqualified from two events that we could at least got a bronze each, I understand that most of the team is young, but there is no excuse for those two disqualifications. Secondly, it seems like a lot of the athletes went into the championship unfit, never seen so many Jamaican athletes injured at one time in a championship. Thirdly, it seems like the Russians are not interested in track, but why embarrass your country like this? where are the fans?, I heard they were even giving away free tickets to fill the stands, still no fans. I can't see them getting another championship like this any time soon. Lets see how the Fifa world cup turns out, lets see if the Russian team gets eliminated if the fans will still turn out.
Good points!
The Russians only seem to turn out in numbers if one of their athletes is involved and has a good chance of winning or medalling in an event and they definitely seem to be way more interested in the field events than in the track events.

Here is link for World Championships Events Timetable for Sat.17th August:
http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/14th-iaaf-world-championships-4873/timetable/byday#day8

For those who missed the World’s athletics action this Saturday 17th August you can click the link below for full real time replay of the main day’s session in Moscow.

Athletics: World Championships - 2013 - Day 8, Sat.17th August
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b038y58y/Athletics_World_Championships_2013_Day_8_Part_2/

Gabby Logan is joined by Michael Johnson and Paula Radcliffe for the penultimate day's action from the World Championships in Moscow.

The men's marathon is the first of seven gold medals to be decided today, with Olympic and world champions Usain Bolt and Sally Pearson expected to provide the highlights in the men's 200m and women's 100m hurdles respectively. While Bolt is overwhelming favourite to retain his title, Pearson has struggled for form and fitness this summer and is likely to face a formidable challenge from a trio of Americans, as well as Britain's Tiffany Porter.

Commentary by Steve Cram, Andrew Cotter, Paul Dickenson and Brendan Foster.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 03:26:13 PM by Socapro »

The African country games in WC might be empty seats.

2013 IAAF World Championships women 100m hurdles semi-finals
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/twgRlC3nJJg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/twgRlC3nJJg</a>

August 17, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 100 meter hurdles semi-finals (3 heats). The top 2 finishers in each heat advance along with the next 2 fastest times.

Heat 1
1. Tiffany PORTER (GBR) - 12.63 - Q
2. Angela WHYTE (CAN) - 12.76 - Q

3. Nia ALI (USA) - 12.83
4. Lavonne IDLETTE (DOM) - 12.91
5. Andrea BLISS (JAM) - 12.92
6. Nadine HILDEBRAND (GER) - 13.04
7. Marzia CARAVELLI (Italy) - 13.06
8. Reïna-Flor OKORI (FRA) 13.15

Heat 2
1. Brianna ROLLINS (USA) - 12.54 - Q
2. Yuliya KONDAKOVA (RUS) - 12.73 - Q
3. Cindy BILLAUD (France) -12.74 - q

4. Shermaine WILLIAMS (JAM) - 12.93
5. Lina FLÓREZ (COL) - 13.01
6. Nooralotta NEZIRI (Finland) - 13.04
7. Jessica ZELINKA (CAN) - 13.12 Anne ZAGRE (BEL) - Disqualified

Heat 3:
1. Sally Pearson (AUS) - 12.50 - Q
2. Dawn HARPER (USA) - 12.61 - Q
3. Queen HARRISON (USA) - 12.71 - q

4. Alina TALAY (BLR) - 12.82
5. Tatyana DEKTYAREVA (Russia) - 12.91
6. Danielle WILLIAMS (JAM) - 13.13
7. Brigitte MERLANO (COL) - 13.22
8. Aleesha BARBER (TRI) - 13.52

Aleesha Barber, Trinidad & Tobago's 100m hurdler, turns her attention to 2014 season
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/pybe_EA-fnE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/pybe_EA-fnE</a>
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 07:37:26 PM by Socapro »

2013 IAAF World Championships women 100m hurdles FINAL
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lFcY4NnLSCE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lFcY4NnLSCE</a>

August 17, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 100 meter hurdles FINAL

GOLD - Brianna ROLLINS (USA) - 12.44
SILVER - Sally Pearson (Australia) - 12.50
BRONZE - Tiffany Porter (Great Britain) - 12.55

4. Dawn Harper (USA) - 12.59
5. Queen Harrison (USA) - 12.73
6. Angela WHYTE (Canada) - 12.78
7. Cindy BILLAUD (France) - 12.84
8. Yuliya KONDAKOVA (Russia) - 12.86

Mixed Zone Interview: Moscow 2013 - Brianna ROLLINS USA - 100m Hurdles Women - Final Gold
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/fAAKo4MSTj4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/fAAKo4MSTj4</a>
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 12:32:35 PM by Socapro »

Russian Women claim 4x400 World Title - Universal Sports
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/f324aAjGZP4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/f324aAjGZP4</a>
2013, Moscow, Russia, IAAF Track and Field World Championship, In Women's 4x400m, Without their 'heavy hitters' like Sanya Richards-Ross and Allyson Felix, Team USA had to settle for Silver, for the first time in 12 years, .22 seconds behind Russia who wins at 3:20.19. (Watch the full event at UniversalSports.com)

Russia 3:20.19 holds on to defeat USA women's 4x400m Final IAAF World Champs 2013
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7W67qA17Pzw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7W67qA17Pzw</a>

1 RUS Russia RUSRUS 3:20.19 WL
2 USA United States USAUSA 3:20.41 SB
3 GBR Great Britain & N.I. GBRGBR 3:22.61 SB

4 FRA France FRAFRA 3:24.21 SB
5 UKR Ukraine UKRUKR 3:27.38 SB
6 NGR Nigeria NGRNGR 3:27.57
7 ROU Romania ROUROU 3:28.40 SB
ITA Italy ITAITA DQ R170.6
14th IAAF World Championships RUSSIA Moscow (Luzhniki), RUSSIA 10 AUG 2013 - 18 AUG 2013
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 11:31:46 PM by Socapro »

2013 IAAF World championships men 200m dash FINAL
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7jWIwF_8Yyc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7jWIwF_8Yyc</a>

August 17, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics : men's 200 meter dash final.

GOLD - Usain Bolt (JAM) - 19.66 (WL)
SILVER - Warren Weir (JAM) - 19.79 (PB)
BRONZE - Curtis Mitchell (USA) - 20.04

4. Nickel ASHMEADE (JAM) - 20.05
5. Adam GEMILI (Great Britain) - 20.08
6. Anaso JOBODWANA (South Africa) - 20.14
7. Churandy MARTINA (Netherlands) - 20.35
8. Jaysuma SAIDY NDURE (Norway) - 20.37

Warren Weir proves his point with silver medal
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Oq4WaQloYL0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Oq4WaQloYL0</a>
Warren Weir of Jamaica proves his point with silver medal ... He ran 19.79, a personal best, to take silver in the World Championships 2013 200m final behind Usain Bolt 19.66

Usain Bolt completes historic sprint double victory in Moscow
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gc6nghwguIk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gc6nghwguIk</a>
Usain Bolt of jamaica completes historic sprint double victory in Moscow. Bolt became the first man to win three 200m titles, adding to victories achieved in the previous editions - Berlin and Daegu. Preciously only American Calvin Smith in 1983 and 1987 and Michael Johnson in 1991 and 1995 won the 200m twice. Bolt, however, is the only man to take consecutive titles.
 Bolt is also the first man to complete the sprint double twice. Bolt won the double in Berlin 2009, but false started in the Daegu 100m final. He regained his 100m title here last Saturday. Americans Justin Gatlin in 2005 and Tyson Gay in 2007 are the only other to win the double once in their career.

Usain Bolt receives award from AIPS America
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-NQplUIcCrM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-NQplUIcCrM</a>
Kwame Laurence of Trinidad & Tobago makes presentation on behalf of AIPS America to World & Olympic champion Usain Bolt. Bolt was voted AIPS America's Male Athlete of Year 2012.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 07:54:53 PM by Socapro »

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best

The African country games in WC might be empty seats.
What would be interesting is to see the reaction if an African team should beat Russia at that world cup.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
Good points!
The Russians only seem to turn out in numbers if one of their athletes is involved and has a good chance of winning or medalling in an event and they definitely seem to be way more interested in the field events than in the track events.
I notice that also.

Offline STMB

Great going T&T ladies - just made it to the finals in the 4x100m relay with 43.01.
We're still in it, do your best in the final!!

Great going T&T ladies - just made it to the finals in the 4x100m relay with 43.01.
We're still in it, do your best in the final!!

If one of the DQed teams win there appeal then we would be out. hope that does not happen.

Offline STMB

Men 3rd in 38.38 behind GBR and JAM, have to wait for fastest loser status like the women.

Here is link for World Championships Sun.18th August Events Timetable:
http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/14th-iaaf-world-championships-4873/timetable/byday#day9

Link for Today's Live BBC UK Coverage of World Championships in Moscow:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/tv/bbc_one_london/watchlive

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

4x100 men chase No. 4
Barber out in sprint hurdles semis
By Kwame Laurence (T&T Express) in Moscow
Story Created: Aug 17, 2013 at 9:34 PM ECT

Trinidad and Tobago will chase a fourth IAAF World Championship men’s 4x100 metres podium finish, at the Luzhniki Stadium, here in Moscow, Russia, today.

Jamol James, Keston Bledman, Rondel Sorrillo and Richard “Torpedo” Thompson are expected to wear T&T colours in the opening heat, at 8.50 a.m. (T&T time). The top two teams in each heat will secure automatic berths in the 10.40 a.m. final.

The T&T quartet will run in lane six. Jamaica, meanwhile, have been drawn in lane two, while Great Britain will be next to the defending champions, in one.

T&T earned silver at the 2001, 2005 and 2009 editions of the World Championships.

Thompson, the anchorman in 2009, told the Express that T&T will again be targeting a medal position in Moscow.

“We feel we’re just as good as any other team. Jamaica obviously has a strong squad and USA has a strong squad. But that’s when we put things on paper…we all know how things work on a relay. It’s about good exchanges, using the zone, and getting the stick around most efficiently. If we could perfect that, then our chances of winning the gold are just as good as anybody else.”

Thompson, the 100m silver medallist at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, has struggled with a hip injury this season. He bowed out in the semi-final round of the century here in Moscow.

“I’ll be okay for the relay. I’m always a better guy in the relay. With my individual runs, my main problem is my drive phase and coming out of the blocks. It’s difficult for me to get that push out of the blocks that I need to. On a rolling start it’s a bit different, a little easier for me. I should be fine.”

Marc Burns has been a member of all three World Championship medal-winning sprint relay teams. This time, however, he misses out, injury having prevented him from competing at the National Championships.

Bledman, who exited the Moscow 100 in the semis, told the Express that he and his teammates are motivated to “go out there, represent for Marc, and the whole of Trinidad and Tobago.”

Ahead of the World Championships, T&T also looked to be contenders for precious metal in the women’s 4x100m. However, 2011 World Championship 100m bronze medallist Kelly-Ann Baptiste and Semoy Hackett both left Moscow for reasons related to doping, denting T&T’s chances of securing a top-three finish.

In the qualifying round, today, Kamaria Durant, Michelle-Lee Ahye, Reyare Thomas and Kai Selvon will do battle for T&T from lane three in the third and final qualifying heat. The race, scheduled for 8.31 a.m. (T&T time), will also feature United States and Russia.

The final takes place at 10.10 a.m.

Yesterday, Aleesha Barber was eliminated from the women’s 100m hurdles at the semi-final stage. The T&T athlete clocked 13.52 seconds to finish eighth and last in the third and final heat.

“My time was horrible,” Barber told the Express. “I hit a hurdle. I started to panic in the race. I feel like I got out good, but then they kept going…I just wasn’t ready. I gave it what I had, but that’s not the best of me.”

Barber’s training partner, Brianna Rollins struck gold in the final, the American crossing the finish line in 12.44 seconds. Australia’s Sally Pearson (12.50) and Briton Tiffany Porter (12.55) earned silver and bronze, respectively.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

T&T relay teams seek success on final day
T&T Guardian Reports

As the 14th edition of the World Championships draws to a close today at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, T&T go in search of more medals, to add to Jehue Gordon’s gold in the 400 metres hurdles on Thursday. First in action at 8.31 am (TT time), will be T&T’s 4x100m women’s relay team in heat three, where the top two from each heat advance, as well as the two fastest losers. T&T have been drawn in lane three with USA in lane four, Russia in lane six and Poland in seven. For T&T, Kamira Durant of Simplex will run the first leg, Michelle-Lee Ahye of Rebirth the second, Reyare Thomas of Neon Trackers, the third, with Kai Selvon of Airborne Sonics running the final leg. The change in the order of running is due to the absence of both Kelly Ann Baptiste and Semoy Hackett. Hackett was set to run the anchor leg but Selvon was handed the responsibility. “Yes, normally I run the third leg but this time around, I will run the final leg,” said Selvon, who reached the semifinals of the Women’s 200m. “We are confident ahead of the 4x100m relay, and we know that we lost two of our other teammates, but we are still going to go out there and give of our best and try to represent ourselves and the country to the best of our ability.”

Manager of the T&T team, Dexter Voisin told the Sunday Guardian, “There is confidence. They can first reach the finals and then let us see what happens. This team won the CAC (Central American and Caribbean) gold medal recently in just over 43 seconds, so they know each other well.” Next on the World stage, will be the T&T’s men 4x100m team, that won the bronze medal at the 2012 London Olympics in this same event. T&T will race in heat one of three, with the same rules as the women applying for progress to the finals. The opening heat is clearly the toughest of the three groups with T&T drawn in lane six, Russia in lane three, overwhelming favourties Jamaica in lane two and Great Britain/Northern Ireland in lane one. The US are in heat two. There are two changes to the local sprint team. With Marc Burns not available and Emmanuel Callender a reserve, Jamol James will run the opening leg with Keston Bledman running the second, Rondell Sorillo, the third and Richard Thompson the anchor leg.

After failing to progress to the final of the Mens 100m, Thompson is fired up saying: “We definitely have a chip on our shoulders now and we just want to go in there and have the flag flying in the final as it is not just about being in the final of the 4x100. We have realistic goals in both events. For me a realistic goal was to make the individual final in the 100m and a realistic goal is for us to medal in the 4x100m. “We can pull together. It was a sub par season for me, track and field is a funny sport but we are coming out to give our best in the relays,” said a defiant Thompson. Bledman was third in the third semifinal in a time of 10.08 and is thriving for medal after missing out in his individual event. “I now have to go back and focus on the relay and go out there and try and get a medal,” said Bledman. “Marc (Burns) is not here but we have to do it for him, going back to T&T on that long nine hour flight without a medal will not be good.”

Voisin feels that T&T have a credible chance of getting success in the event. “These are very talented guys and in this event, we have a good record. They have trained well and they have promised to come out and give everything from the start. They want a medal and they are a very determined and dedicated bunch.” The women’s 4x100m final is scheduled for 10.10am today while the men’s 4x100m finals will feature at 10.40am (TT time), the last event at the Championships. Aleesha Barber was T&T’s only participant yesterday when she competed in the Women’s 100 metres hurdles. Running in the third heat and in lane two, the 26-year-old started well but was quickly out of contention as Olympic champion Sally Pearson prevailed convincingly in a season best 12.50 seconds. Barber finished a disappointing eighth in 13.52 and failed to advance to the final. Her time was the 23rd best in the semifinals.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 10:02:02 PM by Socapro »