March 28, 2024, 05:47:32 AM

Author Topic: 2013 World Track & Field Championships in Moscow (Sat 10th to Sun 18th Aug)  (Read 52189 times)

Just heard that GBR got disqualified for exchanging out of zone on their 2nd exchange in the Men's 4x100m Relay Final.

Also USA's Gatlin seems to have stepped out of lane on their last exchange but may only get DQed if Germany lodges a protest.

For now Canada has moved up to Bronze.

Link to Men's 4x100m Relay Final current official results: http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/14th-iaaf-world-championships-4873/results/men/4x100-metres-relay/final/result#resultheader

With all these possible DQs maybe we could move from 8th to 3rd.  ;D
If only we made a better exchange on the first to 2nd leg involving Bledman we could have placed maybe 5th which could lead to a possible Bronze if both USA and GBR get DQed.
However with us placing last a protest by our team is pointless!  :(

Steups.. We dont want to become the team notorious with winning medals through DQ.. I live in Canada, You should have heard the Canadians after last olympics mens 4x100

The issue with TT is consistency. We have had numerous medal winners in the past 5 years.
2008 Thompson 100m
2009 Quow 400m
2009 Lucas 400mh
2011 KAB 100m
2012 Gordon 400mh
2012 Walcott Javelin
2013 Gordon 400mh

These people are all in different events. Imagine if these athletes medalled all the time, like the Jamaican and the US medal contenders..

If you factor in the relays, we can easily win about 6-8 medals at an Olympics or World champs. Jamaica and US always gets close to their medal projections.
Without our government investing more into T&F and developing and supporting our athletes we will always remain inconsistent and will never develop the consistency of the Jamaicans.

Just look how quick they were to announce that they are withdrawing funding and support for KAB and Hackett without giving the ladies the benefit of the doubt to clear their names. We will never be consistent if we are always so quick to hang our athletes and withdraw whatever support they are getting.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 09:54:21 AM by Socapro »

Just heard that GBR got disqualified for exchanging out of zone on their 2nd exchange in the Men's 4x100m Relay Final.

Also USA's Gatlin seems to have stepped out of lane on their last exchange but may only get DQed if Germany lodges a protest.

Link to Men's 4x100m Relay Final current official results: http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/14th-iaaf-world-championships-4873/results/men/4x100-metres-relay/final/result#resultheader

If only we made a better exchange on the first to 2nd leg involving Bledman we could have placed maybe 5th which could lead to a possible Bronze if both USA and GBR get DQed.

Steups.. We dont want to become the team notorious with winning medals through DQ.. I live in Canada, You should have heard the Canadians after last olympics mens 4x100
Tell the Canadians to stop the player hating as what goes around comes around!
How do you think Canada won a medal this time round? Not thru another team getting DQed?!  ;)

The issue with TT is consistency. We have had numerous medal winners in the past 5 years.
2008 Thompson 100m
2009 Quow 400m
2009 Lucas 400mh
2011 KAB 100m
2012 Gordon 400mh
2012 Walcott Javelin
2013 Gordon 400mh

These people are all in different events. Imagine if these athletes medalled all the time, like the Jamaican and the US medal contenders..

If you factor in the relays, we can easily win about 6-8 medals at an Olympics or World champs. Jamaica and US always gets close to their medal projections.
Without our government investing more into T&F and developing and supporting our athletes we will always remain consistent and will never develop the consistency of the Jamaicans.

Just look how quick they were to announce that they are withdrawing funding and support for KAB and Hackett without giving the ladies the benefit of the doubt to clear their names. We will never be consistent if we are always so quick to hang our athletes and with draw whatever support they are getting.

Indeed.

Its interesting. Cause I never really looked at the number of  different medal winners TT has had in the past 5 years. My Yardie partner , who eats and sleep track and field, is the one who pointed that out to me.

Tell the Canadians to stop the player hating as what goes around comes around!
How do you think Canada won a medal this time round? Not thru another team getting DQed?!  ;)

I know Soca.. A medal through a DQ has a little less value to me. But if it come, I aint go say no.

Offline STMB

2008 Thompson 100m
2009 Quow 400m
2009 Lucas 400mh
2011 KAB 100m
2012 Gordon 400mh
2012 Walcott Javelin
2013 Gordon 400mh

Without our government investing more into T&F and developing and supporting our athletes we will always remain inconsistent and will never develop the consistency of the Jamaicans.

Just look how quick they were to announce that they are withdrawing funding and support for KAB and Hackett without giving the ladies the benefit of the doubt to clear their names. We will never be consistent if we are always so quick to hang our athletes and withdraw whatever support they are getting.

:applause: :applause: :applause:

I live in Canada too. and in general I find that Canadians complain a lot about there lack of sporting success.  When Ben Johnson won, it was Canadian Ben Johnson but when he got caught it was Jamaican born Ben Johnson. When we got bronze we did not deserve it. But I bet you those same people are happy now. The only thing that would make them happier is if they took that medal from us. When we made it to the WC it was because of Papa Jack. But they failed to see that our football team was always in the mix since the 70's. When you take into account the population size and resources  between the two countries I think that we more than hold our own.   

Agreed Che. People always want to find a reason to knock TT success. The same used to happen to Jam. But dominant culture/opinion has accepted Jam now.

We certainly do more than hold our own.

2013 IAAF World championships women 4x100m relay qualifying heats
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/DVxCDmXsI5M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/DVxCDmXsI5M</a>

August 18, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 4x100 meter relay qualifying heats. The top 2 finishers in each heat advance to the final along with the next 2 fastest times.

Heat 1
Jamaica - 41.87 Q SB
France - 42.25 Q SB
Germany - 42.65 q SB

Netherlands - 43.26 SB
Dominican Republic - 43.28 NR
Nigeria - DQ R170.7

Heat 2
Great Britain & N.I. - 42.75 Q
Canada - 42.99 Q NR

Ukraine - 43.12
Switzerland - 43.21 NR
Italy - 44.05
Bahamas - DQ R163.3(a)

Heat 3
United States - 41.82 Q
Brazil - 42.29 Q AR
Russia - 42.94 q SB

Trinidad & Tobago - 43.01 SB
Poland - 43.18 SB
Colombia - 43.65 SB
China - 44.22

2013 IAAF World championships Men 4x100m relay qualifying heats
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/30ZcLo1kz_0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/30ZcLo1kz_0</a>

August 18, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics men's 4x100 meter relay qualifying heats. The top 2 finishers in each heat advance to the final along with the next 2 fastest times.

Heat 1
Great Britain & N.I. - 38.12 Q SB
Jamaica - 38.17 Q
Trinidad & Tobago - 38.38 q SB

Spain - 38.46 SB
Poland - 38.51 SB
Korea - 39.00 NR
Russia - 39.01 SB
Venezuela - 39.14 SB

Heat 2:
United States - 38.06 Q
Japan - 38.23 Q SB

Ukraine - 38.57
Barbados - 38.94 NR
PR of China - 38.95 SB
France - 38.97
Hong Kong - 39.10

Heat 3
Germany - 38.13 Q SB
Canada - 38.29 Q SB
Netherlands - 38.41 q SB

Italy - 38.49 SB
Saint Kitts & Nevis - 38.58 SB
Bahamas - 38.70 NR
Chinese Taipei - 39.72
Australia - DNF
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 11:19:30 AM by Socapro »

2013 IAAF World Championships women's 4x100m relay FINAL
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Elk6dxVV2fM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Elk6dxVV2fM</a>

August 18, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 4x100 meter relay final

GOLD - Jamaica - 41.29 (Championship record)
SILVER - France - 42.73
BRONZE- United States - 42.75

4. Great Britain & N.I. - 42.87
5. Germany - 42.90
6. Russia - 42.93
7. Canada - 43.28
Brazil - DNF

Jamaica Women's 4x100m Relay Team Celebrates National and Championships Record in Moscow
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rKOMtwAsmzs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rKOMtwAsmzs</a>
Jamaica Women's 4x100m Relay Team Celebrates National and Championships Record in Moscow.. The team of Carrie Russell, Kerron Stewart, Schillonie Calvert and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce finished in 41.28secs.

Mixed Zone Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team USA - 4x100m Women - Final - Silver
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/I-sJxyA0D1w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/I-sJxyA0D1w</a>

Mixed Zone Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team USA - 4x100m Women - Final - Bronze
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/SayDdtu1KBU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/SayDdtu1KBU</a>
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 04:10:18 PM by Socapro »

Last boy ?  :bs:

Jamaica 37.36 anchored by Usain Bolt wins men's 4x100m Final IAAF World Champs 2013 HD
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/P4fkPDtyOXc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/P4fkPDtyOXc</a>
Shorter version: Men's 4x100m Relay Final Moscow 2013
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9-Oxs9Umd2o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9-Oxs9Umd2o</a>

August 18, 2013 The 14th IAAF World track and field championships in Moscow, Russia; Athletics women's 4x100 meter relay final

GOLD Jamaica JAM 37.36 WL Nesta Carter Kemar Bailey-Cole Nickel Ashmeade Usain Bolt
SILVER United States USA 37.66 Charles Silmon Mike Rodgers Rakieem Salaam Justin Gatlin
BRONZE Canada CAN 37.92 SB Gavin Smellie Aaron Brown Dontae Richards-Kwok Justyn Warner

5 Germany GER 38.04 SB Lucas Jakubczyk Sven Knipphals Julian Reus Martin Keller
6 Netherlands NED 38.37 SB Brian Mariano Churandy Martina Liemarvin Bonevacia Hensley Paulina
7 Japan JPN 38.39 Yoshihide Kiryu Kenji Fujimitsu Kei Takase Shota Iizuka
8 Trinidad & Tobago TRI 38.57 Ayodele Taffe Keston Bledman Rondel Sorrillo Richard Thompson
DQ Great Britain & N.I. GBR 37.80 SB Adam Gemili Harry Aikines-Aryeetey James Ellington Dwain Chambers

Interview: Moscow 2013 - Usain BOLT JAM - 200m Men Final
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/vZKbQ0j6kP4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/vZKbQ0j6kP4</a>

Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team USA - 4x100m Men - Final - Silver
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/M-_AJQHPxUQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/M-_AJQHPxUQ</a>

Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team CAN - 4x100m Men - Final - Bronze
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/J6FnqwJa4iE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/J6FnqwJa4iE</a>
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 04:00:34 PM by Socapro »

Let me ask a question nah. Gatlin aint run out he lane there?

He obviously did but looks like USA has used their superpowers to make the IAAF Officials turn a blind eye!  ;)

Yeah. Not sure if they needed to use their superpowers.. But the iaaf wont see it as an issue because, Gatlin made the race longer for himself by running in that lane. If he ran into the inside lane, then the race was shorter.. and it means they can get dq

Yeah the race was made longer for the USA by Gatlin doing that plus he did not impede Bolt who was in that lane and won that race for Jamaica!
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 01:13:35 PM by Socapro »

I tweeted it and I will say it here. In many ways this is the WORST performance of a TNT team in decades, because it is coming after London 2012 when many stepped up.

There is no hunger there. None. Just reading some of these interviews and it's like well IF this and IF that and the other. Sickening.

Start leaving the 'established' ones home and put the young ones out to gain the experience if this is the way we are performing at the highest level.

Jehue aside, there isn't a SINGLE performance I can look at on the men's side and say that was acceptable, or a good effort. NOT ONE. If anything, Jehue's FIRE in this meet (not the win, the attitude) showed up everyone's else complete lack thereof.

Women's relay was unlucky to not make the final given the big guns missing but again, are we back on our laurels because we had one good damn year last year?

Enough is enough. The Carifta team is getting worse by the year for four years, now this. Who is to blame for this??

« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 03:15:36 PM by A.B. »

I tweeted it and I will say it here. In many ways this is the WORST performance of a TNT team in decades, because it is coming after London 2012 when many stepped up.

There is no hunger there. None. Just reading some of these interviews and it's like well IF this and IF that and the other. Sickening.

Start leaving the 'established' ones home and put the young ones out to gain the experience if this is the way we are performing at the highest level.

Jehue aside, there isn't a SINGLE performance I can look at on the men's side and say that was acceptable, or a good effort. NOT ONE. If anything, Jehue's FIRE in this meet (not the win, the attitude) showed up everyone's else complete lack thereof.

Women's relay was unlucky to not make the final given the big guns missing but again, are we back on our laurels because we had one good damn year last year?

Enough is enough. The Carifta team is getting worse by the year for four years, now this. Who is to blame for this??

The NAAA and the team management need to take some blame.
I am really feeling it for our talented youth Machel Cedenio.
Please see the thread I created to highlight the issue with him at this link: http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=60309.0
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 03:25:30 PM by Socapro »

You hit it right on the head. TT is very capable of winning 4-6 medals.. I really dont know what it is. At times we appear to be on the rise.. Other times we appear to be on the decline.

After the 6th place in the 4x4 .. I had a feeling Jehue medal was going to be our only medal..
There is no doubt we could have won at least 4 or 5 medals..

If we were half as consistent.as Jam or US, we would have 4 medals easily..
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 03:55:25 PM by gawd on pitch »

Some more entertaining Interviews with Bolt and other members of the Jamaican team!  :laugh:

Usain Bolt says USA would have to lead by 10 metres to win 4x100m final
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RURVyKaYJb0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RURVyKaYJb0</a>
Usain Bolt says USA would have to lead by 10 metres to win 4x100m final. The quartet of Nesta Carter, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Nickel Ashmeade and Usain Bolt won the event in 37.36secs

Jamaica Men's 4x100m Team celebrates 4x1 victory in Moscow
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wwgzYDLLlOs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wwgzYDLLlOs</a>
Jamaica Men's 4x100m Team celebrates 4x1 victory in Moscow. The quartet of Nesta Carter, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Nickel Ashmeade and Usain Bolt won the event in 37.36secs.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 04:15:31 PM by Socapro »

I would like to send out a BIG-UP to the Jamaicans!!   :beermug:

Just admire how you guys now have the normally cocky Americans so flustered that they are making all kinds of excuses for losing the 4x100m relays and are even too embarrassed to give proper interviews!

Pressure does buss pipe, check the USA interviews just below then listen to what Bolt said just above about the USA needing to be at least 10 metres ahead on last leg to beat Jamaica!  :devil:

Mixed Zone Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team USA - 4x100m Women - Final - Bronze
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/SayDdtu1KBU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/SayDdtu1KBU</a>

Interview: Moscow 2013 - Team USA - 4x100m Men - Final - Silver
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/M-_AJQHPxUQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/M-_AJQHPxUQ</a>

Big up to Jamaica for cutting the cocky Americans down to size!!  :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 04:55:37 PM by Socapro »

Americans (some of them) does try too hard to act cool in interviews boy. They look robotic sometimes.

You hit it right on the head. TT is very capable of winning 4-6 medals.. I really dont know what it is. At times we appear to be on the rise.. Other times we appear to be on the decline.

After the 6th place in the 4x4 .. I had a feeling Jehue medal was going to be our only medal..
There is no doubt we could have won at least 4 or 5 medals..

If we were half as consistent.as Jam or US, we would have 4 medals easily..

no doubt that we could have won 4 or  medals you say ?? like who ferinstance ? to be as consistent as Jamaica or US we would have won four medals ??

We should be able to do a lot better than last place.
Thanks Socapro for the updates.

Latest update on Women's 4x100m Final is that France got DQed which moved the USA up from bronze to silver and Great Britain up from 4th into the bronze position.

Question I now have to ask is, shouldn't USA have been DQed as well, both their Women and the Men in the 4x100m Relay Finals?

Have a look at both Finals again and tell us that something fishy didn't go on in both instances in favour of the USA.

Jamaican women win 2013 4x100m Champs - Universal Sports
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TIkp3VezKJM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TIkp3VezKJM</a>
2013, Moscow, Russia, IAAF Track and Field World Championship, In women's 4x100m, if the absents of American stars Carmelita Jeter and Allyson Felix and a bad pass Team USA had to fight hard for second (as France was DQ'd), 1.46 seconds behind the Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce anchored Jamaican team at 41.29. (Watch the full event at UniversalSports.com)

Jamaican men win 2013 4x100m Champs - Universal Sports
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/kmiwW31MGhY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/kmiwW31MGhY</a>
2013, Moscow, Russia, IAAF Track and Field World Championship, in Men's 4x100m, with both teams picked of many of their stars, Jamaican still had their Ace, Usain Bolt, who helped power them to a third world title at 37.36, .30 seconds faster than Team USA. (Watch the full event at UniversalSports.com)
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 11:05:38 PM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

Steups...Nothing fishy went on Socapro. In the men's race, Gatlin stepped to the OUTSIDE of his lane and didn't not impede Bolt. No harm, no foul.

In the women's race Gardner took off way to early, but slowed down in time to make the exchange within the zone.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Steups...Nothing fishy went on Socapro. In the men's race, Gatlin stepped to the OUTSIDE of his lane and didn't not impede Bolt. No harm, no foul.

In the women's race Gardner took off way to early, but slowed down in time to make the exchange within the zone.
And can you explain why France got DQed which moved the USA up from bronze to silver in the Women's 4x100m Final?

Should Russia have been DQed here for impeding the Bahamas in their 4x400m Qualifying Heat?

Checked this out!
Maybe Bahamas did not lodge a protest as they could have been DQed themselves for running in a competitor's lane?

Maybe Ato will give his personal view here on this as he seemed to be the one who first picked up both infractions!  :beermug:

Impeding or not impeding in 4x400 relay - Universal Sports
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/MxXe9tTNrjA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/MxXe9tTNrjA</a>
2013, Moscow, Russia, IAAF Track and Field World Championship, In the Men's 4x400m relay Heats, there are possibly two cases of impeding, but none have been called so far. (Watch the full event at UniversalSports.com)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 07:59:28 AM by Socapro »

Has anyone got footage of the Men's 400m Hurdles Medal presentation in Moscow in which the T&T National Anthem was played?

Please post video or link here if you have it, many thanks!  :beermug: